$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Gran Hotel Costa Rica

3 stars
Calle 3 And Avenida Central Y Segunda, Costado o Teatro Nacional, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
11 reviews
This hotel is situated in the middle of all the action in San Jose .

the overall experience at this hotel was very good. See full review

  • GP Traveler
  • Sep 3, 2014
Great location

Beautiful historic hotel located in heart of downtown San Jose. Staff were very accommodating with... See full review

  • Nasho
  • Jul 7, 2014
Heritage hotel in the Costa Rica capital
Gran Hotel Costa Rica invites leisure travelers to a nationally acclaimed historic property near local landmarks and attractions in San Jose. While in the capital of Costa Rica, vacationers check out must-visit sites like Gold Museum, Historic Center, Plaza de la Cultura and San Jose Cathedral. This heritage hotel is seven kilometers from Tobias Bolanos International Airport.

At Gran hotel, holidaymakers work out at the fitness center or have a rejuvenating treatment at Gran Spa. Spacious and flexible banquet spaces are also available on site. Patrons relish scrumptious international cuisines at Gran Hotel Costa Rica Restaurant while listening to occasional live piano music during evenings or overlooking the National Theater nearby.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Centrally located in San Jose
  • Recognized as a historical landmark
  • Fitness center and Gran Spa on site
Gran Hotel Costa Rica Rooms
Gran Hotel Costa Rica offers spacious rooms and suites furnished with classic wood furniture. All units are outfitted with satellite LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, digital safe, mini refrigerator and en suite bathroom. Suites have additional amenities like lobby, living room and dining area. Some units feature beautiful views of the Historic Center and courtyard at the property.
Things to Do
  • Gold Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Plaza de la Cultura (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • National Theater (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • San Jose Cathedral (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Central Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • San Jose Parque Central (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Morazan Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Parque Espana (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Mercado Central (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Jade Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Center of Art and Culture (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Plaza de la Democracia (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Museum (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Parque Nacional (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Hotel Map

9.9339 -84.0775
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO): Approximate driving time is 25 minutes and distance is 12 km (7 miles).
Area description
Our Central location, just 20 minutes from the International Airport, enables you to easily enjoy the National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura and pre-Columbian Gold Museum all adjacent to our hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Costa Rica also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Gran Hotel Costa Rica Rooms

Standard Room
Standard rooms feature one or two queen size beds, classic wood furniture with desk, and inside window overlooking the courtyard.

Room Facilities:
24 h service, Alarm Clock, Bath, Bath or Shower, Cable/Satelite Television, Carpeted Floor, Celling Fan, Coffe/Tea Maker, Hair Dryer, Internet ADSL, Mini Bar, Safe, Seating Area, Telephone, Wake-up Service, WC/Shower on the floor.
Superior Room
Spacious double room with great view of the Historic Center, feature kingsize bed or two queen size beds, classic wood furniture, wood desk and reading lamp, classic 1930 bathtub.

Room Facilities:
24 h service, Alarm Clock, Bath or Shower, Cable/Satelite Television, Carpeted Floor, Celling Fan, Coffe/Tea Maker, Hair Dryer, Internet Access, Internet ADSL, Mini Bar, Radio & Alarm Clock, Safe, Seating Area, Telephone, Wake-up Service
Deluxe Two Bedroom
Spacious rooms with king size bed or 2 Queen size beds. These rooms have a great view of the Historic Center and feature a living room with classic wood style furniture and desk.

Room Facilities:
24 h service, Air Conditioning, Bath or Shower, Cable/Satelite Television, Carpeted Floor, Celling Fan, Coffe/Tea Maker, Hair Dryer, Internet Access, Internet ADSL, Mini Bar, Radio & Alarm Clock, Safe, Seating Area, Sofa
J.F.K Presidential Suite
The same that former President John F. Kennedy used in his visit to Costa Rica in 1963 with:
*Great view of the Historic Center.
*Lobby, living and dining room areas.
*Bar.
*Very spacious bedroom with King size bed.
*Magnificent restored classic wood furniture and desk (same used by John F. Kennedy).
* 2 Plasma T.V.s with satellite signal.
* Mini bar.
* Bathroom with jacuzzi .
* Extra bathroom for guests .
* Digital security box.
* Wireless internet .
* Ceiling fan and A/C .

-Please notice that as an extra service you can add the option of renting a car to the cost of your room.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.2 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.5 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.2 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.5 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.7 mi

Dining

El Bufo Dorado / The Golden Frog
Enjoy our new wood finished bar "El Bufo Dorado" (The Golden Frog), furnished in leather with exotic fresh fruit cocktails.
Restaurant 1930
Enjoy our fine dinning at the restaurant 1930 while you listen to live piano, cello and violin music.
Cafe 1930
Our famous 24 hour open air Cafeteria las Arcadas serves your favorite breakfast, plus lunch and dinner specials. During lunch we have live piano music, every day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our fifth floor offers several meeting and convention facilities with access to modern audio visual equipment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Keller
Business
Lafayette, LA
Mar 29, 2014

Wow!

