$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 3rd Km General Canas Hwy, La Uruca, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
Oct 3, 2010

Unbelieveable racket (noise)

Tremendous service at check in, we arrived separately and hotel accomdated very smoothly Unbelieveable racket - arrived on Friday night and the casino was so crowded just getting to the hotel parking lot took me 20 minutes, then thumping and hollering until midnight. The next am the construction noise started up at 6 am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomflies1
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
Sep 27, 2010

Surprisingly Nice

We picked this hotel because if was close to the airport for an early getaway the next morning. We found it clean and with many services. We would stay there again on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurant across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Griswald Family
Business
LaGrange, IL
Sep 25, 2010

Best Hotel near the Airport

I have been coming to Costa Rica for 5 years for several months at a time. The Hotel Irazu is the best hotel to stay at when you are arriving or departing the Country. They offer a convenient airport shuttle.The rooms have very hot water & high pressure showers, very comfortable bedding, large TV´s, exterior patios. The hotel grounds are very secure and extensive and offer a large pool that receives ample sunshine throughout the day. There is an internet room with five computers.The fitness center is excellent with a good variety of equipment and all in excellent condition. Each room offers free phone calls to the US with no time limit. There is a coin operated laundry which is convenient to the pool, it is very clean and open to the outside fresh air. Now, the bad. [...](the section furthest from the front entry) appear to have experienced some sort of flooding and the carpets in the two rooms our family shared had a noticeable funky, moldy smell to them unless we kept the patio door open. At this time, the section of the hotel nearest the front entry is being remodeled. (The construction crews are making a racket by 0630 in the morning.) [...] If possible, request rooms in this section.Despite the few negatives mentioned here, this is the most comfortable hotel near the airport and the city and offers every convenience for the traveller, it is not necessary to leave the hotel grounds for the entire time you stay here, except to maybe walk half a block to the grocery for snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Beware ALL taxi drivers operating at the hotel. They are quite dishonest and almost never reset their fare meters when you enter the cab. This results in them insisting on a highly inflated fare when you arrive at your destination. Complaints should be made directly to the front desk for the benefit of future travellers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami,FL.
Aug 30, 2010

Best Western Irazú - San Jose Costa Rica

Lively Bar/Disco outside lobby on weekends, Casino on bottom floor seemed pretty busy - pool, jacuzzi and Denny's restaurant on premesis.... free hotel shuttle to and from airport every 20 minutes, free wireless Internet and computer Internet access on first floor. All rooms have A/C and Cable TV + free international voip calls from your room. Travel Agency/local tour office at front of hotel & Souvenir shop as well...... I would say pretty good all in one Hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

No check-in before 2pm !! Or at least very unlikely...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami,FL.
Aug 30, 2010

Best Western Irazú - San Jose Costa Rica

Lively Bar/Disco outside lobby on weekends, Casino on bottom floor seemed pretty busy - pool, jacuzzi and Denny's restaurant on premesis.... free hotel shuttle to and from airport every 20 minutes, free wireless Internet and computer Internet access on first floor. All rooms have A/C and Cable TV + free international voip calls from your room. Travel Agency/local tour office at front of hotel & Souvenir shop as well...... I would say pretty good all in one Hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

No check-in before 2pm !! Or at least very unlikely...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Costa Rica
Business
Richmond Va
Jul 27, 2010

Wonderful, Friendly and Helpful

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Galleria was great for dinner and the little shopping center within a block of the hotel also had a wonderful restaurant (cant' remember the name but it was upstairs. George's hair salon great for a hair cut and nails.(first floor)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 26, 2010

Overall very happy with stay

Decent location, not far from airport, and not far from downtown, but away from the congerstion of downtown. Friendly staff, quiet hotel, free drinks between 5-6, free breakfast at denny's with stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Costa Rica via Kayla Trip
Business
Pueblo West, CO
Jul 19, 2010

Best Western Irazu Costa Rica

We stayed here on 7-10-2010, then again on 7-16-2010. The first night the Hotel was ok. The room we had was near the main road to the hotel and it was noisy. You get breakfast at the Denny's connected to the hotel and there are free drinks in the bar from 5:00 to 6:00. We stayed here to start our trip in Costa Rica cause it is close to the airport and we arrived there late in the afternoon, and did not want to drive to much the first day. Then when we were going home, we stayed the night before we left. This time we asked for a room away from the noisy street. It was fantastic, pillow top beds, flat panel TV and quiet. Got a good night sleep before heading back to the U.S.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 17, 2010

Had a great trip to San Jose

Staff was very friendly and the onsite tour coordinator was awesome at recommendations and tour arrangements. Happy hour was a nice benefit as well as the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado/ florida
Mar 21, 2010

A great hotel!

We loved this hotel!We are airline people and travel alot and we loved this hotel! The ground were beautiful. Big shade trees surrounding the pool. Both inside and out were very clean.Nice rooms. If you have to stay in San Jose this is the place to do it in. Plus free breakfast at Dennys and a free happy hour from I think 5 to 6 and they are not slow in bringing you your drinks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top