The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$589
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Really Nice Hotel, Awesome Staff

Would recommend Tue, Apr 12, 2011
I did a lot of research before I decided upon the Paradisus and my research paid off! First, I wanted an all inclusive where the food was good! I consider myself a foodie. I love good restaurants and good food. The food at the hotel wasn't gourmet but I enjoyed 90% of my meals. We ate all our lunches by the pool, the burgers are amazing! For dinner we ate at Gabi Club everything was delicious, Italian Restaurant everything was delicious and Spices, the soup and appetizers were terrible and I was worried about my dinner. My dinner turned out to be really good. One night we went to the Golden Shrimp which was down the road. Lots of reviews I've read, people walked to the restaurant. When I asked the hotel they recommended we don't walk and take the free shuttle the Golden Shrimp has. The food was very good and reasonably priced. I also read a lot about people who upgraded to Royal Service. When I booked my trip I originally did not upgrade but after a few more days of research after booking the trip I decided to upgrade and called the hotel to upgrade. It was worth the money. Royal Service is the adult only section of the resort. So the pool was very quiet and relaxing. The Butlers were great and we had breakfast everyday at Gabi Club. While at the resort we took advantage of a bunch of free activities. We took a cigar making and coffee tasting class. Both were a lot of fun. We also took some exercising classes - stretching and yoga. I really liked the stretching class and Orland and Kenny were great! We also took golf lessons. The gold club for the most part was a good experience. A lot of people complained about all the walking to get from one place to another. Yes, there is walking to get from your building to the stores, main pool, activities center, main lobby, gym, etc. but none of these walks were more than 5 - 10 minutes tops. The longest walk would be from the main lobby to the main pool. But there are carts always around the area driving people to different areas. The beach was public but it was pretty empty. The vendors weren't aggressive and the beach was nice. We didn't stay but just had to see since we were there. Had we not upgraded to Royal Service I'm sure we would have enjoyed our trip but I think the pool area would not have been as relaxing. People were playing basketball and volleyball and were pretty loud but they were having fun. If you don't mind the noise you should be fine. You'll miss out on the food at Gabi Club, which is for Royal Service guests but it looked like you could pay a small fee to dine there if you wanted. Would I go back, yes. However, as of May 1st it will be a Westin property and I'm not sure what changes they'll make to the resort in terms of service.

Attractions

Most of the good attractions are a 2 hour car ride away. If you're going to do them don't do them back-to-back. We did the Rincon de La Vieja One Day Adventure on Saturday. And were in no shape to do our Whitewater Rafting adventure on Sunday.

| Flemington, NJ Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Hotel was wonderful!

Would recommend Thu, Apr 7, 2011
The all inclusive deals was wonderful! We had stay at a regular villa but we had upgraded to royal service thinking we were going to have an ocean view room. But it was just a room close to the beach entrance. We could have save $500 and stay at our regular room and still enjoy all the inclusives like restaurants, activities, and tours. Besides that everything else was great! Love the services! Would definitely come back. Just a big warning! There are lots of mosquitos so whom ever is going to travel to costa rica during spring or summer, definitely need bug repellant! Hope this will help for other families...

| paradisus playa conchal resort Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

playa conchal

Would recommend Mon, Apr 4, 2011
very nice Hotel , big but easy to move in . good buffet and restaurants , always available chairs around the pool or at the beach . costa-ricans are very nice and joyful. will go again and recommand .Pura Vida

| little ,AR Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Fabulous Weather. Great Meals

