$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Balmoral Hotel

3 stars
Central Avenue, between 7th and 9th Street, Downtown, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
94 reviews
Great price, great staff, great room, great location, great breakfast

I stayed for one night before my return flight leaving from San Jose. The location is safe for... See full review

  • Chelssly
  • Feb 4, 2014
Perfect location

I love this hotel and its location, we have stayed here for several years, I love to walk, I can... See full review

  • cornie
  • Jan 5, 2014
Simple guest rooms, standard amenities at the heart of downtown San Jose

Located in a historical district in San Jose, the Balmoral Hotel offers simple guest rooms, modern amenities and convenient location near embassies, banks and area attractions like the Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, the National Cathedral and Morazan Park. From the Balmoral Hotel visitors can take day trips outside the city to explore volcanoes, rainforests, and waterfalls. The Balmoral Hotel offers guests a complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), and a fitness center. Business travelers can find a business center, and the hotel has seven flexible meeting rooms for event groups.

Highlights
  • Great downtown location
  • Some rooms have balconies overlooking Central Avenue
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The Balmoral Hotel has 112 newly renovated guest rooms and suites. Some guest rooms have balconies, and the suites have balconies overlooking Central Avenue in downtown San Jose. Guest rooms feature pairs of double beds, while suites have three double beds and separate living rooms. In-room amenities include air conditioning, cable flat-screen televisions, coffee-makers, mini bars, hair-dryers and telephones. Accommodations also feature work desks and Wi-Fi access (fees apply).

Features

Located at the heart of downtown San Jose, the Balmoral Hotel offers great city views and comprehensive amenities well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. The hotel also serves complimentary buffet breakfast daily while the open-air restaurant/bar El Patio del Balmoral offers coffee, drinks, live music, and casual dining on site.

The hotel offers a guest fitness center and a sauna, and business travelers can stay in touch with Wi-Fi access (fees apply) throughout the property. The hotel also has a business center, and event groups can find seven state-of-the-art meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. Other on-site amenities include parking, laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.6 mi/18.6 km)
Attractions
  • National Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Central Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (30.9 mi/49.7 km)
Business
  • 7 flexible meeting spaces
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Policies and fees

SMOKE FREE POLICY All Rooms and public areas of the Balmoral Hotel are smoke free. We have taken these steps due to a clear and overwhelming demand from our guest for a healthy and smoke free environment.

Smoking will not be permitted in any room and public areas, and a $100 USD cleaning and recovery fee will apply to those guests who decide to smoke inside the rooms

A smoking area it has been created for our guests who do smoke. Please ask at reception for spaces where smoking is allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

9.9338 -84.0754
Area served
This downtown property provides airport shuttle at a small surcharge.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes.
Area description
The Hotel Balmoral is located in the pedestrian zone of the Central Avenue in Downtown San Jose.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Balmoral Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Balmoral Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
210 square feet rooms with renovated bedding, antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, TV with cable, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city as well of internal views. Bathrooms with permanent hot water, ecological amenities, hairdryer and handicapped rooms.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Superior
269 square feet rooms with renovated bedding, antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city as well of internal views. Newly tiled bathrooms, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Deluxe Room
344 square feet rooms, renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city view from its balcony. Newly tiled bathrooms with hot tub, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities. Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
This rooms have balconies overlooking the Central Avenue & some of them with handicapped rooms available.
Suite
From 861 square feet with 2 comfortable rooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room, perfect for families. Renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city views. Bathrooms with hot tub, hairdryer, permanent hot water, soft towels and ecological amenities. Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking. renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city view from its balcony. Newly tiled bathrooms with hot tub, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Standard Plus
We are pleased to introduce the Standard Plus, a new room category with fine finishes, advanced technology, and relaxing environment while preserving the fine wood furniture carved by the hands of national artisans. Our smoke free Standard Plus Rooms offer 172-247 square feet of convenient and well equipped resting and working space.
Our Standard Plus Rooms offer italian ceramic floor, single or double beds with comfortable mattresses and linens. Our Standard Plus Rooms have private bathrooms with fine finishes with high pressure showers and complimentary toiletries.
All Standard Plus Rooms are air conditioned and are equipped with 27 - 32 LCD TV offering 78 premium international cable TV channels including ESPN, HBO, CNN, History, RAI, TV5, Deutsche Welle, TVE and many others.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.5 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.5 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.8 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.6 mi

