$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Hotel Europa and Casino

3 stars
Central Street 3rd & 5th avenue, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
21 reviews
good hotel

good people and a good hotel at a good price.very clean good breakfast and they have a good lunch See full review

  • tombo
  • Jul 25, 2014
Excellent Value!!!!

The staff is great. I know little or no spanish and they were very helpful The free breakfast... See full review

  • TonyLoco
  • Jan 4, 2014
The only hotel conveniently located in the heart of San Jose with an outdoor pool.

The Hotel Europa within walking distance to the National Theater of Costa Rica, the Plaza de la Cultura, museums, shops, bars, restaurants, and night life will make your stay a great and affordable experience.Built in 1911 the famous and renovated hotel Europa is the oldest hotel in San Jose, offering to the hotel guests nearly a century of experience in the field of hospitality and personalized service.

The hotel offers a Coffee Shop - Restaurant with great typical lunch buffet for less, a bar Lounge and Casino.

Guests are offered a complimentary breakfast. Wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Event facilities consist of a ballroom, conference/meeting rooms, and banquet facilities. The staff can arrange concierge services, tour/ticket assistance, event catering, and business services. The hotel is looking forward to welcoming you in the hotel. The hotel wish you a great stay with the hotel and encourage you to ask the hotel friendly team members at the front desk for anything you would need. The hotel is delighted about taking care of your needs and also to guide you for a pleasant stay in San Jose. The hotel offers high-speed internet access in all of the guest rooms and the hotel hope you will stay connected with the hotel in the future.

The comfortable 70 guestrooms feature air conditioning, televisions with cable channels, wireless Internet access, and provide desks, in-room safes, and direct-dial phones. Bathrooms offer quality showers, large mirrors, and hair dryers. In the hotel Europa you'll find the following features and amenities Hotel Facilities: Business center, Casino, Swimming Pool, Meeting rooms, Private car Parking, Lobby, Bar & Restaurant with lunch buffet, Non-smoking rooms, Game room. Hotel Services: Wireless internet in public areas, Air Conditioning, TV, Telephone with direct line to exterior, Safe box, Electronic Key Card, Audio-visual equipment, Automatic wake up service, Laundry and ironing service, Multilingual Staff, 24h Reception, Rent a Car, City Tours & Tours assistance, Taxi Calls, Medical Service.

Hotel Map

9.9387 -84.096
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO).
Area description
Hotel Europa is located in the heart of the city of San Jose between national monuments, historical landmarks, squares, parks, museums, shops and pedestrian streets. San Jose sits in the center of the country in the Central Valley and is surrounded by gorgeous untouched cloud forests. Serving as a hub to the rest of the country, San Jose is the perfect place to use as a base camp to tour Costa Rica. San Jose is considered to be among the most cosmopolitan cities in Latin America. Here, you can find wonderful museums, bars, restaurants, shopping centers, colorful markets and a fast paced nightlife. Downtown San Jose is the busiest part of town. A maze of streets and avenues, here you can find most of the city's attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Europa and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Europa and Casino Rooms

Standard Single or Double Room
Standard Single or Double Room offers 1 queen or 2 queen beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, cable / color TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Night club
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.3 mi
  • National Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.5 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.5 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.7 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.3 mi
  • National Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.5 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.5 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.7 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.9 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.2 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.2 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 51.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Europa and Casino

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Cemo
Ventura, California
Aug 21, 2013

You get what you paid for

Let's begin with the location; it's right smack in the middle of the downtown area, so everything is in walking distance. We stayed here the first 3 nights in Costa Rica. The first night we were assigned room 215, it was located at the end of the hallway which at first we thought was a good thing but when we opened the door to the room, it seemed as if it was the room that was forgotten. There was no hot water in the shower and I'm guessing that was due to the showerhead leaking all night long. There were smashed bugs on the wall with the shoe prints still visible. When I called down to the reception to ask for the WiFi password, she said they didn't have Wifi. Since we had been traveling all day, we decided to just sleep the night away and talk to someone else in the morning. There was a gentleman working the front desk now and he was able to get us a new room to our liking. I would recommend this hotel, but no longer than one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chukee
Chicago IL
Mar 20, 2013

