$456 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jskrad
Business
Stone Harbor, NJ, USA
Mar 18, 2012

all inclusive

I'm not an all inclusive fan. I went to the westin to attend a work related conference. I didn't feel like this hotel gave you a true experience of how beautiful Costa Rica is. The food was good but not the traditional Costa Rican fare that can be found elsewhere. The staff was outstanding. The people of Costa Rica are friendly, helpful and genuine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicknamejane
Business
brooklyn
Mar 4, 2012

great staff and beautiful beach

my husband and i came here for our honeymoon and we had a great time. neither of us love all-inclusives generally and prefer to be a little more adventurous, but didn't have time to plan a vacation AND a wedding too... that said, this place was great, if you want to do nothing but lay by the pool and drink, the pool is clean and serene, the drinks are quality, don't bring a giant coffee mug please... if you want to go out and explore the area, there are tons of excursions offered by different groups associated with the hotel... also, rent a car with a GPS and getting around is pretty easy. the staff were very friendly and responsive to our (reasonable) requests. i'm not a snob, but i live in a big city known for it's food, and take advantage of that every chance i get... so given that, the food wasn't too bad at all, the french onion soup was delicious, the minestrone left something to be desired... all in all, i left satisfied and probably a little fatter than when i came. speaking of which, the gym had new equipment and there was never a wait for a machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bjames2
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great service, great vacation for couples or friends

We stayed in the royal beach club area, so I can only comment on that experience. And if you are a couple it's definitely worth the upgrade. Quiet pool area and service always there for you. Everything you need is within a 5 minute walk, and it seems crazy to me that some people saw that as a negative. Ask questions about things to do, and you will find all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Erik on the beach, he has excursions for sale. Definitely do the sunset catamaran with snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Lalehzarian
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 23, 2011

over all nice to be there, yes don''t miss it!!!

Very warm welcome and high quality service so I will definitely visit again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marine1904
Business
Union City, NJ
Dec 22, 2011

AMAZING!!!! A vacation full of ZEN!

My boyfriend and I take 2 vacations per year around the word every year. We just got back yesterday and I can not stop speaking about this heavenly place.. outstanding! We saw monkeys on high trees by the pool..iguanas by the beach. The service is exceptional. If they don't have a special request they will get it or make it for you. The food is extremely flavorful and so good. You can have seconds at anytime, order multiple entrees or appetizers. You get 2 beaches in one, Playa Conchal (which is a white sandy beach) and Brasilito on the other side (which is the dark traditional Costa Rica beach). You will feel as though you are living a moment of Zen everyday all day. Definitely an amazing choice. Clean, great food, great location, amazing staff and very professional tour guides!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure that you request a room close to the pool. You'll be able to be close to all of the restaurants, coffee shop, pool, beach, gym and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CostaKen
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 20, 2011

Army of staff dedicated to your comfort

How can you go wrong surrounded with hundreds of dedicated, professional staff, from the groundskeepers, food service and room service staff to the security and management, all those we encountered were helpful and friendly. Most all the service staff spoke English, those that didn't were great at figuring out what you needed/wanted and worked to meet that need. Food was fresh and well presented at all the different restaurants we visited. The "Thai Bamboo" didn't match our expectations of what Thai food should taste like, but the atmosphere and service matched the quality of the other places. We spent a lot of time on the beach, I felt safe walking there, even at night. There were lots of locals in the area, having fun like we were. They do lock the gates to the beach at Midnight, so pay attention to how long your late night beach walks last. Shows had some great dancers, but the venue left a lot to be desired. (in the old Disco) That will change when the stage renovation is finished. The location is beautiful, but I couldn't give it a perfect rating because the beach surf was not the best, we ended up driving to Playa Grande to find great waves. The value would be a 5, but it is one of the highest priced resorts on the West Coast of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your dinner reservations as soon as you check in the first night, if you don't you will need to order room service or eat at the pizza parlor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
playaconchal
Business
Mahwah, NJ
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent resort and beautiful location

Great beach to swim in! Amazing food! Relaxing massages! Worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDock
Business
Martinsburg, WV
Nov 14, 2011

Wonderful /Resort

We loved this resort! I would recommend this all inclusive resort to couples and families who value quality food, staff, and ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was top notch!! Everywhere we ate was incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emcman
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Better to wait

The hotel room is average and though remodeled it does not show it. Three of the six resturants and under remodel for another month. Location is good. The pool is large and very nice, lots of animals and the ocean is fun to play in. The GM and head chief are new from the week I was there so things should get better. The shower / bath combo is not up to top resort standards. Most at this level have larger seperate units or at least a hand held shower. That said it was still a fun stay and resort personel are good. We enjoyed our stay mainly due to the pool and wildlige , mainly Cotes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you order roomservice do not put your left over dishes on your patio. The animals will get it. A lower room seems best and walk rather than raid the carts there as you will see more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ReneeC
Business
Chelsea
Oct 14, 2011

Bad experience

food is awful, over half the restaurants are closed, every room service order has been wrong then they don't understand you when you try to send it back and complain. The only good service here we have had are the bartenders and those poor guys don't even get tips most of the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top