$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1st. Avenue & 7th Street, 50 m South Morazan Park, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
40 reviews
single man'said paradise

My experience was great! The staff is always super awesome, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are... See full review

  • ue75
  • Nov 15, 2014
BEST DEAL GOING

Stay there all the time, excellent location, good prices, excellent free breakfast, very good... See full review

  • Perningle
  • Nov 22, 2014
San Jose city center hotel with breakfast and casino
Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino is a value-for-money hotel with well-equipped accommodations and city center location that caters to corporate and recreational travelers visiting San Jose. This casino hotel in the Costa Rica capital is within close proximity to Estacion del Pacifico‎, and well-known city attractions including Catedral Metropolitano, Museo Nacional de Costa Rica and Morazan Park.

At Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino, visitors wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast before enjoying refreshing beverages and delicious snacks at Blue Marlin Bar. Guests can spend free time by playing card/slot games at the casino and enjoy different games at the arcade room. Turndown service and housekeeping are on offer.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Casino and arcade room for leisure
  • Within easy access to Estacion del Pacifico and Morazan Park
Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino rooms
Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino provides 24 cozy and inviting rooms and suites that are soundproofed and comes with blackout drapes and curtains. All units are appointed with air conditioning, safe deposit box, satellite 25-inch HDTV, private balcony, rollaway bed, Wi-Fi access, direct-dial phone, and en suite bathroom with tub and shower. Hairdryer and iron/ironing board are available upon request.
Things to do
  • National Theatre of Costa Rica (0.16 mi/0.25 km)
  • Catedral Metropolitano (0.27 mi/0.44 km)
  • Museo Nacional de Costa Rica (0.34 mi/0.54 km)
  • Parque Zoologico Simon Bolivar (0.34 mi/0.55 km)
  • Spyrogyra Butterfly Garden (0.40 mi/0.65 km)
  • Estadio Nacional (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Parque Diversiones (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with 1 queen and 1 single bed includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Laundry service, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. Balconies open to city or courtyard views. Memory foam beds feature down comforters, down blankets, and premium bedding. 25-inch high-definition televisions come with premium satellite channels and TV Internet access (surcharge). Bathrooms include shower/tub combination's, makeup/shaving mirrors, phones, and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.4 mi
  • National Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.7 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.8 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.8 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.8 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.1 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.3 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3.7 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.4 mi
  • National Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.7 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.8 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.8 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.8 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.1 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.3 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3.7 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 15.3 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.1 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 51.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Guests can dine at one of Hotel Costa Rica Morazan's 2 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site at the hotel where guests can unwind with a drink. A complimentary breakfast is offered. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary.
Dining
Hotel Costa Rica Morazan has 2 restaurants serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests are offered a complimentary continental breakfast. 24-hour room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Perningle
Business
JACO, COSTA RICA
Nov 30, 2013

GOOD DEAL

Good place to stay, close to everything, good fresh breakfast, good people there, good price drinks and free buffet in casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is better and cheaper than surrounding places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BashfulDwarf
Business
somewhere in the woods
Oct 3, 2013

2nd Stay - Very happy with choice

This is my second review of the Morazan. I again got assigned the dreaded room 408. But asked Ricky to move me, and he gladly gave me 3 other room options. I chose 414 because it looks North to Parque Morazan, and has little traffic noise. Room 412 would have been a good choice as well. I met a guy in 411, and the noise from the key largo kept him awake. I don't care for the food here, but that is of little concern to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Easy
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 7, 2013

Mr Easy

First let me say, this is not a hotel for a family vacation, this is strictly a hotel for guys. I admit I was a little shocked to see the place at first, my reaction to the cab driver was "are you sure this is the right hotel?" But once inside everything changed. The room was clean, the bed was firm with clean sheets every day. The air conditioning was very good and cable TV(I never did get through all of the channels) but then I didn't go to Costa Rica to watch TV. There was free breakfast each morning. There are several clubs located in the area but I wouldn't advise wandering around alone in this neighborhood after dark, but then, I wouldn't advise that in my own neighborhood here in Los Angeles after dark, the hotel itself is safe and secure. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I consider myself a people person and so I always reach out to the staff with a smile and a "buenos dias!" it works like a charm It is what it is and for what it is this is a great little hotel, I'd stay there again. I look at it this way, if I paid the same amount for a hotel here in the states, you definitely wouldn't get a hotel this nice! ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you're in Costa Rica on a budget, just a short 2 or 3 blocks south on 7th street from the hotel, make a right you'll find a promenade with loads of shops and little restaurants including Burger king and Mcdonald's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BashfulDwarf
Business
somewhere in the woods
Sep 4, 2013

My Gawd, the street noise!

Folks, I have visited the hotel previously, and thought the location and convenience were excellent. My room (an el cheapo) was tiny (ok, makes sense) but was a 'balcony' room (read that as 'stay away'). What makes it a balcony is that they cut the room in half, put in a door and a window, and leave you this outer porch thing that overlooks one of the noisiest streets in the dratted city, Avenida 1. Buses start at 5AM. You cannot sleep in these rooms no matter what. Make sure your room does not face South! Also, the del rey is right around the corner, so you are guaranteed party noise on Friday and Saturday. The sound travels down Avenida 1 and shakes the rooms. Mine happened to be the closest to the DelRey, so maybe I had it the worst. The hotel is good, but stay off the southern rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the DelRey - watch out for the sharks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lboogie 40
Business
NYC
Jun 22, 2013

adequate

The room was cleaned everyday i was given fresh linen daily. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is downtown san Jose . Lots of shopping, small places to eat and buses and inexpensive taxis galore to take you anywhere you wanna go. I would recommend this hotel to a friend. The hotel is also a casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madmatter
Business
Florida
May 29, 2013

Single man's getaway

Friendly staff, free breakfast is quite good, great value, perfect location for nighttime partying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Key largo/Del rey right next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Funrunner1
Business
Anniston alabama
May 23, 2013

good breakfast

for the price it is a very good value and the staff try to be very helpful. can not complain much about anything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wildbill 1942
Business
georgia
May 14, 2013

good location for men looking for a good time

very helpful staff room clean only negtive was street noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

famous bars withen one block

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leaf sucks
Business
somewhere over the rainbow
Apr 28, 2013

OK budget accomodation

Downtown SJ, value for location. Great cleaning staff, street traffic gets loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Costa Rica Morazan Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thomas the travler
Business
new york, ny
Apr 20, 2013

great location

good overall service. clean rooms. close to morazan park, musems, best night clubs. only one block from central ave. a walkway with multiple shops about half a mile long

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to most places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top