$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

3 stars
3rd Km General Canas Hwy, La Uruca, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
66 reviews
Clean and comfortable

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. They had a hotel restaurant, a Denny's restaurant... See full review

  • Redbeard52
  • Sep 20, 2014
Great location and service.

Second time we stay here while visting family in Costa Rica. Great location to get to any where you... See full review

  • OSHY
  • Jul 15, 2014
Budget-friendly rates and free breakfast at San Jose hotel

Located minutes from downtown San Jose and the airport, the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino has a central location along the Pac American Highway. Free parking at the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino makes it easy to have a car and explore San Jose attractions like the National Museum and the Simon Bolivar Zoo. Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino guests receive free amenities like continental breakfast, Wi-Fi access, and airport shuttle. Business travelers can find a business center and small meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Free airport shuttle
  • On-site restaurant, bar and casino
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas and guest rooms
  • Outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts
Rooms

The Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino offers 80 comfortable guest rooms with a standard set of amenities and private bathrooms with bathtubs. Accommodations come with either single king-size beds or two double beds, and some have balconies with pool views. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, telephones with voicemail and safe boxes.

Features

The Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino boasts beautifully landscaped garden areas where guests can relax at the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi or play a game of tennis on the hotel courts. The hotel also offers massage services, an on-site fitness center and a steam room. Guests can start each day with a complimentary breakfast, and the hotel has on-site restaurants serving meals throughout the day. La Cantina Bar and the Concorde Casino offer drinks and evening entertainment.

 

A free airport shuttle runs every 20 minutes, and the hotel has a business center with free Wi-Fi Internet access, copy and fax services, and computers. Event groups can find small meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Central Market (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • National Theater (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Pre-Colombian Gold Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Museum (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (27.9 mi/44.8 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 150 guests
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Guestroom
1 Double / 1 Twin. Guestroom amenities: free Internet access & cable TV, A/C, bathtub, telephone with voicemail, safety box, and room service.
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Premier Guestroom
1 King bed or 2 Double beds. Guestroom amenities: free Internet access & cable TV, A/C, bathtub, telephone with voicemail, safety box, hairdryer, coffee maker, and room service.
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Premier Plus
Two double beds, Flat screen TV, Pool view, Non smoking and Balcony
Unlimited international calls ( $1.99 Per Night )
Standard Room
Standard Room Two double beds or One king bed.
free wireless internet.
CRT TV, telephone with voicemail
Bathtub
Hairdryer
Safe deposit box
Unlimited international calls ($4.99 per day).
Breakfast included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 1.7 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.5 mi
  • National Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 1.7 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.5 mi
  • National Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.9 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 17.4 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.9 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 53.1 mi

Dining

Sangria
This tapas bar specializes in fusion cuisine and serves lunch, dinner, and light fare.
Denny's Restaurant
From the popular American family dining chain, the Denny's at the Irazu offers its diner menu 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edwin Morales
San Jose Irazu
Jul 7, 2012

Good stay will recomend

Very good for the price. Breakfast was excellent at dennys and the 24 hrs coffee and happy hour is a plus. Also I like the free international call to keep contact with family . Good TV channels and front desk personnel were very helpful in everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redbeard52
Business
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Sep 20, 2014

Clean and comfortable

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. They had a hotel restaurant, a Denny's restaurant next door, an attached casino, and secure parking area. (They have a pool although we did not use it.) It is just off the PanAm highway in the La Uruca area. The hotel was modern, clean, and the rooms were comfortable - similar to a modern USA Best Western hotel. Breakfast was included and was served at Denny's - however, it was not the full Denny's menu - we got a brief menu with 5 limited options for the free breakfast. I generally got the Costa Rican breakfast - one egg, gallo pinto, and choice of bread/tortilla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We went to the casino for a short while - it was much nicer than other hotel-casinos we've been in, in Central America. It had a larger variety of slot and game machines as well as tables for betting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OSHY
Business
Oshkosh, WI.
Jul 15, 2014

Great location and service.

Second time we stay here while visting family in Costa Rica. Great location to get to any where you want to. Tour guide desk and rental car desk at hotel, nice pool and gym. Great Bar/grille. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom Frog
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 3, 2014

Just what we needed

We stayed here for one night after a vacation on the coast so that we could be close to the airport for our departure. The boys had fun in the pool, hot tub, gym, and playing soccer on the tennis courts. Seems like there were a couple of soccer teams staying so there were lots of teens to "stalk." We loved the atmosphere of the open air cafe bar and other airy spaces. For our purposes, this place was perfect. We ate, we slept, we bought last minute gifts in the shop, we caught the free shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AmyQ
Business
High Springs Fl
Jun 20, 2014

Best Western Irazu

The hotel we booked for our last night in Costa Rica was average. It was in a good location near the airport, was very clean and the staff was nice but the room itself was dated and the carpet needed to be replaced. The pool/hot tub and garden areas were very pretty though and I appreciated having a room right off that area for easy access without having to go through the main lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The Denny's is attached to the hotel and convenient but expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
georgia gang
Business
Mt. Airy, Ga
May 26, 2014

First time there and WOW !!!

