$430 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 23, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
connecticut, usa
Jan 9, 2011

excellent place if you like the style

this is great for people who like to drink and sit around the pool in perfect weather and a clean environment. the food is fine with lots of fresh seafood and ok fruit that is better if purchased off-campus. the staff is friendly and courteous and it is very clean. But you could just as well go to miami unless you leave the hotel to surf or do eco travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

walks on the beach and surfing

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy & Ray
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 30, 2010

6 days of total relaxation

Royal Service was included in our vacation package. This allowed us access to the Bali beds (which must be reserved) next to the adults-only pool. My husband and I spent most days relaxing there, leaving only to walk to the Gabi Club for lunch (usually a glass of champagne and one of their excellent ceviches). We managed not to eat at the buffet, Mitra, during our stay. Be sure to make reservations at the various a la carte restaurants when you arrive. The concierge will give you a reservation receipt that you need to present to the hostess. Otherwise, there can be a wait while she confirms it. We did take one day trip to Rincon de la Vieja for a nature hike (7am - 3pm). We opted not to go to Arenal or Monteverde due to the length of the trip - 4 hours one way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased round-trip shuttle service. It took about an hour to get to the resort. For our 7:50 am flight back home, we were scheduled for a 4 am pick-up at the resort. Although Liberia is an international airport, 5:30 am would have given us plenty of time before our flight.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two midwestern profs
Business
Dayton, OH
Dec 25, 2010

Not for boring snobs, otherwise PERFECT

My wife and I went here for the Christmas break as a way to relax. As a reference, we have stayed at quite a few all-inclusives throughout the Carribean, Mexico, and Central America. First of all, a trip to Paradisius is a GREAT way to relax. It is a GOOD way to see the country, but it is definitely a resort. The excursions are nice, and give you a good taste of the country, but without total immersion. You will not see a jaguar, or an ocelot, or many of the super-rare species, unless you go on a series of nocturnal excursions away from the resort. That being said, this was by far the BEST resort we have ever been to for relaxation, service, and sheer friendliness. The resort campus is beautifully landscaped, without being too over-manicured. We heard some complaints from baby-boomer aged guests that it was "too natural" - well, the country of Costa Rica prides itself on its naturalism and ecology....over-manicuring would detract from that nature! There are groups of coati, multiple wild birds, numerous iguana species, and one fascinating troupe of howler monkeys that entranced us for hours. The room was simple yet beautiful, with comfortable accomadations. It was always in pristine condition, and the cleaning staff was wonderful. The bathroom was well stocked and had no issues. The staff was fantastic in every way. In general, we found Costa Ricans ('Ticos') to be a polite, kind people who know that tourism is their major economic strength, and who wish to help travellers see their country and culture. My wife and I never, not once, had anything but a delightful experience with the staff. Sometimes the concierges get overwhelmed by volume, and you have to wait for a bit. They will always get back to you, though, and are always apologetic about the delay. The physical facilities are also wonderful. The pools, tennis courts, and golf course are in fantastic condition. The bartenders are all very pleasant, and the drinks are certainly on the better end of the all-inclusive spectrum (the mojitos are fantastic). A word about the spa - very good service, but the real gem is the outdoor jacuzzi. The beach is public - in Costa Rica, beaches are national property. If you go down the beach just a bit, there are some very beautiful places. Try horseback riding on the beach. There are 4 restaurants that require reservations for dinner, and a fifth open buffet. Overall, the food was the one thing I would give a 4 out of 5 to. There were things that were absolutely wonderful, but a few meals that were average. Agava Azul, the mexican place, was excellent - try the four chili tenderloin. Spices, the asian cuisine, did wonderful things with seafood, but the side item pairings were a bit questionable. The italian place was marginal, and I can't really say that I would go back there. Finally, Gabi, the fusion cuisine place, was excellent - I became hooked on their ceviches. One thing about Costa Rica is the beef is fantastic - if you are a carnivore, I recommend trying beef in as many ways as possible. For the vegetarians, the options are quite good, and the fruits are to die for (especially the mango). One thing that I would like to share is that most of the people that stayed there that we spoke with loved the place, and would happily come back. However, there was a small subset of, and I apologize for what is likely an overgeneralization, baby boomers who clearly have an idea of what THEY want, and have no interest in anything else. If you are looking for a place where you will be waited on hand and foot on a completely manicured estate with no contact with the outside world or the locals, this is NOT the place for you...go spend your money and complain elsewhere. The bottom line for me is - If you want a delightful vacation in a beautiful country filled with very pleasant people at a lovely facility with access to fascinating animal and plant species and numerous adventure options, this is a ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 22, 2010