Dining

El Patio del Balmoral
Is located besides the main lobby of the hotel on the pedestrian boulevard of Central Avenue where you can enjoy a variety of delicious international and typical Costa Rican dishes. The Bar-Restaurant-Cafe El Patio del Balmoral is open from 6:00AM until 11:00PM, Monday to Sunday.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Balmoral offers seven ample, versatile and fully equipped meeting rooms ranging from boardrooms to conference facilities.Whether you are planning a social or a business event our excellent service and experienced catering will ensure that your event will be a success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Balmoral Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverview, FL
May 30, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The superior room was great. Last stay we had a standard room that had not been updated, and no balcony or view. Superior room had a balcony overlooking the central ave. pedestrian walkway. Shops, casino, eating establishments & city highlights all within walking or short taxi ride distance. Bedding was high end and very comfortable. Best breakfast in town! Included everyday. Restaurant and bar are great ... no need to go anywhere else to have a good meal. We are seniors, and every accommodation was made to assist my husband's infirmity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

mercado central, largest and least expensive food, groceries, coffee & merchandise in all of San Jose. Get directions at parking area. It's worth the trip.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverview, FL
May 30, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The superior room was great. Last stay we had a standard room that had not been updated, and no balcony or view. Superior room had a balcony overlooking the central ave. pedestrian walkway. Shops, casino, eating establishments & city highlights all within walking or short taxi ride distance. Bedding was high end and very comfortable. Best breakfast in town! Included everyday. Restaurant and bar are great ... no need to go anywhere else to have a good meal. We are seniors, and every accommodation was made to assist my husband's infirmity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

mercado central, largest and least expensive food, groceries, coffee & merchandise in all of San Jose. Get directions at parking area. It's worth the trip.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Apr 20, 2010

Nice hotel

My mother and I always stay in this hotel when we travel to Costa Rica. The location is perfect since it is in the very downtown. The food at El Patio Restaurant is excellent. However, what we like most is the friendly staff of the hotel. They are all very educated and professional people who makes us feel like if we were at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two markets near the hotel in which you can buy water and snacks if you do not want to spend money consuming what they offer in the small frigie at your room. You can also buy a prepaid phonecard nearby if you do not want to be charged for telephone calls.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Apr 20, 2010

Nice hotel

My mother and I always stay in this hotel when we travel to Costa Rica. The location is perfect since it is in the very downtown. The food at El Patio Restaurant is excellent. However, what we like most is the friendly staff of the hotel. They are all very educated and professional people who makes us feel like if we were at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two markets near the hotel in which you can buy water and snacks if you do not want to spend money consuming what they offer in the small frigie at your room. You can also buy a prepaid phonecard nearby if you do not want to be charged for telephone calls.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Vallarta, MX
Apr 12, 2010

So So

The hotel is in downtown San Jose. Much of downtown San Jose is VERY seedy and sketchy. Was very impressed with the level of security provided by the hotel. The restaurant attached to the hotel was very acceptable. The rooms were clean, but small and dingy. Had an interior room which activated my claustrophobia. Towels were clean, but gray. Had to ask for a washcloth. Was charged $1.50 usd for consuming the in-room coffee that was provided.VERY poor lighting...unable to read in bed. Wonderful, friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Vallarta, MX
Apr 12, 2010

So So

The hotel is in downtown San Jose. Much of downtown San Jose is VERY seedy and sketchy. Was very impressed with the level of security provided by the hotel. The restaurant attached to the hotel was very acceptable. The rooms were clean, but small and dingy. Had an interior room which activated my claustrophobia. Towels were clean, but gray. Had to ask for a washcloth. Was charged $1.50 usd for consuming the in-room coffee that was provided.VERY poor lighting...unable to read in bed. Wonderful, friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First Trip to Costa Rica
Pittsburgh, Penna.
Feb 22, 2010

dated, bad location,good staff & food

Hotel very dated and in bad location. Noisy outside all the time. First room (standard) awful in appearance, but clean. Too small. Asked for upgrade to superior $19 more per day and well worth it again very clean. Staff could not be nice enough..wanted to do whatever to make things better and food in hotel was very good. We would not stay in San Jose ever again...only on the outskirts. Went to look at property for 2nd home and all builders hated driving into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First Trip to Costa Rica
Pittsburgh, Penna.
Feb 22, 2010

dated, bad location,good staff & food

Hotel very dated and in bad location. Noisy outside all the time. First room (standard) awful in appearance, but clean. Too small. Asked for upgrade to superior $19 more per day and well worth it again very clean. Staff could not be nice enough..wanted to do whatever to make things better and food in hotel was very good. We would not stay in San Jose ever again...only on the outskirts. Went to look at property for 2nd home and all builders hated driving into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Feb 2, 2010

Friendly, Helpful & Compassionate

We traveled to Costa Rica for a family emergency. The staff at the Balmoral Hotel were friendly, helpful, and at the end... very compassionate. Our stay in Costa Rica was easier not having to worry about where we were staying during a very difficult time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephen Jude
Kansas City, Mo
Feb 2, 2010

Good Location for local flavor

This hotel is right in the downtown area. It is a great location if you want to step out and experience the local flavor of San Jose. It was clean, little to no amenities, nothing fancy, but nice for the price and felt safe and secure. Not a place to expect a romantic getaway or anything like that - just a place for a night or two to experience downtown San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

local flavor of people and vendors on the streets in downtown

Back to menu Return to top