$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Creve Coeur
Jul 5, 2008

Relax and enjoy

The Playa Conchal has everything you need for a great relaxing vacation ad with the all inclusive come several activities that compliment their beautiful resort and surroundings. The food was very good and the people were the nicest we've every met. They really go out of their way to help the gursts and seem happy to help! The rooms were beautiful and nicley designed for optimum comfort. Our AC went out and they were there to fix it in 10 minutes and when we came back the room was ice cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out on the beach and just relax and enjoy the veiw!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Housefairy
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 19, 2011

Paradise!

We wanted only R & R. No excursions, no expeditions. We stayed on the property almost the entire time, and were well-amused chatting with other visitors, reading books, and relaxing in the gorgeous pools. We walked along the beach adjacent to the resort. The January weather was ideal: 60s at night, high 80s midday. We appreciated that evening "shows" were available every night. The resort had all of the souvenirs that we could have wished for, right on the premises. We watched a cooking demonstration one day. This was more affordable, but equal in most regards, to other all-inclusives. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We'll go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dining reservations as early as possible. The ethnic restaurants fill up fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siena's Mom
Business
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Oct 15, 2009

Parisus Hotel was GREAT!

The Hotel was great! The amenities were more than we can ask more! The food was beyond delicous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 22, 2009

Relaxing

This hotel was very relaxing, no rushing to get to breakfast or anywhere. The hotel is pretty big so there are shuttles that will come and get you to take you whereever you need to go. This hotel is secluded in a guarded community. Making reservations for restaurants was very easy all you had to do is pick up the phone and dial the ext provided, other hotels I have been to you had to wake up early and stand in line to make reservations. There is a sunset cruise you can sign up for that is included in the hotel package that is really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Inver Grove Heights
Nov 15, 2008

Royal Service was great

We stayed in a Royal Service Room, it was great. The Royal Service Pool and Gabi Restaurant was ver good. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two midwestern profs
Business
Dayton, OH
Dec 25, 2010

Not for boring snobs, otherwise PERFECT

My wife and I went here for the Christmas break as a way to relax. As a reference, we have stayed at quite a few all-inclusives throughout the Carribean, Mexico, and Central America. First of all, a trip to Paradisius is a GREAT way to relax. It is a GOOD way to see the country, but it is definitely a resort. The excursions are nice, and give you a good taste of the country, but without total immersion. You will not see a jaguar, or an ocelot, or many of the super-rare species, unless you go on a series of nocturnal excursions away from the resort. That being said, this was by far the BEST resort we have ever been to for relaxation, service, and sheer friendliness. The resort campus is beautifully landscaped, without being too over-manicured. We heard some complaints from baby-boomer aged guests that it was "too natural" - well, the country of Costa Rica prides itself on its naturalism and ecology....over-manicuring would detract from that nature! There are groups of coati, multiple wild birds, numerous iguana species, and one fascinating troupe of howler monkeys that entranced us for hours. The room was simple yet beautiful, with comfortable accomadations. It was always in pristine condition, and the cleaning staff was wonderful. The bathroom was well stocked and had no issues. The staff was fantastic in every way. In general, we found Costa Ricans ('Ticos') to be a polite, kind people who know that tourism is their major economic strength, and who wish to help travellers see their country and culture. My wife and I never, not once, had anything but a delightful experience with the staff. Sometimes the concierges get overwhelmed by volume, and you have to wait for a bit. They will always get back to you, though, and are always apologetic about the delay. The physical facilities are also wonderful. The pools, tennis courts, and golf course are in fantastic condition. The bartenders are all very pleasant, and the drinks are certainly on the better end of the all-inclusive spectrum (the mojitos are fantastic). A word about the spa - very good service, but the real gem is the outdoor jacuzzi. The beach is public - in Costa Rica, beaches are national property. If you go down the beach just a bit, there are some very beautiful places. Try horseback riding on the beach. There are 4 restaurants that require reservations for dinner, and a fifth open buffet. Overall, the food was the one thing I would give a 4 out of 5 to. There were things that were absolutely wonderful, but a few meals that were average. Agava Azul, the mexican place, was excellent - try the four chili tenderloin. Spices, the asian cuisine, did wonderful things with seafood, but the side item pairings were a bit questionable. The italian place was marginal, and I can't really say that I would go back there. Finally, Gabi, the fusion cuisine place, was excellent - I became hooked on their ceviches. One thing about Costa Rica is the beef is fantastic - if you are a carnivore, I recommend trying beef in as many ways as possible. For the vegetarians, the options are quite good, and the fruits are to die for (especially the mango). One thing that I would like to share is that most of the people that stayed there that we spoke with loved the place, and would happily come back. However, there was a small subset of, and I apologize for what is likely an overgeneralization, baby boomers who clearly have an idea of what THEY want, and have no interest in anything else. If you are looking for a place where you will be waited on hand and foot on a completely manicured estate with no contact with the outside world or the locals, this is NOT the place for you...go spend your money and complain elsewhere. The bottom line for me is - If you want a delightful vacation in a beautiful country filled with very pleasant people at a lovely facility with access to fascinating animal and plant species and numerous adventure options, this is a ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Hartford CT
Dec 18, 2009

