$399 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Guanacaste, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
314 reviews
The online photos and description don't do this place justice.

I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our... See full review

  • Allen in Arkansas
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great honeymoon spot

The Westin was great! We went here for our honeymoon the first week of June and loved it! Costa... See full review

  • NTLW
  • Jun 11, 2014
Local attractions include Ricon de la Vieja National Park, Santa Rosa National Park, Las Baulas Nacional Marine Park, Guanacaste National Park, Bahia Junquillal National Wildlife Refuge.

Guest rooms are equipped with a spacious and private terrace or balcony, marble floors, deluxe bathrooms, a separate living area with comfortable seating, plasma TVs, air conditioning, cable TV, IPod docking station, daily stocked minibar and 24-hour room service. Adult guests can upgrade themselves to the exclusive Royal Beach Club featuring the discreet assistance of personal concierges, along with a tremendous variety of preferential services, access and reservations Additional facilities include ballroom, billiards, children facilities, lobby, reception, tennis courts and golf and spa service .

The following amenities are available at cost:
- Airport transfer.
- Baby sitting service.
- Dry cleaning.
- Gift shop.
- Golf course.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SouthernCityGirl
New York, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Amazing City Escape

As someone who has been spoiled by the amenities of traveling in Southeast Asia, I can say that my Westin experience was absolutely comparable. I traveled with a good friend from the NYC area and we spent an entire week at the hotel. There are so many amenities and attractions in the area that we never felt the need to change our hotel or area during our week in Costa Rica. Here are my suggestions: RESTAURANTS (listed in order of preference) 1. Mediterra - I am from the Gulf coast so I am picky about food and especially seafood, and this was delicious; Mediterranean cuisine, by far my favorite. Don't miss the dessert figs with Cognac and homemade ice cream. 2. Italian restaurant - Very good salads and appetizers. I had salmon, which was delicious. Everyone around was raving about the cannellonis but they were out the night we went. 3. Las Candelas (Latin Restaurant) - Delicious fish, and my friend had a tasty chicken and rice dish. 4. French restaurant in the lobby - I found this restaurant to have an awkward setup and little atmosphere. It was a little dead since we had a 9 PM reservation but I found that this was the ONLY time in my whole stay where a staff member was rude and rushing us out. Plus, the marlin dish was mediocre. I also found the menu to be not typical of French food - no mussels, no pommes frites & steak, etc. 5. Asian fusion restaurant - My least favorite. The fish was actually very good but the Pad Thai was probably the worst I've ever had. The buzz around the resort was that the curry is the thing to get. OTHER EATS / DRINKS: - THE MAIN POOL BAR: great staff and generous bartenders, especially Danny. Just keep in mind that it closes at 6 pm and the poolside actually closes at bit earlier. - THE POOLSIDE RESTAURANT: tasty, try the dish labeled typical costa rican cuisine or something to that effect, it's chicken / rice / beans / cabbage salad = delicious. - ROOM SERVICE: prompt, and especially good for breakfast. Make sure you order condiments (including salt and pepper, hot sauce, etc) otherwise it is not delivered with your food. - DRINKS: request a Kir Royale if you like champagne at any restaurant; the Dirty Monkey was my favorite blended drink. - ASTREA BAR: Closed earlier than posted on the hotel's website based on the number of patrons. That was a disappointment. LOBBY The staff is very helpful, especially Kevin Moreno, as he speaks perfect English and was very accommodating in helping me change return travel plans due to Hurricane Sandy. ROOM Very clean. Spacious. Amazing maid service. Nice drink selection in the mini bar that gets refilled once daily. The only negative room comment that I have is that sometime (ie - breakfast hours) there was a lot of noise from the unit about ours because the furniture chairs and tables are extremely loud on the marble floors. I feel like this is a situation that the Westin staff can easily remedy by placing the round cushions on each of the chair legs. EXCURSIONS As two twenty-something females traveling alone, we felt extremely safe with our excusions booked both through the hotel (Catamaran sunset cruise) and through Erick Garcia on the beach in front of the hotel (Miraballes volcano tour + hiking + mud bath + hot springs, Ziplining, and Surfing in Tamarindo). Erick was not pushy at all and helped us to quickly organize our excursions. All reasonably priced ventures considering that transportation is included. AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION Be prepared to spend around $45 / person each way to / from Liberia airport if you book through the hotel or take a taxi. The drive is about an hour and after all of my internet research, I couldn't find a more reasonable way to do this that made sense (I opted out of the 3 hour + local bus trip). TIPPING Very much appreciated. I recommend bringing plenty of single bills. Overall, an amazing getaway and hotel experience. It's a beautiful country with amazing people and very safe. I wouldn't want my trip any other way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your dinner reservations before 4 pm each day! If for some reason you forget, you may be able to get a table by speaking directly with the restaurant manager of the restaurant where you would like to eat.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
World Traveler 0000000013
Seattle Washington
Dec 3, 2013

