$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
View map of Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
awesome like allways

this is my second home in costa rica my 11th time there i will never even think about go to any... See full review

  • haypeores
  • Aug 24, 2015
Great landing spot!

Right in the heart of everything! Super classy vintage feel. Great hot tub with water slide into... See full review

  • Daniel F.
  • Jul 26, 2015

A beautifully restored, turn-of-the-century coffee plantation house, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers an intimate guesthouse experience in downtown San Jose. Popular downtown attractions like the National Theater, Simon Bolivar Zoo and the Central Market sit within walking distance of the Hotel Santo Tomas, and the hotel is about 12 miles from the international airport. Guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms and a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning.

Rooms

With just 20 guest rooms, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers personalized service with a great downtown location. Each room has its own style, and most feature hard wood or tile floors and 14-foot ceilings with ceiling fans. Standard guest rooms come with single queen or double beds, while larger guest rooms are available with pairs of queen-size beds. In-room amenities include free high-speed Internet access, laptop-size room safes, telephones, color cable televisions and hair-dryers.

Property features

The intimate downtown guesthouse Hotel Santo Tomas offers a small number of quiet rooms and amenities ideal for travelers looking for affordable accommodations at the city center. The property features a solar heated outdoor pool and a Jacuzzi, as well as a fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply). Guests get a complimentary breakfast each morning. Guests can find free high-speed Internet access in the guest rooms, and other on-site amenities include laundry services, tour arrangements and luggage storage.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Solar-heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub
  • Parking (fees apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
Nearby attractions
  • Central Market (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • National Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (31 mi/50 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$85
4.0 / 5 146 reviews
★★★
$78
3.7 / 5 60 reviews
★★★
$55
3.1 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$48
3.2 / 5 6 reviews
★★★
$47
4.0 / 5 19 reviews
★★
$32
3.3 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$79
3.7 / 5 14 reviews
★★
$51
2.8 / 5 4 reviews
★★★
$57
3.0 / 5 1 reviews

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown Rooms

Deluxe Room
Room comes with two queen size beds, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Superior Room
Room comes with one queen bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Standard Room
Room comes with one double bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.8 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mutinydoll
Couples
Tampa FL
Sep 11, 2013

Wonderful respite from the city

This hotel is centrally located and is extremely well maintained. There is a nice pool and hot tub and the breakfast is simple but good. The place is owned by a fellow from North Carolina and he is often there and is helpful along with the staff. We were only scheduled to be there 2 days but stayed for 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
haypeores
Couples
N/A
Aug 24, 2015

awesome like allways

this is my second home in costa rica my 11th time there i will never even think about go to any another hotel when in costa rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel F.
Family
San Lorenzo
Jul 26, 2015

Great landing spot!

Right in the heart of everything! Super classy vintage feel. Great hot tub with water slide into the pool... Good breakfast. Super helpful staff. Kids loved it. Authentic and comfortable and affordable! Hard to complain about this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jesus G.
Single
Yuma
Jul 15, 2015

Costa Rica

The hotel was nice. I was just using it while transitting. I was pleased with the accommodations and a hot shower. Staff was friendly and information was readily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeremy S.
Couples
concord
Apr 28, 2015

1000 Satisfied

What a great gem of a hotel/experience. Owner has put his heart and sole into hotel, and works every day to ensure an amazing, charming, warm, affordable luxury smack-dab in the heart of San Jose. About the hotel: all around wonderful. Clean, elegant rooms. Historic (converted from 19-20th century mansion) with fascinating charms and nooks everywhere. Fun inner sanctum with refreshing pool and awesome, best-in-city hot tub. Our room: spacious, with private separate bathroom with spacious shower. (most rooms in Costa rica have showers but not baths.) About safety: Ignore everything you read about this being a dangerous location. It is no more, or no less dangerous than any other place in San Jose. It's an urban, modern, Latin city. Be smart, but don't be worried. Easy to get to. Easy parking. Easy to walk/bus to anyplace. Would be great for Families Couples Backpackers who want affordable lux Business trips

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam b.
Friends
San Francisco
Feb 18, 2015

One night

it was just fine for one night. central location . All taxis seems to know it. The breakfast was basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wild Goose
Couples
Anchorage, AK, USA
Nov 19, 2014

