$399 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Guanacaste, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
314 reviews
The online photos and description don't do this place justice.

I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our... See full review

  • Allen in Arkansas
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great honeymoon spot

The Westin was great! We went here for our honeymoon the first week of June and loved it! Costa... See full review

  • NTLW
  • Jun 11, 2014
Local attractions include Ricon de la Vieja National Park, Santa Rosa National Park, Las Baulas Nacional Marine Park, Guanacaste National Park, Bahia Junquillal National Wildlife Refuge.

Guest rooms are equipped with a spacious and private terrace or balcony, marble floors, deluxe bathrooms, a separate living area with comfortable seating, plasma TVs, air conditioning, cable TV, IPod docking station, daily stocked minibar and 24-hour room service. Adult guests can upgrade themselves to the exclusive Royal Beach Club featuring the discreet assistance of personal concierges, along with a tremendous variety of preferential services, access and reservations Additional facilities include ballroom, billiards, children facilities, lobby, reception, tennis courts and golf and spa service .

The following amenities are available at cost:
- Airport transfer.
- Baby sitting service.
- Dry cleaning.
- Gift shop.
- Golf course.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

great all-inclusive resort

royal service experience was worth it and would definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Sep 11, 2010

Wonderful week in paradise

We had a wonderful time at the Paradisus. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. The food was good, although the Italian and Asian restaurants were the best. We recommend also traveling to Angelina's and the Golden Shrimp - there is car service through the hotel. We booked all our tours through Alex on the beach. They were great, although it might have been fun with a group. The rain didn't bother us at all, just a shower or two in the afternoon. It was a trip to remember, thanks to the Paradisus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howler monkey
philadelphia, pa
Jul 11, 2010

Cool Costa Rica

great place! clean, great food and service, and very nice staff. wouldn't hesitate going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Nov 2, 2010

Good for couples

Good for couples. Slow season and renovations so limited activities and dining options. Very nice golf course and facilities. Hoya 19 and the Gaby restaurant are the best. Good sushi and so so Italian. Nice, friendly staff. Clean, spacious rooms (note: King size beds are actually two queens put together). Royal service is worth the money. Overall - good place for couples looking for a quiet, low key, relaxing getaway. Families ok but not recommended for singles or those that are very active. Nothing else to see nearby really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1234none
LA
Apr 5, 2012

Great

Great time, good food and helpful staff. I would recommend the staff to better explain the package in more details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom of 3 year old son
Orange County, Ca
Jul 9, 2009

Great trip

Great calm beach, soft waves. Nice pool. Great food. Great service. We go to at least 2 vacations every year and this is one of the best hotels so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Oct 13, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal

