$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

3 stars
Autopista General Canas 3KM,, El Robledal - La Uruca, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
93 reviews
Great place to stay!

Wish we would have had longer here! We only stayed one night before going to rain forest and wish... See full review

  • Lissa frequent traveller
  • Jan 28, 2014
Great place to stay in San Jose

My two friends and I really loved the Barcelo Palacio in San Jose -- beautiful old world charm with... See full review

  • NH Fran
  • Nov 13, 2013
Stylish guest rooms, great business amenities near downtown San Jose

Located along the General Canas Highway, the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel sits in a residential area just minutes from the international airport and downtown San Jose attractions like the National Museum, the Central Market and the Simon Bolivar Zoo. Boasting a large conference center with space for up to 1,500 guests, the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel makes an ideal choice for business travelers -- services include free parking and airport shuttle, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and a business center.

Highlights
  • 1,200-person conference center
  • Complimentary airport shuttles (under established schedule)
  • 3  on-site restaurants - The Miyako Restaurant specialises in Japanese cuisine. The Rancho Grill restaurant offers meat dishes and Anfora Restaurant and Cafe serves buffet or a-la-carte meals.
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel Rooms

The Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel offers 254 rooms with city or garden views and a wide variety of layout options, from standard guest rooms to junior and full-size suites. In-room amenities include a mini bar, direct-dial phone with voice mail, cable TV, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Suites come with computers, printers and Internet connections (fees apply).

Features

Business travelers especially appreciate the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel, which boasts one of the largest convention centers in the country. The hotel also has 14 flexible meeting rooms, and business amenities include Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and a full-service business center. To unwind after meetings, guests can relax by the outdoor swimming pool. On-site activities also include a spa center with fitness machines, massage services, sauna, and hot tub. For meals, patrons can find both buffet and a la carte restaurants.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (9.1 mi/14.7 km)
  • Shuttle service between the Hotel and the Juan Santamaria International Airport (at no charge and by request - check set schedule)
  • Shuttle service to the Barcelo Tambor Beach (fees apply and on request - consult timetable)
Attractions
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • National Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Central Market (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • National Theater (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Pre-Colombian Gold Museum (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (28.4 mi/45.8 km)
Business
  • Conference center for up to 1,200 guests
  • 14 meeting rooms
  • Full-service business center
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
Policies & fees
The property provides free airport transportation upon request. Please send flight number, time of arrival and name of the airline to sanjosepalacio.rrpp@barcelo.com at least 24 hours before arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

9.9461 -84.105
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport - Take the General Canas Highway and turn to the second exit to the Juan Pablo Segundo bridge and follow the signs.
Area description
The hotel is properly located on the General Canas Highway in a residential area called Robledal. The National Theater, National Museum, Mlico Salazar Theater and the Museum of Costarrican Art among other and very short distance of Mall, International offices

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel also booked these hotels.

Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel Rooms

SUITE CLUB PREMIUM

Suite Club features 2 Queen Beds or 1 King Bed.
Maximum Capacity: 4 Guests
Room Size: 646 Ft2 / 60 M2.

Large and luminous rooms which are comfortable and very functional. They also have all the technological and personal details to ensure full comfort during your stay.

Guests staying in these rooms have exclusive access to the Club Premium, where they can check-in /out, enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunchtime snack, afternoon tea, night-time refrigerator or residents bar in an exclusive space to relax, hold a small meeting or simply contemplate the marvelous view of the city of San Jose.

In Room Amenities:
  • Balcony
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Minibar and Coffee/Tea Maker
  • Private Bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • In-Room Safe
  • Air Conditioning
  • Living Room
  • >
    The suites offer additionally computer, printer and direct internet.
    SUPERIOR ROOM

    Superior Room features 2 Queen Beds or 1 King Bed.
    Maximum Capacity: 4 Guests
    Room Size: 334 Ft2 / 31 M2.

    Spacious and light-filled rooms, perfectly equipped for business travelers and holidaymakers and feature all the latest technological and personal details to guarantee comfort during each guest's trip.

    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Coffee Maker
  • Direct Dial Phones
  • Hairdryer
  • Iron Board
  • Mini Bar
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Voice Mail
  • Private Bathroom with Bathtub
  • SUPERIOR ROOM CLUB PREMIUM
    SClub Premium is the exclusive services and facilities implemented at Barcel Premium hotels, which provides guests with a superior and exclusive level, well as the chance to extend your check-out time until 14.00. You can also enjoy a delicious breakfast, a lunchtime aperitif, afternoon tea, night-time refrigerator or honour bar in an exclusive area where you can relax.
    Discover these large, comfortable and light-filled rooms of 30.60 m2 perfectly equipped and with views of the gardens, they boasts all manner of technological and personal equipment to ensure your utmost comfort during your stay.
    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Coffee Maker
  • Direct Dial Phones
  • Hairdryer
  • Iron Board
  • Mini Bar
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Voice Mail
  • Amenities

    • Free buffet breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Spa
    Night club
    Game room
    Tennis
    Dining
    Free buffet breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    Free internet
    Transportation
    Airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Ramp access to buildings