Like the old business saying Location, Location, Location! The rooms were not exceptional but they were more than sufficient n very clean (it's an older hotel, JFK stayed there) but who spends a lot of time in their room when there is so much to do & see. You are in the heart of a bustling Central American city, surrounded by beautiful people, amazing sights & sounds(museums, the National Theater) the hotel restaurant served 5 star food & the hotel staff was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Klw978
Business
Shirley, MA, USA
Feb 12, 2012

GRAN HOTEL COSTA RICA

First of all, it is known as the Gran Hotel Costa Rica. I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years arriving on Friday to enjoy the capital city and all of the museums and culture of the Avenida Central, Teatro Nacional and Plaza de Cultura before heading to the central Pacific. This hotel is a national treasure. If you are expecting five star American standards this is not the hotel for you. If you are up for a stay at a wonderful Costa Rican landmark you'll love it. No air conditioning--you don't need it. Open windows--you may want to stay in rooms facing the Avenida Central because it is a pedestrian walkway--traffic on the other side of the hotel. Food in the restaurant is wonderful. During "high season" there is a wonderful breakfast buffet on one of the upper floors with view of the city. Included in room rate! All museums are within walking distance-a walking tour of the city starts in front of the Teatro right in front of the hotel. Visit the Mercardo Central to get a feeling for Costa Rican market. Be sensible--keep valuables secure be aware of your surroundings. Enjoy people watching in the Plaza which is a main thouroughfare for pedestrians going to and fro--the big Coca Cola bus station is not far away. You can't find a hotel better located to enjoy the capitol city. Just be aware--you are not in the U.S. and things are usually done on Tico Time. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy yourself and you will love Costa Rica.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenzuli
Business
Liberia, Costa Rica
Dec 17, 2012

THE Place to Stay in Downtown San Jose

Old world charm! Tasteful room furnishings and decor! Friendly helpful staff! Free breakfast! The best location in the heart of historic downtown! I have stayed almost everywhere in downtown San Jose and this is my top pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the free breakfast on the 5th floor. Fantastic buffet and views!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nasho
Business
Chicagom IL
Jul 7, 2014

Great location

Beautiful historic hotel located in heart of downtown San Jose. Staff were very accommodating with a last minute online booking. Overall good value hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GP Traveler
Business
florida usa
Sep 3, 2014

This hotel is situated in the middle of all the action in San Jose .

the overall experience at this hotel was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good restaurants within short distances.g

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chetanc
Business
Panama
Jul 19, 2014

Nice place for work in Central of San Jose

The hotel is quiet nice and cozy though fixtures are old but in good condition. Location wise was execellent for my business visits in central of San Jose. Breakfast is good on the top of the hotel. Enjoyed my stay the Wi-Fi signal was good throughout the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Since located next to central is very nice to roam about and move in central area of San Jose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queque
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 13, 2014

Great location

Great location, but it wasn't anything special. It seems like it used to be a great place to stay, but now maybe a little lack luster. The staff at the other hotels we stayed at were so amazing that it made this one seem so ordinary. Also the food in their restaurant was pretty pricey, but the complimentary breakfast was yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus!! It's so cheap. The shuttles from the hotels are $20-$40 and the bus is less than $2 to get to the airport. Locals are more than willing to help-most speak some English.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dolfin2479
Business
connecticut
Sep 19, 2014

last night before flying out

I chose this hotel because of location and price..it is right across from the national theater (which is where our transport from tortuguero was dropping us off) At first glance hotel looks real nice and after spending 8 other nights in hotels with small beds, no blankets, amenities or ac..this place appears amazing But then you take a closer look and you can see its run down..older furniture, loud portable ac units, cracked sinks ect... (which didnt bother me so much personally but its just not as grand as you expect) My biggest issue and negative was the fact that we had a lower level room and with the lights outside the room never got dark and because of the portable ac and whole in the window for the vent to go out you cant close the curtains all the way..even at midnight I could see clearly in our room Bed was ok and shower ok I felt very safe walking around the area (7-830pm)..most things closed up by then..in the early morning we went to find the big fruit/craft market area..that was a safe walk distance As you check in you get free juice drinks and your breakfast buffet coupons(included)..breakfast on 5th floor..very good and excellent view (eggs, pancakes, rice and beans, potatoe stuff, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, omelets and waffles) we used hotel transport for $30bucks to airport..fast and easy Casino was attached..small but fun its an average hotel but one that I would stay in again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oliverc
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 13, 2014

good hotel but needs a little something more

I really liked the location, the staff, and the complimentary breakfast was DELICIOUS!!! The best rice and beans I've ever had. The main thing I Didn't like was the quality of the rooms. There was a locked door in our room that I guess went to another (quite loud ) room I assume. There was no light in the bathroom except a small light above the sink, this made the bathroom unusually dark. I'm not too picky so I can deal with these things for the price. Overall I'd say the Gran Hotel has a very good value considering everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddy ans Sylvia
Business
Melbourne Florida
Aug 9, 2012

Awful

There was no air condition and it was too hot and noisi, the staff was the worst ! At the reception and the waiter at the restaurant, they were unfriendly and the waiter un respectful. We travel a lot and this hotel was awful, I recommend the Aurola holiday , we we went the next day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top