$416 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SouthernCityGirl
New York, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Amazing City Escape

As someone who has been spoiled by the amenities of traveling in Southeast Asia, I can say that my Westin experience was absolutely comparable. I traveled with a good friend from the NYC area and we spent an entire week at the hotel. There are so many amenities and attractions in the area that we never felt the need to change our hotel or area during our week in Costa Rica. Here are my suggestions: RESTAURANTS (listed in order of preference) 1. Mediterra - I am from the Gulf coast so I am picky about food and especially seafood, and this was delicious; Mediterranean cuisine, by far my favorite. Don't miss the dessert figs with Cognac and homemade ice cream. 2. Italian restaurant - Very good salads and appetizers. I had salmon, which was delicious. Everyone around was raving about the cannellonis but they were out the night we went. 3. Las Candelas (Latin Restaurant) - Delicious fish, and my friend had a tasty chicken and rice dish. 4. French restaurant in the lobby - I found this restaurant to have an awkward setup and little atmosphere. It was a little dead since we had a 9 PM reservation but I found that this was the ONLY time in my whole stay where a staff member was rude and rushing us out. Plus, the marlin dish was mediocre. I also found the menu to be not typical of French food - no mussels, no pommes frites & steak, etc. 5. Asian fusion restaurant - My least favorite. The fish was actually very good but the Pad Thai was probably the worst I've ever had. The buzz around the resort was that the curry is the thing to get. OTHER EATS / DRINKS: - THE MAIN POOL BAR: great staff and generous bartenders, especially Danny. Just keep in mind that it closes at 6 pm and the poolside actually closes at bit earlier. - THE POOLSIDE RESTAURANT: tasty, try the dish labeled typical costa rican cuisine or something to that effect, it's chicken / rice / beans / cabbage salad = delicious. - ROOM SERVICE: prompt, and especially good for breakfast. Make sure you order condiments (including salt and pepper, hot sauce, etc) otherwise it is not delivered with your food. - DRINKS: request a Kir Royale if you like champagne at any restaurant; the Dirty Monkey was my favorite blended drink. - ASTREA BAR: Closed earlier than posted on the hotel's website based on the number of patrons. That was a disappointment. LOBBY The staff is very helpful, especially Kevin Moreno, as he speaks perfect English and was very accommodating in helping me change return travel plans due to Hurricane Sandy. ROOM Very clean. Spacious. Amazing maid service. Nice drink selection in the mini bar that gets refilled once daily. The only negative room comment that I have is that sometime (ie - breakfast hours) there was a lot of noise from the unit about ours because the furniture chairs and tables are extremely loud on the marble floors. I feel like this is a situation that the Westin staff can easily remedy by placing the round cushions on each of the chair legs. EXCURSIONS As two twenty-something females traveling alone, we felt extremely safe with our excusions booked both through the hotel (Catamaran sunset cruise) and through Erick Garcia on the beach in front of the hotel (Miraballes volcano tour + hiking + mud bath + hot springs, Ziplining, and Surfing in Tamarindo). Erick was not pushy at all and helped us to quickly organize our excursions. All reasonably priced ventures considering that transportation is included. AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION Be prepared to spend around $45 / person each way to / from Liberia airport if you book through the hotel or take a taxi. The drive is about an hour and after all of my internet research, I couldn't find a more reasonable way to do this that made sense (I opted out of the 3 hour + local bus trip). TIPPING Very much appreciated. I recommend bringing plenty of single bills. Overall, an amazing getaway and hotel experience. It's a beautiful country with amazing people and very safe. I wouldn't want my trip any other way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your dinner reservations before 4 pm each day! If for some reason you forget, you may be able to get a table by speaking directly with the restaurant manager of the restaurant where you would like to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiggercat
Business
Jacksovnille, Florida
Jul 29, 2013

Nice Resort

The resort was very nice and good food. The adult only pool was very nice with the swim up bar! The only small negative that I had was our room would not get cold enough with the AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrence
Jun 27, 2008

Just not for us

Paradisus Playa Conchal was not our first all inclusive resort to stay in, so when we arrived and they immediately slapped a bracelet on us, we were disappointed. Our first room was great, then we upgraded to the royal service plan...not worth it. The room was not as nice, the room never got cleaned, the food was less than ok, the drinks would give you sugar diabetes before they gave you a buzz, the staff was GREAT and it seemed like a WONDERFUL family place, but for my husband and I for as expensive as it was....we should have gone to Spain. It is also VERY far away from EVERYTHING in Costa Rica. you have to drive half a day to see anything else but your resort, and the small towns around the resort are less than desirable the resort was by far the nicest thing to stay in in the area, but we were just looking for a better bang for our buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't waste your time going to the Happy Snapper in Brazalitos (the only town you can walk too) which is something that the locals recommend, the resort food is just as good if not better which sucks and is free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 22, 2010

gem of a place

Friendly staff, any issues brought to their attention was fixed pronto. Beautiful beach, didn't seem crowded. No issues with adjusting to food and water quality. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your dinner reservations ASAP after check in. Otherwise you will have to eat at the buffet or short order grill on the first night. (Which is not that bad an option)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 2, 2011

All Inclusive paradise!