Nothing special

Staff is dressed nice- but needs training for service- some staff it seems to be an effort to do the job- others lack the basic hospitality skills - smile,attention to customers needs etc. The owners children get more attention than the hotel guests- the security/ doorman are very nice- if you speak spanish- need to watch yourself outside though. If you are comfortable with the Spanish language -it is ok but not very English friendly.Lunch buffet at hotel draws alot of locals- avoid any meats(steak/pork) very tough- stay with chicken or fish- expect to wait for service-(SLOW) it is Costa Rica- and paperwork is mandatory!-- A simple deposit in a bank will take you 30-40 miniutes!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The local Colombian bakeries(Panderia)- good food ,reasonable prices, staff helpful---point and number of fingers- -- easy- breakfast ,lunch or diner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puzzled by it all
Seattle
Mar 3, 2013

Hotel casino with pool for a week?

The Casino portion of the lobby was about 50% about half the machines we not functioning. The outdoor pool was completely enclosed and left unkept for months. The water was green so there was essentially no pool..; a year ago I stayed in a different place nearby that was delightful. Goes to show not to choose the cheapest deal. It would not cost that much for them to replace the worn out toilet seats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cabs are plentiful, however very few drivers speak English. Be sure they understand where you want to go or find another cab driver to avoid going off in the wrong direction then in circles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tired of the US
San Jose Costa Rica
Sep 17, 2013

In the heart of San Jose

Convenient location the hotel needs updating the air conditioners don't work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many better places to dine in if you venture out a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jupdog
Florida
Sep 3, 2012

Great place to stay for doing day trips.

Stayed three days at this Hotel, is the third time I have stayed here. I think it is the staff that keeps bringing me back. The office staff is just the best and will try to meet all of your needs. I did like one of the changes to the restaurant area. They now have a buffett type breakfast which I like better as you can wait on yourself. They will make you eggs just the way you want them. Over all I would rate them a three only because some of the rooms could use updating. But the staff makes up for this in service. We left everyday for sightseeing and always came back late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the walking area that is closed off to traffic. you can walk down to the Mercado where all of the good are sold to the locals, a must see. There are plenty of others thing along the way, museums and such.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scotty Rich
Portsmouth, NH
Dec 27, 2013

Decent Value

Very dated, built in 1911! Pool is great, breakfast is fine. The decor really needs updating but it is clean and the staff is friendly. Luxury it's not, but located in the center of town near most everything in San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveAZ5
Phoenix, Arizona
Feb 21, 2013

Good location...average hotel.

Large room. AC remote was missing back, and had bad batteries. Wireless spotty to bad. Staff was hit and miss for helpfulness. Free breakfast not bad. Buffet dinner very bland. Safe in room, but no key available...ha! All in all, you get what you pay for. Budget hotel...stayable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johntraveller
Denver
Nov 18, 2012

Adequate, but not great

This hotel is well located in the middle of San Jose, which is also its detriment, because San Jose is far from a pleasant place to visit. The hotel has some charm to it and the staff was quite accommodating. The hotel, though, is dated and could really use a face lift, particularly in replacing carpeting which is well stained and used. But, you get what you pay for and other than the dowdiness, it does provide value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a KFC and several other chicken places close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jupdog
Business
Florida
Nov 29, 2013

stay for day trips

As usual, I can only say the best about Hotel Europa! I got to the hotel about 3:00 am. Hotel was full due to an event at the sport stadium. As they had no rooms available and I had a reservation they let me stay in the suite while I was there. If you have never stayed in the suite, I must say it was great. My thanks to the staff for allowing me this privilege as they are always great while I stay there. I have to admit that I rated them higher than maybe 3,5 for this reason, but still a great place to stay. The elevator was not working, but only have three floors so not so bad. Breakfast was great as usual and is included in the room. I look forward to the next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Europa and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexander h
San Fran California
Mar 19, 2013

Great central location

Excellent staff , great central location to exes museums , the city etcetera .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search