$370 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
179 reviews
Awesome trip.

Hotel, grounds, stuff excellent!!! Exceeded our expectation for a n all inclusive hotel. Extremely... See full review

  • Dian N.
  • Jul 8, 2015
Top of the line all-inclusive resort!

Absolutely a wonderful resort. My husband and I went there somewhat as a second honeymoon. The food... See full review

  • Like2Run
  • Apr 6, 2015
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Highlights

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

Nearby attractions

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters 1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Deluxe Junior Suite Golf view
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.g>.
    Royal Beach Suite
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, 990 square feet / 92 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Royal Beach Villa
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, 1163 square feet / 108 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Royal Beach Club Room
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, access to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool and to the Royal Beach Club Lounge with private check-in and check out area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 474 square feet / 44 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Deluxe Junior Suite
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.

    Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Spa
    Night club
    Golf
    Game room
    Solarium
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible Rooms/Facilities

    Dining

    Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
    Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
    Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
    Faisanela
    Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
    Bamboo
    Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
    Mediterra
    Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
    Las Candelas
    Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
    Mitra
    International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Caracola
    Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
    Spirula
    Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    30 out of 179
    Amenities:
    4.3
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Comfort:
    4.5
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.9

    83% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    World Traveler 0000000013
    Business
    Seattle Washington
    Dec 3, 2013

    Like a cheap Vegas buffet

    I was expecting a lot more considering the brand, and based upon the information. I would have given it zero stars if I could as by the 3rd day, I just wanted to leave. If you have ever stayed at a nice hotel and have any level of expectation, you better give this place a wide berth. I guess I didn't pick up from the information that it was all inclusive in regards to food. All I can say is the food was really bad. The beach it is located on is really nice; however, since the beach is public property, you have to navigate a gauntlet of "buzzards" circling outside the gate of the hotel to get use it. The room was not comfortable. They don't have the real heavenly bed and it was not comfortable at all. Additionally, the air conditioning does not cool the room down. We fought with the hotel for 2 days as they "fixed" the AC in the first room, then they moved us to another room where it was as bad or worse. We must have interacted with hotel staff more almost 10 times, and we kept getting different people, we would have to restate everything that had occurred and never were satisfied. The worst of it was that they didn't even understand why we were frustrated over the issue. The only friendly staff person was "Sergio", the guy that filled the minibar daily. Everyone else seemed to be disinterested except if they were getting a tip. I guess value is in the eye of the beholder, but I would have left early if I could have got a flight and walked away from the prepayment I made for the room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Go to other hotel
    Business
    Orlando, Florida
    Aug 17, 2010

    BAD customer service and not friendly

    The wedding planner did not plan for family and guest to be close to each other. Front Desk was not friendly or helpful. The wedding planner to the bride that wedding on the beach is $$ cost on the wedding day, change the dinner memu with out notice, and serve the bride and groom food last on their wedding day. The set-up for the wedding was cheap looking for the $$ the hotel charge. The excursion the to expensive and their is nothing near by in a walking distance. Wedding and vacation is Mexico the much better the this place 100%. Spider problem in the rooms.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Sushiyummy
    Business
    Pennsylvanya
    Jul 18, 2014

    Expect more for 4 star resort, 21 people in my group agree will not come back.

    Pro: -Room clean, resort landscape is nice, employee tried to make you happy but(read cons) -Italian restaurant is very good (read Cons) Cons: -Employee need to train a lot more to be 4 start Hotel( right now they equal to 2 start hotel employee). It took 1 hour 45 min to check in 5 rooms. -Only 4 restaurant for dinner and they are small. Two Italian are good but only 1 of it have AC, Asian restaurant is OK and the worse is Latin American both food and service. -Pool and Pool Bar stop service at 7 pm

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make reservation ASAP, avoid Latin American restaurant.