gem of a place

Friendly staff, any issues brought to their attention was fixed pronto. Beautiful beach, didn't seem crowded. No issues with adjusting to food and water quality. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your dinner reservations ASAP after check in. Otherwise you will have to eat at the buffet or short order grill on the first night. (Which is not that bad an option)

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lexzmom
Business
Corona, CA
Dec 11, 2010

Excellent Vacation, Worry-Free

The hotel and location were beautiful. The service was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations by 4pm.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh,NC
Nov 25, 2010

Paradisus Playa Conchal

Fantastic!!! Plan on returning next year [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 2, 2010

Good for couples

Good for couples. Slow season and renovations so limited activities and dining options. Very nice golf course and facilities. Hoya 19 and the Gaby restaurant are the best. Good sushi and so so Italian. Nice, friendly staff. Clean, spacious rooms (note: King size beds are actually two queens put together). Royal service is worth the money. Overall - good place for couples looking for a quiet, low key, relaxing getaway. Families ok but not recommended for singles or those that are very active. Nothing else to see nearby really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 2, 2010

Good for couples

Good for couples. Slow season and renovations so limited activities and dining options. Very nice golf course and facilities. Hoya 19 and the Gaby restaurant are the best. Good sushi and so so Italian. Nice, friendly staff. Clean, spacious rooms (note: King size beds are actually two queens put together). Royal service is worth the money. Overall - good place for couples looking for a quiet, low key, relaxing getaway. Families ok but not recommended for singles or those that are very active. Nothing else to see nearby really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Liberia, Costa Rica
Oct 19, 2010

Beautiful Views, Excellent Service

We had experienced one of the best good services in this hotel. Even though its called (Royal Service) In my opinion is not there yet. For the most part all emplyees were very friendly, we just had 2 not too good experiences, on 2 dinners we had on the restaurant, after we ate our entrees, the waiter took for ever to offer dessert, and only served wine once. ( I don't blame the waiter as he was the only one taking orders, later on another waiter was helping)We ended up leaving as we were already 20 minutes late to the shows. The red wine was cold. Where we had a great experiance was on the Asian restaurant, great food, great sushi (just extremely too much rice on the hand rolls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

One area where I'm disappointed [...] is that supposedly everything was all inclusive, we paid for hotel/Airfaire/Transportation to and from airport to hotel. We were disappointed that we had to pay $54.00 for some kind of airport fees at the Costa Rica Airport. [...]

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill RN
Business
Littleton, CO
Sep 21, 2010

Amazing Honeymoon!

We went to Paridius for our honeymoon after our best friends had been the year before. We were blown away by the "Royal Service", which is a must when booking. The staff was outstanding always stopping to make sure everything was ok, and would call you by your name! The food was outstanding,even though when we were there they were in the process of re-doing a couple of the restuarants which really only gave us 3 options for dinner...but, it was ok since the food was so great! Room service also had great food and with 24hour service, you never went hungry! We booked our ATV/zipline tour with the guys on the beach which was amazing (and about $100 cheapier then the hotel offered!) We also booked a catamaran tour, but we did this thru the hotel. The snorkling was fun and the boat staff were great! The only downside was the rain!! Bring an umbrella or use the hotels and you will be fine. Overall, we had an amazing time and a honeymoon that we will never forget! Pura Vida!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure that you get your reservations early, or you will be eating at 10pm everynight!!

Back to menu Return to top