$261 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
191 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Eco-friendly resort tucked in lush forest
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
3 Reasons To Stay

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Things To Do

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 13, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal

We stayed at the Paradisus Playa Conchal from October 3 through October 9, 2009. This was during the rainy season which we knew and so afternoon/evening showers were expected. Despite the rain, the weather is still warm and activities are not really impaired. The resort was nearly vacant and I'm sure the time of year contributed to this. I would not be afraid to visit during the rainy season for these reasons. We upgraded to Royal Service and the Bali Romance Suite. Since the resort was rather uninhabited and other restaurants were under construction, the Royal Service restaurant was open to all guests. We did enjoy exclusive use of the Royal Service pool and lounge, though this was really unimportant given the few other guests on property. The upgrade to the Bali Suite did provide us with a very convenient room location near the ocean and major activities. Unfortunately, these rooms are not near the Royal Service amenities. Having a butler that knew your name and would check in with personal notes was nice. We had rose pedals and candles provided to us, together with flower arrangements and other customized services. My husband and I still can't agree on whether we would spend the additional money for the Bali Suite or Royal Service in the future. Based upon the time of year we went, it probably wasn't worth it. If it was high-season and there were children around, it probably would be worthwhile. We did not receive the hat/t-shirts/chocolates that are included with the room, despite having asked our butler twice. Butlers were hit or miss, with one being first-class and the other forgetting to bring the umbrella we requested twice. The food was high quality and unlike most all inclusives. Not all restaurants were open every night but we did manage to eat at all places while we were there. Dinner reservations were never an issue and there is no line to stand in like many all inclusives. The food was quite good, though portions small as is typical of finer dining. The evening entertainment was also much more enjoyable than a typical all inclusive. This group was very talented and provided much more than most in terms of a stage show. The in-room minibar consisted of very few airplane size bottles, providing just a few drinks per day. If you want variety or a good drink, you will have to go to one of several bars. The spa is small but the massage was first-class. I enjoyed the 80 minute aromatherapy massage and can say it was the best I ever had. We took a day trip into Nicaragua with Swiss Travel that has an office on premise. I would recommend the trip to others. It makes for a long day (5:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m.) but is worthwhile. The geography, history, culture, and exposure to how others live is worth the diversion from relaxing by the pool. We learned a lot about the two different countries and experienced the Masaya volcano as well. Even crossing the border and experiencing the public restroom at immigration in Nicaragua was something we won't soon forget. The casino at the resort is a nice outlet for something to do in the evening but is not for the hard-core gambler. We are gamblers and would typically spend a lot of time in the casino. Unfortunately, the casino here leaves much to be desired for the slot player, offering only quarter machines and few of them. There are no games with bonus rounds, though quarter keno is available in case my mom is reading this:) Many times, we were the only ones in the casino. At night, a few card games would get going but this just wasn't a spot many people took in. There is no bar in the casino, though you may bring drinks in from other bars. The night life is also better than most resorts, offering a dance club and a few other bars. Room service is available 24 hours a day which makes the evenings also more enjoyable, knowing you can eat dinner at any time of the day. Breakfast options are much more limited, with one restaurant available...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel provides a free sunset cruise. We got some great shots of the sunset and had an enjoyable evening on the water. You should absolutely check this out! Hint: Drinks are not served on the cruise but you are encouraged to bring cups/drinks from your in-room minibar on the shuttle and on board the boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cms531
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 7, 2010

Nice resort, Costa Rica is wonderful!

We enjoyed our time here - just wish there was more of beach to the actual resort. Overall great experience though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit Volcano Miravells - amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"The Entertainment Director"
Business
Arizona
Jul 29, 2009

Terrific time by all

Wonderful lobby staff and competent wait staff in the Royal Service. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canopy/Zip line/ATV/Surfing with Hightide Co. and Eli(da man)is a must have experience. Would go back for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howler monkey
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jul 11, 2010

Cool Costa Rica

great place! clean, great food and service, and very nice staff. wouldn't hesitate going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJScott
Business
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2010

Great Resort, Friendly People

Amazing time - everyone there focuses on making sure you, the guest, have a great experience. This was clearly not America. No attitude. Nothing too much hassle. They just aim to please. Rooms were great - spacious and clean. Activities kept you busy if you wanted to keep busy. Otherwise, the pool and beach are there for your relaxation. Food and drink was great. Not a complaint. The Asian Fusion, Italian, and Mexican restaurants were great. Mitra, the buffet, was good as well with a lot of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Excusrions can be booked through the hotel or through vendors on the beach. Difference between resort sponsored excusrions and beach vendor excursions - the beach vendor excursions are about the same price but PRIVATE for your party of 2-12+. The resport sponsored excusrions are for groups of 20, 30 or more. Private is better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wake Forest
Dec 2, 2008

