$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 6, 2014

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

3 stars
3rd Km General Canas Hwy, La Uruca, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
66 reviews
Clean and comfortable

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. They had a hotel restaurant, a Denny's restaurant... See full review

  • Redbeard52
  • Sep 20, 2014
Great location and service.

Second time we stay here while visting family in Costa Rica. Great location to get to any where you... See full review

  • OSHY
  • Jul 15, 2014
Budget-friendly rates and free breakfast at San Jose hotel

Located minutes from downtown San Jose and the airport, the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino has a central location along the Pac American Highway. Free parking at the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino makes it easy to have a car and explore San Jose attractions like the National Museum and the Simon Bolivar Zoo. Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino guests receive free amenities like continental breakfast, Wi-Fi access, and airport shuttle. Business travelers can find a business center and small meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Free airport shuttle
  • On-site restaurant, bar and casino
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and guest rooms
  • Outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts
Rooms

The Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino offers 80 comfortable guest rooms with a standard set of amenities and private bathrooms with bathtubs. Accommodations come with either single king-size beds or two double beds, and some have balconies with pool views. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, telephones with voicemail and safe boxes.

Features

The Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino boasts beautifully landscaped garden areas where guests can relax at the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi or play a game of tennis on the hotel courts. The hotel also offers massage services, an on-site fitness center and a steam room. Guests can start each day with a complimentary breakfast, and the hotel has on-site restaurants serving meals throughout the day. La Cantina Bar and the Concorde Casino offer drinks and evening entertainment.

 

A free airport shuttle runs every 20 minutes, and the hotel has a business center with free Wi-Fi Internet access, copy and fax services, and computers. Event groups can find small meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Central Market (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • National Theater (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Pre-Colombian Gold Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Museum (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (27.9 mi/44.8 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150 guests
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

9.9516 -84.1087
Area served
La Uruca, San Jose.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport - SJO.
Area description
The Best Western is located just 5 minutes away from downtown San Jose, and 15 minutes away from the international airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Guestroom
1 Double / 1 Twin. Guestroom amenities: free Internet access & cable TV, A/C, bathtub, telephone with voicemail, safety box, and room service.
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Premier Guestroom
1 King bed or 2 Double beds. Guestroom amenities: free Internet access & cable TV, A/C, bathtub, telephone with voicemail, safety box, hairdryer, coffee maker, and room service.
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Premier Plus
Two double beds, Flat screen TV, Pool view, Non smoking and Balcony
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Standard Room
Standard Room Two double beds or One king bed.
free wireless internet.
CRT TV, telephone with voicemail
Bathtub
Hairdryer
Safe deposit box
Unlimited international calls ($4.99 per day).
Breakfast included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 1.7 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.5 mi
  • National Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 1.7 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.5 mi
  • National Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.9 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 17.4 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.9 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 53.1 mi

Dining

Sangria
This tapas bar specializes in fusion cuisine and serves lunch, dinner, and light fare.
Denny's Restaurant
From the popular American family dining chain, the Denny's at the Irazu offers its diner menu 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 11, 2011

Not recommended

The hotel itself is okay, nothing too special about it, The staff is nice enough. The one big complaind I have is with the security staff, it seems that if you are a attractive latin female, the staf will hastle you to try to determine if you are a prostitute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lily48498
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 19, 2014

Good Hotel for the Price

This hotel is okay for the price. The lobby area, gardens and pool are nice. The other thing that I liked was that there was a computer lab where Internet was free. Printing was free too, which was helpful when printing information for activities. The room was okay. The two double beds (beds are full size not queen) were comfortable. However, the room did not seem that clean. The shampoo and conditioner were low quality so I had to purchase shampoo and conditioner from the local store. I would recommend you get a room with a pool view. Those rooms are the nicest. I liked this hotel because there is free breakfast at the Denny's attached to the hotel, free shuttle to the airport, free internet and printing and free local and international calls. However, the location of the hotel is not very good. It is located in industrial area and there is not much to do around the hotel. There is a grocery store, pharmacy, Subway and souvenir shop within walking distance. Some things to know: - Taxi from the hotel to downtown San Jose is about 10 dollars. You can also take a public bus to downtown and will cost you less than a dollar per person - The Denny's attached to the hotel is EXTREMELY expensive for lunch and dinner (Sangria (the hotel bar) is much cheaper) WARNING: DO NOT BOOK ACTIVITIES AT THE SMALL OFFICE NEXT TO THE ALAMO CAR RENTAL! THE GIRL THAT WORKS THERE (JESSICA GUTIERREZ) LIED TO US ABOUT WHAT IS INCLUDED IN AN ACTIVITY WE BOOKED. WE WANTED TO GO TO ARENAL Volcano NATIONAL PARK AND SHE SIGNED US UP FOR AN ACTIVITY THAT DID NOT INCLUDE THE ARENAL NATIONAL PARK BUT ONLY THE HOT SPRINGS. WE WERE EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED. THE TOUR WAS THROUGH MARBELLA TOURS AND THE TOUR GUIDE TOLD US THAT WE SHOULD ASK THE AGENT WHO BOOKED THE TRIP FOR US FOR A COMPENSATION SINCE SHE MISINFORMED US ABOUT WHAT IS INCLUDED IN THE ACTIVITY. WE WENT TO JESSICA GUTIERREZ AGAIN AND EXPLAINED THAT THE TOUR DID NOT INCLUDE ARENAL NATIONAL PARK AND SHE SAID " THE TOUR DOES NOT INCLUDE ARENAL VOLCANO NATIONAL PARK BECAUSE THE PARK IS CLOSED BECAUSE IT IS TOO DANGEROUS". sHE REFUSED TO GIVE US A PARTIAL REFUND AND WAS VERY RUDE. WE WERE FURIOUS AND LEFT HER OFFICE. AFTER THAT I CALLED THE ARENAL NATIONAL PARK TO SEE IF THEY ARE REALLY CLOSED AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WERE OPEN. SO, SHE LIED FOR THE SECOND TIME!!! WE WENT TO THE HOTEL RECEPTION TO SEEK HELP AND THEY SAID THAT THEY RENT THE OFFICE AND THEY ARE NOT AFFILIATED WITH JESSICA GUTIERREZ OR THE COMPANY SHE WORKS FOR (HOTEL BEDS) AT ALL AND THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING. THEN, I CALLED JESSICA'S MANAGER AT HOTEL BEDS. HIS NAME IS CHRISTIAN MURRILLO. HE KNEW ABOUT THIS CASE BUT KEPT DEFENDING JESSICA. HE SAID THAT SHE KNOWS THAT THE TRIP DOES NOT INCLUDE ARENAL VOLCANO NATIONAL PARK BUT DID NOT COMMENT ON HER SECOND LIE THAT THE NATIONAL PARK WAS CLOSED. AFTER A LONG CONVERSATION HE SAID THAT HE WOULD REFUND US 30 DOLLARS AS A COMPENSATION. GUESS WHAT? HE NEVER REFUNDED THE MONEY!!!!! DO NOT BOOK YOUR ACTIVITIES WITH HOTEL BEDS OR WITH JESSICA GUTIERREZ. THEY ARE NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS. THEY CARE ONLY ABOUT MONEY. BEFORE BOOKING ACTIVITIES WITH ANY AGENT ASK THEM WHAT COMPANY THEY WORK FOR AND IF IT IS "HOTEL BEDS" DON'T BOOK WITH THEM. I HAVE BEEN ON SO MANY VACATIONS AND HAVE BOOKED SO MANY ACTIVITIES AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Sangria for lunch or dinner. The Denny's that is attached to the hotel is extremely expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
novababe
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 21, 2014

