$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

3 stars
View map of Autopista General Canas 3KM,, El Robledal - La Uruca, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rodrigod
Business
Bs As
Mar 7, 2012

Not for bussines at all

Not free internet. 12 USD per day and person (you cannot use your phone while using your notebook) 3 USD per 15mins in bussines center!!! When calling international, USD 50 on a 14 mins call to LATAM... Hotel and amenities are excellent. Any extra service you could use is extremelly expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocco Cruz
Business
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Jan 16, 2012

business

Good, the need free wifi, and the mini bar room need to be open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gardengal1
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Jan 14, 2012

We Loved Our Stay

We stayed three nights at the Barcelo and enjoyed every one of the! The gardens were lovely, and the buffet was delicious. The hotel was rather distant from the airport, but it was a straight shot and easy to find. Our drive to downtown San Jose cost between $7 and $9 in a cab and didn't take too long. Everyone at the hotel was helpful and friendly. We plan to stay here on our next visit to Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Artisan's Market a few blocks off the square downtown. Great prices and lots of items to choose from.

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jodemonster
Couples
Cheyenne, WY, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

We arrived a little later than I expected, but our room was ready. When I had trouble with the phone card voucher from O, the concierge, Renata, went out of her way, let me use her phone to call the US, where I was on the line for forty-five minutes, using up her telephone, for free. I REALLY appreciated that. She also gave me an internet cafe card for one hour because of all of the trouble. I really liked the hotel, unfortunately, some of the things were overpriced, the dinner buffet being one. I preferred the food from the bar. Also, there is an athletic room with a jacuzzi, treadmills, and raquetball courts, but on the door it says "Spa." Being me, I assumed this was also where the actual spa was located. Nope. I never actually found the spa, but called them on the phone. A one-hour massage was much more expensive than I was willing to pay, and they didn't have couples massages. Parking was interesting. If you have something more than a compact car, good luck because the parking garage is so tight to maneuver through. However, this is par for the course in Costa Rica. Taxis at the hotel were also overpriced. Instead of meters, they just have a flat rate. I found this was outrageous. The red taxis we found charged about half that much for the same route. The adventure desk was interesting. I felt bad once I found out what the median income is for the middle class in Costa Rica because we probably spent that much on day trips from San Jose during the week we spent there. Needless to say, they were a little overpriced. I'm sure the hotel gets a cut or percentage from booking the trip for you, but if you rent a car (which I also don't recommend) you don't need to pay extra for a trip that picks you up. Instead of spending twice as much at the adventure desk, just spend some time looking around the internet for package deals that you can drive yourself. Overall, good trip, good hotel, I would recommend. Oh, also, try the Pina Coladas at the hotel bar. Fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car and (definitely) get a GPS, don't use it to find local restaurants because half of them don't exist. They probably did at one time, but finding them is nearly impossible. Try instead to either ask for a cheap restaurant from the staff or from a taxi driver.

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len10
Family
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Very Decent Hotel for the money

Hotel was very clean, rooms were decent size. Beds were very soft/plush and comfortable. I found the Dinner buffer a bit overpriced for the selection. And I didn't like the $10/night Internet fee that applies only to 1 device, so I'd need to buy 2 or $20 to get my Ipad and Iphone authorized to use the internet. If It was based on room, and not devices I wouldn't be upset at the $10/night fee. The pool was well maintained. and the staff was attentive at the pool side bar/cafe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to do within 45mins of driving, like the POAS volcano, breathtaking views and nice eateries on the drive up the mountain. visit the boca coffee plantation.

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
acurbelo
Family
Puerto Rico
Jan 4, 2012

Good Hotel

The hotel was very clean, the service was perfect the food was great. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Hotel buffet is excellent!!

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jandrade
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 20, 2011

missionery

i had a great time i will love to go back i had agreat time in the Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the city of san jose it is a great place to viste

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
law man
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Very very good!!

Great place to stay!!! very good location. The view to the small forest in the hotel was out of this world Very helpful and friendly staff can't wait to go again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DONGARY
Business
INDIANAPOLIS`
Nov 20, 2011

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD

FRIENDLY, COURTEOUS, HELPFUL, GREAT BREAKFAST INCLUDED. HAD A BOTTLE OF WINE WITH NO OPENER AND CAME UP AND OPENED IT FOR ME. PARKING IS A LITTLE TIGHT BUT ADEQUATE IF YOU ARE CAREFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

NEED DIRECTIONS TO GO ANYWHERE. NO SIGNS ON THE ROADS. TRY TO FIND LOCAL ESTABLISHMENTS FOR INEXPENSIVE GOOD FOOD.

Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpoiledByVegas
Single
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Great Value

For the money the nicest hotel I've stayed at in San Jose. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The sushi restaurant is VERY good. For Americans, there is a sportsbar that will show Monday Night Football etc...breakfast buffet was included for me and it was ok. The same restaurant has a buffet every night that is very good. The only drawback for me was the fact that I was in CR visiting a friend so I didn't rent a car. There is nothing within walking distance to do or to create other options to eat. Even so, I will absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Multiplex mall is a short drive away - it is as nice as any mall you will see in any city in the US. There is a movie theater there as well as a lot of dining options.

Back to menu Return to top