$399 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Guanacaste, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
314 reviews
The online photos and description don't do this place justice.

I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our... See full review

  • Allen in Arkansas
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great honeymoon spot

The Westin was great! We went here for our honeymoon the first week of June and loved it! Costa... See full review

  • NTLW
  • Jun 11, 2014
Local attractions include Ricon de la Vieja National Park, Santa Rosa National Park, Las Baulas Nacional Marine Park, Guanacaste National Park, Bahia Junquillal National Wildlife Refuge.

Guest rooms are equipped with a spacious and private terrace or balcony, marble floors, deluxe bathrooms, a separate living area with comfortable seating, plasma TVs, air conditioning, cable TV, IPod docking station, daily stocked minibar and 24-hour room service. Adult guests can upgrade themselves to the exclusive Royal Beach Club featuring the discreet assistance of personal concierges, along with a tremendous variety of preferential services, access and reservations Additional facilities include ballroom, billiards, children facilities, lobby, reception, tennis courts and golf and spa service .

The following amenities are available at cost:
- Airport transfer.
- Baby sitting service.
- Dry cleaning.
- Gift shop.
- Golf course.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 314
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler 90000000000
Kansas
Feb 5, 2014

Don,t stay here

If I could give The Westin a -10 I would. From things being stolen from my room (there is a pass code for the safes in the room and employees know it) to the rooms being run down. The food is horrible and you can't get reservation so u end up ordering room service or going to the buffet which is the worst buffet ever. Don't take there shuttle service anywhere they may forget to come pick u up. it happened to 5 of use we finally took a taxi back to the resort and then had to fight to get a refund. Service at meals needs work when u ask for coffee and water at breakfast 5 times and don't get it till your done eating. something is wrong. that happened 4 times we started getting our own coffee and we got dirty looks. Please don't think im the only one who felt this way about the westin I witnessed a lot of people screaming at employees at the pool 5 time and at meals every single day. Service and conditions r really bad. Don't spend your hard earned money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latraveler78
Los Angeles, ca
May 29, 2013

Great vacation

My first time traveling solo and the Westin didn't let me down. The rooms were clean, pool was huge and the staff all very friendly. My one slight disappointment was that the food could be better and the drinks stronger. Fantastic value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan 'Da Man'
Chicago, IL
Jul 21, 2010

REALLY NICE HOTEL. YOU'LL LOVE IT

I had a nice time at the hotel. I booked a few tours but I would've been fine if I just stayed at the hotel (If you're looking for relaxation only, this is the place to go). When I went on tours, I would come back in the evening in time for dinner. The swim-up bar and mini-bar in the room were nice features. Every restaurant had a full-bar and the food was good. Some restaurants on the resort are not impressive but still good. Room service was super quick when I phoned in my order. They also offer laundry services (kinda expensive) and internet (a few dollars/day). Every now and then you'll see some small wildlife creatures wandering around at the resort. Also, if you're a coffee drinker you've got to try the different types of coffee at the coffee shop. The beach was awesome!!! When you go, you'll notice that there is NO SAND AT THE BEACH! 'Then what is there? A slab of concrete?' you might ask. When you go, you'll notice why I say there's no sand (Hint: It's called Playa Conchal for a reason). Also, I'm single but if and when I get married, this is where I'm taking my wife for a nice honeymoon. Definitely recommended for couples. For golfers, this resort has a nice area to play. I didn't get to play but just taking a look at the field: IT LOOKED GREAT! YOU'LL LOVE IT! If you're looking for lots of nightlife activity, there isn't much to do here. There are scheduled shows at 9pm but nothing to get really excited about (unless it's Spring Break or something like that). If you're looking to go shopping outside the resort, keep in mind that the resort is sort of in a secluded area. If you want to go shopping, you have to take a taxi somewhere else (the hotel has its own taxi service, too). If you're planning to stay in and do nothing all day and watch TV, tey have cable but many channels are b roadcast in Spanish. Also, they don't have a menu (like many other hotels around the world) where you can choose movies to rent and see in your room on the TV screen. However, if you don't mind Spanish cable, then you'll have nothing to worry about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Hotel offers surfing and ski-doo watersports at its local beach. I'm sure you'd like these. In addition, if you want to go on tours it's best if you go through the hotel's agency (located at the resort) and book through them. If you book through another agency, they might not provide transportation and if that's the case you'll have to find your own way. On the other hand, the hotel's agency offers transportation to and fro the resort. There's plenty to do in Costa Rica so you'll have many things to choose from

