$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Presidente

4 stars
Central Avenue Blvd 7th Street, San Jose, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
164 reviews
Simply Outstanding

Good breakfast buffet. Everything about this hotel is excemplary See full review

  • Matt cigh
  • Jul 13, 2014
Very good choice

Everything is walking distances. I suggest eating at El Patio restaurant. Good prices and excellent... See full review

  • Olga Nelly
  • Jun 26, 2014
Explore San Jose from hotel with central location, free breakfast

The Hotel Presidente sits at the heart of downtown San Jose, within a few blocks of the National Theater, Pre-Colombian Gold Museum and Central Market. A posh retreat in the capital's government and business district, the Hotel Presidente offers amenities to suit business and leisure travelers. Hotel Presidente guests receive a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning, free Wi-Fi access, and the hotel has a full-service spa and fitness center on-site.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to downtown attractions
  • Spa and fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • On-site casino with free drinks and hors d'oeuvres
Rooms

The Hotel Presidente features 92 guest rooms and suites. Standard guest rooms come with either single king-size beds or pairs of double beds, and suites boasts king-size beds and spacious living rooms. Spa rooms feature two-person Jacuzzi tubs. In-room amenities include laptop-size room safe, hair-dryer, air conditioning, LCD TV with cable, mini bar and free high-speed Internet access. Room service is available.

Features

Located at the heart of downtown San Jose, the Hotel Presidente boasts lushly designed interiors and relaxing amenities to provide guests a relaxing respite from their daily activities. The hotel features a fitness center and the on-site spa offers a full range of massages and body treatments (fees apply).


Guests can find a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning at the News Cafe, a casual restaurant that serves sandwiches and salads for lunch, and pasta and steak for dinner. Business travelers can stay connected with free Wi-Fi Internet access, and the hotel also offers complimentary computer terminals. Other on-site amenities include currency exchange, luggage storage and tour desk.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pre-Colombian Gold Museum (1 block)
  • National Theater (Teatro Nacional de Costa Rica)(2 blocks)
  • Central Market (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (30.8 mi/49.6 km)
Business
  • Computer terminals
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Non Smoking Policy: Due to Costa Rican law, city hotels are non smoking facilities.
  • Visitors Policy: As a safety and securtity measure, access to the guestroom floors of the Hotel is limited to registered guests only. Visitors are welcome to the ground level facilities and services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Presidente Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CITY VIEW

Newly renovated Junior Suites offer 570 - 650 square feet of spacious accommodations in a warm and inviting decor. Luxuriate in the comfort and convenience of separate living room and bedroom areas. Junior Suites feature a comfortable king size bed and outstanding mountain and city views.

In-Room Amenities:
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Bathrobe
  • Bathroom Amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV-color TV
  • Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing Board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini Bar
  • Modem / Data Port Connection
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Safe in Room
  • Telephone and Voice Mail


  • STANDARD CITY VIEW

    The most traditional room type provides our guests with 215-375 square feet of living space. Standard Room offers Two Queen Beds or One King Size, making them ideal for both business and leisure travelers.

    In-Room Amenities:
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Bathrobe
  • Bathroom Amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV-color TV
  • Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing Board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini Bar
  • Modem / Data Port Connection
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Safe in Room
  • Telephone and Voice Mail


  • STANDARD ROOM

    The most traditional room type provides our guests with 215-375 square feet of living space. Standard Room offers Two Queen Beds or One King Size, making them ideal for both business and leisure travelers.

    In-Room Amenities:
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Bathrobe
  • Bathroom Amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV-color TV
  • Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing Board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini Bar
  • Modem / Data Port Connection
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Safe in Room
  • Telephone and Voice Mail


  • GRAND SPA SUITES

    Grand Spa Suites are truly inspired. These spectacular 650 square feet suites feature a glass enclosed two-person Jacuzzi, and are designed with your ultimate relaxation in mind.

    The Grand Spa Suite offers the spacious luxury of a king size bed, ample living room and a balcony offering unparalleled mountain views of San Jose's Central Mountain chain.
    JUNIOR SUITE TWO BEDS

    Newly renovated Junior Suites offer 570 - 650 square feet of spacious accommodations in a warm and inviting decor. Luxuriate in the comfort and convenience of separate living room and bedroom areas.Junior Suites feature Two Double Bed

    In-Room Amenities:
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Bathrobe
  • Bathroom Amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV-color TV
  • Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing Board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini Bar
  • Modem / Data Port Connection
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Safe in Room
  • Telephone and Voice Mail


  • SPA ROOM SUITES

    Lavish Spa Rooms feature a two-person Jacuzzi. These rooms were designed with your relaxation and comfort in mind, and include a lounging area and a King Size Bed or Two Double Bed in an ample 480square feet space.

