$472 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
192 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Eco-friendly resort tucked in lush forest
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
3 Reasons To Stay

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Things To Do

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning,Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite Golf view
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, 990 square feet / 92 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Villa
1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, 1163 square feet / 108 square meters, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning,Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, access to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool and to the Royal Beach Club Lounge with private check-in and check out area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 474 square feet / 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($15.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wake Forest
Dec 2, 2008

Worth a visit

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and the Paradisus Playal Conchal and overall we were very happy with our visit. The following is our list of the hotel's highs and lows: Highs 1. Room - very comfortable bed, cleaners did an outstanding job of keeping the room clean, good location between the pool and lobby. 2. Restaurants - our favourites were the Italian and the Asian, and in particular the banana dessert at the Asian. 3. Staff - very friendly and courteous, majority spoke very good English. 4. Excursions - the hotel provides some good excursions. We went to the Arenal volcano and a visit to some hot springs. Although we did not see the top of the volcano, we thought this trip was worth the money. Lows 1. Pool - this was the biggest disappointment for us. The hotel has 3 pools, one of which can be used by all hotel guests. This pool looks great, but a) gets crowded, b) has too many trees so you are continually moving to stay in (or out of) the sun and c) is difficult to find a sun lounger that is facing the pool (the hotel put in an elaborate system of small bushes in order to cram in as many sun loungers as possible). The other two pools are much nicer (one of which is adults only), but you have to upgrade to Royal Service in order to use them. In hindsight, if you are pool people (like we are), it is probably worth the upgrade for this feature alone. 2. Restaurants - there are basically 7 restaurants that you can dine at in the evenings, although 1 of these is for royal service only. Each day you have to reserve a table at the restaurant of your choice (except the buffet, which is walk in). The phone lines opened at 8am, and we called everyday before 8:30am, but it was virtually impossible to reserve a table between 7pm and 8:30pm. This appeared to be another perk of the royal service that they could reserve their choice of restaurant in advance of the rest of us. 3. Golf course - the hotel has a beautiful golf course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel has several attractions in the evening: 1. Outside bar by the pond (live music some nights). 2. Shows - different show each night of the week (not for us, but did have a bar...) 3. Disco 4. Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2009

Costa Rica - Paradisus

The food was pretty good at the buffet and really good at the specialty restaurants. We did not have any issues getting reservations. The pool was fantastic! Plenty of chairs. The drinks were ok, typical of an all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful taking a cab. We specified a bar and the driver pulled up to another place and tried to make us go there. We had him take us back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill RN
Business
Littleton, CO
Sep 21, 2010

Amazing Honeymoon!

We went to Paridius for our honeymoon after our best friends had been the year before. We were blown away by the "Royal Service", which is a must when booking. The staff was outstanding always stopping to make sure everything was ok, and would call you by your name! The food was outstanding,even though when we were there they were in the process of re-doing a couple of the restuarants which really only gave us 3 options for dinner...but, it was ok since the food was so great! Room service also had great food and with 24hour service, you never went hungry! We booked our ATV/zipline tour with the guys on the beach which was amazing (and about $100 cheapier then the hotel offered!) We also booked a catamaran tour, but we did this thru the hotel. The snorkling was fun and the boat staff were great! The only downside was the rain!! Bring an umbrella or use the hotels and you will be fine. Overall, we had an amazing time and a honeymoon that we will never forget! Pura Vida!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure that you get your reservations early, or you will be eating at 10pm everynight!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 10, 2007

most relaxing place

At Paradisus Playa Conchal the rooms are beautiful, beds are very confortable. It was our honeymoon and our room housekepper made sure our room was always clean for us to enjoy, she also left on our bed and in the bathroom sink a really cute heart display once she found out our reason for the visit. We defienitly recommmend the couples massage. Every resturante made it convienent by making reservation for every visit not to mention the food was delicious. The pool was beautiful with a swim up bar, volleyball games, basketcourt, childrens swim area, daily games and activites while we were in the pool. The music entertainment was excellent. There lots of free activities the hotel offers, like horse back riding, snorkling, sunset boat ride ( we highly recommmend boat ride for couples or all family members to enjoy, beautiful experiece). We defintely will return to costa rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend doing your souvinour shopping in a city not to far from hotel called tamarindio, excellent discounts, delicious resturants, and night clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 31, 2008

