$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 3rd Km General Canas Hwy, La Uruca, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 26, 2011

Mas o Menos

I stayed for two nights, my first night and my last. My first night I had a lot of issues because even though I made my reservation 4 months in advance, they couldn't find us a room. They made us sit around and were quite rude. There was a couple next to us who were given a room that was already occupied. We were finally given a room but they did not have pillows. I was extremely upset and spoke to the manager. Fortunately, the next time I went, there were a lot better behaved and helpful. I don't know if its that they don't do well with stress but I was extremely upset that I was not treated as fairly as I should have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Costa rica
Dec 1, 2010

Good Safe Location

This location seems to be centrally located and safe. Staff are very friendly and the hotel is constantly cleaning. The front desk needs to be a bit more pleasant and helpful. We would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davidden
Business
Denver
Oct 28, 2010

Ole´in San Jose

A nice surprise from a chain that goes back to the motel days. This is a modern hotel with friendly and alert staff. We´d stay here again when in SJO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alberta,Canada
Oct 27, 2010

Great Location

Purpose of my trip was for Medical reasons. The hotel rooms have been nicely renovated from my previous stay.Free international call,high speed wireless internet and free shuttle and breakfast make this a compelling choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taking public transportation from this hotel was very convenient and cheap.

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
littleton co
Oct 18, 2010

last day in costa rica

Nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Griswald Family
Business
Chicago and Guanacaste
Oct 4, 2010

Good Compromise

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days while completing some business in San Jose for a property I am selling. It is one of the few American-style hotels in SJ, which means the rooms are large, the floors are level and there are no bars on the windows. The showers have real pressure and alot of hot water. You can flush your toilet paper IN the toilet and not in a lttle garbage can under the sink. These are not things that someone can take for granted in Costa Rica. It is convenient to SJ and they offer a free airport shuttle (a $20 savings on cab fare.) The maids do an excellent job of cleaning the rooms daily and they are very honest. I left valuable items in my room and never had any problem. (Something else you can't take for granted down here.) The pool and patio is gorgeous. The coin operated laundry is a great convenience. The negatives are most of the counter staff are not very friendly, they give you the feeling they just want your money. As most places in CR, they offer a cheaper rate for local ticos and a higher rate for us gringos. I saw this first hand at the reservation counter twice. The other big negative is that the carpets in the rooms stink from mold! You could actually see old carpet stains from flooded bathrooms. I had to buy a can of Lysol to spray down the entire room a few times a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant right across the street next to Subway sandwich. In fact, Subway sandwich was a great place as well. There is a decent grocery less than a block away.

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
Oct 3, 2010

Unbelieveable racket (noise)

Tremendous service at check in, we arrived separately and hotel accomdated very smoothly Unbelieveable racket - arrived on Friday night and the casino was so crowded just getting to the hotel parking lot took me 20 minutes, then thumping and hollering until midnight. The next am the construction noise started up at 6 am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomflies1
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
Sep 27, 2010

Surprisingly Nice

We picked this hotel because if was close to the airport for an early getaway the next morning. We found it clean and with many services. We would stay there again on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurant across the street

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Griswald Family
Business
LaGrange, IL
Sep 25, 2010

Best Hotel near the Airport

I have been coming to Costa Rica for 5 years for several months at a time. The Hotel Irazu is the best hotel to stay at when you are arriving or departing the Country. They offer a convenient airport shuttle.The rooms have very hot water & high pressure showers, very comfortable bedding, large TV´s, exterior patios. The hotel grounds are very secure and extensive and offer a large pool that receives ample sunshine throughout the day. There is an internet room with five computers.The fitness center is excellent with a good variety of equipment and all in excellent condition. Each room offers free phone calls to the US with no time limit. There is a coin operated laundry which is convenient to the pool, it is very clean and open to the outside fresh air. Now, the bad. [...](the section furthest from the front entry) appear to have experienced some sort of flooding and the carpets in the two rooms our family shared had a noticeable funky, moldy smell to them unless we kept the patio door open. At this time, the section of the hotel nearest the front entry is being remodeled. (The construction crews are making a racket by 0630 in the morning.) [...] If possible, request rooms in this section.Despite the few negatives mentioned here, this is the most comfortable hotel near the airport and the city and offers every convenience for the traveller, it is not necessary to leave the hotel grounds for the entire time you stay here, except to maybe walk half a block to the grocery for snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Beware ALL taxi drivers operating at the hotel. They are quite dishonest and almost never reset their fare meters when you enter the cab. This results in them insisting on a highly inflated fare when you arrive at your destination. Complaints should be made directly to the front desk for the benefit of future travellers.

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Costa Rica
Business
Richmond Va
Jul 27, 2010

Wonderful, Friendly and Helpful

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Galleria was great for dinner and the little shopping center within a block of the hotel also had a wonderful restaurant (cant' remember the name but it was upstairs. George's hair salon great for a hair cut and nails.(first floor)

Back to menu Return to top