$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

4 stars
San Antonio de Belen, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Service with a smile

The rooms were huge. Staff was amazing always smiling and they go out of thier way. The pool and... See full review

  • Cuban flash traveler
  • Oct 3, 2013
Overnight to catch a flight

Beautiful hotel with a staff that is anxious to please. Got in around 5 p.m. and left at 6 a.m. but... See full review

  • lrltravler
  • Nov 4, 2013
Escape to a quiet oasis with easy access to San Jose attractions

Conveniently located just minutes from the international airport and the museums and parks of downtown San Jose, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton Hotel offers a lush resort atmosphere in the Costa Rican capital city. Golfers can head to the Cariari Country Club next to the hotel, and business and leisure travelers enjoy a range of amenities, including two swimming pools.

Highlights
  • 2 swimming pools, kids pool, sun deck, pool bar
  • On-site casino
  • Golf course adjacent
  • On-site beauty salon and barber shop
Location

Make a day trips to Poas Volcano and Irazu Volcano National Park and Carara Biological Reserve. The hotel's dedicated tour desk can assist with arrangements around San Jose.

Rooms

The DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton Hotel offers spacious guest rooms and suites with plush Sweet Dreams Beds by Doubletree Sleep Experience. Custom-designed beds feature jumbo down hypo-allergenic pillows and high-thread count linens with triple sheeting. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV with Spanish and English channels, and private bathrooms with Crabtree & Evelyn Citron, Honey & Coriander bath products. 24-hour room service is available. Family-friendly conveniences include a children's menu, cribs and high chairs on request.

Features

With mountain vistas and tropical pool views DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton Hotel offers amenities for business, family and leisure travelers. The hotel serves up its signature warm chocolate-chip cookie at check-in. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Dining

Guests of the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton Hotel can enjoy Costa Rican flavors on-site at the open-air Las Tejas Restaurant.

Recreation

The property boasts two free-form swimming pools with sun decks and a pool bar. On-site activities include a fitness center and a casino, and the hotel offers family services like baby-sitting, and a kids pool.

Transportation
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (7 mi/11.3 km)
Attractions
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (7.7 mi/12.3 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (24.1 mi/38.8 km)
  • Poas Volcano National Park (22.6 mi/36.5 km)
  • Irazu Volcano National Park  (33.2 mi/53.4 km)
  • Carara Biological Reserve (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting rooms for up to 600 guests
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Secretarial services available
  • Currency exchange

Hotel Map

9.976 -84.1568
Area served
San Antonio de Belem Cariari City, San Jose, Costa Rica 40701.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria Intl, (SJO), 4.20, MI, SE;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica Rooms

STANDARD ROOM

Our spacious non-smoking rooms feature Two Full-Sized or One King Bed Sweet Dreams Beds by DoubleTree Sleep Experience. This includes a custom designed plush-top mattress by Serta with an inviting abundance of jumbo hypoallergenic down pillows, high thread-count linens with triple sheeting, elegant contemporary bed covers and matching bed skirt.

Immerse yourself in the Costa Rican culture in rooms that are reminiscent of the colonial hacienda style of traditional San Jose.

Your Room Includes:
  • The DoubleTree AM/FM alarm clock with MP3 connection
  • Wi-fi
  • 37-inch LCD TV that features both Spanish and English networks
  • Coffeemaker with a famous Costa Rican blend
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • In-Room Climate Control
  • Iron and Ironing Board
  • Hairdryer.
  • EXECUTIVE ROOM

    You will enjoy all the features of our Executive Level service area and lounge that make any trip to San Jose memorable.
    Start your day off with continental breakfast and relax in the evening with hors d'oeuvres at cocktail hour.

    The standard guest room is enhanced with a nice balcony and a generously sized bathroom featuring a tub/shower combination with curved shower rod, signature bath products and, of course, our lush DoubleTree terry.

    Our spacious rooms with two full-sized or one kind size Sweet Dreams Beds by DoubleTree Sleep Experience.

    Your Room Includes:
  • The DoubleTree AM/FM alarm clock with MP3 connection
  • 37-inch LCD TV that features both Spanish and English networks
  • Coffeemaker with a famous Costa Rican blend
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • In-Room Climate Control
  • Iron and Ironing Board
  • Hairdryer.
  • ROOM SUITE

    Indulge yourself with this beautiful and spacious two bedroom or one king size bed suite wtih separate living area.
    The bedroom features the Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree plush-top king bed with four jumbo hypoallergenic feather pillows and the second bedroom has two double beds.

