$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Guanacaste, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
315 reviews
The online photos and description don't do this place justice.

I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our... See full review

  • Allen in Arkansas
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great honeymoon spot

The Westin was great! We went here for our honeymoon the first week of June and loved it! Costa... See full review

  • NTLW
  • Jun 11, 2014
The eco-friendly Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, is located in Costa Rica's Guanacaste region, overlooking the countrys North-Pacific Riviera. Just 45 minutes from Guanacaste International Airport and 15 minutes from Tamarindo Domestic Airport, it stretches over 2,400 breathtaking acres. Recharge your body and mind surrounded by beautiful white-sand beaches, meandering walkways, bubbling fountains, shimmering lakes, and crystalline pools. Relax in our elegant guest villas and suites. Bordering an expansive lagoon-style pool accented by lush gardens and thatch-roofed cabanas, they boast spectacular ocean and forest views. Channel your energy at the tennis courts and on the 18-hole Robert Trent Jones-designed golf course. Benefit from our full-service meeting facilities, kids club, and boutique and gift shop—or rejuvenate in our distinguished spa. End the day with a restorative meal in our world-class dining facilities, followed by a taste of nightly entertainment.

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaría International Airport, (NCT), 17.92, MI; Liberia Airport (Daniel Oduber International Airport), (LIR), 22.07, MI;
Area description
Beach

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Game room
Tennis
Tennis pro
Skeet shooting
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Express check in
Concierge desk
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Audio visual equipment
White board
Parking
Free parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JERAD ALLAN
Pittsburgh, PA
May 27, 2007

definelty paradise

The Paradius Playa Conchal was everything that we had hoped for and more. We splurged and got the Royal Service which was definelty worth it. Anything we wanted was taken care by a very nice and courteous attendant.Great pool,great restaurant selections,and strong drinks!The resort also provides activities that are worth looking into such as sea kayaking,horseback riding and sunset boat ride.The resort was beautiful and well taken care of. We hope to go back one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a local town with a few shops/local culture. Also about 30 minute drive away there is a surf town Tamarindo which all the people are nice and laidback.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 12, 2011

Truly amazing!

We just returned from an eleven day honeymoon at Paradisus and it was the trip of a lifetime. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel, and especially the staff. They were incredible. We ended up getting an upgrade to Royal Service, which was a real treat. [...] were some of the nicest people we have ever met, and they really made us feel special.The food here is great...after ten days you get a little tired of anything, but no complaints whatsoever. We did a few excursions - a surfing lesson in Tamarindo and the Buena Vista combo tour. Both were excellent. Our only complaint about this hotel is the transportation that runs constantly. It's very convenient when you are feeling too lazy to walk for five minutes, but when you do try to walk (especially at night) it's a little unnerving to constantly get passed by larger vehicles. Overall, one of the best trips I have ever taken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We would highly recommend getting private transportation from the hotel. It ended up costing about $20 extra but was well worth it to not stop and multiple hotels on the way to your destination.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michihan and snow
Feb 3, 2011

Wonderful location for getting away

Everything was just perfect...beach was nice, pool was great...food available at 5 restuarants was fine (beef was always tough..fruit was delicous)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

To really see/absorb the real Costa Rica one needs to rent a car or take one of the many tours offered in the Guanacaste area...some trips are a 4 hour drive..others 2 hours

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 17, 2009

Great place to escape for a week

This was my first time staying at an all-inclusive hotel. This visit makes me want to try out more all-inclusive resorts. The service was the best part of the resort. Free room service 24/7 was very convenient, especially if you don't feel like going out for dinner. The specialty restuarant was 5 stars all the way and was much better than the buffet. The room was very spacious and well decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gendrons_FestusMO
Festus, MO
Jan 31, 2011

Awesome Resort

The resort is great. We had a free upgrade to Royal Service, which made it even better. They really take care of you, and we loved the extra amenities: an extra pool, free minibar, free wireless internet, butler service to book all your reservations, and to arrange for taxi service, etc.... The butlers (and everyone) were so very friendly everywhere we went. I highly recommend taking a trip to Tamarindo ($50 taxi round trip) to see the shops and especially the beach. The sunsets are beautiful there. You can easily walk to the town of Brasalito by walking up the beach (to the right) from the resort. It is a totally different beach experience (black sand) from the resort, which is a white shell beach. Have lunch at the Happy Snapper and shop in their souvenier stands. There is also a small grocery store there if you want to buy at local prices instead of higher ones at the tourist stops. We did the Tempeste river tour...saw lots of iguana, birds, monkees, crocodile. We also did the zipline tour at Borinquen. You'll have to ask for this one, as it isn't pushed as hard for some reason. It has an awesome canopy tour, horseback ride and mud/spa/bath. Make sure you take the walk (hiking path) that leads to the petroglyphs. Very cool. The only drawback I found was that it gets dark at 6:00 every day, year round. It kinda cuts the day short, and there didn't seem to be much to do after dinner. We went to the dance show that they present on three different nights, which were good. We enjoyed the Latin one the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oaks
Nebraska
Mar 21, 2011

Great Experience!

