$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Great Tropical Forest resort

This resort was great. We upgraded to the Royal Service which was well worth the extra money. The staff was super accomidating doing as much as possible to make our stay special. I would classify this resort as a tropical Forest resort vs. a beach resort. But either way it was amazing. The only thing not super was the food. Although it was good it wasnt Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book all your reservations for the week the day that you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 13, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal

We stayed at the Paradisus Playa Conchal from October 3 through October 9, 2009. This was during the rainy season which we knew and so afternoon/evening showers were expected. Despite the rain, the weather is still warm and activities are not really impaired. The resort was nearly vacant and I'm sure the time of year contributed to this. I would not be afraid to visit during the rainy season for these reasons. We upgraded to Royal Service and the Bali Romance Suite. Since the resort was rather uninhabited and other restaurants were under construction, the Royal Service restaurant was open to all guests. We did enjoy exclusive use of the Royal Service pool and lounge, though this was really unimportant given the few other guests on property. The upgrade to the Bali Suite did provide us with a very convenient room location near the ocean and major activities. Unfortunately, these rooms are not near the Royal Service amenities. Having a butler that knew your name and would check in with personal notes was nice. We had rose pedals and candles provided to us, together with flower arrangements and other customized services. My husband and I still can't agree on whether we would spend the additional money for the Bali Suite or Royal Service in the future. Based upon the time of year we went, it probably wasn't worth it. If it was high-season and there were children around, it probably would be worthwhile. We did not receive the hat/t-shirts/chocolates that are included with the room, despite having asked our butler twice. Butlers were hit or miss, with one being first-class and the other forgetting to bring the umbrella we requested twice. The food was high quality and unlike most all inclusives. Not all restaurants were open every night but we did manage to eat at all places while we were there. Dinner reservations were never an issue and there is no line to stand in like many all inclusives. The food was quite good, though portions small as is typical of finer dining. The evening entertainment was also much more enjoyable than a typical all inclusive. This group was very talented and provided much more than most in terms of a stage show. The in-room minibar consisted of very few airplane size bottles, providing just a few drinks per day. If you want variety or a good drink, you will have to go to one of several bars. The spa is small but the massage was first-class. I enjoyed the 80 minute aromatherapy massage and can say it was the best I ever had. We took a day trip into Nicaragua with Swiss Travel that has an office on premise. I would recommend the trip to others. It makes for a long day (5:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m.) but is worthwhile. The geography, history, culture, and exposure to how others live is worth the diversion from relaxing by the pool. We learned a lot about the two different countries and experienced the Masaya volcano as well. Even crossing the border and experiencing the public restroom at immigration in Nicaragua was something we won't soon forget. The casino at the resort is a nice outlet for something to do in the evening but is not for the hard-core gambler. We are gamblers and would typically spend a lot of time in the casino. Unfortunately, the casino here leaves much to be desired for the slot player, offering only quarter machines and few of them. There are no games with bonus rounds, though quarter keno is available in case my mom is reading this:) Many times, we were the only ones in the casino. At night, a few card games would get going but this just wasn't a spot many people took in. There is no bar in the casino, though you may bring drinks in from other bars. The night life is also better than most resorts, offering a dance club and a few other bars. Room service is available 24 hours a day which makes the evenings also more enjoyable, knowing you can eat dinner at any time of the day. Breakfast options are much more limited, with one restaurant available...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel provides a free sunset cruise. We got some great shots of the sunset and had an enjoyable evening on the water. You should absolutely check this out! Hint: Drinks are not served on the cruise but you are encouraged to bring cups/drinks from your in-room minibar on the shuttle and on board the boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cms531
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 7, 2010

Nice resort, Costa Rica is wonderful!

We enjoyed our time here - just wish there was more of beach to the actual resort. Overall great experience though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit Volcano Miravells - amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"The Entertainment Director"
Business
Arizona
Jul 29, 2009

Terrific time by all

Wonderful lobby staff and competent wait staff in the Royal Service. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canopy/Zip line/ATV/Surfing with Hightide Co. and Eli(da man)is a must have experience. Would go back for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howler monkey
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jul 11, 2010

Cool Costa Rica

great place! clean, great food and service, and very nice staff. wouldn't hesitate going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJScott
Business
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2010

