$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

3 stars
Autopista General Canas 3KM,, El Robledal - La Uruca, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
97 reviews
Great place to stay!

Wish we would have had longer here! We only stayed one night before going to rain forest and wish... See full review

  • Lissa frequent traveller
  • Jan 28, 2014
Great place to stay in San Jose

My two friends and I really loved the Barcelo Palacio in San Jose -- beautiful old world charm with... See full review

  • NH Fran
  • Nov 13, 2013
Stylish guest rooms, great business amenities near downtown San Jose

Located along the General Canas Highway, the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel sits in a residential area just minutes from the international airport and downtown San Jose attractions like the National Museum, the Central Market and the Simon Bolivar Zoo. Boasting a large conference center with space for up to 1,500 guests, the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel makes an ideal choice for business travelers -- services include free parking and airport shuttle, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and a business center.

Highlights
  • 1,200-person conference center
  • Complimentary airport shuttles (under established schedule)
  • 3  on-site restaurants - The Miyako Restaurant specialises in Japanese cuisine. The Rancho Grill restaurant offers meat dishes and Anfora Restaurant and Cafe serves buffet or a-la-carte meals.
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel Rooms

The Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel offers 254 rooms with city or garden views and a wide variety of layout options, from standard guest rooms to junior and full-size suites. In-room amenities include a mini bar, direct-dial phone with voice mail, cable TV, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Suites come with computers, printers and Internet connections (fees apply).

Features

Business travelers especially appreciate the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel, which boasts one of the largest convention centers in the country. The hotel also has 14 flexible meeting rooms, and business amenities include Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and a full-service business center. To unwind after meetings, guests can relax by the outdoor swimming pool. On-site activities also include a spa center with fitness machines, massage services, sauna, and hot tub. For meals, patrons can find both buffet and a la carte restaurants.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (9.1 mi/14.7 km)
  • Shuttle service between the Hotel and the Juan Santamaria International Airport (at no charge and by request - check set schedule)
  • Shuttle service to the Barcelo Tambor Beach (fees apply and on request - consult timetable)
Attractions
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • National Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Central Market (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • National Theater (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Pre-Colombian Gold Museum (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (28.4 mi/45.8 km)
Business
  • Conference center for up to 1,200 guests
  • 14 meeting rooms
  • Full-service business center
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
Policies & fees
The property provides free airport transportation upon request. Please send flight number, time of arrival and name of the airline to sanjosepalacio.rrpp@barcelo.com at least 24 hours before arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel also booked these hotels.

Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel Rooms

SUITE CLUB PREMIUM

Suite Club features 2 Queen Beds or 1 King Bed.
Maximum Capacity: 4 Guests
Room Size: 646 Ft2 / 60 M2.

Large and luminous rooms which are comfortable and very functional. They also have all the technological and personal details to ensure full comfort during your stay.

Guests staying in these rooms have exclusive access to the Club Premium, where they can check-in /out, enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunchtime snack, afternoon tea, night-time refrigerator or residents bar in an exclusive space to relax, hold a small meeting or simply contemplate the marvelous view of the city of San Jose.

In Room Amenities:
  • Balcony
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Minibar and Coffee/Tea Maker
  • Private Bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • In-Room Safe
  • Air Conditioning
  • Living Room
  • >
    The suites offer additionally computer, printer and direct internet.
    SUPERIOR ROOM

    Superior Room features 2 Queen Beds or 1 King Bed.
    Maximum Capacity: 4 Guests
    Room Size: 334 Ft2 / 31 M2.

    Spacious and light-filled rooms, perfectly equipped for business travelers and holidaymakers and feature all the latest technological and personal details to guarantee comfort during each guest's trip.

    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Coffee Maker
  • Direct Dial Phones
  • Hairdryer
  • Iron Board
  • Mini Bar
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Voice Mail
  • Private Bathroom with Bathtub
  • SUPERIOR ROOM CLUB PREMIUM
    SClub Premium is the exclusive services and facilities implemented at Barcel Premium hotels, which provides guests with a superior and exclusive level, well as the chance to extend your check-out time until 14.00. You can also enjoy a delicious breakfast, a lunchtime aperitif, afternoon tea, night-time refrigerator or honour bar in an exclusive area where you can relax.
    Discover these large, comfortable and light-filled rooms of 30.60 m2 perfectly equipped and with views of the gardens, they boasts all manner of technological and personal equipment to ensure your utmost comfort during your stay.
    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Coffee Maker
  • Direct Dial Phones
  • Hairdryer
  • Iron Board
  • Mini Bar
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Voice Mail
  • Amenities

    • Free buffet breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Night club
    Game room
    Tennis
    Dining
    Free buffet breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    Free internet
    Transportation
    Airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Ramp access to buildings

    Nearby points of interest

    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.8 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 1.7 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.8 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.9 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.1 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.1 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.1 mi
    • National Theater: 2.1 mi
    • El Pueblo: 2.1 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.2 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.2 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.2 mi
    • Parque Espana: 2.2 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.2 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.5 mi
    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.8 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 1.7 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.8 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.9 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.1 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.1 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.1 mi
    • National Theater: 2.1 mi
    • El Pueblo: 2.1 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.2 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.2 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.2 mi
    • Parque Espana: 2.2 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.2 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.5 mi
    • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 17 mi
    • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.1 mi
    • Chirripo National Park: 52.7 mi

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    A complete conventions and banquet center with more than 12 rooms with audio visual equipment and capacities up to 1500 people for meetings, seminars, social events and banquets, where you Hill find the perfect place for the success of your event.

