$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 3rd Km General Canas Hwy, La Uruca, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanielSan
Business
Hilden, Germany
Oct 21, 2013

Very good hotel!

We were absolutely satisfied with this hotel. Nice room with balcony, all very clean! Very nice pool and jaccuzzi in the hotel garden. Staff was very friendly and professional. Airport-shuttle (no charge) runs every 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Connie environmentalist
Business
Dallas, Texas, USA
Oct 14, 2013

Better for someone who doesn't have a priority to see Costa Rica or San Jose.

Having to go to Denny's for breakfast was a negative. I had an early flight and did not want to go to another building and place an order for my meal. Also, I did not use any of the special facilities offered, i.e. the outdoors hot tub or the casino. There were other good hotels closer to the airport, that I would chose next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tfpilgrim
Business
Spokane,Wa
May 13, 2013

Great hotel

The rooms were clean and spacious. It has a pool, hot tub, gym, internet access and a tour reservation desk with a person staffing it during the day. The rooms had a small safe for documents and valuables. It was near everything but not in the congestion of town. There is a Denny's right next door for the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea247
Business
Nashville, TN
Apr 3, 2013

Family Trip

The experience at this hotel was good. The conveinence of the Denny's restuarant was great. The breakfast was included, but there was only 5 options to choose from on the menu. The location is terrible due to everything being about an hour away. In the hotel, there is an event coordination place in case you did not plan out your trip that was helpful. My family and I visited the San Jose tour which was not worth the money, The Rainforest was interesting if you like trees (thats all thats there, no animals), and the Butterfly Farm which was also not worth the money. We didnt get to do it but the 3 in 1 option covers most of he above activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

See the beach, the one thing that we regretted due to time and thinking there was other things to see within the country. Also pay airport tax at hotel. Saves time and stress at airport when departing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeptoad
Business
Clearwater, FL
Mar 28, 2013

Excellent staff

Very accommodating and helpful in every way. The hotel is clean and comfortable and close to plenty of things to do in San Jose. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss Mac's American. It's a bar and grill in San Jose that serves one heck of a burger and is run by the coolest people in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalak
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 30, 2013

great experience

I was only there for a night but the staff was super friendly and very helpful at pointing me in the right direction. Room was clean and didn't have any noise issues. Free internet and free long distance calls was really nice as well. Definitely recommend if you need a place in San Jose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sacramento area traveler
Business
Elk Grove, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Warm weather getaway

Nice hotel. We stayed for 5 nights at New Year's. The Denny's restaurant (the hotel offers free breakfast there) that is at this hotel is also very convenient. There is also a casino at this hotel which is nice. The staff is nice and the hotel is clean. They provide an airport shuttle for free which is also a benefit. Would consider staying there again if we ever go back to Costa Rica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deacon rich
Business
maine
Jan 4, 2013

san jose

hot tub was good and easy access to the airport. also a good restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Guy PSL FL
Business
Port St Lucie, FL, USA
Jan 1, 2013

Real Person Review

Solid Hotel. This is my second stay. The best parts are the Casino, proximity to Subway & Dennys (attached), and FREE calls to the USA and Canada. The FREE Happy Hour is pretty good as well. Solid hotel. Far enough from being considered elite, but definitely is family worthy and a very good hotel. 3.5-4 Star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT CHANGE YOUR MONEY AT THE AIRPORT OR HOTEL. You will get less money at both places. Practically all of Costa Rica exchange at 500 Colones to 1 dolar. The airport is 440 to 1. The hotel is 490 to 1. Just use cash and exchange where you will get at least the 500 to 1.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill Messinger
Business
Nashua, NH
Nov 5, 2012

Vacation & Business

Very Comfortable. Nice to have a Casino on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top