The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
180 reviews
Awesome trip.

Hotel, grounds, stuff excellent!!! Exceeded our expectation for a n all inclusive hotel. Extremely... See full review

  • Dian N.
  • Jul 8, 2015
Top of the line all-inclusive resort!

Absolutely a wonderful resort. My husband and I went there somewhat as a second honeymoon. The food... See full review

  • Like2Run
  • Apr 6, 2015
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Highlights

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

Nearby attractions

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters 1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Deluxe Junior Suite Golf view
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.g>.
    Royal Beach Suite
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, 990 square feet / 92 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Royal Beach Villa
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, 1163 square feet / 108 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Royal Beach Club Room
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, access to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool and to the Royal Beach Club Lounge with private check-in and check out area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 474 square feet / 44 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Deluxe Junior Suite
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.

    Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Spa
    Night club
    Golf
    Game room
    Solarium
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible Rooms/Facilities

    Hotel Map

    10.4013 -85.8041
    Area served
    Playa Conchal.
    Nearby airports
    Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
    Area description
    The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

    Dining

    Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
    Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
    Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
    Faisanela
    Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
    Bamboo
    Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
    Mediterra
    Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
    Las Candelas
    Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
    Mitra
    International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Caracola
    Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
    Spirula
    Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (180)

    Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    180 out of 180
    Amenities:
    4.4
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.6
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4.2

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Two midwestern profs
    Couples
    Dayton, OH
    Dec 25, 2010

    Not for boring snobs, otherwise PERFECT

    My wife and I went here for the Christmas break as a way to relax. As a reference, we have stayed at quite a few all-inclusives throughout the Carribean, Mexico, and Central America. First of all, a trip to Paradisius is a GREAT way to relax. It is a GOOD way to see the country, but it is definitely a resort. The excursions are nice, and give you a good taste of the country, but without total immersion. You will not see a jaguar, or an ocelot, or many of the super-rare species, unless you go on a series of nocturnal excursions away from the resort. That being said, this was by far the BEST resort we have ever been to for relaxation, service, and sheer friendliness. The resort campus is beautifully landscaped, without being too over-manicured. We heard some complaints from baby-boomer aged guests that it was "too natural" - well, the country of Costa Rica prides itself on its naturalism and ecology....over-manicuring would detract from that nature! There are groups of coati, multiple wild birds, numerous iguana species, and one fascinating troupe of howler monkeys that entranced us for hours. The room was simple yet beautiful, with comfortable accomadations. It was always in pristine condition, and the cleaning staff was wonderful. The bathroom was well stocked and had no issues. The staff was fantastic in every way. In general, we found Costa Ricans ('Ticos') to be a polite, kind people who know that tourism is their major economic strength, and who wish to help travellers see their country and culture. My wife and I never, not once, had anything but a delightful experience with the staff. Sometimes the concierges get overwhelmed by volume, and you have to wait for a bit. They will always get back to you, though, and are always apologetic about the delay. The physical facilities are also wonderful. The pools, tennis courts, and golf course are in fantastic condition. The bartenders are all very pleasant, and the drinks are certainly on the better end of the all-inclusive spectrum (the mojitos are fantastic). A word about the spa - very good service, but the real gem is the outdoor jacuzzi. The beach is public - in Costa Rica, beaches are national property. If you go down the beach just a bit, there are some very beautiful places. Try horseback riding on the beach. There are 4 restaurants that require reservations for dinner, and a fifth open buffet. Overall, the food was the one thing I would give a 4 out of 5 to. There were things that were absolutely wonderful, but a few meals that were average. Agava Azul, the mexican place, was excellent - try the four chili tenderloin. Spices, the asian cuisine, did wonderful things with seafood, but the side item pairings were a bit questionable. The italian place was marginal, and I can't really say that I would go back there. Finally, Gabi, the fusion cuisine place, was excellent - I became hooked on their ceviches. One thing about Costa Rica is the beef is fantastic - if you are a carnivore, I recommend trying beef in as many ways as possible. For the vegetarians, the options are quite good, and the fruits are to die for (especially the mango). One thing that I would like to share is that most of the people that stayed there that we spoke with loved the place, and would happily come back. However, there was a small subset of, and I apologize for what is likely an overgeneralization, baby boomers who clearly have an idea of what THEY want, and have no interest in anything else. If you are looking for a place where you will be waited on hand and foot on a completely manicured estate with no contact with the outside world or the locals, this is NOT the place for you...go spend your money and complain elsewhere. The bottom line for me is - If you want a delightful vacation in a beautiful country filled with very pleasant people at a lovely facility with access to fascinating animal and plant species and numerous adventure options, this is a ...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Lexington, KY
    Dec 22, 2010

    gem of a place

    Friendly staff, any issues brought to their attention was fixed pronto. Beautiful beach, didn't seem crowded. No issues with adjusting to food and water quality. We will return!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Make your dinner reservations ASAP after check in. Otherwise you will have to eat at the buffet or short order grill on the first night. (Which is not that bad an option)

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    lexzmom
    Friends
    Corona, CA
    Dec 11, 2010

    Excellent Vacation, Worry-Free

    The hotel and location were beautiful. The service was excellent!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make your dinner reservations by 4pm.