Would not recommend Mon, Mar 28, 2011
We just returned from Spring break at the Paradisus Playa Conchal. The weather was perfect. Every day was 90 degrees, bright clear sky and no rain (dry season). The night sky was also amazing clear - the blackest sky and brightest stars we ever saw. The meals at all 3 restaurants (Mexican, Italian and Asia) were really good. The buffet was average. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The beds were actually very comfortable. On the flip side, the rooms, bathrooms, and room furniture need to be updated. And, they need to make investment in improving the grounds (landscaping, walkways, pool area, etc.). For example, many landscape lights were broken off with live-wires exposed; Big, dirt ruts along walkways, etc. We enjoyed the huge pool, but the hot tub was out-of-order and filled with yucky green slime. They need more trash cans around the pool so that empty drinks cups don't pile up along the walls and tables. Oh, I almost forgot, the Casino is shut down (one of reasons we picked this spot was to do some gambling, and were disappointed that they didn't tell us they closed it). We selected the Paradisus over the Guanacaste Riu, but now sorry we didn't go to the Riu. We talked to some folks who were staying at the Riu and their description was superior to Paradisus. All in all, we enjoyed our time especially given the wonderful weather and good food. But, if we visit Guanacaste again, we will go to the Riu.

Attractions

Don't come here if you want to spend time at the beach. The entrance to the beach is trashy; the waves are too fierce to enjoy the water; and the sand is hard to walk in.

| Ohio Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

It is Paradise!

Would recommend Sun, Mar 27, 2011
This hotel was spectacular. It is perfect in every way; the food was delicious the accomodations were modern and comfortable, the drinks were plentiful and the pool and ocean were gorgeous. The best part was the friendly and helpful staff.

| Minneapolis, MN Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Almost Perfect!

Would recommend Sat, Mar 26, 2011
I loved the grounds and over all "feel" of this resort, it is not yet too slick. The beach by the resort is public land and it was so very nice to be able to mingle with people from the community, and they sold their goods and services much cheeper than on the poperty. The food was quite good and there were many choices. Unlike most resorts in the Carribean there was no pool service, so you had to go and order your drinks from the bar, which was no big deal. The pool area was wonderful and there were lots of activities offered if you wanted to join in. The suite concept of the rooms was wonderful, with a large balcony to enjoy. The bathrooms were a little dated but totally functional. The t.v. offered many stations in english if you wanted to come in from the heat. We say many many forms of wildlife on the property, which was very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and eager to please Over all it was a great vacation.

| Wichita KS Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Experience!

Would recommend Mon, Mar 21, 2011
We were impressed with this resort. There is not a huge variety of resturants to choose from, but the ones that are there had a great menu selection. The rooms are all-suit and spacious. They all have their own porch/balcony area. A 24 hour room service is included, so we ordered a couple of times and it never took over 30 minutes to get our food. With our own balcony, it was relaxing to sit out there and dine without having to get dressed up to go to a resturant. The golf course was well kept, challenging and had great views. The staff was friendly and so were the people when we got off the resort.

Attractions

There are lots of things to do off the resort. Zip lining through the jungle and white water rafting in the tropics are great experiences!!

| Nebraska Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great all-inclusive resort

Would recommend Mon, Mar 21, 2011
royal service experience was worth it and would definitely return

| New York, NY Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

40th wedding anniversary

Would not recommend Sun, Mar 20, 2011
Casino which was advertised was closed. Service (despite upgrading to royal service) was poor. Waited up to 10-15 minutes for drinks at the swim up bar until we complained. Food was good. Only two beer choices...imperial or light.

Attractions

Had excellent time ziplining at base of volcano. Highlight of the trip.

| chicago, il Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Truly amazing!

Would recommend Sat, Mar 12, 2011
We just returned from an eleven day honeymoon at Paradisus and it was the trip of a lifetime. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel, and especially the staff. They were incredible. We ended up getting an upgrade to Royal Service, which was a real treat. [...] were some of the nicest people we have ever met, and they really made us feel special.The food here is great...after ten days you get a little tired of anything, but no complaints whatsoever. We did a few excursions - a surfing lesson in Tamarindo and the Buena Vista combo tour. Both were excellent. Our only complaint about this hotel is the transportation that runs constantly. It's very convenient when you are feeling too lazy to walk for five minutes, but when you do try to walk (especially at night) it's a little unnerving to constantly get passed by larger vehicles. Overall, one of the best trips I have ever taken!

Time saver

We would highly recommend getting private transportation from the hotel. It ended up costing about $20 extra but was well worth it to not stop and multiple hotels on the way to your destination.

| Minneapolis, MN Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5