$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
View map of Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobalubi
Business
Montana
Jan 31, 2014

Hotel Santo Tomas Review

First, the hotel is in an excellent location for downtown sight seeing and eating. Bus stops for going to Heredia is also very close. The rooms are clean, attractive and quaint. The staff are very helpful and most speak good English. Don't expect a lot from the restaraunt or bar, as they are pretty basic. We'll stay there again when we go back to Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
haypeores
Business
new york
Oct 7, 2013

the best hotel

this is my home away from home,the staff ,the food,the owners make you feel right at home ,if you go to san jose you have to stay there no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mutinydoll
Business
Tampa FL
Sep 11, 2013

Wonderful respite from the city

This hotel is centrally located and is extremely well maintained. There is a nice pool and hot tub and the breakfast is simple but good. The place is owned by a fellow from North Carolina and he is often there and is helpful along with the staff. We were only scheduled to be there 2 days but stayed for 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom W3
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 4, 2013

An Oasis

This is a great little hotel, and a great value. I was passing through San Jose on my way home to the US, and for the first time, I felt comfortable being in San Jose. I had been traveling all day when I arrived and the kitchen hadn't opened yet, but the owner (an American fellow#, walked me back to the kitchen and helped me place my order with the chef and they called my room when it was ready #before the kitchen even officially opened). The hotel itself has an Old World feel, but still comfortable and clean. The next time I'm in San Jose, I will definitely stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wernito
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Sep 1, 2013

an old fashioned hotel with all new amenities

The Santo Tomas Hotel in San José is very well situated, close to the city center which can be reached in a few minutes on foot. The rooms are very big, combine the old fashioned with the modern. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel's little restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices.. and moreover you find good restaurants and bars in the immediate neighborhood. A place to stay and enjoy. Werner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erik City
Business
VA BEACH
Apr 18, 2013

Great Place to stay

You will be hard pressed to find a better staff than here! The hotel is in a great place to either make a home base or to rest before or after a long flight. within walking distance of almost any thing you may want see or do. The manager and his staff can help you get buses, or even a rental car and some of the best rates in all of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel can get you the best priced car rental in Costa Rica

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retirment
Business
CT
Apr 18, 2013

Excelent

The staff were very helpful the moment I arrived. The food was very good, loved B/F

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

learn Spanish, (:

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Want to live in CR
Business
Sierra Vista, AZ
Apr 17, 2013

Enjoy downtown San Jose

Good experience with a feel of the local community. I wasn't looking for a high dollar American experience, but a local one, and I found it. Close walk to anything I wanted in SJ. Pleasant experience overall, especially with helpful staff. Recommend the hotel send guests a scanned map of downtownstreets to give to taxi drivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L M and R M
Business
Canada
Apr 7, 2013

Lived up to everything promised

This is a well run Hotel in the center of San Jose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlosancame
Business
Heredia, Costa Rica
Mar 27, 2013

Good price value

At first I had some problems with the guest in the next room and the toilet kept odor, administration put me in a better room. Good deal and good service, the ambience of the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top