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Raleigh,NC
    Nov 25, 2010

    Paradisus Playa Conchal

    Fantastic!!! Plan on returning next year [...]

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Liberia, Costa Rica
    Oct 19, 2010

    Beautiful Views, Excellent Service

    We had experienced one of the best good services in this hotel. Even though its called (Royal Service) In my opinion is not there yet. For the most part all emplyees were very friendly, we just had 2 not too good experiences, on 2 dinners we had on the restaurant, after we ate our entrees, the waiter took for ever to offer dessert, and only served wine once. ( I don't blame the waiter as he was the only one taking orders, later on another waiter was helping)We ended up leaving as we were already 20 minutes late to the shows. The red wine was cold. Where we had a great experiance was on the Asian restaurant, great food, great sushi (just extremely too much rice on the hand rolls.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Not Applicable

    One area where I'm disappointed [...] is that supposedly everything was all inclusive, we paid for hotel/Airfaire/Transportation to and from airport to hotel. We were disappointed that we had to pay $54.00 for some kind of airport fees at the Costa Rica Airport. [...]

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Jill RN
    Couples
    Littleton, CO
    Sep 21, 2010

    Amazing Honeymoon!

    We went to Paridius for our honeymoon after our best friends had been the year before. We were blown away by the "Royal Service", which is a must when booking. The staff was outstanding always stopping to make sure everything was ok, and would call you by your name! The food was outstanding,even though when we were there they were in the process of re-doing a couple of the restuarants which really only gave us 3 options for dinner...but, it was ok since the food was so great! Room service also had great food and with 24hour service, you never went hungry! We booked our ATV/zipline tour with the guys on the beach which was amazing (and about $100 cheapier then the hotel offered!) We also booked a catamaran tour, but we did this thru the hotel. The snorkling was fun and the boat staff were great! The only downside was the rain!! Bring an umbrella or use the hotels and you will be fine. Overall, we had an amazing time and a honeymoon that we will never forget! Pura Vida!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make sure that you get your reservations early, or you will be eating at 10pm everynight!!

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Chicago, IL
    Sep 11, 2010

    Wonderful week in paradise

    We had a wonderful time at the Paradisus. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. The food was good, although the Italian and Asian restaurants were the best. We recommend also traveling to Angelina's and the Golden Shrimp - there is car service through the hotel. We booked all our tours through Alex on the beach. They were great, although it might have been fun with a group. The rain didn't bother us at all, just a shower or two in the afternoon. It was a trip to remember, thanks to the Paradisus.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    The Scotts
    Couples
    San Diego, CA
    Aug 30, 2010

    Left Early, No Refund

    This is a sprawling, complex resort set in a great location. All of the promised amenities are rarely offered and then subject to availability (Sushi Class only offered one hour on Thursdays). The beach is incredible, but you need to dodge the mini-trucks on EVERY PATH! You will see iguanas, butterflies, and coati frequently. The staff is everywhere, maintaining the grounds, and the only friendly people. Most of the guests walk around with the "Paradisus stare" which can best be translated as "I paid how much for this?" The rooms are big, sterile, tiled mausoleums, lacking coziness. Lastly, it was the first nights of our Honeymoon, and all the "Romance Advisors" could offer was champagne and strawberries (for an extra charge). This is much better for corporate retreats than romantic getaways which is why we left a night early with no [...] refund.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Try to make your reservations for dinner ASAP! We planned on dining at the Palapa, but it was booked by Proctor and Gamble for a Private (no other guests) Dinner without any notice. Fortunately, we were saved by a very kind hostess at another restaurant.

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Family
    West Palm Beach Florida
    Aug 19, 2010

    Execellent custumer service,food, view

    Menu items need to be more specific Transportation to Liberia airport from the resort was 3 hours before departure ( too early). Customer service was execellent- well trained and professional staff, cleanliness is execellent, great variety of foods to choose from, safe place to vacation. I will definetaly return again and will recommend the resort to family and friends.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Go to other hotel
    Family
    Orlando, Florida
    Aug 17, 2010

    BAD customer service and not friendly

    The wedding planner did not plan for family and guest to be close to each other. Front Desk was not friendly or helpful. The wedding planner to the bride that wedding on the beach is $$ cost on the wedding day, change the dinner memu with out notice, and serve the bride and groom food last on their wedding day. The set-up for the wedding was cheap looking for the $$ the hotel charge. The excursion the to expensive and their is nothing near by in a walking distance. Wedding and vacation is Mexico the much better the this place 100%. Spider problem in the rooms.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Back to menu Return to top