$472 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
192 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Eco-friendly resort tucked in lush forest
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
3 Reasons To Stay

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Things To Do

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning,Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite Golf view
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, 990 square feet / 92 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Villa
1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, 1163 square feet / 108 square meters, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning,Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, access to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool and to the Royal Beach Club Lounge with private check-in and check out area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 474 square feet / 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($15.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SouthernCityGirl
New York, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Amazing City Escape

As someone who has been spoiled by the amenities of traveling in Southeast Asia, I can say that my Westin experience was absolutely comparable. I traveled with a good friend from the NYC area and we spent an entire week at the hotel. There are so many amenities and attractions in the area that we never felt the need to change our hotel or area during our week in Costa Rica. Here are my suggestions: RESTAURANTS (listed in order of preference) 1. Mediterra - I am from the Gulf coast so I am picky about food and especially seafood, and this was delicious; Mediterranean cuisine, by far my favorite. Don't miss the dessert figs with Cognac and homemade ice cream. 2. Italian restaurant - Very good salads and appetizers. I had salmon, which was delicious. Everyone around was raving about the cannellonis but they were out the night we went. 3. Las Candelas (Latin Restaurant) - Delicious fish, and my friend had a tasty chicken and rice dish. 4. French restaurant in the lobby - I found this restaurant to have an awkward setup and little atmosphere. It was a little dead since we had a 9 PM reservation but I found that this was the ONLY time in my whole stay where a staff member was rude and rushing us out. Plus, the marlin dish was mediocre. I also found the menu to be not typical of French food - no mussels, no pommes frites & steak, etc. 5. Asian fusion restaurant - My least favorite. The fish was actually very good but the Pad Thai was probably the worst I've ever had. The buzz around the resort was that the curry is the thing to get. OTHER EATS / DRINKS: - THE MAIN POOL BAR: great staff and generous bartenders, especially Danny. Just keep in mind that it closes at 6 pm and the poolside actually closes at bit earlier. - THE POOLSIDE RESTAURANT: tasty, try the dish labeled typical costa rican cuisine or something to that effect, it's chicken / rice / beans / cabbage salad = delicious. - ROOM SERVICE: prompt, and especially good for breakfast. Make sure you order condiments (including salt and pepper, hot sauce, etc) otherwise it is not delivered with your food. - DRINKS: request a Kir Royale if you like champagne at any restaurant; the Dirty Monkey was my favorite blended drink. - ASTREA BAR: Closed earlier than posted on the hotel's website based on the number of patrons. That was a disappointment. LOBBY The staff is very helpful, especially Kevin Moreno, as he speaks perfect English and was very accommodating in helping me change return travel plans due to Hurricane Sandy. ROOM Very clean. Spacious. Amazing maid service. Nice drink selection in the mini bar that gets refilled once daily. The only negative room comment that I have is that sometime (ie - breakfast hours) there was a lot of noise from the unit about ours because the furniture chairs and tables are extremely loud on the marble floors. I feel like this is a situation that the Westin staff can easily remedy by placing the round cushions on each of the chair legs. EXCURSIONS As two twenty-something females traveling alone, we felt extremely safe with our excusions booked both through the hotel (Catamaran sunset cruise) and through Erick Garcia on the beach in front of the hotel (Miraballes volcano tour + hiking + mud bath + hot springs, Ziplining, and Surfing in Tamarindo). Erick was not pushy at all and helped us to quickly organize our excursions. All reasonably priced ventures considering that transportation is included. AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION Be prepared to spend around $45 / person each way to / from Liberia airport if you book through the hotel or take a taxi. The drive is about an hour and after all of my internet research, I couldn't find a more reasonable way to do this that made sense (I opted out of the 3 hour + local bus trip). TIPPING Very much appreciated. I recommend bringing plenty of single bills. Overall, an amazing getaway and hotel experience. It's a beautiful country with amazing people and very safe. I wouldn't want my trip any other way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your dinner reservations before 4 pm each day! If for some reason you forget, you may be able to get a table by speaking directly with the restaurant manager of the restaurant where you would like to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S d p
Business
New jersey
Oct 3, 2012

Awesome anniversary

Everything was just perfect. The people there were very friendly and the area is very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BML2012
Business
Hartford, CT
Sep 13, 2012

Costa Rica Trip

Overall good but nothing exceptional. Regardless of where you stay there is plenty to do in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go ziplining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Courtney W.
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2012

