$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDock
Business
Martinsburg, WV
Nov 14, 2011

Wonderful /Resort

We loved this resort! I would recommend this all inclusive resort to couples and families who value quality food, staff, and ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was top notch!! Everywhere we ate was incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emcman
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Better to wait

The hotel room is average and though remodeled it does not show it. Three of the six resturants and under remodel for another month. Location is good. The pool is large and very nice, lots of animals and the ocean is fun to play in. The GM and head chief are new from the week I was there so things should get better. The shower / bath combo is not up to top resort standards. Most at this level have larger seperate units or at least a hand held shower. That said it was still a fun stay and resort personel are good. We enjoyed our stay mainly due to the pool and wildlige , mainly Cotes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you order roomservice do not put your left over dishes on your patio. The animals will get it. A lower room seems best and walk rather than raid the carts there as you will see more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ReneeC
Business
Chelsea
Oct 14, 2011

Bad experience

food is awful, over half the restaurants are closed, every room service order has been wrong then they don't understand you when you try to send it back and complain. The only good service here we have had are the bartenders and those poor guys don't even get tips most of the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cherry2011
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Westin Guanacaste Review

This is an excellent place to stay in Costa Rica. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They truly have your best interests at heart. When we arrived, we were met by friendly staff, were given a tasty drink to start off our vacation and were immediately seen by someone at the reception. There are a ton of activities to chose from within the resort including water aerobics, sea kayaking and snorkeling, beach yoga, cocktail tasting, sushi making, etc. There is a show every night of the week with great dancers. The food is AMAZING at every restaurant. Also, the pool bar has very good drinks. The pizzas at the snack bar are a great quick lunch. Our room was comfortable. The only strange thing was that they had pushed together 2 queen beds to make one big king, so there was a crack in the middle of the bed. The store is very expensive, they were charging $26 for sublock. So I recommend going offsite for any toiletries you might need. Overall, I had a wonderful vacation and would definitely stay here again if we go back to Costa Rica!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

In the hotel, you can book various adventure tours. I HIGHLY recommend the ATV and canopy tour. We had a great time on the ATVs driving around the area, and then swinging in the trees. Overall an experience I won't forget!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tinto
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

All-Inclusive Heaven

This was a fantastic experience. I just got back from my honeymoon at the Westin and it was better than I could have ever imagined. The facilities, staff and everything in between was amazing! For couples and all adults for that matter, I highly recommend investing in a Royal Beach Club package. It's not just a clever name, you actually are treated like royalty. We were at the hotel in the low season, which was actually rather pleasant because there were not that many people around, it seemed very private. I heard it gets pretty busy in the high season. The weather was very enjoyable with rain and thunder/lightning pretty much just happening for an hour or two in the afternoon. Overall this was a great experience and I am looking forward to going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations as early as you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 3, 2011

The good and the bad

We stayed the last week of April before it was taken over by the Westin. The hotel itself needed some upgrading, especially the rooms, needed to be a bit "cleaner". The pool was amazing! Nice, big and clean! The food was good - our favorite was the Italian restaurant! All the fruit was delicious! For being an "all-inclusive" there was no variety in liquor :( There was never a TOP shelf Vodka or any kind of drink for that matter .... they should specify that before you pay for "all-inclusive" service! Staff was nice and friendly - they work super hard for the tips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

As soon as you arrive make your dinner appts especially if you like to eat early -- there were nights that we didn't have dinner until 9pm!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 2, 2011

All Inclusive paradise!

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was great. We had an amazing time and would highly recommend Costa Rica as a travel destination and this hotel in particular. The golf course was AMAZING with iguanas, Pizotes (they look like big racoons) and monkeys as part of the scenery. we did one excursion that included zip lining, horseback riding, mud bath and a swim at the hot springs and to end it all, a water slide that was 1/2 a mile long through the rain forest. I highly recommend the travel guys that hang out on the beach by the resort, they saved our group A LOT of money and our tour guide was fantasic. I would go back tomorrow if I could :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guantacaste
Apr 21, 2011

Great price, even better service!

Our experience was fabulous. The staff and customer service was outstanding. When you check in, you get a wrist band with different colors. We were in the "Family" section, even though we were on our honeymoon, and it was fabulous. We had personal pool-side service for drinks, food, and towels. This is a great destination for families, honeymooners, and couples get-aways. While there, we rode ATVs, went zip lining, learned to surf, went paddle boarding, and relaxed by the pool. The hotel does a great job of helping you set up excursions and other activities during your stay. They also had lots of activities for kids - including watching kids between 9 am and 4 pm each day. There were pool toys for kids and night activities as well. The food was alright - there was a lot of variety. Our favorite feature was the swim up bar. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BMWMAN
Business
JACKSON, NJ
Apr 20, 2011

Relaxing getaway

The overall facility was nice, but a little disappointing because of the rave reviews we got from other people who were there. The lobby was very plain. We have been to other resorts where the lobby really set the mood for the exotic locale, and where we were given drinks during check in. The junior suite was excellent. The food was good to very good, but the restaurant style and decor did not reflect the type of food served, i.e. Italian, Mexican. The quality of the service was spotty, from poor to excellent. This may be because the resort is being sold to Best Western very shortly. There were not enough umbrellas for the beach, and they are needed to keep from burning. Because of this there were times we had to stay at the pool, instead of being on the beach where we really wanted to be. As you walk from the resort to the beach you have to pass through an area with local vendors, and I found that to be a negative, although the vendors and tour representatives are not pushy. In that same area the vendors are allowed to park their vehicles, and in the late afternoon you can hear them revving the engines, which takes away from the relaxing environment of the beach. We mainly stayed at the resort, except for one day when we walked to the town of Brasilito, which is very small, and only has a few vendors. The evening shows were very entertaining. All in all, it was a good, relaxing vacation, but I don't know if I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The massage on the beach was better than the much more expensive one in the spa, although the spa environment is much nicer and you can use the jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room. The pedicure was just okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaSV
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Apr 18, 2011

Good Trip

Overall the place was good although it didn't seem to be at peak operating status. Not sure if it has anything to do with the Westin buying it. It won't be associated with the Paradisus/Sol Melia hotels soon. There were 3 restaurants that you need a reservation for at dinner time and are included in your stay - Mexican, Italian and Asian. All pretty good. We didn't eat at the Gabi restaurant (extra costs) but heard it was decent. The buffet breakfast and lunch offerings were rather limited. Good food but always the same thing so it got very BORING quickly. They snack bar was a good option. The pool was amazing - really warm and big but the hot tub was broken and empty. Not very inspiring. There were a lot of chairs at the pool but not at the beach. The pool bar was decent but they always closed earlier than supposed to. The beer is Imperial and easy to drink, but the liquor was definitely no where near top shelf. The shows at night were a little lame - not like the shows you'd see in the Dominican Republic or Jamaica. If you want to go out - go to Tamarindo for the night and go to a bar called the Crazy Monkey. It's only opened on Friday nights. Another good bar is called the Beach Club and it's right on the beach. The staff was very friendly too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top