The hotel grounds where top notch, gardens were well tended to, pool clean and sparkling, the hotel were always in great repair. The management was quick to react to any problems that arised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJ858
Business
SD
May 18, 2014

good easy hotel for th airport

Easy hotel for the airport, but wouldn't want to vacation here. Get out of San Jose as soon as you can, much more beauty to see. Clean rooms, restaurants on the premise and nice pool. Fine for families

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
novababe
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 21, 2014

Good for the cost

The hotel had many amenities that were available to the guests, but they definitely need more help at the front desk--check-in and out lines are longer and worst than customs! The response time for service from the desk is long and they had to be reminded multiple times of their promises of service. In all fairness to them. however, they had an unusual guest census for a weekday period--hosting two sports tournaments and spring break. The staff was all friendly, just often overwhelmed. But, all-in-all, based on the good price, the hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lily48498
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 19, 2014

Good Hotel for the Price

This hotel is okay for the price. The lobby area, gardens and pool are nice. The other thing that I liked was that there was a computer lab where Internet was free. Printing was free too, which was helpful when printing information for activities. The room was okay. The two double beds (beds are full size not queen) were comfortable. However, the room did not seem that clean. The shampoo and conditioner were low quality so I had to purchase shampoo and conditioner from the local store. I would recommend you get a room with a pool view. Those rooms are the nicest. I liked this hotel because there is free breakfast at the Denny's attached to the hotel, free shuttle to the airport, free internet and printing and free local and international calls. However, the location of the hotel is not very good. It is located in industrial area and there is not much to do around the hotel. There is a grocery store, pharmacy, Subway and souvenir shop within walking distance. Some things to know: - Taxi from the hotel to downtown San Jose is about 10 dollars. You can also take a public bus to downtown and will cost you less than a dollar per person - The Denny's attached to the hotel is EXTREMELY expensive for lunch and dinner (Sangria (the hotel bar) is much cheaper) WARNING: DO NOT BOOK ACTIVITIES AT THE SMALL OFFICE NEXT TO THE ALAMO CAR RENTAL! THE GIRL THAT WORKS THERE (JESSICA GUTIERREZ) LIED TO US ABOUT WHAT IS INCLUDED IN AN ACTIVITY WE BOOKED. WE WANTED TO GO TO ARENAL Volcano NATIONAL PARK AND SHE SIGNED US UP FOR AN ACTIVITY THAT DID NOT INCLUDE THE ARENAL NATIONAL PARK BUT ONLY THE HOT SPRINGS. WE WERE EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED. THE TOUR WAS THROUGH MARBELLA TOURS AND THE TOUR GUIDE TOLD US THAT WE SHOULD ASK THE AGENT WHO BOOKED THE TRIP FOR US FOR A COMPENSATION SINCE SHE MISINFORMED US ABOUT WHAT IS INCLUDED IN THE ACTIVITY. WE WENT TO JESSICA GUTIERREZ AGAIN AND EXPLAINED THAT THE TOUR DID NOT INCLUDE ARENAL NATIONAL PARK AND SHE SAID " THE TOUR DOES NOT INCLUDE ARENAL VOLCANO NATIONAL PARK BECAUSE THE PARK IS CLOSED BECAUSE IT IS TOO DANGEROUS". sHE REFUSED TO GIVE US A PARTIAL REFUND AND WAS VERY RUDE. WE WERE FURIOUS AND LEFT HER OFFICE. AFTER THAT I CALLED THE ARENAL NATIONAL PARK TO SEE IF THEY ARE REALLY CLOSED AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WERE OPEN. SO, SHE LIED FOR THE SECOND TIME!!! WE WENT TO THE HOTEL RECEPTION TO SEEK HELP AND THEY SAID THAT THEY RENT THE OFFICE AND THEY ARE NOT AFFILIATED WITH JESSICA GUTIERREZ OR THE COMPANY SHE WORKS FOR (HOTEL BEDS) AT ALL AND THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING. THEN, I CALLED JESSICA'S MANAGER AT HOTEL BEDS. HIS NAME IS CHRISTIAN MURRILLO. HE KNEW ABOUT THIS CASE BUT KEPT DEFENDING JESSICA. HE SAID THAT SHE KNOWS THAT THE TRIP DOES NOT INCLUDE ARENAL VOLCANO NATIONAL PARK BUT DID NOT COMMENT ON HER SECOND LIE THAT THE NATIONAL PARK WAS CLOSED. AFTER A LONG CONVERSATION HE SAID THAT HE WOULD REFUND US 30 DOLLARS AS A COMPENSATION. GUESS WHAT? HE NEVER REFUNDED THE MONEY!!!!! DO NOT BOOK YOUR ACTIVITIES WITH HOTEL BEDS OR WITH JESSICA GUTIERREZ. THEY ARE NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS. THEY CARE ONLY ABOUT MONEY. BEFORE BOOKING ACTIVITIES WITH ANY AGENT ASK THEM WHAT COMPANY THEY WORK FOR AND IF IT IS "HOTEL BEDS" DON'T BOOK WITH THEM. I HAVE BEEN ON SO MANY VACATIONS AND HAVE BOOKED SO MANY ACTIVITIES AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Sangria for lunch or dinner. The Denny's that is attached to the hotel is extremely expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanielSan
Business
Hilden, Germany
Oct 21, 2013

Very good hotel!

We were absolutely satisfied with this hotel. Nice room with balcony, all very clean! Very nice pool and jaccuzzi in the hotel garden. Staff was very friendly and professional. Airport-shuttle (no charge) runs every 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Irazu Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Connie environmentalist
Business
Dallas, Texas, USA
Oct 14, 2013

Better for someone who doesn't have a priority to see Costa Rica or San Jose.

Having to go to Denny's for breakfast was a negative. I had an early flight and did not want to go to another building and place an order for my meal. Also, I did not use any of the special facilities offered, i.e. the outdoors hot tub or the casino. There were other good hotels closer to the airport, that I would chose next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top