$416 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicknamejane
Business
brooklyn
Mar 4, 2012

great staff and beautiful beach

my husband and i came here for our honeymoon and we had a great time. neither of us love all-inclusives generally and prefer to be a little more adventurous, but didn't have time to plan a vacation AND a wedding too... that said, this place was great, if you want to do nothing but lay by the pool and drink, the pool is clean and serene, the drinks are quality, don't bring a giant coffee mug please... if you want to go out and explore the area, there are tons of excursions offered by different groups associated with the hotel... also, rent a car with a GPS and getting around is pretty easy. the staff were very friendly and responsive to our (reasonable) requests. i'm not a snob, but i live in a big city known for it's food, and take advantage of that every chance i get... so given that, the food wasn't too bad at all, the french onion soup was delicious, the minestrone left something to be desired... all in all, i left satisfied and probably a little fatter than when i came. speaking of which, the gym had new equipment and there was never a wait for a machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1234none
Business
LA
Apr 5, 2012

Great

Great time, good food and helpful staff. I would recommend the staff to better explain the package in more details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownie810
Business
United States
Jul 14, 2012

Great family trip

We went for eight nights in July and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the area is beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Change in my pocket
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 16, 2012

Great value

The Westin Resort at Playa Conchal was a terrific place for my wife and me to spend our honeymoon. The trip from the airport was about a one hour cab ride to the resort, and cost $100 US. Although we exchanged some dollars for Colones, it was unnecessary, as everyone in Costa Rica takes American money. The staff at the resort was friendly and professional, the food was quite good, and the variety of six or seven restaurants helped ensure we did not get sick of the menu choices over our two week stay. The resort is located right next to the public beach, which was nice except for the incessant harassment you are subjected to from locals trying to sell you trinkets or day trips. We booked excursions both through the company located on the Westin grounds as well as through a local on the beach, and both were reasonably priced and well organized. The resort never felt crowded, although we were there in October, which is part of the low season. We did not upgrade to the premiere package, and we are glad we did not. It costs quite a bit more than the traditional all-inclusive package, and you don't get much for your money. The basic package included all you can eat and drink, including room service and mini bar. The booze was good, and the bar at the pool proved very convenient. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mismissy
Business
NY, NY
Oct 19, 2012

Great Staff

Staff always courteous and seemed that they really wanted to be helpful. Food was average but better than at typical al inclusive resorts. We upgraded to royal beach lb. Really worth the money as you have a private pool area with fantastic staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

"Let's Explore Costa Rica" fabulous tour guides!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cmuller
Business
Marietta Ga
Nov 29, 2012

So Relaxing!

This is the second time I've been to this resort and I love it! Some people complain about the beach but it's actually one of my favorites. I would describe it as a wild/natural beach rather than a caribbean style beach with sugary sand and the best part... its not covered in beach chairs and umbrellas! You are basically located in a large cove and flanked on either side by rocky outcrops. The beach is lined with tropical trees and vegetation so you really get the feelings (once you walk away from the resort) of being on a secluded jungle beach. If you are looking to surf this is not the beach for you. Since this beach is located in a cove the waves are too small, but a short drive away (about 19 km) is Playa Grande which is some of the best surfing in Costa Rica and much better than Tamarindo. A note about the food: The restaurants at the resort are pretty decent we specifically liked the italian and mediterranean restaurants. The Mitra buffet is only OK at best and i'd describe it as a typical resort/cruise buffet and the service is a bit spotty especially when it gets busier. The only complaint I have is the way they do restaurant reservations. You have to make a reservation for the restaurants between 8am and 4pm. If you go on any excursions making reservations for that day is impossible because you leave before 8am and are always back later than 4 so make sure you make your reservations days before. The other complaint I have is that we were told several times when trying to make reservations that all the restaurants were full and that nothing was available (we didn't have this problem the first time we visited). However when we walked by the restaurants there were about 4 tables that were occupied and 20 or so that were empty. When we asked why we were told there were no reservations left they said that they only make a certain number of reservations available per night. So even though it appears that there would be plenty of space for anyone that would want to make a reservation there isn't and you are apparently vying for some unknown number of tables. My advice would be to make your reservations the day you get there knowing that you might get stuck eating at the Mitra the first couple of days until something "opens up".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Playa Grande for the best surfing (skip Tamarindo)

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corgi Wrangler
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 11, 2012

Pretty good...

Nice grounds, great food, Costa Rica is awesome, really nice hotel, big pool Cons: Kids.... Booooo! Definite class system! Royal beach club members are treated much better No surfing right at hotel, but a short 20 min bus trip Definitely get "nickel and dimmed", lots of extras, and things are pricey (especially spa and golf!) About an hour from Liberia airport and transport was $90 each way for 2 people (book in advance!) Overall, it's a really nice hotel, probably best in that area. Other all-inclusives may be better resorts, but in not as nice countries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't forget your sunblock, hotel store is expensive!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BertzBird
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Dec 18, 2012

Great Family Time

The hotel staff couldn't be any better - polite, and willing to do anything they can to help you have a great stay. The "tram" drivers even begin to put the faces with the rooms and where you usually go, and if you need any special help. My Sister-In-Law needed to sit in the from of the tram with the driver and every time they picked us up, the driver immediately opened the cab door for her without even asking. The pool was fantastic, but the beach was a little lacking, not in service, but in amount of beach. Plus, rip-tides tend to hang out there and most people just used the beach for motor sports. The only time the pool was less than diserable was when some people with very young kids wanted everyone to "take part in their time" and invaded the adult part, instead of staying in the kids pool with the kids. The only other thing that was lacking was consistency with houskeeping in getting bathroom supplies. My wife also needed the doctor while we were there and she came at 10 pm to the room. She was very knowledgeable and concerned. She helped my wife considerably which allowed her to enjoy the last couple of days at the resort. Would come back again - better than Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Buffet is great for any meal, but the Italian restaurant Faisanella was excellant!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latraveler78
Business
Los Angeles, ca
May 29, 2013

Great vacation

My first time traveling solo and the Westin didn't let me down. The rooms were clean, pool was huge and the staff all very friendly. My one slight disappointment was that the food could be better and the drinks stronger. Fantastic value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tommy hawk
Business
chicago
Jun 18, 2013

honeymoon

We had a awesome time at this resort. Plenty of things to do on site or off. They treated us like royalty here especially our butler Eric. The golf course was great just wish they gave me a sleeve of balls, for all the money they charged. Only negative was we needed to see a dr immediately and when we called for a ride it took 20 minutes for someone to bring us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top