    Modern amenities that include high-speed internet access, an in-room safe big enough to accommodate your laptop .
  • Enjoy the DoubleTree AM/FM alarm clock with MP3 player connection
  • Cable TV Service and 37-inch LCD TV of each room
  • An oversized workstation and adjustable ergonomic executive chair will allow you to work smart
  • .
    These suites are equipped with:
  • A coffee maker with a Famous Costa Rican blend
  • Safe deposit box
  • In-Room climate control
  • Iron and Ironing Board
  • Hairdryer
  • .

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Casino
    Golf
    Game room
    Tennis
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.6 mi
    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 4.8 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 5.7 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 6 mi
    • El Pueblo: 6.1 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.2 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.2 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.2 mi
    • National Theater: 6.2 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.2 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.2 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.3 mi
    • Parque Espana: 6.3 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.5 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.6 mi
    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 4.8 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 5.7 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 6 mi
    • El Pueblo: 6.1 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.2 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.2 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.2 mi
    • National Theater: 6.2 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.2 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.2 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.3 mi
    • Parque Espana: 6.3 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.5 mi
    • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.5 mi
    • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 21.1 mi
    • Chirripo National Park: 56.7 mi

    Dining

    BAR CHAPUZON

    During our hot summer, a cocktail or refreshing beverage will be waiting for you in our poolside bar, in an informal and relaxing environment.

    The welcoming shade, fast food dishes and delicious drinks make for a truly relaxing moment.

    Open on weekends during the high season from:
    9:00am until 5:00pm
    IN ROOM DINING

    Try the favors of DoubleTree by Hilton experiencing the delicious options in the privacy and comfort of your room.

    Our team is ready to pamper you 24/7.
    DECK CAFE

    Enjoy a delicious coffee in our Lobby, a pleasant experience surrounded by a quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

    A new concept of grab and go, specially designed to satisfy your needs for:
  • Sandwiches
  • Paninis
  • Coffee
  • Or a Drink.
  • BAR CHIRIQUI

    This bar offers a bohemian atmosphere with a combination of music and a great variety of national and international cocktails and beverages.

    All these ingredients together make Chiriqui the perfect place to celebrate being in Costa Rica.

    Open every day from:
    10:00 a.m. until midnight.
    LAS TEJAS

    Our international restaurant is located beside the main pool and surrounded by tropical gardens.

    Here, the local Costa Rican cuisine and international flavors of Hilton meet our warm and friendly service in a rustic and open air setting.

    Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner every day.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1100

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (48)

    Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    48 out of 48
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.7
    Hotel staff:
    4.4
    Room comfort:
    4.6
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    4.2

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    trakon
    Chicago, il
    Mar 4, 2011

    San Jose

    marginal at best, service mediocre, Hiltpon gold area was good

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Littleton, CO
    Mar 3, 2011

    Friendly staff - nice hotel

    This hotel was very nice. The staff couldn't have been more friendly. There is a little market just up the street - very nice - perfect for grabbing snacks or an easy breakfast. There's a pizza place there too - pretty darn good actually. My only complaint was that the staff didn't know to warn us about traveling into San Jose from the coastal regions (from Manuel Antonio) on a Sunday afternoon/evening. The traffic was HORRIBLE!!!! We found out later that this is typical - coming from the beach at the end of the weekend. Guess we should have figured - but now we know. Also, there was a road closure and NO ONE (not Hertz either) told us about that to help us avoid a two-hour detour. Not sure if it could have been avoided or not, but would have been good to plan around. My guess is that some of these details in communication are cultural differences??? Despite the delay and getting into town later than anticipated the hotel was nice. The pool was already closed (pretty early actually - 8:00) so we didn't get to enjoy that. We got a pizza to go from the place near the market and some beer in the market and called it a night. Our flight left early the next morning.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great little grocery market up the street. Very nice.

