$399 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Guanacaste, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
314 reviews
The online photos and description don't do this place justice.

I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our... See full review

  • Allen in Arkansas
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great honeymoon spot

The Westin was great! We went here for our honeymoon the first week of June and loved it! Costa... See full review

  • NTLW
  • Jun 11, 2014
Local attractions include Ricon de la Vieja National Park, Santa Rosa National Park, Las Baulas Nacional Marine Park, Guanacaste National Park, Bahia Junquillal National Wildlife Refuge.

Guest rooms are equipped with a spacious and private terrace or balcony, marble floors, deluxe bathrooms, a separate living area with comfortable seating, plasma TVs, air conditioning, cable TV, IPod docking station, daily stocked minibar and 24-hour room service. Adult guests can upgrade themselves to the exclusive Royal Beach Club featuring the discreet assistance of personal concierges, along with a tremendous variety of preferential services, access and reservations Additional facilities include ballroom, billiards, children facilities, lobby, reception, tennis courts and golf and spa service .

The following amenities are available at cost:
- Airport transfer.
- Baby sitting service.
- Dry cleaning.
- Gift shop.
- Golf course.

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wake Forest
Dec 2, 2008

Worth a visit

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and the Paradisus Playal Conchal and overall we were very happy with our visit. The following is our list of the hotel's highs and lows: Highs 1. Room - very comfortable bed, cleaners did an outstanding job of keeping the room clean, good location between the pool and lobby. 2. Restaurants - our favourites were the Italian and the Asian, and in particular the banana dessert at the Asian. 3. Staff - very friendly and courteous, majority spoke very good English. 4. Excursions - the hotel provides some good excursions. We went to the Arenal volcano and a visit to some hot springs. Although we did not see the top of the volcano, we thought this trip was worth the money. Lows 1. Pool - this was the biggest disappointment for us. The hotel has 3 pools, one of which can be used by all hotel guests. This pool looks great, but a) gets crowded, b) has too many trees so you are continually moving to stay in (or out of) the sun and c) is difficult to find a sun lounger that is facing the pool (the hotel put in an elaborate system of small bushes in order to cram in as many sun loungers as possible). The other two pools are much nicer (one of which is adults only), but you have to upgrade to Royal Service in order to use them. In hindsight, if you are pool people (like we are), it is probably worth the upgrade for this feature alone. 2. Restaurants - there are basically 7 restaurants that you can dine at in the evenings, although 1 of these is for royal service only. Each day you have to reserve a table at the restaurant of your choice (except the buffet, which is walk in). The phone lines opened at 8am, and we called everyday before 8:30am, but it was virtually impossible to reserve a table between 7pm and 8:30pm. This appeared to be another perk of the royal service that they could reserve their choice of restaurant in advance of the rest of us. 3. Golf course - the hotel has a beautiful golf course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel has several attractions in the evening: 1. Outside bar by the pond (live music some nights). 2. Shows - different show each night of the week (not for us, but did have a bar...) 3. Disco 4. Casino

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

great all-inclusive resort

royal service experience was worth it and would definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tommy hawk
chicago
Jun 18, 2013

honeymoon

We had a awesome time at this resort. Plenty of things to do on site or off. They treated us like royalty here especially our butler Eric. The golf course was great just wish they gave me a sleeve of balls, for all the money they charged. Only negative was we needed to see a dr immediately and when we called for a ride it took 20 minutes for someone to bring us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howler monkey
philadelphia, pa
Jul 11, 2010

Cool Costa Rica

great place! clean, great food and service, and very nice staff. wouldn't hesitate going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new jersey
Aug 1, 2009

relaxing, fun and carefree vacation!