Very nice hotel near the center of San Jose

My wife and I spent two nights at the Hotel Santo Tomas and really enjoyed it. It is an old building but it is kept very clean and we found the rooms to be very comfortable. Our room was good size and very quiet. There are several nice sitting areas where you can be inside or outside and access the wifi. The location is very good. It is near many nice restaurants and a short walk from the main downtown areas. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Besides handing the details of our stay, they booked tours and arranged cabs for us. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and there were several options. We chose the typical Costa Rican breakfast of gallo pinto with eggs. It is served in an outdoor restaurant area that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fooded
Family
San Jose, Costa Rica
Aug 5, 2014

Terrific vacation spot

My husband and son loved this hotel. I am envious I wasn't along on this trip. They raved about the hotel, staff, etc. We are planning a 2015 trip to Costa Rica and plan to stay in the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Major attractions in San Jose are only a short walk from the Hotel Santo Tomas.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KT Travel Bug
Single
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Jun 16, 2014

Depends on your standards...

Hotel Santo Tomas is a very quaint hotel in the wrong place. While it is very close to downtown (only three blocks away from La Plaza de la Cultura) it's on the edge of the not-so-nice part of town. During the day it was fine, but I didn't feel comfortable going out at night (granted I am a woman and I was traveling alone... it would probably be fine in a group). On the bright side, the room was very comfortable and clean. My room was fairly quiet because it was in a back corner, but in the main part of the hotel it could get quite loud, especially on Friday night when you could hear the loud music next door. I could also hear people talking and the TV going in another room, but everything quieted down by the time I wanted to go to sleep. If you don't mind a little bit of noise, it's fine. I think the cleanliness and comfort of the room made it worth it, and the breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kalu is a nice little restaurant and shop a few blocks from the hotel. A little pricey depending on what you get but the ravioli was fantastic!

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
haypeores
Couples
new york
May 22, 2014

the best of the best

if you want to feel like you are at home this is the best place to go the owners the staff is like a family dont look anywhere else to go this is the best hotel in costa rica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

the chef is the best just try it once his food

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JT1961
Single
Wisconsin
Apr 10, 2014

Adequate for the money

I did not get what I expected from what I saw advertised. I would call this a stripped down bare bones hotel, an adequate place to lay your held down but by no means a place where you can hang out and relax. The pool area and the pool are very small . I don't think more than two people could even fit in the pool at one a time. 3/4 of the lounge area around the pool is in the shade and there are only two lounge chairs in the sunny area. The hot tub at the top of the pool is very small. The hotel is in a run down part of town, hard to find, easily missed. The hotel is on the northern edge of downtown , very close to avenida central, the pedestrian plazas, several parks/ plazas and government buildings, shopping, groceries stores and museums. The staff was not personable. The front counter staff only helped me to book my tour to the volcano. They did nothing to make me feel invited and made no attempts to point me in the direction of places to eat or places to go in town. One of the main reasons I picked this hotel was that the owner was English speaking, but the two people who did speak English were not helpful and were short, the rest of the staff only spoke Spanish. This is a very small hotel, and most of the rooms on the first floor were empty, so it is not like they were busy with customers. They should have been falling over to make the stay memorable and pleasant. You only get three choices for the free breakfast and its alright. Very small portions with no meat included in any of the meals. If you want a full good breakfast, you will need to go downtown only a few blocks away. The hotel is open air, meaning that the only door is the main door, so you hear everything from the outside during the day. It is very noisy. The walls are thin so you here everything in the next room. There is an echo affect when people walk through the halls. It does quiet down quite a bit late at night. The restaruant and bar at the hotel closes at 10:00 p.m. so there is nothing to do. It is very boring. The restaurant prices are over priced. The hotel did nothing for entertainment, or to create a relaxing or festive environment . It is cheap , so you get what you pay for, but I still think a lot more could have been done to make guests feel at ease, given there are only 30 rooms in the entire hotel. If you just need a place to crash this is ok. Personally, I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to have a typical Costa Rican dinner at at cheap price 2300 colones, walk down Avenida Central away from downtown closer to the bus terminal. Otherwise, there are plenty of places to eat downtown but you may pay more for your meal.

Back to menu Return to top