    Dining

    Miyako Restaurant
    specialty Japonese Food, open from Monday to Saturday Dinner from 6:00 pm to 11 pm.
    Anfora Restaurant - Cafeteria
    Meats Restaurant - Buffet / A la carte; Breakfast Buffet from 5:30 am. to 10:30 am; Lunch from 12:30 am. to 2:30 pm; Dinner from 6:00 pm. to 10:30 pm.
    Rancho Bar & Grill
    Mets specialty Restaurant - Grill; Lunch from 12:30 pm. to 3:30 pm; Dinner from 7:00 pm. to 10:00 pm.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1400
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (97)

    Ratings and reviews for Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    97 out of 97
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    3.8
    Value:
    4

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Zonzonel
    Business
    FLL
    Feb 23, 2013

    They tried to rob me!!!

    I'm allways going to this hotel when i'm traveling in or out Costa Rica but this time I just realize that they can go arround they'r system and rob you.I'm talking about the restaurant not the hotel,so be aware and check your bills when you pay cos they will show you a preview of a bill instead of the final check in order to change it after and get the money for them self! Be aware! I am very disapointed with this and i think i will choose other hotel for my next stay in San Jose!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    lady in red
    Business
    South Riding, VA
    Jan 3, 2010

    we're not happy!!

    we went to spend our Family Holiday vacation, but in christmas day, inside the resort my daughter forget her purse with money and valuable equipment for her, they found next day the purse but nothing inside we count with the Resort review by the camaras and find out Who take the purse?The manager was supposed to contact us, but never did, was a lot security in the enter but very unprofessional.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Orlando, Florida
    May 1, 2011

    Hotel was nice.

    The hotel was nice. The pool was cold so I didn't really get to injoy the pool. Other than that it was alright. There is no A/C in the rooms. I don't think that this hotel is prepared sufficient to be a 4 or 5 star hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    rodrigod
    Business
    Bs As
    Mar 7, 2012

    Not for bussines at all

    Not free internet. 12 USD per day and person (you cannot use your phone while using your notebook) 3 USD per 15mins in bussines center!!! When calling international, USD 50 on a 14 mins call to LATAM... Hotel and amenities are excellent. Any extra service you could use is extremelly expensive.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    AngeloF
    Business
    miami
    Nov 22, 2013

    Great location and value ...

    But don't think that you are getting a high end hotel when you get there ! I't's a normal hotel , it's not what it used to be !

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    the lonely travler
    Business
    costa rica
    Jan 8, 2014

    just ok

    The hotel is in bad location for walking.Too far fr4om down town. The buffet is to expensive and is not very good. All the food tastes the same. The service is not very good in the buffet area. The staff in the buffet area is not very personable and speaks very little English. All in all, I would not stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Take a hotel taxi. cheaper

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Florida
    Jul 6, 2011

    This place going downhill

    I often travel to Costa Rica and often I stay at this hotel. Its service and overall quality has declined over the past year. - I went to the front desk to cash a $100 bill and the front desk person told me my $100 bill was too old to cash. He said the old bills are too easily counterfitted. Fortunately, when I went to the desk the next day, another person accepted my "high risk" $100 bill. - Bed coverings are terrible. A sheet with a thin bedspread (not comfortable). - The airport shuttle service was 40 minutes late. - The one good thing that remains about this hotel is the breakfast buffett. It remains the best for the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Gina the ordinary tourist
    Business
    Barcelo San Jose Palacio, Costa rica
    Sep 13, 2010

    The good, the bad, and the ugly

    I was there with my husband for 11 nights and we couldn't sleep very well because of the traffic (it was on both sides of the hotel)and some unpolite guests. The last night was a kind of nightmare with a party in the garden (drunk persons in the garden below our windows)which continue in the hallway until 5am when we left for the aiport A good thing will be if the personnel will learn some english(basic stuff) and the chef how to bake pastries Th only professional I 've seen there was Mario (front desk) I will not recommend this hotel to anybody

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Courtney H
    Business
    Boise, Idaho
    Oct 25, 2011

    Decent overnight stop

    This is a highly rated hotel, but by the States standards, is nothing impressive. We stayed here both on arrival and departure of our Costa Rican vacation. Rooms are nicely appointed and clean. Staff was confused about arranging our hotel transportation, obviously some communication was lacking, but they worked out everything without issue and overall were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was an incredible feast, however dinner at the restaurant was awful. Would consider Barcelo's other hotel in San Jose for future trips, but this was a respectable option for our needs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Barry Korba
    Business
    Winnipeg, MB
    May 8, 2012

    Good Value

    This hotel was recommened at the bottom of my flight itineray. Thought the value was great for the money, but the buffet was overpriced. I enjoyed the free breakfast. I won't hesitate to book again!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top