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was great. We had an amazing time and would highly recommend Costa Rica as a travel destination and this hotel in particular. The golf course was AMAZING with iguanas, Pizotes (they look like big racoons) and monkeys as part of the scenery. we did one excursion that included zip lining, horseback riding, mud bath and a swim at the hot springs and to end it all, a water slide that was 1/2 a mile long through the rain forest. I highly recommend the travel guys that hang out on the beach by the resort, they saved our group A LOT of money and our tour guide was fantasic. I would go back tomorrow if I could :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita KS
Mar 26, 2011

Almost Perfect!

I loved the grounds and over all "feel" of this resort, it is not yet too slick. The beach by the resort is public land and it was so very nice to be able to mingle with people from the community, and they sold their goods and services much cheeper than on the poperty. The food was quite good and there were many choices. Unlike most resorts in the Carribean there was no pool service, so you had to go and order your drinks from the bar, which was no big deal. The pool area was wonderful and there were lots of activities offered if you wanted to join in. The suite concept of the rooms was wonderful, with a large balcony to enjoy. The bathrooms were a little dated but totally functional. The t.v. offered many stations in english if you wanted to come in from the heat. We say many many forms of wildlife on the property, which was very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and eager to please Over all it was a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaSV
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Apr 18, 2011

Good Trip

Overall the place was good although it didn't seem to be at peak operating status. Not sure if it has anything to do with the Westin buying it. It won't be associated with the Paradisus/Sol Melia hotels soon. There were 3 restaurants that you need a reservation for at dinner time and are included in your stay - Mexican, Italian and Asian. All pretty good. We didn't eat at the Gabi restaurant (extra costs) but heard it was decent. The buffet breakfast and lunch offerings were rather limited. Good food but always the same thing so it got very BORING quickly. They snack bar was a good option. The pool was amazing - really warm and big but the hot tub was broken and empty. Not very inspiring. There were a lot of chairs at the pool but not at the beach. The pool bar was decent but they always closed earlier than supposed to. The beer is Imperial and easy to drink, but the liquor was definitely no where near top shelf. The shows at night were a little lame - not like the shows you'd see in the Dominican Republic or Jamaica. If you want to go out - go to Tamarindo for the night and go to a bar called the Crazy Monkey. It's only opened on Friday nights. Another good bar is called the Beach Club and it's right on the beach. The staff was very friendly too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke VA
Jun 7, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal Review

Adventure/Vacation w/my sons: Did Zip lines, snorkeled on the corral reef, visited the national park where we saw really cool animals including monkeys and crocs, kayaked on the ocean, and met some really cool people. Also had fun lounging around the resort where there are many additionl activities to keep you busy. Beatuful location, huge resort, really nice beach w/alot of room to roam. Food was great - definately 4 star qulity. Less than perfect catagory: only one beer available, had to reserve spot at resturants early and they quickly filled up, outdoor pool closed too early 6pm, can't see the beach from the resort, the service was just ok. I had an excellent overall experience and I'd definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Between the resort and the ocean is a small shopping area w/some of the coolest and inexpensive soveniers I have ever seen. Take extra cash and leave room in your suitcase to bring some stuff back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Koskers
Business
Midland, MI
Oct 15, 2009

BEAUTIFUL!

The hotel was amazing. We visited from September 28 - October 4th and we were basically the only people there. We decided to go with the royal service - which I would strongly suggest to couples traveling for their honeymoon or a get-away. We took a taxi from the airport and were dropped off at the main check in. Once we got out of the taxi we got into a cart that took us to the royal service check in where they had drinks waiting for us. We relaxed and got to know the grounds a bit (everything is spread out). We booked two travel excursions. One included zip lines, rock climbing, free fall, horse back ride, white water tubing, mud bath, and hot springs - all in one day! The other excursion was to the Arenal Volcano. We booked through High Tide with Cris in the royal service lounge and although the excursions were both a little pricey, it was well worth the money. The only bad things that we found were the transportation carts were not very responsive when we asked to be picked up and the restaurants were not very big. As I said before, we were basically the only people at the resort - so I would hate to see the transportation and restaurants when the resort is full. All in all, it was a picture perfect vacation and I think it was well worth the price we paid for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Arenal Volcano is a 4 hour car ride away, but SO worth it. The views are breath-taking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
connecticut, usa
Jan 9, 2011

excellent place if you like the style

this is great for people who like to drink and sit around the pool in perfect weather and a clean environment. the food is fine with lots of fresh seafood and ok fruit that is better if purchased off-campus. the staff is friendly and courteous and it is very clean. But you could just as well go to miami unless you leave the hotel to surf or do eco travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

walks on the beach and surfing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 11, 2010

Wonderful week in paradise

We had a wonderful time at the Paradisus. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. The food was good, although the Italian and Asian restaurants were the best. We recommend also traveling to Angelina's and the Golden Shrimp - there is car service through the hotel. We booked all our tours through Alex on the beach. They were great, although it might have been fun with a group. The rain didn't bother us at all, just a shower or two in the afternoon. It was a trip to remember, thanks to the Paradisus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top