$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Balmoral Hotel

3 stars
Central Avenue, between 7th and 9th Street, Downtown, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
94 reviews
Great price, great staff, great room, great location, great breakfast

I stayed for one night before my return flight leaving from San Jose. The location is safe for... See full review

  • Chelssly
  • Feb 4, 2014
Perfect location

I love this hotel and its location, we have stayed here for several years, I love to walk, I can... See full review

  • cornie
  • Jan 5, 2014
Simple guest rooms, standard amenities at the heart of downtown San Jose

Located in a historical district in San Jose, the Balmoral Hotel offers simple guest rooms, modern amenities and convenient location near embassies, banks and area attractions like the Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, the National Cathedral and Morazan Park. From the Balmoral Hotel visitors can take day trips outside the city to explore volcanoes, rainforests, and waterfalls. The Balmoral Hotel offers guests a complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), and a fitness center. Business travelers can find a business center, and the hotel has seven flexible meeting rooms for event groups.

Highlights
  • Great downtown location
  • Some rooms have balconies overlooking Central Avenue
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The Balmoral Hotel has 112 newly renovated guest rooms and suites. Some guest rooms have balconies, and the suites have balconies overlooking Central Avenue in downtown San Jose. Guest rooms feature pairs of double beds, while suites have three double beds and separate living rooms. In-room amenities include air conditioning, cable flat-screen televisions, coffee-makers, mini bars, hair-dryers and telephones. Accommodations also feature work desks and Wi-Fi access (fees apply).

Features

Located at the heart of downtown San Jose, the Balmoral Hotel offers great city views and comprehensive amenities well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. The hotel also serves complimentary buffet breakfast daily while the open-air restaurant/bar El Patio del Balmoral offers coffee, drinks, live music, and casual dining on site.

The hotel offers a guest fitness center and a sauna, and business travelers can stay in touch with Wi-Fi access (fees apply) throughout the property. The hotel also has a business center, and event groups can find seven state-of-the-art meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. Other on-site amenities include parking, laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.6 mi/18.6 km)
Attractions
  • National Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Central Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (30.9 mi/49.7 km)
Business
  • 7 flexible meeting spaces
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Policies and fees

SMOKE FREE POLICY All Rooms and public areas of the Balmoral Hotel are smoke free. We have taken these steps due to a clear and overwhelming demand from our guest for a healthy and smoke free environment.

Smoking will not be permitted in any room and public areas, and a $100 USD cleaning and recovery fee will apply to those guests who decide to smoke inside the rooms

A smoking area it has been created for our guests who do smoke. Please ask at reception for spaces where smoking is allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Balmoral Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
210 square feet rooms with renovated bedding, antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, TV with cable, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city as well of internal views. Bathrooms with permanent hot water, ecological amenities, hairdryer and handicapped rooms.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Superior
269 square feet rooms with renovated bedding, antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city as well of internal views. Newly tiled bathrooms, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Deluxe Room
344 square feet rooms, renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city view from its balcony. Newly tiled bathrooms with hot tub, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities. Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
This rooms have balconies overlooking the Central Avenue & some of them with handicapped rooms available.
Suite
From 861 square feet with 2 comfortable rooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room, perfect for families. Renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city views. Bathrooms with hot tub, hairdryer, permanent hot water, soft towels and ecological amenities. Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking. renovated bedding with antiallergenic pillows, minibar, alarm clock, safe deposit boxes, Flat screen TV with cable, coffee maker, internet, air conditioning, working desk with lamp and city view from its balcony. Newly tiled bathrooms with hot tub, permanent hot water, hairdryer, soft towels and ecological amenities.
Includes daily buffet breakfast and parking.
Standard Plus
We are pleased to introduce the Standard Plus, a new room category with fine finishes, advanced technology, and relaxing environment while preserving the fine wood furniture carved by the hands of national artisans. Our smoke free Standard Plus Rooms offer 172-247 square feet of convenient and well equipped resting and working space.
Our Standard Plus Rooms offer italian ceramic floor, single or double beds with comfortable mattresses and linens. Our Standard Plus Rooms have private bathrooms with fine finishes with high pressure showers and complimentary toiletries.
All Standard Plus Rooms are air conditioned and are equipped with 27 - 32 LCD TV offering 78 premium international cable TV channels including ESPN, HBO, CNN, History, RAI, TV5, Deutsche Welle, TVE and many others.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Balmoral Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

9.9338 -84.0754
Area served
This downtown property provides airport shuttle at a small surcharge.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes.
Area description
The Hotel Balmoral is located in the pedestrian zone of the Central Avenue in Downtown San Jose.

Nearby points of interest

  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.5 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.1 mi
  • National Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.5 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.8 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.6 mi

Dining

El Patio del Balmoral
Is located besides the main lobby of the hotel on the pedestrian boulevard of Central Avenue where you can enjoy a variety of delicious international and typical Costa Rican dishes. The Bar-Restaurant-Cafe El Patio del Balmoral is open from 6:00AM until 11:00PM, Monday to Sunday.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Balmoral offers seven ample, versatile and fully equipped meeting rooms ranging from boardrooms to conference facilities.Whether you are planning a social or a business event our excellent service and experienced catering will ensure that your event will be a success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Balmoral Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Costa Rican Fan
New York City
Oct 16, 2012

Great Inner-City Location and security

Having stayed there on 3 other occasions I was impressed by the fact that they remembered me and upgraded my room. The staff was a jewel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Konafish
VA
Aug 16, 2012

No mini bar key

I had been to the Presidente twice before across the street.This hotel is much nicer and less expensive. There is some street noise. The room was large and comfortable (the windows open). Nice wood floors.The staff were generally helpful and informative. The biggest negative was when I checked in Suzy did not give me the mini bar key, I realized it when I wanted a coke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Patio restaurant in the hotel.I had an excellent lunch there and they had a band and a singer (very nice music).