royal service is worth it if u are looking for a relaxing, quiet time with your significant other! the private pool for the royal service is wonderful and ideal for couples- [...] at swim up bar took such good care of us! he was great! the resort is pretty big but everything is within a short walk, during the day if its too hot you can always jump on the carts that are being driven around by the friendly staff for the patrons that dont want to walk! they are everywhere! the tours were great, the staff was extremely helpful and attentive, our suite was spotless everyday! at night there was live entertainment, bars or the discoteque and the little casino.. the food was good no complaints other than gabby, thought it was just ok--best breakfast was at the mitra... the free sunset cruise offered by the hotel was great! wear shorts bc u do have to get into the water to climb into the boat! there are phone cards on the resort but they only have 20$ denominations... we didn't have to change are U.S $, the resort took dollars and gave dollars back in change! that was a plus! airport is an hour away and they charge u about 80 to 90$.. all in all my boyfriend and I had a wonderful, relaxing and FUN time.. would definitely go back! as soon as u get there be sure to make reservations for dinner for the whole week, book the free sunset tours and book any tours u want or u may not get them for the specific day u want!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lawrence
Jun 27, 2008

Just not for us

Paradisus Playa Conchal was not our first all inclusive resort to stay in, so when we arrived and they immediately slapped a bracelet on us, we were disappointed. Our first room was great, then we upgraded to the royal service plan...not worth it. The room was not as nice, the room never got cleaned, the food was less than ok, the drinks would give you sugar diabetes before they gave you a buzz, the staff was GREAT and it seemed like a WONDERFUL family place, but for my husband and I for as expensive as it was....we should have gone to Spain. It is also VERY far away from EVERYTHING in Costa Rica. you have to drive half a day to see anything else but your resort, and the small towns around the resort are less than desirable the resort was by far the nicest thing to stay in in the area, but we were just looking for a better bang for our buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't waste your time going to the Happy Snapper in Brazalitos (the only town you can walk too) which is something that the locals recommend, the resort food is just as good if not better which sucks and is free.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guantacaste
Apr 21, 2011

Great price, even better service!

Our experience was fabulous. The staff and customer service was outstanding. When you check in, you get a wrist band with different colors. We were in the "Family" section, even though we were on our honeymoon, and it was fabulous. We had personal pool-side service for drinks, food, and towels. This is a great destination for families, honeymooners, and couples get-aways. While there, we rode ATVs, went zip lining, learned to surf, went paddle boarding, and relaxed by the pool. The hotel does a great job of helping you set up excursions and other activities during your stay. They also had lots of activities for kids - including watching kids between 9 am and 4 pm each day. There were pool toys for kids and night activities as well. The food was alright - there was a lot of variety. Our favorite feature was the swim up bar. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
May 26, 2009

Great Couples Getaway

The hotel and the grounds were beautiful. Our room overlooked the pool which had a mountain range as a backdrop. My girlfriend loved it. The staff was very helpful and so polite throughout the resort. We are not ones to visit the same resort twice but we would definitely recommend this as a honeymoon spot or for couples looking for a nice relaxing getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I would book all activities through Alex on the beach. I have to believe that he has some connections to the hotel but he is very personable and will give you great deals on anything that you are looking to do. Definitely the biggest bright spot of the trip

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"The Entertainment Director"
Arizona
Jul 29, 2009

Terrific time by all

Wonderful lobby staff and competent wait staff in the Royal Service. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canopy/Zip line/ATV/Surfing with Hightide Co. and Eli(da man)is a must have experience. Would go back for sure.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Addicts
New York, New York
Aug 6, 2009

Very pleasant staff.

My spouse and I just basically relaxed and tried to enjoy ourselves. The vendors outside the hotel make that part of the hotel a little less appealing. We wish they would move away from the hotel exit towards the beach so that you wouldn't feel bombarded. Also there are not enough beach chairs on the beach which is uncomfortable. In terms of the staff they are very friendly and the people there are so helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Instead of using the tour company that is by the beach you should use the one inside the hotel by the commercial center. The company inside is very well organized and much cheaper than the other company.

Back to menu Return to top