$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of Parque De La Paz, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.1
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Wilmette, IL
Feb 9, 2010

A Pleasant Retreat

Excellent dining in a pleasant environment; friendly English speaking staff; a variety of room types with kitchens; but surrounded by a neighborhood not inviting to pedestrians. Taxi service readily available, but hard for a foreign driver to locate the entrance. However, a good place to meet with a group tour, as we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St Pete Fl.
Jan 31, 2010

Dental vacation

Wonderful breakfast, wonderful staff. A bit far away but not excessive.Great rooms and first rate except for water temp, both shower and the hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you take a cab make sure they have a meter system, otherwise fare varies from $6 to $10 for the same trip.

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marley Ungaro
Family
Greenville NC USA
Jan 5, 2010

Sweetly hidden away Casa Conde San Jose

Christmas vacation in San Jose and all over Costa Rica started at Casa Conde IN San Jose. Glad we had a GPS, or we would not have found Casa Conde!! It's quaintly hidden in the middle of a questionable neighborhood (even though we did walk to a near-by park safely). Staff is VERY friendly. I was frustrated that the pool was always taken over by a party that didn't seem to have anything to do with actual guests of the hotel. Food was very good...wonderful breakfast every morning! The hotel itself is very beautiful. I would suggest a better set of furniture for seating in the small den of the hotel room, but was very pleased with the two separate rooms, the kitchenette and the laundry facility IN the hotel room...wonderful! We were able to get some washing done. Felt very safe within this 'compound-like' wonderland. I was very disappointed that the gorgeous jacuzzi was COLD...was so looking forward to a warm place to sit and relax after a day in San Jose. It never did warm up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the nearby park, through a grassy field along a walking path where locals go to exercise and picnic. You'll see horses, vendors selling their goods, families on Saturdays, and over the walking bridge there is a park for kids to play, other vendors, a spot to ride horses, a peace monument in the middle of a lake, etc. For you bikers, there is also a velodrome (my husband had to check that out).

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lexington, USA
Jan 4, 2010

Good food

Can't really walk around the neighborhood, but hotel area was secure. Dinner and breakfast were outstanding. One of our rooms had a washer and dryer which was very helpful. 25 minutes to the airport, really needed GPS to find this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Joyce's
Couples
San Jose
Dec 31, 2009

Wonderful Stay

Personal service; staff extremely helpful and would go out of their way for our enjoyment. Resteraunt food was five star; staff was helpful and very friendly. I loved this place and would go back again. Too far away for beach goers, but enjoyed mountains, rain forest, coffee plantations, volcano tour, city tour; our purpose was to see how we might like retiring to this area, and we were impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If this is your first time take a few tours. We actually hired a driver on our fourth day and directed him on our own tour of Escarzu and surrounding areas for sightseeing, dining and shopping for about twelve dollars an hour. You probably don't want to rent a car and do your own driving; hiring a driver was informative, affordable, and enjoyable. The location of the hotel was fine for us, but if you like the beaches it's too far away.

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pasadena, California
Dec 29, 2009

terrible neighborhood

It's very difficult to find, and the staff while very friendly when we finally arrived could not providw clear directions, either to the hotel or to the airport the next day. The compound itself is nice but the room itself, while ample and full of amenities like extended cable, laundry, and 2 bedrooms, feels like a model home, with cheaply constructed furniture including a smelly couch. Would not spend more than 1 night here, the less time the better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If driving your own car, get clear directions via email before attemtping to find this place. Best to go by taxi.

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aponte
Friends
orange park fl
Dec 7, 2009

fantastic family getaway

the best at all,,,,very clean and the most fabulous at the room we have washer and dryer.....excellent hotel......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Costa Rica First Timer
Couples
Savannah, GA.
Nov 21, 2009

Great Place to Stay

The area outside of the hotel is not the best location. But for first time in Costa Rica not too bad. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eliscomin62
Couples
houston ,TX.
Aug 1, 2009

great service /great price

it was great.would recommend to everyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use only hotel approved taxis or use hotel or private buses

Review of Casa Conde Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Diego, CA
Jul 29, 2009

Charming accomodations, great price!

The accomodations were charming. I really liked the location because it was close enough to take a quick taxi to the downtown attractions, but out just enough to avoid some of the heavily congested traffic. The facility was like a little private village, very clean and neat. For the price, it was a great deal, giving us 2 bedrooms and a kitchen! The only problem we had was that I had some laundry done and did not get it back the same day as the instructions indicated. Apparently it was because the laundry is not open on Sundays, but the card in the room did not specify this. When I spoke with them at the desk about the problem, they saw to it that I received the service at no charge. Very pleasant and professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car, get the GPS!!!! The streets do not have signs and the buildings have no numbers. I would have driven in an endless circle if not for the GPS.

Back to menu Return to top