$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Balmoral Hotel

3 stars
Central Avenue, between 7th and 9th Street, Downtown, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
58 reviews
Great price, great staff, great room, great location, great breakfast

I stayed for one night before my return flight leaving from San Jose. The location is safe for... See full review

  • Chelssly
  • Feb 4, 2014
Perfect location

I love this hotel and its location, we have stayed here for several years, I love to walk, I can... See full review

  • cornie
  • Jan 5, 2014
Simple guest rooms, standard amenities at the heart of downtown San Jose

Located in a historical district in San Jose, the Balmoral Hotel offers simple guest rooms, modern amenities and convenient location near embassies, banks and area attractions like the Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, the National Cathedral and Morazan Park. From the Balmoral Hotel visitors can take day trips outside the city to explore volcanoes, rainforests, and waterfalls. The Balmoral Hotel offers guests a complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), and a fitness center. Business travelers can find a business center, and the hotel has seven flexible meeting rooms for event groups.

Highlights
  • Great downtown location
  • Some rooms have balconies overlooking Central Avenue
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The Balmoral Hotel has 112 newly renovated guest rooms and suites. Some guest rooms have balconies, and the suites have balconies overlooking Central Avenue in downtown San Jose. Guest rooms feature pairs of double beds, while suites have three double beds and separate living rooms. In-room amenities include air conditioning, cable flat-screen televisions, coffee-makers, mini bars, hair-dryers and telephones. Accommodations also feature work desks and Wi-Fi access (fees apply).

Features

Located at the heart of downtown San Jose, the Balmoral Hotel offers great city views and comprehensive amenities well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. The hotel also serves complimentary buffet breakfast daily while the open-air restaurant/bar El Patio del Balmoral offers coffee, drinks, live music, and casual dining on site.

The hotel offers a guest fitness center and a sauna, and business travelers can stay in touch with Wi-Fi access (fees apply) throughout the property. The hotel also has a business center, and event groups can find seven state-of-the-art meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. Other on-site amenities include parking, laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.6 mi/18.6 km)
Attractions
  • National Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Central Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (30.9 mi/49.7 km)
Business
  • 7 flexible meeting spaces
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Policies and fees

SMOKE FREE POLICY All Rooms and public areas of the Balmoral Hotel are smoke free. We have taken these steps due to a clear and overwhelming demand from our guest for a healthy and smoke free environment.

Smoking will not be permitted in any room and public areas, and a $100 USD cleaning and recovery fee will apply to those guests who decide to smoke inside the rooms

A smoking area it has been created for our guests who do smoke. Please ask at reception for spaces where smoking is allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Balmoral Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
210 square feet rooms with renovated bedding, antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, TV with cable, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city as well of internal views. Bathrooms with permanent hot water, ecological amenities, hairdryer and handicapped rooms.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Superior
269 square feet rooms with renovated bedding, antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city as well of internal views. Newly tiled bathrooms, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Deluxe Room
344 square feet rooms, renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city view from its balcony. Newly tiled bathrooms with hot tub, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities. Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
This rooms have balconies overlooking the Central Avenue & some of them with handicapped rooms available.
Suite
From 861 square feet with 2 comfortable rooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room, perfect for families. Renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city views. Bathrooms with hot tub, hairdryer, permanent hot water, soft towels and ecological amenities. Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking. renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city view from its balcony. Newly tiled bathrooms with hot tub, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Balmoral Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

9.9338 -84.0754
Area served
This downtown property provides airport shuttle at a small surcharge.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes.
Area description
The Hotel Balmoral is located in the pedestrian zone of the Central Avenue in Downtown San Jose.

Nearby points of interest

  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.5 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.5 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.8 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.6 mi

Dining

El Patio del Balmoral
Is located besides the main lobby of the hotel on the pedestrian boulevard of Central Avenue where you can enjoy a variety of delicious international and typical Costa Rican dishes. The Bar-Restaurant-Cafe El Patio del Balmoral is open from 6:00AM until 11:00PM, Monday to Sunday.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Balmoral offers seven ample, versatile and fully equipped meeting rooms ranging from boardrooms to conference facilities.Whether you are planning a social or a business event our excellent service and experienced catering will ensure that your event will be a success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Balmoral Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
The Accidental Professor
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 9, 2012

