$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Hotel Le Bergerac

3 stars
Calle 35 los yoses primera, entrada blvd los yoses, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
15 reviews
great place

Staff here are great. I arrived 2 in the morning. They opened the gate, helped me to get my room... See full review

  • visitor201200
  • Dec 19, 2014
Charming local hotel

This hotel was awesome. Although away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, had $1 bus access... See full review

  • San Diego minivacation
  • Apr 2, 2014
This charming small hotel with its tropical gardens and relaxed and friendly atmosphere is a rarity in the city of San Jose, Costa Rica. There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony. Hotel Le Bergerac is an ideal base for exploring the beauty of Costa Rica. Amenities - Dry cleaning, Lobby, Reception, Wake up call service, Exit taxes sale.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Le Bergerac also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Hotel Le Bergerac Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 double bed with balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, room service, safe in room and telephone. All rooms have hot water, and access to main gardens.
Superior Room
Superior Room offers 1 queen bed or 2 double beds with balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, room service, safe in room and telephone. There are rooms with private garden or terrace, Wooden floors and very nice decorated.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room offers 1 king bed, 2 king bed or 2 queen beds with balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, room service, safe in room and telephone. Rooms with private tropical patio garden, fridge and hot water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.8 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.9 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1 mi
  • National Theater: 1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 2.5 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 4.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 5.1 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.8 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.9 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1 mi
  • National Theater: 1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 2.5 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 4.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 5.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 13.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.8 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 49.8 mi

Dining

Cyranos Restaurant
Cyrano's restaurant and its menus have been designed with the hotel guest in mind. In a very bright and cheerful international cafe style atmosphere the experienced chefs have used only the best produce and cuisine from a variety of the Americas in order to have a wide and suitable choice. Dinning on the open terrace in clement weather is recommended. Wines and liquors are served from the adjacent small and intimate bar. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and terrace, a continental style is available free of charge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Le Bergerac

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris H.
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 7, 2013

Perfect stay in San Jose

We were in town for one night and couldn't be happier with this nice, charming hotel. San Jose can be quite a chaotic place so it was really enjoyable to go back to this peaceful spot. Staff is great and really helpful, food is simple (like most Costa Rican food) but fresh and good. The room and bathroom were huge. If we ever stay in San Jose again, we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The menu is small but food is good especially the shrimp with garlic for starter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Diego minivacation
Business
Port Angeles wa
Apr 2, 2014

Charming local hotel

This hotel was awesome. Although away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, had $1 bus access direct to downtown. Close to largest mall in city. Staff was engaging and aimed to please. Only difficulty was that our reservation was not transmtted despite confrmation so that staff had to scramble to find us a room and they did! Also lovely dining area and patio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to sun screen and travel necessities in safe network.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centennial Colorado, U.S.A.
Jul 4, 2011

Perfect Rendezvous

Our children are both studying abroad in Costa Rica, this hotel was recommended by my daughter's Tico Mami and Papi. Although we were only able to spend one night there with our kids, this was a perfect place to meet. It is close to where they are going to school and gave us an impression of the Costa Rica they were exposed to. The hotel is quaint and beautiful...the rooms are super clean and well kept. The really great thing about this hotel is the staff, I don't think I've met nicer people anywhere in the world...If my wife and I ever make it back to Costa Rica we would go out of our way to stay there again. The restaurant is great, and a perfect place to have a conversation with the ones you love...some good food, a couple cerveza's and accomidating staff...they let us stay late...All in all, a magical evening. [...]...your english rocks...[...], thanks for letting us stay late!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
visitor201200
Business
Houston
Dec 19, 2014

great place

Staff here are great. I arrived 2 in the morning. They opened the gate, helped me to get my room quickly. I stayed twice here in my trip to Costa Rica. Big spatial rooms. Quiet area even it is close to the downtown. Close to everything too. Restaurant, supermarket, bank are all in walking s Distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
piacom
Business
Louisville, KY
Dec 8, 2011

Great safe and clean hotel in central San Jose

After driving through San Jose and not seeing much of the city's safest place, i have to say we were comforted to arrive at the hotel. It's safeguarded and it is actually located in a nice area of the capital. The service was amazing, and we immediately ate at their restaurant which was delicious and affordable. The room is nice but not amazing. I think the mattress and sheets are a bit outdated and it was a bit cold at night. Breakfast was great and overall the hotel was of great value for its price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
quetzel quester
Business
southwest Alberta
Mar 24, 2014

Hotel Le Bergerac - a flowery oasis

This was our first stop in Costa Rica and we loved the gardens and birds. We had a modest room but it was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was very good and enhanced by the very engaging server Nick. He set the tone for many more wonderful Costa Ricans who really are enthusiastic and hospitable. I'd go back just to hear Nick's stories and jokes! The rest of the staff were also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared for lots of beans and rice! : )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harvel Family
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 28, 2014

Beautiful hotel

Our stay here was great. It was a gated property and we felt very safe. The room was clean and the food in the restaurant was great. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The San Jose Central Market was a 30 minute walk away and worth seeing. Lots of yummy, local food to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LitmusTest
Business
California
Aug 16, 2014

A gem of a hideway

We loved out stay here and will come back again when we need to stay in the city in the future. We loved the staff and was cared for like a family member. A pleasure and a surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall and eateries are close by enough (ask for express delivery food service from other local restaurants nearby).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ber6363
Business
helena ar
Nov 19, 2014

Rain forrest

The hotel is dated but very clean and comfortable. Soft beds and soft TOWELS. It is like being in a rain forrest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ber6363
Business
helena ar
Dec 2, 2014

beautiful hotel

a little old but spotless and staff was great like being in the rain forrest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top