Like a cheap Vegas buffet

I was expecting a lot more considering the brand, and based upon the information. I would have given it zero stars if I could as by the 3rd day, I just wanted to leave. If you have ever stayed at a nice hotel and have any level of expectation, you better give this place a wide berth. I guess I didn't pick up from the information that it was all inclusive in regards to food. All I can say is the food was really bad. The beach it is located on is really nice; however, since the beach is public property, you have to navigate a gauntlet of "buzzards" circling outside the gate of the hotel to get use it. The room was not comfortable. They don't have the real heavenly bed and it was not comfortable at all. Additionally, the air conditioning does not cool the room down. We fought with the hotel for 2 days as they "fixed" the AC in the first room, then they moved us to another room where it was as bad or worse. We must have interacted with hotel staff more almost 10 times, and we kept getting different people, we would have to restate everything that had occurred and never were satisfied. The worst of it was that they didn't even understand why we were frustrated over the issue. The only friendly staff person was "Sergio", the guy that filled the minibar daily. Everyone else seemed to be disinterested except if they were getting a tip. I guess value is in the eye of the beholder, but I would have left early if I could have got a flight and walked away from the prepayment I made for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La
Oct 11, 2009

Robbed in Paradisus

The resort was a great disappiontmnet. My husband and I went there to celebrate our 36 wedding anniversary. Upon arrival our room was not ready. When given our room it was registered to someone else. The next day was the worst of all. The resort recommended to schedule excursions with Hightide which are supposed to be all included in our package. Needless to say that is not the case. They will not allow you to schedule the free actvities ahead of time, you must schedule them that morining. Therefore if leaving for an all day paid excursion you can not schedule the sunset cruise. After trying to schedule our week, we decided to go to the pool. After a quick swim we went to out room to change for a brief snack at the Mexican patio. We were out of the room for no more than 30 minutes. Upon entering the room the closet and the safe was wide open. We had been ROBBED! My husbands watch(an anniversary gift), cell phone and $700 was taken. You are told to keep all valuables in the safe. Who knew that these people have a master code to the safe. My husband immediately called the front desk three times before we got a response.It took another 30 minutes and another 20 for the security gaurds. To our disbelief they offered no help,no apology and no offer to recover our belongings. On the 4th day we heard about a newlywed couple from New York whose safe was robbed the night before. I did not feel safe the entire week. My husband checked with 3 different managers and was only stared at with a blank look. This is not the professional way to run a business. Arriving at the airport in Libera a couple from Tampa,Fl.told us when they were checking out they over heard 2 European couples complaining to the manager that thier safe had been robbed. This is a vacation that I will never forget and not in a good way. How can anyone recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La
Oct 11, 2009

Robbed in Paradisus

The resort was a great disappiontmnet. My husband and I went there to celebrate our 36 wedding anniversary. Upon arrival our room was not ready. When given our room it was registered to someone else. The next day was the worst of all. The resort recommended to schedule excursions with Hightide which are supposed to be all included in our package. Needless to say that is not the case. They will not allow you to schedule the free actvities ahead of time, you must schedule them that morining. Therefore if leaving for an all day paid excursion you can not schedule the sunset cruise. After trying to schedule our week, we decided to go to the pool. After a quick swim we went to out room to change for a brief snack at the Mexican patio. We were out of the room for no more than 30 minutes. Upon entering the room the closet and the safe was wide open. We had been ROBBED! My husbands watch(an anniversary gift), cell phone and $700 was taken. You are told to keep all valuables in the safe. Who knew that these people have a master code to the safe. My husband immediately called the front desk three times before we got a response.It took another 30 minutes and another 20 for the security gaurds. To our disbelief they offered no help,no apology and no offer to recover our belongings. On the 4th day we heard about a newlywed couple from New York whose safe was robbed the night before. I did not feel safe the entire week. My husband checked with 3 different managers and was only stared at with a blank look. This is not the professional way to run a business. Arriving at the airport in Libera a couple from Tampa,Fl.told us when they were checking out they over heard 2 European couples complaining to the manager that thier safe had been robbed. This is a vacation that I will never forget and not in a good way. How can anyone recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler 90000000000
Kansas
Feb 5, 2014