Bamoral a Hit

A three-star hotel to which I gave a four-star rating because of it location, wonderful staff, dedication security, and cleanliness. I chose the Balmoral over some four-star hotels and was not disappointed. The Balmoral is centrally located on a major pedestrian mall, near all the main parks and tourist sites of the city. The parks and mall where bustling with holiday activity during the month of December, when I visited. This was an excellent buy for a three-star hotel. I will stay there again in March when I return on another business trip..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Argentine restaurant", whose exact name I forget, but which had "Buenos Aires" in the title, was absolutely fabulous. Many of the natives that I spoke with consider it the best restaurant in the city. A small, unpretentious place, it had plenty of atmosphere (photos of Argentine movie idols, athletes, politicians from the past; tango and other Argentine musing playing in the background.) The staff was very well-trained and attentive to the most minute details. The steak dinner I had was comparable, if not superior to, ones I have had the top steak houses in the USA (e.g., Morton's, Cameron Mitchell), at which I would have paid more than twice the price.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Alto Rio Senguerr
Aug 22, 2007

I like this place

Staff is very helpful,security is very good. Good food in Restaurant. On one of the main tourist area of San Jose. The street is predestrians only except for cabs and a few delivery trucks every once in a while. Not a 5 star hotel but nice. Near Historical sites and shopping.I wouldn't call it a family hotel as it is near a few places you would wnat your children to see, more for couples or single people but not noisy and it is clean. restarant is street side with 6 tables protected by railing close so you can see the people walking by and many more table farther inside. also has a bar area that seat aprox 12. Not a bad place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Yani
Yonkers, New York
Aug 29, 2011

Relaxing Comfortable Stay

The Balmoral Hotel was wonderful. All staff members were courteous and very helpful. I was given full attention whenever I had questions for the front desk staff, porters and bellman. I greatly appreciate all the help the staff provided me with and I will definitely return to this hotel. I had a stupendous time. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

El Pueblo is an exciting place to visit which has different kinds of restaurants and lounges/clubs. It is about 10 minutes away from the Balmoral Hotel.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
minneapolis
Oct 7, 2009

The rooms were great

The staff were very helpful in giving directions,most of them are bi-lingual making your visit convienent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Del Rey

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
black barbie
USA
Jan 6, 2009

Very nice people

I did not like when they giva us a smoke guess room but in the second day I ask for a no smoke room and they move us to a no smoke room. The Hotel is clean. The peaple were nice. They help us when we asked for somenthing. The room was in good condiction, and there was adeguate space for hanging clothers. The location was very good ...in the center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
EUSUF
Business
New York, NY
Jan 21, 2008

very friendly

the balmoral is extremely friendly and hospitable. right in the heart of san jose. the staff is very attentive. all hours of the night. you are near decent restaurants and the room service is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping , gymanasium, massage parlors, bookstores, typical and international foods.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Akron, OH
Sep 4, 2008

hotel verygood, access is the problem

We rented a car to drive to other destinations in Costa Rica. Street signs appear to be nonexistent in San Jose. It was very difficult to find our way to the hotel. In addition, there is only pedestrian traffic allowed on the street in front of the hotel. Access to the hotel by car was from a side street. We had to park and find it first on foot. At the hotel we then received directions to reach them. However, the location is right in the center of things and the hotel itself was very satisfactory. The staff were most courteous and helpful. We only stayed one night and left the next morning. Traffic out of San Jose was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Foreign Devil
Ringwood, Nj
Jul 30, 2011

Great hotel

on entry and exit stayed in san jose, drove 260 kilometers to guanacaste for resort stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

good value

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
cornie
jax, florida
Jan 5, 2014

Perfect location

I love this hotel and its location, we have stayed here for several years, I love to walk, I can walk for miles here and feel safe, lots to see and do for me, we are an older couple and have done all the tours and the beaches, so now we just go to relax, my husband loves the casinos which is less than a block's walk for him, I love to chat up the locals and eat where they eat, this was our third trip in 2013, I have to mention the staff, very very attentive! and nice size and clean rooms, see you soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has an excellent menu, one can sit by the open air windows and enjoy the scenery, plus there are several other options close by, all in all it is a great value!

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Chelssly
Angola indiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great price, great staff, great room, great location, great breakfast

I stayed for one night before my return flight leaving from San Jose. The location is safe for walking on the pedestrian only street. We explored the area at night and then again in the morning. The breakfast has a great selection from fresh fruit to pancakes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top