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    triple twin mom
    Business
    Family suite
    Oct 12, 2013

    the Westin

    Very nice resort, however limited in food supplies and room request of cribs for my babies were not provided.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Buckeye n' Wildcat Fan
    Business
    Ohio
    Mar 28, 2011

    Fabulous Weather. Great Meals

    We just returned from Spring break at the Paradisus Playa Conchal. The weather was perfect. Every day was 90 degrees, bright clear sky and no rain (dry season). The night sky was also amazing clear - the blackest sky and brightest stars we ever saw. The meals at all 3 restaurants (Mexican, Italian and Asia) were really good. The buffet was average. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The beds were actually very comfortable. On the flip side, the rooms, bathrooms, and room furniture need to be updated. And, they need to make investment in improving the grounds (landscaping, walkways, pool area, etc.). For example, many landscape lights were broken off with live-wires exposed; Big, dirt ruts along walkways, etc. We enjoyed the huge pool, but the hot tub was out-of-order and filled with yucky green slime. They need more trash cans around the pool so that empty drinks cups don't pile up along the walls and tables. Oh, I almost forgot, the Casino is shut down (one of reasons we picked this spot was to do some gambling, and were disappointed that they didn't tell us they closed it). We selected the Paradisus over the Guanacaste Riu, but now sorry we didn't go to the Riu. We talked to some folks who were staying at the Riu and their description was superior to Paradisus. All in all, we enjoyed our time especially given the wonderful weather and good food. But, if we visit Guanacaste again, we will go to the Riu.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Don't come here if you want to spend time at the beach. The entrance to the beach is trashy; the waves are too fierce to enjoy the water; and the sand is hard to walk in.

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    chicago, il
    Mar 20, 2011

    40th wedding anniversary

    Casino which was advertised was closed. Service (despite upgrading to royal service) was poor. Waited up to 10-15 minutes for drinks at the swim up bar until we complained. Food was good. Only two beer choices...imperial or light.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Had excellent time ziplining at base of volcano. Highlight of the trip.

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Brownie810
    Business
    United States
    Jul 14, 2012

    Great family trip

    We went for eight nights in July and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the area is beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mismissy
    Business
    NY, NY
    Oct 19, 2012

    Great Staff

    Staff always courteous and seemed that they really wanted to be helpful. Food was average but better than at typical al inclusive resorts. We upgraded to royal beach lb. Really worth the money as you have a private pool area with fantastic staff.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    "Let's Explore Costa Rica" fabulous tour guides!

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Wichita KS
    Mar 26, 2011

    Almost Perfect!

    I loved the grounds and over all "feel" of this resort, it is not yet too slick. The beach by the resort is public land and it was so very nice to be able to mingle with people from the community, and they sold their goods and services much cheeper than on the poperty. The food was quite good and there were many choices. Unlike most resorts in the Carribean there was no pool service, so you had to go and order your drinks from the bar, which was no big deal. The pool area was wonderful and there were lots of activities offered if you wanted to join in. The suite concept of the rooms was wonderful, with a large balcony to enjoy. The bathrooms were a little dated but totally functional. The t.v. offered many stations in english if you wanted to come in from the heat. We say many many forms of wildlife on the property, which was very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and eager to please Over all it was a great vacation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Roanoke VA
    Jun 7, 2009

    Paradisus Playa Conchal Review

    Adventure/Vacation w/my sons: Did Zip lines, snorkeled on the corral reef, visited the national park where we saw really cool animals including monkeys and crocs, kayaked on the ocean, and met some really cool people. Also had fun lounging around the resort where there are many additionl activities to keep you busy. Beatuful location, huge resort, really nice beach w/alot of room to roam. Food was great - definately 4 star qulity. Less than perfect catagory: only one beer available, had to reserve spot at resturants early and they quickly filled up, outdoor pool closed too early 6pm, can't see the beach from the resort, the service was just ok. I had an excellent overall experience and I'd definately go back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Between the resort and the ocean is a small shopping area w/some of the coolest and inexpensive soveniers I have ever seen. Take extra cash and leave room in your suitcase to bring some stuff back.

    Back to menu Return to top