Don,t stay here

If I could give The Westin a -10 I would. From things being stolen from my room (there is a pass code for the safes in the room and employees know it) to the rooms being run down. The food is horrible and you can't get reservation so u end up ordering room service or going to the buffet which is the worst buffet ever. Don't take there shuttle service anywhere they may forget to come pick u up. it happened to 5 of use we finally took a taxi back to the resort and then had to fight to get a refund. Service at meals needs work when u ask for coffee and water at breakfast 5 times and don't get it till your done eating. something is wrong. that happened 4 times we started getting our own coffee and we got dirty looks. Please don't think im the only one who felt this way about the westin I witnessed a lot of people screaming at employees at the pool 5 time and at meals every single day. Service and conditions r really bad. Don't spend your hard earned money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Go to other hotel
Orlando, Florida
Aug 17, 2010

BAD customer service and not friendly

The wedding planner did not plan for family and guest to be close to each other. Front Desk was not friendly or helpful. The wedding planner to the bride that wedding on the beach is $$ cost on the wedding day, change the dinner memu with out notice, and serve the bride and groom food last on their wedding day. The set-up for the wedding was cheap looking for the $$ the hotel charge. The excursion the to expensive and their is nothing near by in a walking distance. Wedding and vacation is Mexico the much better the this place 100%. Spider problem in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ReneeC
Chelsea
Oct 14, 2011

Bad experience

food is awful, over half the restaurants are closed, every room service order has been wrong then they don't understand you when you try to send it back and complain. The only good service here we have had are the bartenders and those poor guys don't even get tips most of the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hendersonville, NC
Aug 3, 2007

Reservations Needed

We were very disappointed in the restaurants. The food was sub par and you had to stand in line every morning for dinner reservations. The only good restaurant was the Italian restaurant. We stood in line each morning for about 45 minutes and many of the days the restaurant was already booked. They saved half of the reservations for the guests who had Royal Service. It looks like they are expanding the property, but I hope that they expand their restaurants and change the way they do reservations. The drinks were always good, the room was clean and the grounds were beautiful. We loved our trip, but we were disappointed in the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the trip into nearby Tamarindo for shopping. All the shops are the same. If you are a surfer then you will like Tamarindo as it is known as a Surf City. If you are looking for good shopping, you can buy the same things in the booths that are set up on the beach.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NaughtyPines
Boston, MA
Feb 4, 2013

Couldn't Have Been More Disappointed with Food/Service

Rooms in the "Royal Beach Club" are older, and similarly equipped to Standard Room. Food is awful, everywhere. Food poisoning from the buffet, and met other couples with same issue on the same evening in the SAME restaurant. Management does NOT care. All they try to do is up-sell. Beach is nearly unswimmable due to riptide. Enjoy getting mobbed by vendors coming to/from the the beach entrance. Avoid like the plague. The Westin should be ashamed to put their name on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Go to other hotel
Orlando, Florida
Aug 17, 2010

BAD customer service and not friendly

The wedding planner did not plan for family and guest to be close to each other. Front Desk was not friendly or helpful. The wedding planner to the bride that wedding on the beach is $$ cost on the wedding day, change the dinner memu with out notice, and serve the bride and groom food last on their wedding day. The set-up for the wedding was cheap looking for the $$ the hotel charge. The excursion the to expensive and their is nothing near by in a walking distance. Wedding and vacation is Mexico the much better the this place 100%. Spider problem in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hendersonville, NC
Aug 3, 2007

Reservations Needed

We were very disappointed in the restaurants. The food was sub par and you had to stand in line every morning for dinner reservations. The only good restaurant was the Italian restaurant. We stood in line each morning for about 45 minutes and many of the days the restaurant was already booked. They saved half of the reservations for the guests who had Royal Service. It looks like they are expanding the property, but I hope that they expand their restaurants and change the way they do reservations. The drinks were always good, the room was clean and the grounds were beautiful. We loved our trip, but we were disappointed in the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the trip into nearby Tamarindo for shopping. All the shops are the same. If you are a surfer then you will like Tamarindo as it is known as a Surf City. If you are looking for good shopping, you can buy the same things in the booths that are set up on the beach.

Back to menu Return to top