$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 3rd Km General Canas Hwy, La Uruca, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PARKER CO
May 5, 2011

IT WAS A GREAT CHOICE

I TOOK TOURS FROM THE HOTEL EVERY DAY. THE GRAY LINE REP WAS GREAT HELPING ME SET UP THE TOURS. IT IS A EXCELLENT HOTEL AND WILL REFER OTHERS TO DO SO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Apr 11, 2011

Good place to stay

Very busy during the day but enjoyed resting in a clean place, staff was very helpful, mid level hotel but very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Found a nice place for souvenir shopping in the heart of the city

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 26, 2011

Mas o Menos

I stayed for two nights, my first night and my last. My first night I had a lot of issues because even though I made my reservation 4 months in advance, they couldn't find us a room. They made us sit around and were quite rude. There was a couple next to us who were given a room that was already occupied. We were finally given a room but they did not have pillows. I was extremely upset and spoke to the manager. Fortunately, the next time I went, there were a lot better behaved and helpful. I don't know if its that they don't do well with stress but I was extremely upset that I was not treated as fairly as I should have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rick m
Business
melbourne, florida
Mar 16, 2011

fantastic hotel near airport

best western irazu is a great hotel that is only 15 minutes from the airport. we spent two nights there and found it very well run. the rooms were nice and we had to pay extra for a fridge and there were no microwaves but otherwise all was good and clean. the staff was very helpful. the denny's next store did the continental breakfast that was very good. the pool and jacuzzi was very enjoyable and there were restaurants and gift shops very close by. you also had the casino down stairs that was alot of fun. then there was the happy hour from 5-6pm at the bar which was also great. the airport shuttle was very accomadating to our large group of nine when we needed to get to the airport and the taxis were always there if you needed a ride some ot a tour of the city. i would definitly go back there next time i am in costa rica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

look around before you buy if you walk from the hotel which is what we did or take the taxi and they will take to the large walking mall 5km away from the hotel where anything you want is there, we ran out of time to get there this trip

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rick m
Business
melbourne, florida
Mar 16, 2011

fantastic hotel near airport

best western irazu is a great hotel that is only 15 minutes from the airport. we spent two nights there and found it very well run. the rooms were nice and we had to pay extra for a fridge and there were no microwaves but otherwise all was good and clean. the staff was very helpful. the denny's next store did the continental breakfast that was very good. the pool and jacuzzi was very enjoyable and there were restaurants and gift shops very close by. you also had the casino down stairs that was alot of fun. then there was the happy hour from 5-6pm at the bar which was also great. the airport shuttle was very accomadating to our large group of nine when we needed to get to the airport and the taxis were always there if you needed a ride some ot a tour of the city. i would definitly go back there next time i am in costa rica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

look around before you buy if you walk from the hotel which is what we did or take the taxi and they will take to the large walking mall 5km away from the hotel where anything you want is there, we ran out of time to get there this trip

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Costa rica
Dec 1, 2010

Good Safe Location

This location seems to be centrally located and safe. Staff are very friendly and the hotel is constantly cleaning. The front desk needs to be a bit more pleasant and helpful. We would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davidden
Business
Denver
Oct 28, 2010

Ole´in San Jose

A nice surprise from a chain that goes back to the motel days. This is a modern hotel with friendly and alert staff. We´d stay here again when in SJO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alberta,Canada
Oct 27, 2010

Great Location

Purpose of my trip was for Medical reasons. The hotel rooms have been nicely renovated from my previous stay.Free international call,high speed wireless internet and free shuttle and breakfast make this a compelling choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taking public transportation from this hotel was very convenient and cheap.

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
littleton co
Oct 18, 2010

last day in costa rica

Nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Griswald Family
Business
Chicago and Guanacaste
Oct 4, 2010

Good Compromise

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days while completing some business in San Jose for a property I am selling. It is one of the few American-style hotels in SJ, which means the rooms are large, the floors are level and there are no bars on the windows. The showers have real pressure and alot of hot water. You can flush your toilet paper IN the toilet and not in a lttle garbage can under the sink. These are not things that someone can take for granted in Costa Rica. It is convenient to SJ and they offer a free airport shuttle (a $20 savings on cab fare.) The maids do an excellent job of cleaning the rooms daily and they are very honest. I left valuable items in my room and never had any problem. (Something else you can't take for granted down here.) The pool and patio is gorgeous. The coin operated laundry is a great convenience. The negatives are most of the counter staff are not very friendly, they give you the feeling they just want your money. As most places in CR, they offer a cheaper rate for local ticos and a higher rate for us gringos. I saw this first hand at the reservation counter twice. The other big negative is that the carpets in the rooms stink from mold! You could actually see old carpet stains from flooded bathrooms. I had to buy a can of Lysol to spray down the entire room a few times a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant right across the street next to Subway sandwich. In fact, Subway sandwich was a great place as well. There is a decent grocery less than a block away.

Back to menu Return to top