$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Balmoral Hotel

3 stars
View map of Central Avenue, between 7th and 9th Street, Downtown, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Balmoral Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Accidental Professor
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 9, 2012

Bamoral a Hit

A three-star hotel to which I gave a four-star rating because of it location, wonderful staff, dedication security, and cleanliness. I chose the Balmoral over some four-star hotels and was not disappointed. The Balmoral is centrally located on a major pedestrian mall, near all the main parks and tourist sites of the city. The parks and mall where bustling with holiday activity during the month of December, when I visited. This was an excellent buy for a three-star hotel. I will stay there again in March when I return on another business trip..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Argentine restaurant", whose exact name I forget, but which had "Buenos Aires" in the title, was absolutely fabulous. Many of the natives that I spoke with consider it the best restaurant in the city. A small, unpretentious place, it had plenty of atmosphere (photos of Argentine movie idols, athletes, politicians from the past; tango and other Argentine musing playing in the background.) The staff was very well-trained and attentive to the most minute details. The steak dinner I had was comparable, if not superior to, ones I have had the top steak houses in the USA (e.g., Morton's, Cameron Mitchell), at which I would have paid more than twice the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Timer in C. R.
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2014

Nice Hotel in Central Location

The hotel was pretty nice for San Jose, and it is really close to the heart of the city. The first floor is really nice, but the rooms could never compete on an international level. Bathroom was extremely outdated. That said, it's not bad for the money where you are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you eat at the attached restaurant, don't trust the servers. I was told tip was not included in the bill, when 10 percent always is. Mediocre service and deception should not equate to a 28 percent tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bruce123
Business
texas
Jan 28, 2014

good location

The hotel located close to central ave and is walk able distance to many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cornie
Business
jax, florida
Jan 5, 2014

Perfect location

I love this hotel and its location, we have stayed here for several years, I love to walk, I can walk for miles here and feel safe, lots to see and do for me, we are an older couple and have done all the tours and the beaches, so now we just go to relax, my husband loves the casinos which is less than a block's walk for him, I love to chat up the locals and eat where they eat, this was our third trip in 2013, I have to mention the staff, very very attentive! and nice size and clean rooms, see you soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has an excellent menu, one can sit by the open air windows and enjoy the scenery, plus there are several other options close by, all in all it is a great value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
honesttraveler53
Business
New York City
Nov 25, 2013

Risky

We stayed at the hotel two night at the beginning of the trip and one more before leaving Costa Rica. On the first and last day there were no hot water until the morning of the next day. We called the desk and were told this problem is effecting the entire hotel. The Hotel is clean and centrally located but you would be surprised how a lack of a shower can ruin your day. Tip: Find another option in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Lulu
Business
New York City
Jul 1, 2013

Vac getaway

We got there in the wee hours of the night and the staff was hospitable and very helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was great! And so was the chef, who was very friendly and full of local information. The hotel is located in central downtown near the shopping center, it looks a bit sketchy buts it's not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Accidental Professor
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 9, 2012

Bamoral a Hit

A three-star hotel to which I gave a four-star rating because of it location, wonderful staff, dedication security, and cleanliness. I chose the Balmoral over some four-star hotels and was not disappointed. The Balmoral is centrally located on a major pedestrian mall, near all the main parks and tourist sites of the city. The parks and mall where bustling with holiday activity during the month of December, when I visited. This was an excellent buy for a three-star hotel. I will stay there again in March when I return on another business trip..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Argentine restaurant", whose exact name I forget, but which had "Buenos Aires" in the title, was absolutely fabulous. Many of the natives that I spoke with consider it the best restaurant in the city. A small, unpretentious place, it had plenty of atmosphere (photos of Argentine movie idols, athletes, politicians from the past; tango and other Argentine musing playing in the background.) The staff was very well-trained and attentive to the most minute details. The steak dinner I had was comparable, if not superior to, ones I have had the top steak houses in the USA (e.g., Morton's, Cameron Mitchell), at which I would have paid more than twice the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loving grammy
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Nov 30, 2012

Great get away

Our stay was great. Staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was always fresh and delitious. Centrally located to many points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Costa Rican Fan
Business
New York City
Oct 16, 2012

Great Inner-City Location and security

Having stayed there on 3 other occasions I was impressed by the fact that they remembered me and upgraded my room. The staff was a jewel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Konafish
Business
VA
Aug 16, 2012

No mini bar key

I had been to the Presidente twice before across the street.This hotel is much nicer and less expensive. There is some street noise. The room was large and comfortable (the windows open). Nice wood floors.The staff were generally helpful and informative. The biggest negative was when I checked in Suzy did not give me the mini bar key, I realized it when I wanted a coke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Patio restaurant in the hotel.I had an excellent lunch there and they had a band and a singer (very nice music).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maridavis
Business
Altoona, PA USA.
Jul 18, 2012

My experience at the hotel Balmoral

My experience at this hotel was excellent except for the room cleanliness in the bathroom ( I saw a little crockroache) and the lack of a fan to extract odors in the bathroom. Other than than, everything was Ok. The stuff was very nice and professional. At the restaurant El Patio, I met the chef, Mr. Gerardo. He was very nice and friendly. The food was delicious!!! On the other hand, I had problems from the Juan S.Airport to the hotel and back to the airport, too. I had paid to grainline-costa rica for the servicie at the same time that I made the reservation online. When I arrived to the airport, I was picked up for the wrong driver. Then, he transfer me to another car. after a long time. They did not know who was taking me to the hotel Balmoral. Finally, they found out and after a trip around San Jose droping other customers in other hotels, I arrived to the hotel around 3 pm *my flight arrived at 12 noon! ) very tired and hungry. There was a lack of coordination between the drivers of the grayline-costa rica company. . Also, the worse part I would say, is a lack of accuracy with the names of the customers that will travel with them unless that it had been because the driver was drunk and that's why he confused my name in the trip back tothe airport. Let me explain . I was told that I had to be in the hotel Balmoral in order to be picked up to take me back to the airport . They did not give me the option to pick me up in any other destination, which was not a big deal for me except that I had to pay to a taxi to take me to the hotel Balmoral. Then, when I arrived to the hotel the person in charge of my transportation confused my name with David Miranda ( My name is Marianela Davis). So, I was there waiting for almost an hour to finally find out that nobody was there waiting for me. The front desk clerk Chris was very nice and help me a lot. I appreciate his help very much. He was very professional. He called grayline people to find out what was going on with my transportation. He even called a taxi for me since we did not know what to do and I had to be in the airport at least at 4am. I was waiting since 3:15 am approximately and it was until 3:45 am that finally, and thanks to Chris, someone from Grayline-costa rica called the driver (the one in front of the hotel waiting for the wrong person...) and he realized that I was the right person, but he had the wrong name. I was the only passenger in his car and it made me feel very uncorfortable that since the first moment that I talked to him I felt the strong alcohol smell in his breath. I had no choice, but use his service at that point, but it is was very unconfortable to travel with a person that smell to alcohol and besides that probably was drunk to the point of confusing my name and made me wait so much time. I will not use Grayline-costa rica again, that's for sure. I paid $30 dollars for the service and it was lousy. Chris explained to me that their service is not related to the hotel and obviously is not as good as the service at the hotel. Thank you. Marianela D. Davis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great!!!! the chef don Gerardo and the rest of stuff at the restaurant are great, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top