$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

3 stars
3rd Km General Canas Hwy, La Uruca, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
Great hotel

The rooms were clean and spacious. It has a pool, hot tub, gym, internet access and a tour... See full review

  • tfpilgrim
  • May 13, 2013
Great location and service.

Second time we stay here while visting family in Costa Rica. Great location to get to any where you... See full review

  • OSHY
  • Jul 15, 2014
Budget-friendly rates and free breakfast at San Jose hotel

Located minutes from downtown San Jose and the airport, the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino has a central location along the Pac American Highway. Free parking at the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino makes it easy to have a car and explore San Jose attractions like the National Museum and the Simon Bolivar Zoo. Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino guests receive free amenities like continental breakfast, Wi-Fi access, and airport shuttle. Business travelers can find a business center and small meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Free airport shuttle
  • On-site restaurant, bar and casino
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and guest rooms
  • Outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts
Rooms

The Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino offers 80 comfortable guest rooms with a standard set of amenities and private bathrooms with bathtubs. Accommodations come with either single king-size beds or two double beds, and some have balconies with pool views. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, telephones with voicemail and safe boxes.

Features

The Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino boasts beautifully landscaped garden areas where guests can relax at the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi or play a game of tennis on the hotel courts. The hotel also offers massage services, an on-site fitness center and a steam room. Guests can start each day with a complimentary breakfast, and the hotel has on-site restaurants serving meals throughout the day. La Cantina Bar and the Concorde Casino offer drinks and evening entertainment.

 

A free airport shuttle runs every 20 minutes, and the hotel has a business center with free Wi-Fi Internet access, copy and fax services, and computers. Event groups can find small meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Central Market (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • National Theater (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Pre-Colombian Gold Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Museum (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (27.9 mi/44.8 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150 guests
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Guestroom
1 Double / 1 Twin. Guestroom amenities: free Internet access & cable TV, A/C, bathtub, telephone with voicemail, safety box, and room service.
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Premier Guestroom
1 King bed or 2 Double beds. Guestroom amenities: free Internet access & cable TV, A/C, bathtub, telephone with voicemail, safety box, hairdryer, coffee maker, and room service.
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Premier Plus
Two double beds, Flat screen TV, Pool view, Non smoking and Balcony
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

9.9516 -84.1087
Area served
La Uruca, San Jose.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport - SJO.
Area description
The Best Western is located just 5 minutes away from downtown San Jose, and 15 minutes away from the international airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 1.7 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.5 mi
  • National Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 1.7 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.5 mi
  • National Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.9 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 17.4 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.9 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 53.1 mi

Dining

La Gallera Latin American Cuisine
La Gallera offers passionate Latin American cuisine in an artistically decorated environment.
Denny's Restaurant
From the popular American family dining chain, the Denny's at the Irazu offers its diner menu 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toa Baja, PR
Jul 12, 2011

Excellent choice

My experience at the hotel was awesome...I like that have internet room, Denny's restaurant,pool, a place to enjoy in the night like La Cantina and like more the free international and national calls..The staff is really fantastic...Is the best choice that I made

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toa Baja, PR
Jul 12, 2011

Excellent choice

My experience at the hotel was awesome...I like that have internet room, Denny's restaurant,pool, a place to enjoy in the night like La Cantina and like more the free international and national calls..The staff is really fantastic...Is the best choice that I made

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Jul 11, 2011

Not recommended

The hotel itself is okay, nothing too special about it, The staff is nice enough. The one big complaind I have is with the security staff, it seems that if you are a attractive latin female, the staf will hastle you to try to determine if you are a prostitute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Jul 11, 2011

Not recommended

The hotel itself is okay, nothing too special about it, The staff is nice enough. The one big complaind I have is with the security staff, it seems that if you are a attractive latin female, the staf will hastle you to try to determine if you are a prostitute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
PARKER CO
May 5, 2011

IT WAS A GREAT CHOICE

I TOOK TOURS FROM THE HOTEL EVERY DAY. THE GRAY LINE REP WAS GREAT HELPING ME SET UP THE TOURS. IT IS A EXCELLENT HOTEL AND WILL REFER OTHERS TO DO SO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
PARKER CO
May 5, 2011

IT WAS A GREAT CHOICE

I TOOK TOURS FROM THE HOTEL EVERY DAY. THE GRAY LINE REP WAS GREAT HELPING ME SET UP THE TOURS. IT IS A EXCELLENT HOTEL AND WILL REFER OTHERS TO DO SO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Apr 11, 2011

Good place to stay

Very busy during the day but enjoyed resting in a clean place, staff was very helpful, mid level hotel but very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Found a nice place for souvenir shopping in the heart of the city

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Apr 11, 2011

Good place to stay

Very busy during the day but enjoyed resting in a clean place, staff was very helpful, mid level hotel but very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Found a nice place for souvenir shopping in the heart of the city

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 26, 2011

Mas o Menos

I stayed for two nights, my first night and my last. My first night I had a lot of issues because even though I made my reservation 4 months in advance, they couldn't find us a room. They made us sit around and were quite rude. There was a couple next to us who were given a room that was already occupied. We were finally given a room but they did not have pillows. I was extremely upset and spoke to the manager. Fortunately, the next time I went, there were a lot better behaved and helpful. I don't know if its that they don't do well with stress but I was extremely upset that I was not treated as fairly as I should have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 26, 2011

Mas o Menos

I stayed for two nights, my first night and my last. My first night I had a lot of issues because even though I made my reservation 4 months in advance, they couldn't find us a room. They made us sit around and were quite rude. There was a couple next to us who were given a room that was already occupied. We were finally given a room but they did not have pillows. I was extremely upset and spoke to the manager. Fortunately, the next time I went, there were a lot better behaved and helpful. I don't know if its that they don't do well with stress but I was extremely upset that I was not treated as fairly as I should have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top