$350 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corgi Wrangler
Couples
San Diego, CA
Dec 11, 2012

Pretty good...

Nice grounds, great food, Costa Rica is awesome, really nice hotel, big pool Cons: Kids.... Booooo! Definite class system! Royal beach club members are treated much better No surfing right at hotel, but a short 20 min bus trip Definitely get "nickel and dimmed", lots of extras, and things are pricey (especially spa and golf!) About an hour from Liberia airport and transport was $90 each way for 2 people (book in advance!) Overall, it's a really nice hotel, probably best in that area. Other all-inclusives may be better resorts, but in not as nice countries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't forget your sunblock, hotel store is expensive!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BertzBird
Couples
Huntington Beach, CA
Dec 18, 2012

Great Family Time

The hotel staff couldn't be any better - polite, and willing to do anything they can to help you have a great stay. The "tram" drivers even begin to put the faces with the rooms and where you usually go, and if you need any special help. My Sister-In-Law needed to sit in the from of the tram with the driver and every time they picked us up, the driver immediately opened the cab door for her without even asking. The pool was fantastic, but the beach was a little lacking, not in service, but in amount of beach. Plus, rip-tides tend to hang out there and most people just used the beach for motor sports. The only time the pool was less than diserable was when some people with very young kids wanted everyone to "take part in their time" and invaded the adult part, instead of staying in the kids pool with the kids. The only other thing that was lacking was consistency with houskeeping in getting bathroom supplies. My wife also needed the doctor while we were there and she came at 10 pm to the room. She was very knowledgeable and concerned. She helped my wife considerably which allowed her to enjoy the last couple of days at the resort. Would come back again - better than Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Buffet is great for any meal, but the Italian restaurant Faisanella was excellant!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latraveler78
Single
Los Angeles, ca
May 29, 2013

Great vacation

My first time traveling solo and the Westin didn't let me down. The rooms were clean, pool was huge and the staff all very friendly. My one slight disappointment was that the food could be better and the drinks stronger. Fantastic value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tommy hawk
Couples
chicago
Jun 18, 2013

honeymoon

We had a awesome time at this resort. Plenty of things to do on site or off. They treated us like royalty here especially our butler Eric. The golf course was great just wish they gave me a sleeve of balls, for all the money they charged. Only negative was we needed to see a dr immediately and when we called for a ride it took 20 minutes for someone to bring us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiggercat
Couples
Jacksovnille, Florida
Jul 29, 2013

Nice Resort

The resort was very nice and good food. The adult only pool was very nice with the swim up bar! The only small negative that I had was our room would not get cold enough with the AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lawrence
Jun 27, 2008

Just not for us

Paradisus Playa Conchal was not our first all inclusive resort to stay in, so when we arrived and they immediately slapped a bracelet on us, we were disappointed. Our first room was great, then we upgraded to the royal service plan...not worth it. The room was not as nice, the room never got cleaned, the food was less than ok, the drinks would give you sugar diabetes before they gave you a buzz, the staff was GREAT and it seemed like a WONDERFUL family place, but for my husband and I for as expensive as it was....we should have gone to Spain. It is also VERY far away from EVERYTHING in Costa Rica. you have to drive half a day to see anything else but your resort, and the small towns around the resort are less than desirable the resort was by far the nicest thing to stay in in the area, but we were just looking for a better bang for our buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't waste your time going to the Happy Snapper in Brazalitos (the only town you can walk too) which is something that the locals recommend, the resort food is just as good if not better which sucks and is free.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lexington, KY
Dec 22, 2010

gem of a place

Friendly staff, any issues brought to their attention was fixed pronto. Beautiful beach, didn't seem crowded. No issues with adjusting to food and water quality. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your dinner reservations ASAP after check in. Otherwise you will have to eat at the buffet or short order grill on the first night. (Which is not that bad an option)

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Austin, TX
May 2, 2011

All Inclusive paradise!

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was great. We had an amazing time and would highly recommend Costa Rica as a travel destination and this hotel in particular. The golf course was AMAZING with iguanas, Pizotes (they look like big racoons) and monkeys as part of the scenery. we did one excursion that included zip lining, horseback riding, mud bath and a swim at the hot springs and to end it all, a water slide that was 1/2 a mile long through the rain forest. I highly recommend the travel guys that hang out on the beach by the resort, they saved our group A LOT of money and our tour guide was fantasic. I would go back tomorrow if I could :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Wichita KS
Mar 26, 2011

Almost Perfect!

I loved the grounds and over all "feel" of this resort, it is not yet too slick. The beach by the resort is public land and it was so very nice to be able to mingle with people from the community, and they sold their goods and services much cheeper than on the poperty. The food was quite good and there were many choices. Unlike most resorts in the Carribean there was no pool service, so you had to go and order your drinks from the bar, which was no big deal. The pool area was wonderful and there were lots of activities offered if you wanted to join in. The suite concept of the rooms was wonderful, with a large balcony to enjoy. The bathrooms were a little dated but totally functional. The t.v. offered many stations in english if you wanted to come in from the heat. We say many many forms of wildlife on the property, which was very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and eager to please Over all it was a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaSV
Couples
Hoboken, NJ
Apr 18, 2011

Good Trip

Overall the place was good although it didn't seem to be at peak operating status. Not sure if it has anything to do with the Westin buying it. It won't be associated with the Paradisus/Sol Melia hotels soon. There were 3 restaurants that you need a reservation for at dinner time and are included in your stay - Mexican, Italian and Asian. All pretty good. We didn't eat at the Gabi restaurant (extra costs) but heard it was decent. The buffet breakfast and lunch offerings were rather limited. Good food but always the same thing so it got very BORING quickly. They snack bar was a good option. The pool was amazing - really warm and big but the hot tub was broken and empty. Not very inspiring. There were a lot of chairs at the pool but not at the beach. The pool bar was decent but they always closed earlier than supposed to. The beer is Imperial and easy to drink, but the liquor was definitely no where near top shelf. The shows at night were a little lame - not like the shows you'd see in the Dominican Republic or Jamaica. If you want to go out - go to Tamarindo for the night and go to a bar called the Crazy Monkey. It's only opened on Friday nights. Another good bar is called the Beach Club and it's right on the beach. The staff was very friendly too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top