Great Resort, Friendly People

Amazing time - everyone there focuses on making sure you, the guest, have a great experience. This was clearly not America. No attitude. Nothing too much hassle. They just aim to please. Rooms were great - spacious and clean. Activities kept you busy if you wanted to keep busy. Otherwise, the pool and beach are there for your relaxation. Food and drink was great. Not a complaint. The Asian Fusion, Italian, and Mexican restaurants were great. Mitra, the buffet, was good as well with a lot of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Excusrions can be booked through the hotel or through vendors on the beach. Difference between resort sponsored excusrions and beach vendor excursions - the beach vendor excursions are about the same price but PRIVATE for your party of 2-12+. The resport sponsored excusrions are for groups of 20, 30 or more. Private is better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wake Forest
Dec 2, 2008

Worth a visit

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and the Paradisus Playal Conchal and overall we were very happy with our visit. The following is our list of the hotel's highs and lows: Highs 1. Room - very comfortable bed, cleaners did an outstanding job of keeping the room clean, good location between the pool and lobby. 2. Restaurants - our favourites were the Italian and the Asian, and in particular the banana dessert at the Asian. 3. Staff - very friendly and courteous, majority spoke very good English. 4. Excursions - the hotel provides some good excursions. We went to the Arenal volcano and a visit to some hot springs. Although we did not see the top of the volcano, we thought this trip was worth the money. Lows 1. Pool - this was the biggest disappointment for us. The hotel has 3 pools, one of which can be used by all hotel guests. This pool looks great, but a) gets crowded, b) has too many trees so you are continually moving to stay in (or out of) the sun and c) is difficult to find a sun lounger that is facing the pool (the hotel put in an elaborate system of small bushes in order to cram in as many sun loungers as possible). The other two pools are much nicer (one of which is adults only), but you have to upgrade to Royal Service in order to use them. In hindsight, if you are pool people (like we are), it is probably worth the upgrade for this feature alone. 2. Restaurants - there are basically 7 restaurants that you can dine at in the evenings, although 1 of these is for royal service only. Each day you have to reserve a table at the restaurant of your choice (except the buffet, which is walk in). The phone lines opened at 8am, and we called everyday before 8:30am, but it was virtually impossible to reserve a table between 7pm and 8:30pm. This appeared to be another perk of the royal service that they could reserve their choice of restaurant in advance of the rest of us. 3. Golf course - the hotel has a beautiful golf course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel has several attractions in the evening: 1. Outside bar by the pond (live music some nights). 2. Shows - different show each night of the week (not for us, but did have a bar...) 3. Disco 4. Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2009

Costa Rica - Paradisus

The food was pretty good at the buffet and really good at the specialty restaurants. We did not have any issues getting reservations. The pool was fantastic! Plenty of chairs. The drinks were ok, typical of an all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful taking a cab. We specified a bar and the driver pulled up to another place and tried to make us go there. We had him take us back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill RN
Business
Littleton, CO
Sep 21, 2010

Amazing Honeymoon!

We went to Paridius for our honeymoon after our best friends had been the year before. We were blown away by the "Royal Service", which is a must when booking. The staff was outstanding always stopping to make sure everything was ok, and would call you by your name! The food was outstanding,even though when we were there they were in the process of re-doing a couple of the restuarants which really only gave us 3 options for dinner...but, it was ok since the food was so great! Room service also had great food and with 24hour service, you never went hungry! We booked our ATV/zipline tour with the guys on the beach which was amazing (and about $100 cheapier then the hotel offered!) We also booked a catamaran tour, but we did this thru the hotel. The snorkling was fun and the boat staff were great! The only downside was the rain!! Bring an umbrella or use the hotels and you will be fine. Overall, we had an amazing time and a honeymoon that we will never forget! Pura Vida!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure that you get your reservations early, or you will be eating at 10pm everynight!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 10, 2007

most relaxing place

At Paradisus Playa Conchal the rooms are beautiful, beds are very confortable. It was our honeymoon and our room housekepper made sure our room was always clean for us to enjoy, she also left on our bed and in the bathroom sink a really cute heart display once she found out our reason for the visit. We defienitly recommmend the couples massage. Every resturante made it convienent by making reservation for every visit not to mention the food was delicious. The pool was beautiful with a swim up bar, volleyball games, basketcourt, childrens swim area, daily games and activites while we were in the pool. The music entertainment was excellent. There lots of free activities the hotel offers, like horse back riding, snorkling, sunset boat ride ( we highly recommmend boat ride for couples or all family members to enjoy, beautiful experiece). We defintely will return to costa rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend doing your souvinour shopping in a city not to far from hotel called tamarindio, excellent discounts, delicious resturants, and night clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top