    Nearby points of interest

    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.8 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 1.7 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.8 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.9 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.1 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.1 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.1 mi
    • National Theater: 2.1 mi
    • El Pueblo: 2.1 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.2 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.2 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.2 mi
    • Parque Espana: 2.2 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.2 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.5 mi
    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.8 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 1.7 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.8 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.9 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.1 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.1 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.1 mi
    • National Theater: 2.1 mi
    • El Pueblo: 2.1 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.2 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.2 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.2 mi
    • Parque Espana: 2.2 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.2 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.5 mi
    • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 17 mi
    • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.1 mi
    • Chirripo National Park: 52.7 mi

    Dining

    Miyako Restaurant
    specialty Japonese Food, open from Monday to Saturday Dinner from 6:00 pm to 11 pm.
    Anfora Restaurant - Cafeteria
    Meats Restaurant - Buffet / A la carte; Breakfast Buffet from 5:30 am. to 10:30 am; Lunch from 12:30 am. to 2:30 pm; Dinner from 6:00 pm. to 10:30 pm.
    Rancho Bar & Grill
    Mets specialty Restaurant - Grill; Lunch from 12:30 pm. to 3:30 pm; Dinner from 7:00 pm. to 10:00 pm.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    A complete conventions and banquet center with more than 12 rooms with audio visual equipment and capacities up to 1500 people for meetings, seminars, social events and banquets, where you Hill find the perfect place for the success of your event.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1400
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (93)

    Ratings and reviews for Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    93 out of 93
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    3.8
    Value:
    4

    90% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Marcos
    San Santa Barbara CA
    Aug 19, 2011

    La Pura Vida is alive & well in Costa Rica

    Dear Mr. Groizard - I would like to complement you and your gracious staff at the Barcelo Palacio Hotel on my very positive impression of "La Pura Vida" - I look forward to returning to Costa Rica. I also heard other passengers saying they too were sad to leave Costa Rica and wish they could have stayed longer.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    DG BUILDING DESIGN
    Business
    LOS ANGELES, CA. / COSTA RICA
    Aug 16, 2011

    AWESOME TIME

    I was very pleased with the hotel staff, the food was great and prices were totally reasonable. This was my second time at this hotel and I will be back soon.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Puerto Rico
    Aug 2, 2011

    Nice, Fantastic and Centric Hotel

    Great Hotel, Nice Location to enjoy the trips. Breakfast included, that was awesome. My only concern was about Internet. You have to paid $10 a day. They must give free wifi connection to Guests!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Rafting at Pacuare River, La Paz Waterfalls, Irazu-Poas-Turrialba Volcanoes, Arenales, Zarcero Square, Canoying and Canopy at Turrialba, and the best tour company at Costa Rica...Explornatura.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Tompkin
    San Jose
    Jul 27, 2011

    Recommended. Very satisfied.

    We used the hotel as our base while we traveled around Costa Rica. The staff worked with us as we checked in and out 4 or 5 times. Great breakfast buffet with the room. Reasonable rates.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Not far from the airport and downtown.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Florida
    Jul 6, 2011

    This place going downhill

    I often travel to Costa Rica and often I stay at this hotel. Its service and overall quality has declined over the past year. - I went to the front desk to cash a $100 bill and the front desk person told me my $100 bill was too old to cash. He said the old bills are too easily counterfitted. Fortunately, when I went to the desk the next day, another person accepted my "high risk" $100 bill. - Bed coverings are terrible. A sheet with a thin bedspread (not comfortable). - The airport shuttle service was 40 minutes late. - The one good thing that remains about this hotel is the breakfast buffett. It remains the best for the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Columbia, MD
    Jun 8, 2011

    overall it's a fine hotel

    overall, I think it's a nice hotel. But I have to complain why Internal service not fee, it cost $10 per day.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    usmcjunglist
    Tampa FL
    Jun 6, 2011

    Well worth the trip

    The only problem what my laptop would not connect to the wireless router.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: In Hotel

    Night club inside the hotel world be nice.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Orlando, Florida
    May 1, 2011

    Hotel was nice.

    The hotel was nice. The pool was cold so I didn't really get to injoy the pool. Other than that it was alright. There is no A/C in the rooms. I don't think that this hotel is prepared sufficient to be a 4 or 5 star hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    3
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    black barbie
    Heredia
    Apr 25, 2011

    Very nice hotel

    The hotel was very nice, neat and with a good customer service. The food was amazing and the facilities are very nice. The pool is medium-size and very clean. We enjoyed our stay here and in case we have the opportunity we will stay again.Why 4 and not 5 stars? When we arrived to the hotel it was difficult to validate our [...]reservation and since they were not able to do that in that moment, we had to leave an open voucher. When we did the check-out the problem was resolved, but I think that a better communication between companies is necessary. Other than that everything was great.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    [...]... almost 30% cheaper...

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Melbourne Florida
    Mar 29, 2011

    Beautiful hotel

    Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel, Spa & Casino - beautiul hotel beautiful property. Everything was clean, restaurants were great service was wonderful! We really enjoyed our stay took several excursions offered at the hotel had a wonderful time. We also spent a couple of days lounging by the pool.....gorgeous!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Plaza Itcazu is s short taxi drive from the hotel and offers about a dozen different restaurants including Outback!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search