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Nov 2, 2010

Good for couples

Good for couples. Slow season and renovations so limited activities and dining options. Very nice golf course and facilities. Hoya 19 and the Gaby restaurant are the best. Good sushi and so so Italian. Nice, friendly staff. Clean, spacious rooms (note: King size beds are actually two queens put together). Royal service is worth the money. Overall - good place for couples looking for a quiet, low key, relaxing getaway. Families ok but not recommended for singles or those that are very active. Nothing else to see nearby really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surfside Beach, SC
Jul 29, 2010

had great time but location remote

had great time but resort is remote and no night life for single folks. Was really disappointed in the beach. I stayed at the Paradisus in Domincan Republic and the one in Costa Rica is just not as good as that one. They really promoted the beach and there were not even chairs in Costa Rica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

no nightlife

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
transportation guy
Northern New Jersey
Mar 30, 2014

Winter Vacation

I had a very good experience. Room was well cleaned and stocked, except I did have to ask once for refill on in room fridge. Room service excellent, and food was great. Also sports and water (pool, ocean) good, as was all inclusive. only downside was an early AM shuttle to connect to off propery trip was late, but I was close enough to walk. Free internet helped as well. I would rate a 4 out of 5. Night time activiies were very limited, needs a bit more. Would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Getting the royal beach with seperate pool gets you access to breakfast and lunch at an excellent Italian resturant, and also less crowded pool

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surfside Beach, SC
Jul 29, 2010

had great time but location remote

had great time but resort is remote and no night life for single folks. Was really disappointed in the beach. I stayed at the Paradisus in Domincan Republic and the one in Costa Rica is just not as good as that one. They really promoted the beach and there were not even chairs in Costa Rica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

no nightlife

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Aug 27, 2007

Relaxing and fun.

This was my first trip to costa rica and ended up being one of my best vacations ever. As for the Playa Concal--overall I would recommend it highly to couples and families with a few very minor reservations. And yes I would return to this property. I went as a single traveller and also had a good time but I was definitely in the minority. First the good Rooms are spacious, comfortable and nice. They include a mini bar included in the all inclusive price. Room service in included in the all inclusive price and room servies is open 24 hours. The pools area is gorgeous with a barwhere you can order drinks wight in the pool. Again drinks included in price. You have a choise of 4 restaurants or the buffet again included in the price. Overall a wonderful experience. The staff is eager to please and i had fun with water aerobics, pool volleyball and step class. Now for the nitpicky not so good. Check in had a line up of people and my room wasn't ready for 2 hours or so.When they say 3 pm check in, they mean it. If you book tours through the hotel, the tours are around 50 dollars more. There are alternative tour booking places near the spa of the hotel. The popular restaurants are difficult to book- they take reservations at 9 am and by 9:02 the popular restaurants are booked. And yes... the popular restaurants are better- those are Faisinella-the italian. The hotel has a sunset cruise included in the amenaties-- but the cruise seemed to be booked a week in advance. Hmmmm.Perhaps first choice was given to royal service patrons. And now for royal service patrons. They have something called royal service where you pay 50 bucks extra a night. For this you get first choice of restaurants and other amenities and sunset cruises, and your own exclusive pool and I The good news is the pool is not as nice as the regular pool I suspect us peons who pay 50 dollars less a night get blocked out from the good restaurants and sunset cruises. Playa conchal says its an exclusive resort but within the exclusive resort the royal service is apparently more exclusive than the rest. I guess elitism among the elite. Having two classes of patrons is a tad off putting. . It's certainly not enought to ruin a fabulous vacation if you don't have the royal service but it is there and seens a tad annoying and bit exlusive. Frankly you can beat the system without having royal service and still have a fabulous vacation but people seemed annoyed by it when it stopped them from getting cruise and restaurant reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Right near by is Monkey Park Dont miss it. Also a great Canopy Tour dont miss that either. Tamarina is only 15 minutes away by car.

Back to menu Return to top