$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 18, 2015 Check-out: Feb 19, 2015

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

3 stars
3rd Km General Canas Hwy, La Uruca, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
67 reviews
Good stay

It was a good hotel having the standards of the brandname. See full review

  • Miguel G.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Clean and comfortable

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. They had a hotel restaurant, a Denny's restaurant... See full review

  • Redbeard52
  • Sep 20, 2014
Budget-friendly rates and free breakfast at San Jose hotel

Located minutes from downtown San Jose and the airport, the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino has a central location along the Pac American Highway. Free parking at the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino makes it easy to have a car and explore San Jose attractions like the National Museum and the Simon Bolivar Zoo. Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino guests receive free amenities like continental breakfast, Wi-Fi access, and airport shuttle. Business travelers can find a business center and small meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Free airport shuttle
  • On-site restaurant, bar and casino
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and guest rooms
  • Outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts
Rooms

The Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino offers 80 comfortable guest rooms with a standard set of amenities and private bathrooms with bathtubs. Accommodations come with either single king-size beds or two double beds, and some have balconies with pool views. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, telephones with voicemail and safe boxes.

Features

The Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino boasts beautifully landscaped garden areas where guests can relax at the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi or play a game of tennis on the hotel courts. The hotel also offers massage services, an on-site fitness center and a steam room. Guests can start each day with a complimentary breakfast, and the hotel has on-site restaurants serving meals throughout the day. La Cantina Bar and the Concorde Casino offer drinks and evening entertainment.

 

A free airport shuttle runs every 20 minutes, and the hotel has a business center with free Wi-Fi Internet access, copy and fax services, and computers. Event groups can find small meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Central Market (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • National Theater (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Pre-Colombian Gold Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Museum (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (27.9 mi/44.8 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150 guests
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Guestroom
1 Double / 1 Twin. Guestroom amenities: free Internet access & cable TV, A/C, bathtub, telephone with voicemail, safety box, and room service.
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Premier Guestroom
1 King bed or 2 Double beds. Guestroom amenities: free Internet access & cable TV, A/C, bathtub, telephone with voicemail, safety box, hairdryer, coffee maker, and room service.
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Premier Plus
Two double beds, Flat screen TV, Pool view, Non smoking and Balcony
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Standard Room
Standard Room Two double beds or One king bed.
free wireless internet.
CRT TV, telephone with voicemail
Bathtub
Hairdryer
Safe deposit box
Unlimited international calls ($4.99 per day).
Breakfast included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 1.7 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.5 mi
  • National Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 1.7 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.5 mi
  • National Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.9 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 17.4 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.9 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 53.1 mi

Dining

Sangria
This tapas bar specializes in fusion cuisine and serves lunch, dinner, and light fare.
Denny's Restaurant
From the popular American family dining chain, the Denny's at the Irazu offers its diner menu 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeptoad
Clearwater, FL
Mar 28, 2013

Excellent staff

Very accommodating and helpful in every way. The hotel is clean and comfortable and close to plenty of things to do in San Jose. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss Mac's American. It's a bar and grill in San Jose that serves one heck of a burger and is run by the coolest people in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bowling
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 18, 2011

Fantastic family gateway

Super Excelent, during my trip with my son and friends to Costa Rica. I will stay the next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good for shopping near the Hotel. Excelent prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bowling
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 11, 2011

Excelent Hotel, excelent attention.

This is my five year stay. I dont change these hotel. The attention are excelent all the times .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good Dennys Restaurant, Good La Gallera Restaurant, The Casino is very good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
giggs
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 11, 2011

Wouldn't stay anywhere else

We picked this hotel because we had never travelled to Costa Rica before, and honestly we don't speak a lick of Spanish either! Figured our best bet would be an American chain in order to insure a decent standard of amenities. Our expectations were exceeded! Staff is friendly and helpful, you get free breakfast, free international calls, and (best of all) free drinks during happy hour. I stayed here last year, and this year we were in an even nicer room, which I believe they were remodeling when I stayed last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The seafood restaurant down the street (next to the supermarket) has the best ceviche. It can be a little pricey to eat there, but the food is GREAT. I will eat there every time I stay there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
21kid
Business
texas
Aug 30, 2011

stop over

stopped in on arrival and departue while spending a week in country, rented a car at the hotel, played some cards and ate the breakfast at Dennys. It was good and convenient with the airport shuttle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

decent casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yogitraveler
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 27, 2011

basic accomodations

Decent hotel, but a bit pricey for the location and accomodations. The location is not great, but fairly easy to get to the airport. The breakfast is at denny's, and there are limited other food options. Free internet in the rooms and free access to computers and printeres is a really nice feature. Also a gym and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton, Virginia
Aug 4, 2011

Excellent accomodations!! Loved the spa.

We visited the spa on three different occassions. After staying in a finca (farm) with not so good accomodations, this was heaven. I had a slip and my back was out of alignment, [...]was able to help me feel much better. The lady in the gift shop was an excellent English speaking resource for local restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food at the La Galleria, I strongly recommend their squash soup ummmmm good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jul 26, 2011

great hotel

tours

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

find local Resturant better food and prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toa Baja, PR
Jul 12, 2011

Excellent choice

My experience at the hotel was awesome...I like that have internet room, Denny's restaurant,pool, a place to enjoy in the night like La Cantina and like more the free international and national calls..The staff is really fantastic...Is the best choice that I made

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 11, 2011

Not recommended

The hotel itself is okay, nothing too special about it, The staff is nice enough. The one big complaind I have is with the security staff, it seems that if you are a attractive latin female, the staf will hastle you to try to determine if you are a prostitute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PARKER CO
May 5, 2011

IT WAS A GREAT CHOICE

I TOOK TOURS FROM THE HOTEL EVERY DAY. THE GRAY LINE REP WAS GREAT HELPING ME SET UP THE TOURS. IT IS A EXCELLENT HOTEL AND WILL REFER OTHERS TO DO SO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top