We stayed at the Paradisus Playa Conchal from October 3 through October 9, 2009. This was during the rainy season which we knew and so afternoon/evening showers were expected. Despite the rain, the weather is still warm and activities are not really impaired. The resort was nearly vacant and I'm sure the time of year contributed to this. I would not be afraid to visit during the rainy season for these reasons. We upgraded to Royal Service and the Bali Romance Suite. Since the resort was rather uninhabited and other restaurants were under construction, the Royal Service restaurant was open to all guests. We did enjoy exclusive use of the Royal Service pool and lounge, though this was really unimportant given the few other guests on property. The upgrade to the Bali Suite did provide us with a very convenient room location near the ocean and major activities. Unfortunately, these rooms are not near the Royal Service amenities. Having a butler that knew your name and would check in with personal notes was nice. We had rose pedals and candles provided to us, together with flower arrangements and other customized services. My husband and I still can't agree on whether we would spend the additional money for the Bali Suite or Royal Service in the future. Based upon the time of year we went, it probably wasn't worth it. If it was high-season and there were children around, it probably would be worthwhile. We did not receive the hat/t-shirts/chocolates that are included with the room, despite having asked our butler twice. Butlers were hit or miss, with one being first-class and the other forgetting to bring the umbrella we requested twice. The food was high quality and unlike most all inclusives. Not all restaurants were open every night but we did manage to eat at all places while we were there. Dinner reservations were never an issue and there is no line to stand in like many all inclusives. The food was quite good, though portions small as is typical of finer dining. The evening entertainment was also much more enjoyable than a typical all inclusive. This group was very talented and provided much more than most in terms of a stage show. The in-room minibar consisted of very few airplane size bottles, providing just a few drinks per day. If you want variety or a good drink, you will have to go to one of several bars. The spa is small but the massage was first-class. I enjoyed the 80 minute aromatherapy massage and can say it was the best I ever had. We took a day trip into Nicaragua with Swiss Travel that has an office on premise. I would recommend the trip to others. It makes for a long day (5:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m.) but is worthwhile. The geography, history, culture, and exposure to how others live is worth the diversion from relaxing by the pool. We learned a lot about the two different countries and experienced the Masaya volcano as well. Even crossing the border and experiencing the public restroom at immigration in Nicaragua was something we won't soon forget. The casino at the resort is a nice outlet for something to do in the evening but is not for the hard-core gambler. We are gamblers and would typically spend a lot of time in the casino. Unfortunately, the casino here leaves much to be desired for the slot player, offering only quarter machines and few of them. There are no games with bonus rounds, though quarter keno is available in case my mom is reading this:) Many times, we were the only ones in the casino. At night, a few card games would get going but this just wasn't a spot many people took in. There is no bar in the casino, though you may bring drinks in from other bars. The night life is also better than most resorts, offering a dance club and a few other bars. Room service is available 24 hours a day which makes the evenings also more enjoyable, knowing you can eat dinner at any time of the day. Breakfast options are much more limited, with one restaurant available...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel provides a free sunset cruise. We got some great shots of the sunset and had an enjoyable evening on the water. You should absolutely check this out! Hint: Drinks are not served on the cruise but you are encouraged to bring cups/drinks from your in-room minibar on the shuttle and on board the boat.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy & Ray
Austin, TX
Dec 30, 2010

6 days of total relaxation

Royal Service was included in our vacation package. This allowed us access to the Bali beds (which must be reserved) next to the adults-only pool. My husband and I spent most days relaxing there, leaving only to walk to the Gabi Club for lunch (usually a glass of champagne and one of their excellent ceviches). We managed not to eat at the buffet, Mitra, during our stay. Be sure to make reservations at the various a la carte restaurants when you arrive. The concierge will give you a reservation receipt that you need to present to the hostess. Otherwise, there can be a wait while she confirms it. We did take one day trip to Rincon de la Vieja for a nature hike (7am - 3pm). We opted not to go to Arenal or Monteverde due to the length of the trip - 4 hours one way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased round-trip shuttle service. It took about an hour to get to the resort. For our 7:50 am flight back home, we were scheduled for a 4 am pick-up at the resort. Although Liberia is an international airport, 5:30 am would have given us plenty of time before our flight.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srs
Little Rock, AR
Jun 8, 2010

Paradisus Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

The royal service is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make dinner reservations early and for the whole week.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Koskers
Midland, MI
Oct 15, 2009

BEAUTIFUL!

The hotel was amazing. We visited from September 28 - October 4th and we were basically the only people there. We decided to go with the royal service - which I would strongly suggest to couples traveling for their honeymoon or a get-away. We took a taxi from the airport and were dropped off at the main check in. Once we got out of the taxi we got into a cart that took us to the royal service check in where they had drinks waiting for us. We relaxed and got to know the grounds a bit (everything is spread out). We booked two travel excursions. One included zip lines, rock climbing, free fall, horse back ride, white water tubing, mud bath, and hot springs - all in one day! The other excursion was to the Arenal Volcano. We booked through High Tide with Cris in the royal service lounge and although the excursions were both a little pricey, it was well worth the money. The only bad things that we found were the transportation carts were not very responsive when we asked to be picked up and the restaurants were not very big. As I said before, we were basically the only people at the resort - so I would hate to see the transportation and restaurants when the resort is full. All in all, it was a picture perfect vacation and I think it was well worth the price we paid for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Arenal Volcano is a 4 hour car ride away, but SO worth it. The views are breath-taking!

Back to menu Return to top