    In-Room Amenities:
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Bathrobe
  • Bathroom Amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV-color TV
  • Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing Board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini Bar
  • Modem / Data Port Connection
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Safe in Room
  • Telephone and Voice Mail


  • Amenities

    • Free buffet breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    Activities
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Casino
    Spa
    Dining
    Free buffet breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Wheel chair access
    Accessible parking
    Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
    Wheelchair accessible elevators
    Ramp access to buildings

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Hotel Presidente also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    9.9336 -84.0752
    Area served
    Downtown, San Jose, Costa Rica.
    Nearby airports
  • Juan Santamara International Airport
  • Area description
    Bustling downtown San Jose houses Costa Ricas financial district, along with most governmental offices and institutions. The Central Avenue Boulevard and its surrounding parks and plazas have been called the biggest outdoor shopping center in Central America.

    Nearby points of interest

    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
    • National Theater: 0.1 mi
    • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.6 mi
    • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
    • National Theater: 0.1 mi
    • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.6 mi
    • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
    • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.8 mi
    • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18 mi
    • Chirripo National Park: 50.5 mi

    Dining

    LA CAFETERIA RESTAURANT

    In San Jose, Costa Rica, delicious food is a ritual to be enjoyed and shared with friends and family. Gather around a table in the relaxed dining room or take in the energy of our bar and toast to the simple life. A lively restaurant in San Jose, Costa Rica, La Cafeteria offers chef-inspired cuisine and daily specials, La Cafeteria is a dynamic culinary adventure in downtown San Jose. Enjoy the cuisine and culture of Costa Rica at our casual bistro any time of day.

    Restaurant Offers
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1400
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (164)

    Ratings and reviews for Hotel Presidente

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    164 out of 164
    Amenities:
    3.7
    Room cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    4

    86% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    can not come in
    los angeles california
    Sep 13, 2011

    not good for single

    did not have a nice time at this hotel you will not like it looking too have fun do not stay here.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Pistol Pete
    Seguin, TX, USA
    Sep 20, 2011

    Do not stay at The Hotel Presidente

    The Hotel Presidente has recently instituted a guest policy. I have no problem with them instituting a guest policy, but I do have a problem when this guest policy is not made available me. I did not find out until I tried to sign in a guest. I will not stay in the Hotel Presidente and I will tell all of my friends not to stay there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Pistol Pete
    Seguin, TX, USA
    Sep 20, 2011

    Do not stay at The Hotel Presidente

    The Hotel Presidente has recently instituted a guest policy. I have no problem with them instituting a guest policy, but I do have a problem when this guest policy is not made available me. I did not find out until I tried to sign in a guest. I will not stay in the Hotel Presidente and I will tell all of my friends not to stay there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    J. Douglas
    San Jose
    Apr 3, 2012

    Very Disapointed

    After booking my room with my girlfriend from Costa Rica the Hotel would not let her check in because she arrived 3 hours after me and was not dressed appropiate, accouding to them. We were told this after I had already unpacked and after her 4 hour bus ride and my 6 hour flight. I was forced repack everything and move to a different hotel. I was also informed that the Presedente was going to charge me for a whole day even though I was only there for 3 hours. The hotel was also under construction which I was not told about either. Horrible experience.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    can not come in
    los angeles california
    Sep 13, 2011

    not good for single

    did not have a nice time at this hotel you will not like it looking too have fun do not stay here.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Miami, FL
    Jul 28, 2008

    safe and convient very relaxing and friendly staff

    the taff is very friendly all requests are met and a follow up call is made to make sure your request was met and in a timely manner.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

    a restaurant called Machu Picchu is a short cab ride away by far the best inexpensive dining in the area

    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Rivermic
    Business
    Dallas,Texas
    Nov 17, 2009

    Location was great !

    Check to see if rennovation is finished first ! When it is done I would rate hotel higher.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Rivermic
    Business
    Dallas,Texas
    Nov 17, 2009

    Location was great !

    Check to see if rennovation is finished first ! When it is done I would rate hotel higher.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Miami, FL
    Jul 28, 2008

    safe and convient very relaxing and friendly staff

    the taff is very friendly all requests are met and a follow up call is made to make sure your request was met and in a timely manner.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

    a restaurant called Machu Picchu is a short cab ride away by far the best inexpensive dining in the area

    Review of Hotel Presidente

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    jacksonville,fl
    Oct 30, 2010

    hotel presidente

    Staff and service were excellent until checkout. The young lady that checked me out definitely had a bad attitude and tried to overcharge me for an incidental of all things. The location is in the heart of the city and you can enjoy dining with a clear view of the street and all the hustle of people going by. Security was particulary excellent.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Back to menu Return to top