Everything included

When they say everything, they mean it. All food , all drinks including top shelf alcohol without limit. Even some small excursions are included. There was a problem checking in and we had to move from one room to another the second day.The property is enormous and isolated from the countryside and ordinary people. Modified little trucks patrol the property to take residents about. Our room was small, but well planned. I would have liked a larger shower area. A bidet is in all bathrooms. A show is provided every night ,but it's the same show with different costumes. Outside the property , things get expensive. Transportation from the airport to the hotel is $80 one way for two people. So, it costs $160 just to get there and back to the airport.With the departure tax of $30 per person. You have an overhead of $220 when you start. The staff at the hotel and the people we met outside were uniformly friendly. There is nothing within walking distance away from the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Tamarindo is a nearby town, I estimate 5-7 miles. It's small and seedy with some Bars and T-shirt joints. The nearest Banks are also there. Adventurous youths stay there much cheaper, but if you are over 30, it's rough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Benbrook, TX
Aug 5, 2008

Nice Place, but . . .

The Paradisus Playa Conchal was a nice hotel. The food was suprisingly better than expected. We ate at every restaurant and they all had something good. Some of the wait staff could use a lesson in hospitality, but overall it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura Kelly
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Aug 16, 2014

Awesome resort and friendly staff!

Loved the natural settings of the resort, the dinner restaurants were great, adults only pool was even better with a bar. Only thing they could have done better was more breakfast and lunch options... dinner reservations need to be made days in advance or you won't get one. The nightly entertainment was limited also. If you are looking for a large beach you won't find it here, but it really is pretty and blue on a sunny day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jahobi
Business
Phoenix. Az
Oct 15, 2014

Plays conchal

Great experience! Definitely recommend! Make sure you contact the resort before you land to schedule a shuttle from the airport to the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 27, 2007

Relaxing and fun.

This was my first trip to costa rica and ended up being one of my best vacations ever. As for the Playa Concal--overall I would recommend it highly to couples and families with a few very minor reservations. And yes I would return to this property. I went as a single traveller and also had a good time but I was definitely in the minority. First the good Rooms are spacious, comfortable and nice. They include a mini bar included in the all inclusive price. Room service in included in the all inclusive price and room servies is open 24 hours. The pools area is gorgeous with a barwhere you can order drinks wight in the pool. Again drinks included in price. You have a choise of 4 restaurants or the buffet again included in the price. Overall a wonderful experience. The staff is eager to please and i had fun with water aerobics, pool volleyball and step class. Now for the nitpicky not so good. Check in had a line up of people and my room wasn't ready for 2 hours or so.When they say 3 pm check in, they mean it. If you book tours through the hotel, the tours are around 50 dollars more. There are alternative tour booking places near the spa of the hotel. The popular restaurants are difficult to book- they take reservations at 9 am and by 9:02 the popular restaurants are booked. And yes... the popular restaurants are better- those are Faisinella-the italian. The hotel has a sunset cruise included in the amenaties-- but the cruise seemed to be booked a week in advance. Hmmmm.Perhaps first choice was given to royal service patrons. And now for royal service patrons. They have something called royal service where you pay 50 bucks extra a night. For this you get first choice of restaurants and other amenities and sunset cruises, and your own exclusive pool and I The good news is the pool is not as nice as the regular pool I suspect us peons who pay 50 dollars less a night get blocked out from the good restaurants and sunset cruises. Playa conchal says its an exclusive resort but within the exclusive resort the royal service is apparently more exclusive than the rest. I guess elitism among the elite. Having two classes of patrons is a tad off putting. . It's certainly not enought to ruin a fabulous vacation if you don't have the royal service but it is there and seens a tad annoying and bit exlusive. Frankly you can beat the system without having royal service and still have a fabulous vacation but people seemed annoyed by it when it stopped them from getting cruise and restaurant reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Right near by is Monkey Park Dont miss it. Also a great Canopy Tour dont miss that either. Tamarina is only 15 minutes away by car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2007

honeymoon heaven

great accomadations for a honeymooning couple. Gives you the option of just having a relaxing stay or to be more advetuous.everything you need is available through the hotel,or located on the grounds.staff was very attentive and accomadating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top