$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Guanacaste, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
184 reviews
The Westin Conchal is a great resort!!

My wife and I spent five great days at the Westin and enjoyed everything. The service staff is... See full review

  • PAPA G.
  • Oct 28, 2013
Wonderfull vacation !

I have always loved Costa Rica but the westin at playa conchal is absolutely a amazing resort and... See full review

  • Stuckey
  • Sep 30, 2013
Local attractions include Ricon de la Vieja National Park, Santa Rosa National Park, Las Baulas Nacional Marine Park, Guanacaste National Park, Bahia Junquillal National Wildlife Refuge.

Guest rooms are equipped with a spacious and private terrace or balcony, marble floors, deluxe bathrooms, a separate living area with comfortable seating, plasma TVs, air conditioning, cable TV, IPod docking station, daily stocked minibar and 24-hour room service. Adult guests can upgrade themselves to the exclusive Royal Beach Club featuring the discreet assistance of personal concierges, along with a tremendous variety of preferential services, access and reservations Additional facilities include ballroom, billiards, children facilities, lobby, reception, tennis courts and golf and spa service .

The following amenities are available at cost:
- Airport transfer.
- Baby sitting service.
- Dry cleaning.
- Gift shop.
- Golf course.

"From May through November 2011, hotel will be undergoing redesign of guest rooms and public areas. During this time the Resort will continue to operate with as little disruption as possible as the renovations have been carefully planned. We apologize in advance for this situation."

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
SouthernCityGirl
New York, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Amazing City Escape

As someone who has been spoiled by the amenities of traveling in Southeast Asia, I can say that my Westin experience was absolutely comparable. I traveled with a good friend from the NYC area and we spent an entire week at the hotel. There are so many amenities and attractions in the area that we never felt the need to change our hotel or area during our week in Costa Rica. Here are my suggestions: RESTAURANTS (listed in order of preference) 1. Mediterra - I am from the Gulf coast so I am picky about food and especially seafood, and this was delicious; Mediterranean cuisine, by far my favorite. Don't miss the dessert figs with Cognac and homemade ice cream. 2. Italian restaurant - Very good salads and appetizers. I had salmon, which was delicious. Everyone around was raving about the cannellonis but they were out the night we went. 3. Las Candelas (Latin Restaurant) - Delicious fish, and my friend had a tasty chicken and rice dish. 4. French restaurant in the lobby - I found this restaurant to have an awkward setup and little atmosphere. It was a little dead since we had a 9 PM reservation but I found that this was the ONLY time in my whole stay where a staff member was rude and rushing us out. Plus, the marlin dish was mediocre. I also found the menu to be not typical of French food - no mussels, no pommes frites & steak, etc. 5. Asian fusion restaurant - My least favorite. The fish was actually very good but the Pad Thai was probably the worst I've ever had. The buzz around the resort was that the curry is the thing to get. OTHER EATS / DRINKS: - THE MAIN POOL BAR: great staff and generous bartenders, especially Danny. Just keep in mind that it closes at 6 pm and the poolside actually closes at bit earlier. - THE POOLSIDE RESTAURANT: tasty, try the dish labeled typical costa rican cuisine or something to that effect, it's chicken / rice / beans / cabbage salad = delicious. - ROOM SERVICE: prompt, and especially good for breakfast. Make sure you order condiments (including salt and pepper, hot sauce, etc) otherwise it is not delivered with your food. - DRINKS: request a Kir Royale if you like champagne at any restaurant; the Dirty Monkey was my favorite blended drink. - ASTREA BAR: Closed earlier than posted on the hotel's website based on the number of patrons. That was a disappointment. LOBBY The staff is very helpful, especially Kevin Moreno, as he speaks perfect English and was very accommodating in helping me change return travel plans due to Hurricane Sandy. ROOM Very clean. Spacious. Amazing maid service. Nice drink selection in the mini bar that gets refilled once daily. The only negative room comment that I have is that sometime (ie - breakfast hours) there was a lot of noise from the unit about ours because the furniture chairs and tables are extremely loud on the marble floors. I feel like this is a situation that the Westin staff can easily remedy by placing the round cushions on each of the chair legs. EXCURSIONS As two twenty-something females traveling alone, we felt extremely safe with our excusions booked both through the hotel (Catamaran sunset cruise) and through Erick Garcia on the beach in front of the hotel (Miraballes volcano tour + hiking + mud bath + hot springs, Ziplining, and Surfing in Tamarindo). Erick was not pushy at all and helped us to quickly organize our excursions. All reasonably priced ventures considering that transportation is included. AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION Be prepared to spend around $45 / person each way to / from Liberia airport if you book through the hotel or take a taxi. The drive is about an hour and after all of my internet research, I couldn't find a more reasonable way to do this that made sense (I opted out of the 3 hour + local bus trip). TIPPING Very much appreciated. I recommend bringing plenty of single bills. Overall, an amazing getaway and hotel experience. It's a beautiful country with amazing people and very safe. I wouldn't want my trip any other way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your dinner reservations before 4 pm each day! If for some reason you forget, you may be able to get a table by speaking directly with the restaurant manager of the restaurant where you would like to eat.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
1234none
LA
Apr 5, 2012

