$456 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmichael0007
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 6, 2012

Relaxing Vacation Getaway

This resort met all our expectations, we were sad to leave. Our stay was short, only two nights but we had a great time. There are numerous activities planned throughout the day and the all inclusive drinks and fine dining is to die for. We are not beach people so did not spend any time on the public beach area, which was not near as inviting as the exotic pools and spas throughout the resort. We can't wait to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This resort is secluded from other activities and tourist areas in Costa Rica so the cost to purchase outside tours etc include surcharges for transportaion to the activity locations which will consume an entire day away from your all inclusive drinks and food. We found it most relaxing to stay within the resort while we were there and rented a car to travel ourselves to other areas of Costa Rica, staying in various other hotels along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S d p
Business
New jersey
Oct 3, 2012

Awesome anniversary

Everything was just perfect. The people there were very friendly and the area is very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BML2012
Business
Hartford, CT
Sep 13, 2012

Costa Rica Trip

Overall good but nothing exceptional. Regardless of where you stay there is plenty to do in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go ziplining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Courtney W.
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2012

Good value, but not what I expected from a Westin Hotel

The rooms and the grounds of this hotel were absolutely beautiful, but the rest failed to meet my expectations. I thought the food was just average and staff was below average. I had to ask multiple times to get drinks at every meal and the waiters were not very attentive. Waiters would forget orders, bring the wrong food and had major problems describing the cuisine. My other major problem with the hotel was it seemed like it was not easy to get to other places in Costa Rica from there, unless you had a car. I think this would be a great place to stay for part of my trip to costa rica, but I would not spend my entire vacation there again. However, the Westin was a good value. It cost me $1800 for airfare and seven nights at the Westin (which includes meals, drinks, room service and non-motorized sports equipment). That said, you should still expect to spend money to do other activities in costa rica. You can book everything though the hotel, but I think it is cheeper to walk just off the hotel property onto the beach and book with one of the local companies. There is a guy named "Eric" who runs a company that will take you on any tour you could possibly want to go on (you can recognize Eric and his employees because they are wearing t-shirts with marlins on them). Final Tip: Bring lots of cash. If you plan to stay at the hotel you will just need cash for tips. If you plan to venture outside the hotel most vendors only accept cash, or if they accept credit card they usually offer a discount for paying in cash. Tours booked through the hotel can be billed to your room and paid for on credit card, but many credit cards have an international fee (it may not be much, but it is something to think about). American dollars are totally fine. I did not encounter one place that did not accept dollars, in fact, I think most places prefer dollars to the local currency, colones. Finally, there is a $28/person tax to leave the country. You can use a credit card to pay the tax, but it is billed as a cash advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring Lost of Cash. Most places only accept cash. if they accept credit card, they prefer cash. It is easier to get discounts and deals if you pay in cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownie810
Business
United States
Jul 14, 2012

Great family trip

We went for eight nights in July and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the area is beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lisa&chris
Business
az
Jul 9, 2012

wonderful resort and staff

people were very friendly and the food was wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

i would make sure you order several different items to make sure you get the portion you want and like at least one of the choices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad and Leslie
Business
Katy, TX
Jul 8, 2012

Great Place to Relax

We traveled 6/16-6/23 with 5 other family members. Everyone will agree that the Westin Playa Conchal is a great place to relax. The resort is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. We have stayed at plenty of all inclusive resorts and this one is more of a relaxed environment rather than a party one. It took some getting use to it getting daylight at like 5 A.M. Some of the animial around ther resort were really cool. The pool can get a little warm at times, but that just gave us a reason to go to the beautiful beach. Don't waste your money on a rental car. It cost almost $500 for the week for an economy car. It is about an hour drive from the airport. Once at the resort, anything excursion is at least a two hour drive, except for the small town that is about 15 minutes away to do some shopping. We went on a couple of excursions. We booked a white water rafting trip and it exceeded all of our expecttations. We booked the trips from Erik Garcia. He is on the beach and is not affilated with the resort and gives great deals!! The rest of the time we just relaxed. Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping at the closest town Tamirando is ok. They do not haggle with you at all and most have all the same stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle Y.
Business
Staten Island, NY
May 5, 2012

My Husband's 40th Birthday!

The resort was beautiful. It felt like a little village. I like that it wasn't a high rise hotel. It was small compounds with about 8 rooms per building and you had to walk around to get to the pool, restaurants, spa and shops. My compound was close to the pool, spa and restaurant so it wasn't that long of a walk but they have shuttle service that will pick you up and drop you off anywhere you want if your building is further away. I was in buildling 29. The food was amazingly delicious much better than the Barcelo and Riu in Punta Cana. Extremely friendly staff, very clean and the rooms are Junior Suites so you walk into a living room area then go up a few steps to your bed. The room has a mini wet bar that they refill with drinks every day. You can upgrade to the Royal Beach Club for a bigger room and more amenities like a private concierge, pillow menu, private pool and a lounge area that is stocked with snacks and drinks all day, but my stay was really good without that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see Erik Garcia as soon as you walk onto the beach. His tours are cheaper than the hotel tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagomom
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Gorgeous resort, beautiful pool, perfect family destination

The resort is absolutely gorgeous and perfect for a family vacation. The pool is beautiful and outstanding for kids. My 8-year old could have spent the entire vacation at the swim-up bar! Service is almost universally stellar -- the resort does still seem to be working out minor snafus (prices printed on the menus at an all-inclusive?), but it does not detract in any way from the relaxing and awesome experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant is the best among many excellent choices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1234none
Business
LA
Apr 5, 2012

Great

Great time, good food and helpful staff. I would recommend the staff to better explain the package in more details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bill and jen
Business
Leesburg, VA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Great all-inclusive

This was a great all-inclusive resort. The food was great at every restaurant. There were plenty of choices, and we had no problem getting reservations the morning of each dinner. The resort was beautiful, and its spread-out so you don't feel like you are on top of the other guests. The rooms are very nice, spacious suites. We had prompt maid service every day, but we noticed at the end of the week they hadn't every mopped the tile floors, and they were quite dirty...but no big deal. The staff were all VERY friendly and helpful, and all knew English very well. The beach left a little to be desired. The bartenders were very generous with the alcohol, especially after they got to know you. Overall, a great resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The French and Italian restaurants were the best, but they were all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top