$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

3 stars
Parque De La Paz, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
43 reviews
Enjoying our trip to San Jose

We were very happy with this Hotel. Everything was excellent. See full review

  • Ladyer
  • Sep 18, 2013
Choose carefully

Great stay. Just beware that the general hotel description on this website lists that all guests... See full review

  • Travelsome1234
  • Jun 23, 2014
Apartment-style suites with free breakfast near downtown San Jose

Casa Conde Hotel and Suites sits near La Paz Park, just outside of downtown San Jose. From the Casa Conde Hotel and Suites it's just a couple miles to Central Park, the National Theater, the Gold Museum and San Jose Cathedral. Guests enjoy a complimentary buffet breakfast each morning, and the hotel has free Wi-Fi Internet access in the restaurant and lobby. Along with a business center, the hotel offers cell phone rentals and meeting space with presentation equipment. The family-friendly property also boasts a kids club for the little ones.

Highlights
  • Located minutes from downtown San Jose
  • Kitchen-equipped suites
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Kids club offers entertainment for younger guests
Rooms

Casa Conde Hotel and Suites boasts 110 fully-furnished suites. Junior suites have king-size beds, and standard suites have two bedrooms, each with a queen-size bed. All suites feature full kitchens with refrigerators, stoves, microwaves, flatware and pots and pans. Accommodations also feature dining rooms, living room with sofa beds, 25-inch televisions, DVD players, air conditioning and wired Internet access (fees apply). Units with a washer/dryer are available by request.

Features

Casa Conde Hotel and Suites offers reasonable prices suites with full-kitchens, ideal for families or extended-stay travelers looking for accommodations close to downtown San Jose. The property features a free-form outdoor pool with sun deck, as well as a Jacuzzi, sauna and fitness center. For meals, guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning, and buffets and international fare at Rincon del Conde throughout the day. Room service is available.

 

Business travelers can stay connected with free Wi-Fi access in public areas, and the business center has three computers available. A concierge desk is on site and tour assistance is available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (14.2 mi/22.8 km)
Attractions
  • National Museum (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • National Theater (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Metropolitan Cathedral of San Jose (Catedral Metropolitana) (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Central Market (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (33.5 mi/53.9 km)
Business
  • 3 meeting rooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Secretarial services available
  • Cell phone and computer rental
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Currency exchange
Policies and fees
Situated in the Residential Area, this green/sustainable aparthotel is close to National Museum, National Theater, Gold Museum, Jade Museum, Multiplaza del Este Mall & San Pedro Mall. Also nearby are Parque Nacional and National Center of Art and Culture. Free roundtrip shuttle downtown is available once a day (Hotel-Downtown 9 am, Downtown-Hotel 3pm).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Conde Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Casa Conde Hotel and Suites Rooms

Apartment Suite with Buffet breakfast, Jacuzzi, Wireless
1 King size bed and Sofa bed under request. Wireless Data Connection or High-speed Internet Access - surcharge. Jacuzzi bathtub. Access via exterior corridors. Courtyard view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Television - Cable service. Television. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. HBO. DVD player. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Iron / Ironing Board. Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Washer/dryer under request and availability. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms.
Apartment Suite
1 king size bed and Sofa.Wireless Data Connection or High-speed Internet Access - surcharge. Whirlpool Jacuzzi and Shower. Main bedroom with wood floor. 2 Flat Screen TV. Access via exterior corridors. Courtyard view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. Desk. In-room safe. Cable service. Television. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. HBO. DVD player. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Microwave. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Ceramic template. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms.
Deluxe Suite
2 double beds and 1 Sofa bed under request. Wireless Data Connection or High-speed Internet Access - surcharge. Access via exterior corridors. Courtyard view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. In-room safe. 27-inch Television - Cable service. Television. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. HBO. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Iron / Ironing Board. Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Shower only. Washer/dryer under request and availability. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.6 mi
  • National Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.7 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.7 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.8 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.1 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.2 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 2.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 4.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 5.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.6 mi
  • National Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.7 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.7 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.8 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.1 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.2 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 2.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 4.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 5.4 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 13.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 19.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 49.4 mi

Dining

Restaurante Rincon del Conde
On Site - Open 6:30 am-11 pm. International and Local Cuisine. Buffet-Style. Breakfasts. Full-Menu Lunch and Dinner. Non Smoking Hotel 100% Free Smoke

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vegas #30
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 14, 2010

Unsafe neighborhood

Bad location. Too far from town. Unsafe neighborhood. All neighboring houses and businesses had burglar bars on windows and doors. Could not walk around outside compound in day or night. Rooms was small and musty. Thank goodness the staff was nice and a good restaruant. Would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, California
Dec 29, 2009

terrible neighborhood

It's very difficult to find, and the staff while very friendly when we finally arrived could not providw clear directions, either to the hotel or to the airport the next day. The compound itself is nice but the room itself, while ample and full of amenities like extended cable, laundry, and 2 bedrooms, feels like a model home, with cheaply constructed furniture including a smelly couch. Would not spend more than 1 night here, the less time the better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If driving your own car, get clear directions via email before attemtping to find this place. Best to go by taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wdavis
Business
North Carolina, USA
Apr 24, 2013

One night Stay in San Jose Hotel

Nice non-chain hotel located far from airport in hard to find community of San Jose. Good value and quaint hotel with pleasant staff. Uniquely Costa Rican decotated hotel that is only a little dated. Good hotel,, but so hard to locate in a city with poor street signage and google maps that just doesn't work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book a hotel near airport to save time getting lost in San Jose. Really difficult city to follow directions with poor signage and streets changing names and numbers frequently.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
May 26, 2010

Classy Hotel plagued by students........

