$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Balmoral Hotel

3 stars
Central Avenue, between 7th and 9th Street, Downtown, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
60 reviews
Great price, great staff, great room, great location, great breakfast

I stayed for one night before my return flight leaving from San Jose. The location is safe for... See full review

  • Chelssly
  • Feb 4, 2014
Perfect location

I love this hotel and its location, we have stayed here for several years, I love to walk, I can... See full review

  • cornie
  • Jan 5, 2014
Simple guest rooms, standard amenities at the heart of downtown San Jose

Located in a historical district in San Jose, the Balmoral Hotel offers simple guest rooms, modern amenities and convenient location near embassies, banks and area attractions like the Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, the National Cathedral and Morazan Park. From the Balmoral Hotel visitors can take day trips outside the city to explore volcanoes, rainforests, and waterfalls. The Balmoral Hotel offers guests a complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), and a fitness center. Business travelers can find a business center, and the hotel has seven flexible meeting rooms for event groups.

Highlights
  • Great downtown location
  • Some rooms have balconies overlooking Central Avenue
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The Balmoral Hotel has 112 newly renovated guest rooms and suites. Some guest rooms have balconies, and the suites have balconies overlooking Central Avenue in downtown San Jose. Guest rooms feature pairs of double beds, while suites have three double beds and separate living rooms. In-room amenities include air conditioning, cable flat-screen televisions, coffee-makers, mini bars, hair-dryers and telephones. Accommodations also feature work desks and Wi-Fi access (fees apply).

Features

Located at the heart of downtown San Jose, the Balmoral Hotel offers great city views and comprehensive amenities well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. The hotel also serves complimentary buffet breakfast daily while the open-air restaurant/bar El Patio del Balmoral offers coffee, drinks, live music, and casual dining on site.

The hotel offers a guest fitness center and a sauna, and business travelers can stay in touch with Wi-Fi access (fees apply) throughout the property. The hotel also has a business center, and event groups can find seven state-of-the-art meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. Other on-site amenities include parking, laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.6 mi/18.6 km)
Attractions
  • National Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Central Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (30.9 mi/49.7 km)
Business
  • 7 flexible meeting spaces
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Policies and fees

SMOKE FREE POLICY All Rooms and public areas of the Balmoral Hotel are smoke free. We have taken these steps due to a clear and overwhelming demand from our guest for a healthy and smoke free environment.

Smoking will not be permitted in any room and public areas, and a $100 USD cleaning and recovery fee will apply to those guests who decide to smoke inside the rooms

A smoking area it has been created for our guests who do smoke. Please ask at reception for spaces where smoking is allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Balmoral Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Balmoral Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
210 square feet rooms with renovated bedding, antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, TV with cable, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city as well of internal views. Bathrooms with permanent hot water, ecological amenities, hairdryer and handicapped rooms.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Superior
269 square feet rooms with renovated bedding, antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city as well of internal views. Newly tiled bathrooms, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Deluxe Room
344 square feet rooms, renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city view from its balcony. Newly tiled bathrooms with hot tub, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities. Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
This rooms have balconies overlooking the Central Avenue & some of them with handicapped rooms available.
Suite
From 861 square feet with 2 comfortable rooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room, perfect for families. Renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city views. Bathrooms with hot tub, hairdryer, permanent hot water, soft towels and ecological amenities. Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking. renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city view from its balcony. Newly tiled bathrooms with hot tub, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Standard Plus
We are pleased to introduce the Standard Plus, a new room category with fine finishes, advanced technology, and relaxing environment while preserving the fine wood furniture carved by the hands of national artisans. Our smoke free Standard Plus Rooms offer 172-247 square feet of convenient and well equipped resting and working space.
Our Standard Plus Rooms offer italian ceramic floor, single or double beds with comfortable mattresses and linens. Our Standard Plus Rooms have private bathrooms with fine finishes with high pressure showers and complimentary toiletries.
All Standard Plus Rooms are air conditioned and are equipped with 27 - 32 LCD TV offering 78 premium international cable TV channels including ESPN, HBO, CNN, History, RAI, TV5, Deutsche Welle, TVE and many others.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.5 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.5 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.8 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Balmoral offers seven ample, versatile and fully equipped meeting rooms ranging from boardrooms to conference facilities.Whether you are planning a social or a business event our excellent service and experienced catering will ensure that your event will be a success.