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maridavis
Altoona, PA USA.
Jul 18, 2012

My experience at the hotel Balmoral

My experience at this hotel was excellent except for the room cleanliness in the bathroom ( I saw a little crockroache) and the lack of a fan to extract odors in the bathroom. Other than than, everything was Ok. The stuff was very nice and professional. At the restaurant El Patio, I met the chef, Mr. Gerardo. He was very nice and friendly. The food was delicious!!! On the other hand, I had problems from the Juan S.Airport to the hotel and back to the airport, too. I had paid to grainline-costa rica for the servicie at the same time that I made the reservation online. When I arrived to the airport, I was picked up for the wrong driver. Then, he transfer me to another car. after a long time. They did not know who was taking me to the hotel Balmoral. Finally, they found out and after a trip around San Jose droping other customers in other hotels, I arrived to the hotel around 3 pm *my flight arrived at 12 noon! ) very tired and hungry. There was a lack of coordination between the drivers of the grayline-costa rica company. . Also, the worse part I would say, is a lack of accuracy with the names of the customers that will travel with them unless that it had been because the driver was drunk and that's why he confused my name in the trip back tothe airport. Let me explain . I was told that I had to be in the hotel Balmoral in order to be picked up to take me back to the airport . They did not give me the option to pick me up in any other destination, which was not a big deal for me except that I had to pay to a taxi to take me to the hotel Balmoral. Then, when I arrived to the hotel the person in charge of my transportation confused my name with David Miranda ( My name is Marianela Davis). So, I was there waiting for almost an hour to finally find out that nobody was there waiting for me. The front desk clerk Chris was very nice and help me a lot. I appreciate his help very much. He was very professional. He called grayline people to find out what was going on with my transportation. He even called a taxi for me since we did not know what to do and I had to be in the airport at least at 4am. I was waiting since 3:15 am approximately and it was until 3:45 am that finally, and thanks to Chris, someone from Grayline-costa rica called the driver (the one in front of the hotel waiting for the wrong person...) and he realized that I was the right person, but he had the wrong name. I was the only passenger in his car and it made me feel very uncorfortable that since the first moment that I talked to him I felt the strong alcohol smell in his breath. I had no choice, but use his service at that point, but it is was very unconfortable to travel with a person that smell to alcohol and besides that probably was drunk to the point of confusing my name and made me wait so much time. I will not use Grayline-costa rica again, that's for sure. I paid $30 dollars for the service and it was lousy. Chris explained to me that their service is not related to the hotel and obviously is not as good as the service at the hotel. Thank you. Marianela D. Davis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great!!!! the chef don Gerardo and the rest of stuff at the restaurant are great, too.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cr travel
Bonita Springs, FL, USA
Nov 21, 2011

construction site - lousy breakfast

for the price this was a lousy room, the hotel is undergoing construction and the service was bad and unfriendly atmosphere, no pool, entrance through garage, small reception, breakfast with no meat or cheese, no service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yani
Yonkers, New York
Aug 29, 2011

Relaxing Comfortable Stay

The Balmoral Hotel was wonderful. All staff members were courteous and very helpful. I was given full attention whenever I had questions for the front desk staff, porters and bellman. I greatly appreciate all the help the staff provided me with and I will definitely return to this hotel. I had a stupendous time. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

El Pueblo is an exciting place to visit which has different kinds of restaurants and lounges/clubs. It is about 10 minutes away from the Balmoral Hotel.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yani
Yonkers, New York
Aug 29, 2011

Relaxing Comfortable Stay

The Balmoral Hotel was wonderful. All staff members were courteous and very helpful. I was given full attention whenever I had questions for the front desk staff, porters and bellman. I greatly appreciate all the help the staff provided me with and I will definitely return to this hotel. I had a stupendous time. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

El Pueblo is an exciting place to visit which has different kinds of restaurants and lounges/clubs. It is about 10 minutes away from the Balmoral Hotel.

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marvin
New York
Aug 18, 2011

perfect for anyone willing to go somewhere different.

The experience was awesome. The people were very hospitable and well educated. Low crime and excellent customer service. The country was so beautiful I couldnt believe my eyes, I had to pinch myself because I thought I was dreaming. Overall I give it an A for everything despite the fact I only lasted 6 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foreign Devil
Ringwood, Nj
Jul 30, 2011

Great hotel

on entry and exit stayed in san jose, drove 260 kilometers to guanacaste for resort stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

good value

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foreign Devil
Ringwood, Nj
Jul 30, 2011

Great hotel

on entry and exit stayed in san jose, drove 260 kilometers to guanacaste for resort stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

good value

Review of Balmoral Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fluffy
Washington dc
Jun 23, 2011

unbeatable accomadation

location is excellant close by to everything Food and drinks are great. The staff are very friendly, as well as catering to their guest needs are great. The staffs care about the facility and their guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local resturant close by excellant foods and a great price.

Back to menu Return to top