It was difficult to get a night's sleep due to out of control students. Also irritating was the central corridor between the 1st and 2nd floor. Voices carried and the drier clanked into the night as it is the rainy season and folks needed to dry their clothes.......but, at mid-night????? Loud voices in the parking areas echoing throughout our apartment as well as voices and luggage down hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buffet restaurant directly behind Central Commercial del Sur plaza. Food excellent, pricing reasonable, and the owners speak English. Wonderful super market in the Plaza with fresh bread and food counter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 9, 2011

Nice place. Bad neighborhood.

We stayed at this hotel at the tail end of our two-week trip to be close to the airport and car rental agency. The hotel was easy to find once we realized it is marked on Google Maps. Otherwise the nearby park was a good landmark to help us get close. Glad we arrived during the day we were told later by a taxi driver that the area around the hotel becomes very dangerous at night. Check-in went smoothly and the receptionist switched over to English as my Spanish began to falter. We were given fresh drinks and then the concierge showed us to our room. On the way we saw some models walking the grounds with photographers trailing. Our "room" was much larger than expected, and had two separate bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and living area with television and ottoman. We grabbed dinner at the restaurant and the menu was upscale but reasonably priced. The food we had there was some of the best we had while visiting Costa Rica this year. The alfresco dining available near the pool was nice because they had a large flatscreen TV by the table and smoking outside was not a problem. Off to bed. Something about our room felt spooky. Possibly the pitch black and quiet we felt after turning off the lights at night, or maybe the neighborhood or a combination of the both. But the creepy rooms added a little mystique to the hotel, which reminded me of something off a set at Universal Studios. Breakfast was OK though I think we arrived a little late to get the best food. There was a buffet with gallo pinto, eggs, fresh cheese and fruits available. They were also serving made to order omelets at the buffet. The trip back to the car rental agency was a little hectic as we had to deal with the morning San Jose rush. Ticos were wizzing by on motorcycles and traffic was bumper to bumper most of the way back to the airport. The roundabout was a little nerve-wracking as well. Thankfully our GPS got us where we needed to go, though we had to do a little backtracking due to the location of our rental company. Overall I'm glad we went, if only for the fantastic dinner and easy access to downtown San Jose. Next time we'll probably stay closer to the airport, though at the price we paid here it was hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Mall San Pedro is about a $5 cab ride away. They have some nice stores there including Arenas, Happy Hill and Extremos. They even have a cinema and a very large food court.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CHICAGO, USA
Jan 2, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We went to Costa Rica for a family vacation, party of 5. The choice of stay at the Casa Conde Hotel was a mistake from the start. The location was too far from all the activities that we had planned to do. The only upside was that it was close to the airport which we would be departing from. The service was pis-poor quality. [...] The front desk could not speak English and we could not speak Spanish, so there was no understanding for both parties. In my opinion, I do believe a bilingual receptionist should be a given in a touristy area such as this one. The pool was not even in use. Nobody seemed to use it because a restaurant was built around it. Who wants to swim in a pool while you have onlookers trying to eat their dinners worrying that you're going splash them. What was missing? It would be less time consuming for me to tell you the few things that were actually included during out stay. The breakfast was phenomenal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't live here if you are on a family vacation. It would be a big time saver if you picked a hotel near the Arenal Volcano. Your commute would be far less. You could be eligible for free transportation depending on your hotel. You would be able to squeeze in more activities too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chavo26
Business
Norwalk, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Great place to stay if on a budget.

My buddies and I went to San Jose for our summer trip to party and go crazy. The hotel was a little out of the way from the airport, it took about one hour to get there with all the traffic, the cab ride was 20 something dollars. The location of the hotel is a little out of the way from the downtown area, about 10-15 minutes to get there in a cab. The hotel was awesome, it's located in a residential area that's a little rundown, but the hotel was excellent. It is well secured and well staffed, there is no need to worry about any personal belongings being stolen from the room, the staff became good friends with us. They went well out of the way to make sure that our stay was comfortable. The rooms are excellent, it is like a small apartment. It has two seperate rooms with queen size beds. They are fully furnished, I liked the fact that they had washers and dryers located in the room. It also had all other major appliances, TV, Fridge etc. I have no complaints at all from my stay there, my friends and I loved the place, when we go back to San Jose we are definitely staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants, Clubs, Bars, is a short ride away. If you are exchanging money do so at the banks for better exchange rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Byram, NJ
Apr 17, 2010

convenient

we have family in Costa Rica and this hotel was both inexpensive and convenient. It is very close to the center of San Jose. We stayed a week, but for the most part people who stay here usually stay a day or two. Most Costaricans use this hotel for business lunches and such. Breakfast is included and we loved the food and the service. We had lunch and dinner once and like those meals as well, although a bit pricey in comparison to other eateries in the area... They could use an elevator because it was hard to carry 4 bags up a flight of stairs. The buildings are 2 stories high. The hotel is in the middle of a neighborhood. They have good security and we felt very safe during our stay. Staff is friendly and the rooms are clean and neat in its decor. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Terra Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessie53
Business
Leesburg, FL, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Nice for extended stay

The hotel was good for extended stay. Not within walking distance of city though. many amenities although wifi to rooms was spotty. Staff very friendly and helpful, food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Britte coffee tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tofur
Business
Amery, WI 54001, USA
Dec 11, 2011

great alternative to downtown

This hotel pays close attention to detail. The staff, especially the receptionist on duty thoughout my 6 night stay ,always greeted me with a smile and was always eager to help me. The pool looked welcoming, but it was lousy weather when I visited in November. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a little variety each day. The restaurant menu wasn't very large, but geat food. I will stay here again if I stay in San Jose again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top