Good value, but not what I expected from a Westin Hotel

The rooms and the grounds of this hotel were absolutely beautiful, but the rest failed to meet my expectations. I thought the food was just average and staff was below average. I had to ask multiple times to get drinks at every meal and the waiters were not very attentive. Waiters would forget orders, bring the wrong food and had major problems describing the cuisine. My other major problem with the hotel was it seemed like it was not easy to get to other places in Costa Rica from there, unless you had a car. I think this would be a great place to stay for part of my trip to costa rica, but I would not spend my entire vacation there again. However, the Westin was a good value. It cost me $1800 for airfare and seven nights at the Westin (which includes meals, drinks, room service and non-motorized sports equipment). That said, you should still expect to spend money to do other activities in costa rica. You can book everything though the hotel, but I think it is cheeper to walk just off the hotel property onto the beach and book with one of the local companies. There is a guy named "Eric" who runs a company that will take you on any tour you could possibly want to go on (you can recognize Eric and his employees because they are wearing t-shirts with marlins on them). Final Tip: Bring lots of cash. If you plan to stay at the hotel you will just need cash for tips. If you plan to venture outside the hotel most vendors only accept cash, or if they accept credit card they usually offer a discount for paying in cash. Tours booked through the hotel can be billed to your room and paid for on credit card, but many credit cards have an international fee (it may not be much, but it is something to think about). American dollars are totally fine. I did not encounter one place that did not accept dollars, in fact, I think most places prefer dollars to the local currency, colones. Finally, there is a $28/person tax to leave the country. You can use a credit card to pay the tax, but it is billed as a cash advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring Lost of Cash. Most places only accept cash. if they accept credit card, they prefer cash. It is easier to get discounts and deals if you pay in cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownie810
Business
United States
Jul 14, 2012

Great family trip

We went for eight nights in July and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the area is beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lisa&chris
Business
az
Jul 9, 2012

wonderful resort and staff

people were very friendly and the food was wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

i would make sure you order several different items to make sure you get the portion you want and like at least one of the choices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad and Leslie
Business
Katy, TX
Jul 8, 2012

Great Place to Relax

We traveled 6/16-6/23 with 5 other family members. Everyone will agree that the Westin Playa Conchal is a great place to relax. The resort is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. We have stayed at plenty of all inclusive resorts and this one is more of a relaxed environment rather than a party one. It took some getting use to it getting daylight at like 5 A.M. Some of the animial around ther resort were really cool. The pool can get a little warm at times, but that just gave us a reason to go to the beautiful beach. Don't waste your money on a rental car. It cost almost $500 for the week for an economy car. It is about an hour drive from the airport. Once at the resort, anything excursion is at least a two hour drive, except for the small town that is about 15 minutes away to do some shopping. We went on a couple of excursions. We booked a white water rafting trip and it exceeded all of our expecttations. We booked the trips from Erik Garcia. He is on the beach and is not affilated with the resort and gives great deals!! The rest of the time we just relaxed. Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping at the closest town Tamirando is ok. They do not haggle with you at all and most have all the same stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle Y.
Business
Staten Island, NY
May 5, 2012

My Husband's 40th Birthday!

The resort was beautiful. It felt like a little village. I like that it wasn't a high rise hotel. It was small compounds with about 8 rooms per building and you had to walk around to get to the pool, restaurants, spa and shops. My compound was close to the pool, spa and restaurant so it wasn't that long of a walk but they have shuttle service that will pick you up and drop you off anywhere you want if your building is further away. I was in buildling 29. The food was amazingly delicious much better than the Barcelo and Riu in Punta Cana. Extremely friendly staff, very clean and the rooms are Junior Suites so you walk into a living room area then go up a few steps to your bed. The room has a mini wet bar that they refill with drinks every day. You can upgrade to the Royal Beach Club for a bigger room and more amenities like a private concierge, pillow menu, private pool and a lounge area that is stocked with snacks and drinks all day, but my stay was really good without that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see Erik Garcia as soon as you walk onto the beach. His tours are cheaper than the hotel tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagomom
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Gorgeous resort, beautiful pool, perfect family destination

The resort is absolutely gorgeous and perfect for a family vacation. The pool is beautiful and outstanding for kids. My 8-year old could have spent the entire vacation at the swim-up bar! Service is almost universally stellar -- the resort does still seem to be working out minor snafus (prices printed on the menus at an all-inclusive?), but it does not detract in any way from the relaxing and awesome experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant is the best among many excellent choices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1234none
Business
LA
Apr 5, 2012

Great

Great time, good food and helpful staff. I would recommend the staff to better explain the package in more details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bill and jen
Business
Leesburg, VA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Great all-inclusive

This was a great all-inclusive resort. The food was great at every restaurant. There were plenty of choices, and we had no problem getting reservations the morning of each dinner. The resort was beautiful, and its spread-out so you don't feel like you are on top of the other guests. The rooms are very nice, spacious suites. We had prompt maid service every day, but we noticed at the end of the week they hadn't every mopped the tile floors, and they were quite dirty...but no big deal. The staff were all VERY friendly and helpful, and all knew English very well. The beach left a little to be desired. The bartenders were very generous with the alcohol, especially after they got to know you. Overall, a great resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The French and Italian restaurants were the best, but they were all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top