A Fabulous Destination!!

My wife and I have decided that our trip to Paradisus Playa Conchal has been our favorite trip to anywhere as a couple. There was something to be said for a vacation the week before Christmas because the resort was at 40 % capacity and at one point I have the giant pool to myself while everyone else was enjoying siesta. The friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff would not be diminished by the addition of new guests. Everyone was willing to hlep out and deal with any minor issues that might arise during your trip. While we chose to spend our first two days relaxing beside the pool, an included sunset cruise was a nice end to our second day. This is something you will not find in the usual Mexican resorts on the Caribbean (one asset of a Pacific resort). The dry season (December - May) is definitely the time to go as we did not see a speck of rain at the resort, although there is definitely rain in the cloud forests around the nearby volcanoes. Recommend a trip to Arenal even if you do not see the volcano! Tabacon Hot Springs is worth the trip alone. A cost savings might be to rent a car (in main lobby) and plan a trip to Arenal by yourself. Costa Rica is easy enough to get around if you can follow the road signs. HOWEVER, I would not recommend a trip to the Palo Verde National Park by yourself because it requires the use of secondary stone/dirt roads relatively unmarked. Recommend that trip be booked through Conchal Adventures on beach because they seem to go early in the morning which allows you to see more of the wildlife (monkeys, birds and crocodiles). No complaints at all about our service either in the resort or excursions. Unlike in other locales I have traveled in, the tours did not dump us off at some "tourist site" which was in reality a factory/factory store where you were given a high-pressure sales job. Yes we did stop at restaurants on the way or on return but this was more to provide opportunity for meals/bathroom breaks and there was indeed no pressure to purchase anything. We would definitely return to this resort (perhaps even with children!) but might try exploring the rest of Costa Rica first now that this resort provided such a nice introduction to the country. Airport serving the resort is Liberia and is very easy to use and gets multiple flights on American, Continental and Delta daily. Note that transfer to resort is not included but price is good for up to 5 persons in a vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

While you can pay for the High Tide excursions/spa treatments which are right inside the resort, a short step out onto the public beach reveals [...] who gives a 1 hour massage for $45 (great!) and Conchal Adventures which does similar excursions for less (ask for [...]). Yes, the massage table is set up on the beach, but you can't beat the price or the sound of the surf. And while Conchal Adventures does not give you the newest transportation, the price and friendliness of the staff cannot be beat (but a High Tide all-day excursion was great too).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 30, 2008

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE

The Paradisus Playa Conchal was beautiful, the staff was so helpful, and the dining was so impressive for an all inclusive hotel. If you are travelling without kids and are looking for luxury, I highly recommend Royal Service. It is extra money, but totally worth it! We were in a seperate hotel area, with a seperate pool (no kids) and had 24 hour staff at our call for anything. Arranging day trips was so easy, making dinner reservations (required) was so easy. Playa Conchal is in Guanacaste and not close to the rainforest, but it is close to other exciting outings. We were able to walk to the beach (hotel access) and jump in kayaks to take ourselves out snorkeling (with a guide of course)! We also went to Rincon de La Vieja and had a great day of horseback riding, river tubing, and ziplining! If you are looking for rainforest adventure, you are about 3-4 hours away. The food was excellent - very impressive for an all inclusive. I highly recommend this hotel, I didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The best vacation ever
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 7, 2009

Pura Vida

the hotel was wonderful. the staff were great and so were the other people there. It was Pura Vida as the locals say. I will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I loved the multiple restaurants to dine at. the best thing of it all was the 24 hour room service. It was the best. the food was hot, fast and delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
meriden,ct
Jul 31, 2009

Paradise

we loved it! I would visit again and also tell friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top