Good for the cost

The hotel had many amenities that were available to the guests, but they definitely need more help at the front desk--check-in and out lines are longer and worst than customs! The response time for service from the desk is long and they had to be reminded multiple times of their promises of service. In all fairness to them. however, they had an unusual guest census for a weekday period--hosting two sports tournaments and spring break. The staff was all friendly, just often overwhelmed. But, all-in-all, based on the good price, the hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waynker
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Aug 3, 2009

Ok for one night

We arrived at the hotel to find that Cheap Tickets did not make resevations for our night stay. I had to give them my credit card number to be able to stay in this hotel. They were nice enough to do that for me. I have no idea what would have happened if there was not a room available. I so hope I hear from Cheap Tickets soon that they have taken care of this problem and that I did not pay twice for my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris J
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 18, 2012

First trip to Costa Rica

Overall, the hotel was very good. We had free international calls, free breakfast every morning and free shuttle to and from the airport. The hotel staff was also very nice and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't remember the name but it was a Chinese restaurant down the street by the supermarket. It was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stevensgirl
Business
Florida, USA
Jul 10, 2012

BW irazu

Rude staff. Room clean and nice and renovated. Located near downtown. Would stay there for the value but non caring staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chavez y Travis
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Aug 2, 2012

Eh

If the rooms matched the exterior things would have been fine. I was afraid to walk on the carpet as it was old and old hotel carpet is never good. The TV did not function. I was not there to watch TV but trying to gain a bit of news or kill a bit of time was not accomplished by the non-working tv. The Denny's connected to the restaurant is the most expensive Denny;s in the world with the same terrible food. 15$ for one person to have a very average meal. You could easily hit 23$ there if you add a side to your meal. The staff was awesome, the masseuse Maricela was amazing, the bar is free from 5-6. Guests are not allowed which is not made clear until you are there. Nothing decent within walking distance for tourists but its only a 3k ceintos (6$) cab ride to downtown. Cabbies are all pretty honest, as the people of Costa Rica generally are. Not a bad place but again not really anything to write home about either. Not a "vacation" hotel unless its a place to stay a night or two coming or leaving San Jose while on your vacation,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small grocery store a 2 minute walk. Post office close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stevensgirl
Business
Florida, USA
Jun 24, 2012

BW SJO

Overall BW was not bad. Good location, nice room if you get a newly renovated one. staff was terrible, rude and not helpful. Beware of that free breakfast special¨: It is a preselected tiny portion at Denys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nuestra Tierra had the best meal in town. Kind of pricey but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea247
Business
Nashville, TN
Apr 3, 2013

Family Trip

The experience at this hotel was good. The conveinence of the Denny's restuarant was great. The breakfast was included, but there was only 5 options to choose from on the menu. The location is terrible due to everything being about an hour away. In the hotel, there is an event coordination place in case you did not plan out your trip that was helpful. My family and I visited the San Jose tour which was not worth the money, The Rainforest was interesting if you like trees (thats all thats there, no animals), and the Butterfly Farm which was also not worth the money. We didnt get to do it but the 3 in 1 option covers most of he above activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

See the beach, the one thing that we regretted due to time and thinking there was other things to see within the country. Also pay airport tax at hotel. Saves time and stress at airport when departing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Connie environmentalist
Business
Dallas, Texas, USA
Oct 14, 2013

Better for someone who doesn't have a priority to see Costa Rica or San Jose.

Having to go to Denny's for breakfast was a negative. I had an early flight and did not want to go to another building and place an order for my meal. Also, I did not use any of the special facilities offered, i.e. the outdoors hot tub or the casino. There were other good hotels closer to the airport, that I would chose next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top