$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
93 reviews
Very nice hotel near the center of San Jose

My wife and I spent two nights at the Hotel Santo Tomas and really enjoyed it. It is an old... See full review

  • Wild Goose
  • Nov 19, 2014
Terrific vacation spot

My husband and son loved this hotel. I am envious I wasn't along on this trip. They raved about the... See full review

  • fooded
  • Aug 5, 2014
Restored coffee plantation home with outdoor pool and open-air dining

A beautifully restored, turn-of-the-century coffee plantation house, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers an intimate guesthouse experience in downtown San Jose. Popular downtown attractions like the National Theater, Simon Bolivar Zoo and the Central Market sit within walking distance of the Hotel Santo Tomas, and the hotel is about 12 miles from the international airport. Guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms and a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Solar-heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub
  • Parking (fees apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
Rooms

With just 20 guest rooms, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers personalized service with a great downtown location. Each room has its own style, and most feature hard wood or tile floors and 14-foot ceilings with ceiling fans. Standard guest rooms come with single queen or double beds, while larger guest rooms are available with pairs of queen-size beds. In-room amenities include free high-speed Internet access, laptop-size room safes, telephones, color cable televisions and hair-dryers.

Features

The intimate downtown guesthouse Hotel Santo Tomas offers a small number of quiet rooms and amenities ideal for travelers looking for affordable accommodations at the city center. The property features a solar heated outdoor pool and a Jacuzzi, as well as a fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply). Guests get a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the Restaurant and Bar El Oasis serves affordable and delicious seafood, steak, and pasta dishes throughout the day. Guests can find free high-speed Internet access in the guest rooms, and other on-site amenities include laundry services, tour arrangements and luggage storage.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)
Attractions
  • Central Market (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • National Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (31 mi/50 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown Rooms

Deluxe Room
Room comes with two queen size beds, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Superior Room
Room comes with one queen bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Standard Room
Room comes with one double bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.8 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom W3
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 4, 2013

An Oasis

This is a great little hotel, and a great value. I was passing through San Jose on my way home to the US, and for the first time, I felt comfortable being in San Jose. I had been traveling all day when I arrived and the kitchen hadn't opened yet, but the owner (an American fellow#, walked me back to the kitchen and helped me place my order with the chef and they called my room when it was ready #before the kitchen even officially opened). The hotel itself has an Old World feel, but still comfortable and clean. The next time I'm in San Jose, I will definitely stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wernito
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Sep 1, 2013

an old fashioned hotel with all new amenities

The Santo Tomas Hotel in San José is very well situated, close to the city center which can be reached in a few minutes on foot. The rooms are very big, combine the old fashioned with the modern. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel's little restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices.. and moreover you find good restaurants and bars in the immediate neighborhood. A place to stay and enjoy. Werner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erik City
Business
VA BEACH
Apr 18, 2013

Great Place to stay

You will be hard pressed to find a better staff than here! The hotel is in a great place to either make a home base or to rest before or after a long flight. within walking distance of almost any thing you may want see or do. The manager and his staff can help you get buses, or even a rental car and some of the best rates in all of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel can get you the best priced car rental in Costa Rica

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retirment
Business
CT
Apr 18, 2013

Excelent

The staff were very helpful the moment I arrived. The food was very good, loved B/F

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

learn Spanish, (:

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Want to live in CR
Business
Sierra Vista, AZ
Apr 17, 2013

Enjoy downtown San Jose

Good experience with a feel of the local community. I wasn't looking for a high dollar American experience, but a local one, and I found it. Close walk to anything I wanted in SJ. Pleasant experience overall, especially with helpful staff. Recommend the hotel send guests a scanned map of downtownstreets to give to taxi drivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L M and R M
Business
Canada
Apr 7, 2013

Lived up to everything promised

This is a well run Hotel in the center of San Jose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlosancame
Business
Heredia, Costa Rica
Mar 27, 2013

Good price value

At first I had some problems with the guest in the next room and the toilet kept odor, administration put me in a better room. Good deal and good service, the ambience of the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool by the Pool
Business
Antioch IL
Mar 25, 2013

Oasis in downtown San Jose

I returned to this hotel after staying for the first two days of my trip arriving from the airport. The staff are attentive and friendly. The owner a great resource for questions about the country and various tours. Clean, quaint and a bed and breakfast feel which was a welcome change from chain hotels. I'd highly recommend it and would go back any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool by the Pool
Business
Antioch IL
Mar 25, 2013

Oasis in the center of San Jose

I would say that I was pleasantly surprised and the accomodations at this quaint family owned location. The jacuzzi and pool were refreshing. The location was close to nightlife but far enough away to be very quite and peaceful. The rooms were large and comfortable with wifi and cable available at no charge. The resteraunt was great and reasonable with a great breakfast the start the day. But the staff made me feel like I was an old friend returned to stay. They and the owner made you feel right at home and provided many tips to make my stay pleasurable. I'd return in a heartbeat. Great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pattik
Business
oscoda, Michigan
Mar 13, 2013

good location with great staff

the location was great... within walking distance to the center of town and an artisan "mall"... the staff were very accomadating, pleasant and there when we needed help or advise.... the atmosphere was welcoming and more personal than larger hotels... there was a pool which was too cold to swim in, but the suana was pleasant.. we did not use the exercise room but was available and suficient.. the evening menu was great and food excellent... we had no problems walking to the center of town, altho the sidewalks were not smooth.... if you want to see the real Costa Rica and how the people live, this is an excellent hotel...we were close to museums as well as banks and other point of interests... I would recommend Santo Tomas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

dining at the hotel was great and even when we did not stay at this hotel, we went there to eat...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top