Great

Great time, good food and helpful staff. I would recommend the staff to better explain the package in more details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
bill and jen
Leesburg, VA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Great all-inclusive

This was a great all-inclusive resort. The food was great at every restaurant. There were plenty of choices, and we had no problem getting reservations the morning of each dinner. The resort was beautiful, and its spread-out so you don't feel like you are on top of the other guests. The rooms are very nice, spacious suites. We had prompt maid service every day, but we noticed at the end of the week they hadn't every mopped the tile floors, and they were quite dirty...but no big deal. The staff were all VERY friendly and helpful, and all knew English very well. The beach left a little to be desired. The bartenders were very generous with the alcohol, especially after they got to know you. Overall, a great resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The French and Italian restaurants were the best, but they were all good.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
jskrad
Stone Harbor, NJ, USA
Mar 18, 2012

all inclusive

I'm not an all inclusive fan. I went to the westin to attend a work related conference. I didn't feel like this hotel gave you a true experience of how beautiful Costa Rica is. The food was good but not the traditional Costa Rican fare that can be found elsewhere. The staff was outstanding. The people of Costa Rica are friendly, helpful and genuine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
nicknamejane
brooklyn
Mar 4, 2012

great staff and beautiful beach

my husband and i came here for our honeymoon and we had a great time. neither of us love all-inclusives generally and prefer to be a little more adventurous, but didn't have time to plan a vacation AND a wedding too... that said, this place was great, if you want to do nothing but lay by the pool and drink, the pool is clean and serene, the drinks are quality, don't bring a giant coffee mug please... if you want to go out and explore the area, there are tons of excursions offered by different groups associated with the hotel... also, rent a car with a GPS and getting around is pretty easy. the staff were very friendly and responsive to our (reasonable) requests. i'm not a snob, but i live in a big city known for it's food, and take advantage of that every chance i get... so given that, the food wasn't too bad at all, the french onion soup was delicious, the minestrone left something to be desired... all in all, i left satisfied and probably a little fatter than when i came. speaking of which, the gym had new equipment and there was never a wait for a machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Bjames2
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great service, great vacation for couples or friends

We stayed in the royal beach club area, so I can only comment on that experience. And if you are a couple it's definitely worth the upgrade. Quiet pool area and service always there for you. Everything you need is within a 5 minute walk, and it seems crazy to me that some people saw that as a negative. Ask questions about things to do, and you will find all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Erik on the beach, he has excursions for sale. Definitely do the sunset catamaran with snorkeling.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
David Lalehzarian
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 23, 2011

over all nice to be there, yes don''t miss it!!!

Very warm welcome and high quality service so I will definitely visit again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Marine1904
Union City, NJ
Dec 22, 2011

AMAZING!!!! A vacation full of ZEN!

My boyfriend and I take 2 vacations per year around the word every year. We just got back yesterday and I can not stop speaking about this heavenly place.. outstanding! We saw monkeys on high trees by the pool..iguanas by the beach. The service is exceptional. If they don't have a special request they will get it or make it for you. The food is extremely flavorful and so good. You can have seconds at anytime, order multiple entrees or appetizers. You get 2 beaches in one, Playa Conchal (which is a white sandy beach) and Brasilito on the other side (which is the dark traditional Costa Rica beach). You will feel as though you are living a moment of Zen everyday all day. Definitely an amazing choice. Clean, great food, great location, amazing staff and very professional tour guides!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure that you request a room close to the pool. You'll be able to be close to all of the restaurants, coffee shop, pool, beach, gym and shops.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
CostaKen
Lexington, KY
Dec 20, 2011

Army of staff dedicated to your comfort

How can you go wrong surrounded with hundreds of dedicated, professional staff, from the groundskeepers, food service and room service staff to the security and management, all those we encountered were helpful and friendly. Most all the service staff spoke English, those that didn't were great at figuring out what you needed/wanted and worked to meet that need. Food was fresh and well presented at all the different restaurants we visited. The "Thai Bamboo" didn't match our expectations of what Thai food should taste like, but the atmosphere and service matched the quality of the other places. We spent a lot of time on the beach, I felt safe walking there, even at night. There were lots of locals in the area, having fun like we were. They do lock the gates to the beach at Midnight, so pay attention to how long your late night beach walks last. Shows had some great dancers, but the venue left a lot to be desired. (in the old Disco) That will change when the stage renovation is finished. The location is beautiful, but I couldn't give it a perfect rating because the beach surf was not the best, we ended up driving to Playa Grande to find great waves. The value would be a 5, but it is one of the highest priced resorts on the West Coast of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your dinner reservations as soon as you check in the first night, if you don't you will need to order room service or eat at the pizza parlor.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
playaconchal
Mahwah, NJ
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent resort and beautiful location

Great beach to swim in! Amazing food! Relaxing massages! Worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
MDock
Martinsburg, WV
Nov 14, 2011

Wonderful /Resort

We loved this resort! I would recommend this all inclusive resort to couples and families who value quality food, staff, and ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was top notch!! Everywhere we ate was incredible.

Back to menu Return to top