$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Balmoral Hotel

3 stars
View map of Central Avenue, between 7th and 9th Street, Downtown, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Balmoral Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fluffy
Business
Washington dc
Jun 23, 2011

unbeatable accomadation

location is excellant close by to everything Food and drinks are great. The staff are very friendly, as well as catering to their guest needs are great. The staffs care about the facility and their guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local resturant close by excellant foods and a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ill. u.s.
Feb 21, 2011

good service,clean,nice price

service was good at hotel and resturant,good location and price was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
99
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 8, 2010

stay away

If this is a four star hotel, which is posted on their website and what cheaptickects told us too, I hate to see a one star hotel. Do not beleive the pictures on their website! It is currently under renovation and they start the drilling and banging at 8:00 am! Wait until renovations are complete to stay here!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
International Rock Star
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 8, 2010

Muy Bien HOTEL

SAN JOSE ROCKS AND BALMORAL IS A GREAT place to stay while there. You are in the heart of Costa Rica and get to experience it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Peace Lodge SW side in Mountains

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sailorpete/linguistelena
Business
West Bend, WI
Aug 9, 2010

Superb Service!

We had reserved a standard room, but the reservation staff put us in the Presidential Suite because on 7/21/10 our room was not available and we had to transfer to the Gran Hotel Costa Rica. The upgrade was to compensate us for the inconvenience on 7/21.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sailorpete/linguistelena
Business
West Bend, WI
Aug 9, 2010

Gran Hotel Costa Rica Stay

Upon our arrival no rooms were available because part of the hotel was undergoing reconstruction. We were transferred to the Gran Hotel Costa Rica and spent the night in a very small non-airconditioned room. The Balmoral staff promised us a room upgrade upon our arrival on August 5th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sailorpete/linguistelena
Business
West Bend, WI
Aug 9, 2010

Gran Hotel Costa Rica Stay

Upon our arrival no rooms were available because part of the hotel was undergoing reconstruction. We were transferred to the Gran Hotel Costa Rica and spent the night in a very small non-airconditioned room. The Balmoral staff promised us a room upgrade upon our arrival on August 5th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sailorpete/linguistelena
Business
West Bend, WI
Aug 9, 2010

Superb Service!

We had reserved a standard room, but the reservation staff put us in the Presidential Suite because on 7/21/10 our room was not available and we had to transfer to the Gran Hotel Costa Rica. The upgrade was to compensate us for the inconvenience on 7/21.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jtinla
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 1, 2010

Don't judge by the outside

When the taxi pulled up to the hotel I thought what have I got myself into. The hotel fronts a pedestrian mall and looks shady, once inside it was clean and comfortable. Great breakfast buffet. I stayed two different times the first time was the front portion with a huge room, the second tome was the rear of the building which had a smaller darker room with a huge bathroom. Could not use the in room refrigerator (locked). Overall I was satisfied considering there is not much in central San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a very good American style restaurant "News Cafe". Very reasonable a excellent menu, especially the salads and sandwiches. Great change of pace from the Tico fare or fast food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ASD
Business
San Jose
Jun 1, 2010

Adequate and good location

Great location but food very overpriced, complimentary breakfast with very slim pickings. Innundated with local hawksters anytime you are within 50 feet of the hotel, but the people are generally very enjoyable, polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

obvilusly stay away from the tourist traps, and go to the local markets and flea markets, if you do so select your cab driver very carefully (take pains not to get one who will over price you).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top