    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Littleton, CO
    Mar 3, 2011

    Friendly staff - nice hotel

    This hotel was very nice. The staff couldn't have been more friendly. There is a little market just up the street - very nice - perfect for grabbing snacks or an easy breakfast. There's a pizza place there too - pretty darn good actually. My only complaint was that the staff didn't know to warn us about traveling into San Jose from the coastal regions (from Manuel Antonio) on a Sunday afternoon/evening. The traffic was HORRIBLE!!!! We found out later that this is typical - coming from the beach at the end of the weekend. Guess we should have figured - but now we know. Also, there was a road closure and NO ONE (not Hertz either) told us about that to help us avoid a two-hour detour. Not sure if it could have been avoided or not, but would have been good to plan around. My guess is that some of these details in communication are cultural differences??? Despite the delay and getting into town later than anticipated the hotel was nice. The pool was already closed (pretty early actually - 8:00) so we didn't get to enjoy that. We got a pizza to go from the place near the market and some beer in the market and called it a night. Our flight left early the next morning.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great little grocery market up the street. Very nice.

    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Wheeling, Illinois
    Mar 1, 2011

    Doubletree Cariari by Hilton San Jose

    Beautiful lobby. Service very good. Room comfortable. Maid sometimes sometimes forgot to fill cream and sugar and coffee sometimes. Maintainance had to be called three times on first day to fix plug in the bathtub, they did not come to fix it till fourth call. Afterwards got a written apology and a gift pack of Costa Rican coffee.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Went on 3 in 1 excersion and it was great. I am afraid of heights and I managed this tram thru the forest quite well because it is slow and starts out quite low in the beginning, and gradually gets higher, and I felt safe. Guides were very informative. Jungle cruise interesting, and informative. Walk in jungle was interesting, and informative also.

    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Wheeling, Illinois
    Mar 1, 2011

    Doubletree Cariari by Hilton San Jose

    Beautiful lobby. Service very good. Room comfortable. Maid sometimes sometimes forgot to fill cream and sugar and coffee sometimes. Maintainance had to be called three times on first day to fix plug in the bathtub, they did not come to fix it till fourth call. Afterwards got a written apology and a gift pack of Costa Rican coffee.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Went on 3 in 1 excersion and it was great. I am afraid of heights and I managed this tram thru the forest quite well because it is slow and starts out quite low in the beginning, and gradually gets higher, and I felt safe. Guides were very informative. Jungle cruise interesting, and informative. Walk in jungle was interesting, and informative also.

    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Roz
    SAN JOSE, COSTA RICA
    Jan 14, 2011

    Wonderful get away

    We had everything we needed and if we didn't all we had to do was ask. We had a fantastic stay and trip traveling in and around San Jose. It was great! I do have a complaint about the Economy car rental if someone would please call me!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Bethesda, MD
    Dec 24, 2010

    Great Trip

    I went with my family to Costa Rica for the first time and we had a great time! The hotel staff was friendly and always very willing to help. The tour desk at the hotel is awesome! We did most things on our own, but spent a long time planning and the hotel tour specialist, [...], was invaluable! The rooms are clean and large! No feelings of claustrophobia! Bathrooms are also large and the shower is wonderful! All is super clean!!We did go to the hotel restaurant one night and had a great meal. We had some vegetarians in our family and they also had plenty to choose from.Wonderful stay! If I go back, I would stay again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Across the street is a small grocery store! Great to get some snacks! Also a short walk further, there is a mall - with a huge food court.....but you have to know spanish!

    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Bethesda, MD
    Dec 24, 2010

    Great Trip

    I went with my family to Costa Rica for the first time and we had a great time! The hotel staff was friendly and always very willing to help. The tour desk at the hotel is awesome! We did most things on our own, but spent a long time planning and the hotel tour specialist, [...], was invaluable! The rooms are clean and large! No feelings of claustrophobia! Bathrooms are also large and the shower is wonderful! All is super clean!!We did go to the hotel restaurant one night and had a great meal. We had some vegetarians in our family and they also had plenty to choose from.Wonderful stay! If I go back, I would stay again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Across the street is a small grocery store! Great to get some snacks! Also a short walk further, there is a mall - with a huge food court.....but you have to know spanish!

    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    theshipman
    Business
    miami florida
    Aug 2, 2010

    Cariari San Jose Costa Rica ,,,,great

    This is the best located hotel in Costa Rica. [...] This is the best experience and value I have ever encountered.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose Costa Rica

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    theshipman
    Business
    miami florida
    Aug 2, 2010

    Cariari San Jose Costa Rica ,,,,great

    This is the best located hotel in Costa Rica. [...] This is the best experience and value I have ever encountered.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top