Worth a visit

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and the Paradisus Playal Conchal and overall we were very happy with our visit. The following is our list of the hotel's highs and lows: Highs 1. Room - very comfortable bed, cleaners did an outstanding job of keeping the room clean, good location between the pool and lobby. 2. Restaurants - our favourites were the Italian and the Asian, and in particular the banana dessert at the Asian. 3. Staff - very friendly and courteous, majority spoke very good English. 4. Excursions - the hotel provides some good excursions. We went to the Arenal volcano and a visit to some hot springs. Although we did not see the top of the volcano, we thought this trip was worth the money. Lows 1. Pool - this was the biggest disappointment for us. The hotel has 3 pools, one of which can be used by all hotel guests. This pool looks great, but a) gets crowded, b) has too many trees so you are continually moving to stay in (or out of) the sun and c) is difficult to find a sun lounger that is facing the pool (the hotel put in an elaborate system of small bushes in order to cram in as many sun loungers as possible). The other two pools are much nicer (one of which is adults only), but you have to upgrade to Royal Service in order to use them. In hindsight, if you are pool people (like we are), it is probably worth the upgrade for this feature alone. 2. Restaurants - there are basically 7 restaurants that you can dine at in the evenings, although 1 of these is for royal service only. Each day you have to reserve a table at the restaurant of your choice (except the buffet, which is walk in). The phone lines opened at 8am, and we called everyday before 8:30am, but it was virtually impossible to reserve a table between 7pm and 8:30pm. This appeared to be another perk of the royal service that they could reserve their choice of restaurant in advance of the rest of us. 3. Golf course - the hotel has a beautiful golf course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel has several attractions in the evening: 1. Outside bar by the pond (live music some nights). 2. Shows - different show each night of the week (not for us, but did have a bar...) 3. Disco 4. Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2009

Costa Rica - Paradisus

The food was pretty good at the buffet and really good at the specialty restaurants. We did not have any issues getting reservations. The pool was fantastic! Plenty of chairs. The drinks were ok, typical of an all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful taking a cab. We specified a bar and the driver pulled up to another place and tried to make us go there. We had him take us back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill RN
Business
Littleton, CO
Sep 21, 2010

Amazing Honeymoon!

We went to Paridius for our honeymoon after our best friends had been the year before. We were blown away by the "Royal Service", which is a must when booking. The staff was outstanding always stopping to make sure everything was ok, and would call you by your name! The food was outstanding,even though when we were there they were in the process of re-doing a couple of the restuarants which really only gave us 3 options for dinner...but, it was ok since the food was so great! Room service also had great food and with 24hour service, you never went hungry! We booked our ATV/zipline tour with the guys on the beach which was amazing (and about $100 cheapier then the hotel offered!) We also booked a catamaran tour, but we did this thru the hotel. The snorkling was fun and the boat staff were great! The only downside was the rain!! Bring an umbrella or use the hotels and you will be fine. Overall, we had an amazing time and a honeymoon that we will never forget! Pura Vida!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure that you get your reservations early, or you will be eating at 10pm everynight!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 10, 2007

most relaxing place

At Paradisus Playa Conchal the rooms are beautiful, beds are very confortable. It was our honeymoon and our room housekepper made sure our room was always clean for us to enjoy, she also left on our bed and in the bathroom sink a really cute heart display once she found out our reason for the visit. We defienitly recommmend the couples massage. Every resturante made it convienent by making reservation for every visit not to mention the food was delicious. The pool was beautiful with a swim up bar, volleyball games, basketcourt, childrens swim area, daily games and activites while we were in the pool. The music entertainment was excellent. There lots of free activities the hotel offers, like horse back riding, snorkling, sunset boat ride ( we highly recommmend boat ride for couples or all family members to enjoy, beautiful experiece). We defintely will return to costa rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend doing your souvinour shopping in a city not to far from hotel called tamarindio, excellent discounts, delicious resturants, and night clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 31, 2008

Everything included

When they say everything, they mean it. All food , all drinks including top shelf alcohol without limit. Even some small excursions are included. There was a problem checking in and we had to move from one room to another the second day.The property is enormous and isolated from the countryside and ordinary people. Modified little trucks patrol the property to take residents about. Our room was small, but well planned. I would have liked a larger shower area. A bidet is in all bathrooms. A show is provided every night ,but it's the same show with different costumes. Outside the property , things get expensive. Transportation from the airport to the hotel is $80 one way for two people. So, it costs $160 just to get there and back to the airport.With the departure tax of $30 per person. You have an overhead of $220 when you start. The staff at the hotel and the people we met outside were uniformly friendly. There is nothing within walking distance away from the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Tamarindo is a nearby town, I estimate 5-7 miles. It's small and seedy with some Bars and T-shirt joints. The nearest Banks are also there. Adventurous youths stay there much cheaper, but if you are over 30, it's rough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top