We were impressed with this resort. There is not a huge variety of resturants to choose from, but the ones that are there had a great menu selection. The rooms are all-suit and spacious. They all have their own porch/balcony area. A 24 hour room service is included, so we ordered a couple of times and it never took over 30 minutes to get our food. With our own balcony, it was relaxing to sit out there and dine without having to get dressed up to go to a resturant. The golf course was well kept, challenging and had great views. The staff was friendly and so were the people when we got off the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are lots of things to do off the resort. Zip lining through the jungle and white water rafting in the tropics are great experiences!!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago Illinois
Jun 15, 2009

It was beautiful

We were assign to a villa, however we had a few small problems with the room and we were immediately moved to a different room, which was in the tower by the pool. It was fantastic! the maid service kept our room clean, made little animals out of towels that made us smile everyday. Our first Butler [...]made our dinner reservation for the entire week he was wonderful, our second butler [...] always had a pleasant hello and even when we moved from the Villa he still stop and ask us if we need anything which made us feel special, our third butler [...] ran bath water for us, help me surprise my honey with a cake at dinner, a well wanted bathrobe , chocolate strawberries and I can go on, he was great. Our pool butler [...] he was awesome, he made sure we had drinks, brought us food by the pool, kept us with towels, I can say this was the best resort I ever been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We went ATV and horseback riding, wear some long pants or something you don't care about getting wet or muddy. The resort pays for a sunset tour, please take it but remember wear some shorts above your knees and water shoes, but it will be a night that you will never forget. Also bring a hot/cold cup with a lid you can keep your drinks cold.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxed teacher
New York
Jul 7, 2010

We found paradise

We were able to enjoy the resort and the local culture. It was important to us to be able to leave the resort and feel safe; we rented a car and went to different villiages and met extremely friendly local people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book excursions locally when you arrive

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allen in Arkansas
Jonesboro, AR, USA
Jun 23, 2014

The online photos and description don't do this place justice.

I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our vacation, we researched many resorts in the country. We mainly picked the Westin because we’ve had good experiences at other Westin resorts, and we read mainly positive reviews from other travelers. The resort is represented on several travel sites, and they have a website, but none of these really do the place justice. It was even better than we had expected. THE RESORT The resort is fairly large, but they will pick you up and drive you anywhere you want to go if you don’t want to walk. You need only ask. All the grounds are landscaped and well maintained. Our room was clean and was stocked with amenities and a full mini-fridge. Everything was in working order. THE SERVICE The service from the staff was nothing short of spectacular. Everyone was extraordinarily friendly, and it felt genuine and sincere, not like they were just being nice because it’s their job to be nice. At one point I was standing on a resort walkway looking at a map trying to determine which way to go, and a woman on the housekeeping staff stopped what she was doing to come over to me and ask if she could give me directions. Everyone on the resort greats you with a smile and “hola” or “buenos días” as you pass by. I asked for something slightly odd from the room service and the response I received was “no problem sir, you’re the boss here; we will take care of that.” Everyone that you will interact with speaks both English and Spanish. I tipped many resort employees during the week, but I was never asked for a tip, and never made to feel like it was obligatory. I’ve stayed in about a dozen resorts, many with very good service, and I think this resort had the best service I’ve experienced. THE FOOD There is something that everyone will like. In addition to the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, they have several nice restaurants for evening dining. At least three options are open at all times during the day. You can also order room service. We tried all the specialty restaurants and loved all of them. The buffet food was average to above average… nothing I tried was bad. The specialty restaurant food was all above average to excellent. A few of the dishes that I had would rival some of the best restaurants I’ve visited… and yes, I eat in nice restaurants with some frequency. If you don’t find some food you like at this resort, you’re a food snob on a level I’ve not yet encountered. THE COUNTRY Costa Rica is BEAUTIFUL! It’s a good blend of upscale resorts and modern conveniences, and unspoiled nature. The people are very kind and welcoming. We never felt unsafe in any of the areas we visited. When venturing off the resort, there are several vendors selling items and services, but you will not be attacked with a wave of high pressure selling like some places I’ve visited. Also, I felt like the locals were not trying to scam me. They will bargain and haggle with you on pricing, but I never felt like I was being taken advantage of. It wasn’t a shell game or three-card hustle buying experience. One of the vendors at the artisan tent on the resort property jumped up from her table and ran after a woman because she had forgotten to take her change from the transaction. It’s rare to see such a display of honesty, and this really impressed me. I can’t say enough about the good nature of the people here. I would definitely recommend the Westin resort. I will stay their again someday. Don’t hesitate! Book your trip now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can save money on dozens of excursions by visiting vendors standing right outside the gate to the beach. Find Eric Garcia (red shirt) and he will do you right. He sold us a zip-line, horseback riding, volcanic hot springs bath trip to Borinquen. The excursions he sells are still insured and ran by professional tour companies. Only difference is that they're cheaper. You will not pay until starting the excursion, so no need to worry.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 12, 2007

Vacation Paradise

Our stay at the Paradisus Playa Conchal Resort can only be described as; INCREDIBLE. The staff were all very professional and friendly. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and pampered. We have not stopped talking about the experience to our friends and family. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great seafood at the Golden Shrimp Restaurant in nearby Brasalito.

Back to menu Return to top