$290 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
191 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Eco-friendly resort tucked in lush forest
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
3 Reasons To Stay

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Things To Do

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmichael0007
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 6, 2012

Relaxing Vacation Getaway

This resort met all our expectations, we were sad to leave. Our stay was short, only two nights but we had a great time. There are numerous activities planned throughout the day and the all inclusive drinks and fine dining is to die for. We are not beach people so did not spend any time on the public beach area, which was not near as inviting as the exotic pools and spas throughout the resort. We can't wait to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This resort is secluded from other activities and tourist areas in Costa Rica so the cost to purchase outside tours etc include surcharges for transportaion to the activity locations which will consume an entire day away from your all inclusive drinks and food. We found it most relaxing to stay within the resort while we were there and rented a car to travel ourselves to other areas of Costa Rica, staying in various other hotels along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 27, 2007

Relaxing and fun.

This was my first trip to costa rica and ended up being one of my best vacations ever. As for the Playa Concal--overall I would recommend it highly to couples and families with a few very minor reservations. And yes I would return to this property. I went as a single traveller and also had a good time but I was definitely in the minority. First the good Rooms are spacious, comfortable and nice. They include a mini bar included in the all inclusive price. Room service in included in the all inclusive price and room servies is open 24 hours. The pools area is gorgeous with a barwhere you can order drinks wight in the pool. Again drinks included in price. You have a choise of 4 restaurants or the buffet again included in the price. Overall a wonderful experience. The staff is eager to please and i had fun with water aerobics, pool volleyball and step class. Now for the nitpicky not so good. Check in had a line up of people and my room wasn't ready for 2 hours or so.When they say 3 pm check in, they mean it. If you book tours through the hotel, the tours are around 50 dollars more. There are alternative tour booking places near the spa of the hotel. The popular restaurants are difficult to book- they take reservations at 9 am and by 9:02 the popular restaurants are booked. And yes... the popular restaurants are better- those are Faisinella-the italian. The hotel has a sunset cruise included in the amenaties-- but the cruise seemed to be booked a week in advance. Hmmmm.Perhaps first choice was given to royal service patrons. And now for royal service patrons. They have something called royal service where you pay 50 bucks extra a night. For this you get first choice of restaurants and other amenities and sunset cruises, and your own exclusive pool and I The good news is the pool is not as nice as the regular pool I suspect us peons who pay 50 dollars less a night get blocked out from the good restaurants and sunset cruises. Playa conchal says its an exclusive resort but within the exclusive resort the royal service is apparently more exclusive than the rest. I guess elitism among the elite. Having two classes of patrons is a tad off putting. . It's certainly not enought to ruin a fabulous vacation if you don't have the royal service but it is there and seens a tad annoying and bit exlusive. Frankly you can beat the system without having royal service and still have a fabulous vacation but people seemed annoyed by it when it stopped them from getting cruise and restaurant reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Right near by is Monkey Park Dont miss it. Also a great Canopy Tour dont miss that either. Tamarina is only 15 minutes away by car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2007

honeymoon heaven

great accomadations for a honeymooning couple. Gives you the option of just having a relaxing stay or to be more advetuous.everything you need is available through the hotel,or located on the grounds.staff was very attentive and accomadating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Lisa
Business
houston, Tx.
Aug 2, 2009

A Place to Unwind

We enjoyed our vacation at the Paradisus. Once arriving we were asked to up-grade to royal service and we are glad we did. It was well worth the money. The pool area was quiet but we did enjoy the service of the bartenders at pool's swim-up bar. The bartenders [...] and [...] were excellent, and went out of their way to make sure a certain brand of whiskey was on hand when it wasn't available elsewhere.The food was excellent and service outstanding. We highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bulldog
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 4, 2009

all around awesome!!!!

The service was wonderful! The food was great! I have nothing to complain about, it was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not leave your camera on the beach while you swim, ours was stolen!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 15, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal

The resort has so many included activities. The rooms and the food are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Union City, NJ
Aug 22, 2009

Great place for families and couples!

The resort was fenomenal! The staff was super friendly, everyone speaks English and are always willing to help you with anything. We felt like the only thing we needed to do there was relax and have fun. The room was always clean and very nicely decorated. Every morning there's a group working on keeping the landscape clean and beautiful (when we were there the mangos were ripe and falling off the trees!). The food was great, there is an italian, asian, mexican and international restaurant for which you can make reservations. The pool was very big and nice with a voleyball net and swim-up bar. The only thing to point out is that things you need to buy (souveneirs or other things) are very pricey, but you're not paying for anything else, so it's not such a big deal. There are different places to entertain you, including a club with live DJ, casino and theatre. Overall, it was a great place to stay and I would stay there again if I go back to Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

By reception there is a spot to book daily tours. At an extra cost (but not too much considering all we did) we went ziplining, down a waterslide, horseback riding to see a waterfall and a spa place that has a steam room, mud treatment and hot/cold pools (all included plus lunch). Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarandeds
Business
Oklahoma City
Jun 17, 2010

Romantic Getaway

My husband and I chose this hotel because we had stayed in a Sol Melia hotel in the Dominican Republic 2 years ago. We were not disappointed the vacation was to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. The staff treated us like royalty and nothing was too much for them. We hired a car and did some sight seeing, this is a beautiful country and we plan to visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You have to take advantage of all the included sports and recreation included in the package. Aquagym classes, Tai Chi, Surf boards, Zip line too much to mention.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug K
Business
Hempstead TX
Jul 8, 2010

All Inclusive Great Beware of Excursions

Hotel was great,food 5 star better than cruise lines, could live there year round..Beware of transportation costs..We booked a canopy zip line adventure through [...] for around $40 only to find out transportation was not included and was $150 round trip...Stay clear of Grayline Costa Rica..hard to get on phone then transferred to non answered line. Voucher was taken by driver from Airport to hotel and then became a problem producing one for return trip to airport.Told us to take taxi to zip line because Grayline cost more...Zip line adventure was booked through Grayline and [...]...There were plenty of Taxi`s at the airport looking for fares.avoid Grayline if you can.Make dinner reservations every night. The entertainment was excellant (be sure and catch the Michael Jackson number)..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book activities on the beach outside of the complex for a better deal..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Days
Business
Utah
Aug 14, 2010

Greta place to stay in Costa Rica

Costa Rica is a fabulous destination. Wonderful flora and fauna- many exotic animals. I highly recommend taking the boat tour where you can see monjkey, crocodiles, birds of all varities- it was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to the Golden Shrimp one night for dinner- very over priced! ould not recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
playaconchal
Business
Mahwah, NJ
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent resort and beautiful location

Great beach to swim in! Amazing food! Relaxing massages! Worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top