Dining

El Patio del Balmoral
Is located besides the main lobby of the hotel on the pedestrian boulevard of Central Avenue where you can enjoy a variety of delicious international and typical Costa Rican dishes. The Bar-Restaurant-Cafe El Patio del Balmoral is open from 6:00AM until 11:00PM, Monday to Sunday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Balmoral Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First Trip to Costa Rica
Business
Pittsburgh, Penna.
Feb 22, 2010

dated, bad location,good staff & food

Hotel very dated and in bad location. Noisy outside all the time. First room (standard) awful in appearance, but clean. Too small. Asked for upgrade to superior $19 more per day and well worth it again very clean. Staff could not be nice enough..wanted to do whatever to make things better and food in hotel was very good. We would not stay in San Jose ever again...only on the outskirts. Went to look at property for 2nd home and all builders hated driving into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephen Jude
Business
Kansas City, Mo
Feb 2, 2010

Good Location for local flavor

This hotel is right in the downtown area. It is a great location if you want to step out and experience the local flavor of San Jose. It was clean, little to no amenities, nothing fancy, but nice for the price and felt safe and secure. Not a place to expect a romantic getaway or anything like that - just a place for a night or two to experience downtown San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

local flavor of people and vendors on the streets in downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Feb 2, 2010

Friendly, Helpful & Compassionate

We traveled to Costa Rica for a family emergency. The staff at the Balmoral Hotel were friendly, helpful, and at the end... very compassionate. Our stay in Costa Rica was easier not having to worry about where we were staying during a very difficult time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Florida
Jan 16, 2010

Balmoral Hotel

This is my second time to Costa Rica and second time at this hotel. It is a nice hotel, in a good section of town that is safe for visitors. It may not be brand new but it is maintained and the staff is friendly. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ANGEL VICTOR
Business
HIALEAH, FLORIDA
Jan 1, 2010

SAN JOSE TRIP

THE HOTEL IS FINE, WE PAID AT THE HOTEL FOR A CITY TRIP WITH AN AGENCY NAMED MARBELLA, AND THE TRIP WAS AWFUL, THE LUNCH WAS INCLUDED AND IT WAS A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE, THE FOOD WAS COLD AND POOR, IN AN UGLY , EMPTY RESTAURANT. WE DID NOT SEE ANYTHING INTERESTING DURING THE FOUR HOURS TRIP. THE BUS ONLY STOPPED AT THE DIAMONDS AND EMERALDS FACTORY AND AT A SOUVENIRS SHOP.AND WE PAID 37 DOLLARS FOR EACH PERSON!!!. I RECOMMEND NOT TO TAKE THIS TRIP WITH MARBELLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Mountains
Dec 23, 2009

Two stars is too generous

Lower your expectations and get ready to be surprised by 'extra' charges on the most basic needs. "Free" internet means in the lobby only; if you want it in your room it's gonna cost ya! Don't count on being able to use your pre-paid calling cards through hotel phones to save dough. Higher fares for hotel contracted cars; use the red city Taxis and watch the meters. The working staff were delightful and helpful, and I tipped generousely. The front desk staff were understandably defensive, and seemed resentful when asked to resolve issues. Water went off the first night, hot water missing the next morning, previousely damaged bed broke requiring a change of rooms, etc. Guards at every entrance kept the interior safe, but only the brave or foolish walk around downtown after dark. On checkout the desk refused, REFUSED, to give me a copy of the charges for the stay. Waiting to see if I'll have a problem with unauthorized additional charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middleburg, FL
Oct 14, 2009

Excellent value, great location, love it

Excellent location, I love to mingle with the locals, the Blvd. does not allow autos so it is safe to walk, loved to sit in the restaurant and people watch, the casinos are just around the corner so we can walk to them, no taxi needed, the staff is great and bilingual and the rooms are clean and plenty of security,we plan on returning soon to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed walking to the central markets to tasted the local foods and the casinos at nite, no taxi needed. Love love the location, this is our 6th time there or so, first time at this hotel, we will be back here soon, highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis
Oct 7, 2009

The rooms were great

The staff were very helpful in giving directions,most of them are bi-lingual making your visit convienent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Del Rey

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Great hotel in a so so city

Great Hotel. The city was dirty and i wouldn't recommend taking children here but the hotel was a great spot in the city. Perfect location for shopping and people watching. Nice bar on the second floor to relax and get away from the city. Let us check in at 7am instead of the 3 pm check in time. Lifesaver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventure Couple
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Jun 30, 2009

Fantastic experience!

This is a great hotel in a perfect location in downtown San Jose. Within a couple short blocks are the National Theatre, the Gold Museum, and the central market; for the adults there are bars and casinos and the famous Hotel Del Rey. The interior architecture is beautiful and unique, particularly in the patio bar (which is top notch). The complimentary breakfast buffet was extraordinary and far exceeded our rice-and-beans expectations. We had expedition companies pick us up at the hotel to go to Arenal, the Pacuare River, and Turu Ba Ri park. the drives were 2-3 hours but very scenic. The room was a bit small but we didn't come to Costa Rica for the room. I don't think we could have done better than this hotel for location, the friendly staff, the location, the restaurant and bar, or the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Thursday and Friday nights the National Symphony Orchestra plays a block and a half away in the National Theatre. We saw the line at the door but assumed the show was a play or a speech (and our Spanish is terrible), so we missed the music and the interior of this classic building. You should go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top