$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mismissy
Business
NY, NY
Oct 19, 2012

Great Staff

Staff always courteous and seemed that they really wanted to be helpful. Food was average but better than at typical al inclusive resorts. We upgraded to royal beach lb. Really worth the money as you have a private pool area with fantastic staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

"Let's Explore Costa Rica" fabulous tour guides!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Change in my pocket
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 16, 2012

Great value

The Westin Resort at Playa Conchal was a terrific place for my wife and me to spend our honeymoon. The trip from the airport was about a one hour cab ride to the resort, and cost $100 US. Although we exchanged some dollars for Colones, it was unnecessary, as everyone in Costa Rica takes American money. The staff at the resort was friendly and professional, the food was quite good, and the variety of six or seven restaurants helped ensure we did not get sick of the menu choices over our two week stay. The resort is located right next to the public beach, which was nice except for the incessant harassment you are subjected to from locals trying to sell you trinkets or day trips. We booked excursions both through the company located on the Westin grounds as well as through a local on the beach, and both were reasonably priced and well organized. The resort never felt crowded, although we were there in October, which is part of the low season. We did not upgrade to the premiere package, and we are glad we did not. It costs quite a bit more than the traditional all-inclusive package, and you don't get much for your money. The basic package included all you can eat and drink, including room service and mini bar. The booze was good, and the bar at the pool proved very convenient. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suzanne N.
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Oct 5, 2012

Relaxation, Fun, and Adventure

The Westin Playal Conchal is the perfect resort for anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. My two girl friends and I just got back and we all would absolutely suggest traveling to Costa Rica during the tourtist off season. We were immediately upgraded to a larger room and dinner reservations were much easier to make, than if the hotel were busier. Another benefit of traveling during the slower season is that it feels like you have the resort basically to yourselves if you're looking for a truly relaxing experience. The food at the resort was very good. The spaghetti bolognese at Spirula was amazing, my friends and I went back everyday for lunch. The food at the Mediterranean, Italian, and Latin restaurants were all very delicious. Don't be afraid to order almost everything on the menu, like my friends and I did, you've gotta get your money's worth for an All Inclusive. Being a group of 3 girls, everyone back home was apprehensive about us booking adventure tours. We met Erik Garcia out on the beach and ended up booking several tours through him and again because it ws slow season, the tours were basically private tours and we felt as safe as can be. We went on the Congo Canopy tour. The ziplining experience was amazing and we got to play with monkeys when we were done. Later in the day, we took a trip to Tamarindo and I got to go surfing. Surfing in Costa Rica was near the top of my bucket list and I was ecstatic that I got to experience it. The following day we went on a waterfall and volcano tour with our guide, Rico Suave. The waterfall was absolutely majestic and the volcano tour included a hike, lunch, a walk around the crater, hot springs, mud baths, and a water slide through the forest. Honestly, one of the most amazing trips ever!!! I encourage anyone going through a tough time to take a chance and a trip to Costa Rica for some rest, relaxation, and rejuvenation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S d p
Business
New jersey
Oct 3, 2012

Awesome anniversary

Everything was just perfect. The people there were very friendly and the area is very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BML2012
Business
Hartford, CT
Sep 13, 2012

Costa Rica Trip

Overall good but nothing exceptional. Regardless of where you stay there is plenty to do in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go ziplining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Courtney W.
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2012

Good value, but not what I expected from a Westin Hotel

The rooms and the grounds of this hotel were absolutely beautiful, but the rest failed to meet my expectations. I thought the food was just average and staff was below average. I had to ask multiple times to get drinks at every meal and the waiters were not very attentive. Waiters would forget orders, bring the wrong food and had major problems describing the cuisine. My other major problem with the hotel was it seemed like it was not easy to get to other places in Costa Rica from there, unless you had a car. I think this would be a great place to stay for part of my trip to costa rica, but I would not spend my entire vacation there again. However, the Westin was a good value. It cost me $1800 for airfare and seven nights at the Westin (which includes meals, drinks, room service and non-motorized sports equipment). That said, you should still expect to spend money to do other activities in costa rica. You can book everything though the hotel, but I think it is cheeper to walk just off the hotel property onto the beach and book with one of the local companies. There is a guy named "Eric" who runs a company that will take you on any tour you could possibly want to go on (you can recognize Eric and his employees because they are wearing t-shirts with marlins on them). Final Tip: Bring lots of cash. If you plan to stay at the hotel you will just need cash for tips. If you plan to venture outside the hotel most vendors only accept cash, or if they accept credit card they usually offer a discount for paying in cash. Tours booked through the hotel can be billed to your room and paid for on credit card, but many credit cards have an international fee (it may not be much, but it is something to think about). American dollars are totally fine. I did not encounter one place that did not accept dollars, in fact, I think most places prefer dollars to the local currency, colones. Finally, there is a $28/person tax to leave the country. You can use a credit card to pay the tax, but it is billed as a cash advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring Lost of Cash. Most places only accept cash. if they accept credit card, they prefer cash. It is easier to get discounts and deals if you pay in cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownie810
Business
United States
Jul 14, 2012

Great family trip

We went for eight nights in July and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the area is beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lisa&chris
Business
az
Jul 9, 2012

wonderful resort and staff

people were very friendly and the food was wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

i would make sure you order several different items to make sure you get the portion you want and like at least one of the choices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad and Leslie
Business
Katy, TX
Jul 8, 2012

Great Place to Relax

We traveled 6/16-6/23 with 5 other family members. Everyone will agree that the Westin Playa Conchal is a great place to relax. The resort is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. We have stayed at plenty of all inclusive resorts and this one is more of a relaxed environment rather than a party one. It took some getting use to it getting daylight at like 5 A.M. Some of the animial around ther resort were really cool. The pool can get a little warm at times, but that just gave us a reason to go to the beautiful beach. Don't waste your money on a rental car. It cost almost $500 for the week for an economy car. It is about an hour drive from the airport. Once at the resort, anything excursion is at least a two hour drive, except for the small town that is about 15 minutes away to do some shopping. We went on a couple of excursions. We booked a white water rafting trip and it exceeded all of our expecttations. We booked the trips from Erik Garcia. He is on the beach and is not affilated with the resort and gives great deals!! The rest of the time we just relaxed. Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping at the closest town Tamirando is ok. They do not haggle with you at all and most have all the same stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle Y.
Business
Staten Island, NY
May 5, 2012

My Husband's 40th Birthday!

The resort was beautiful. It felt like a little village. I like that it wasn't a high rise hotel. It was small compounds with about 8 rooms per building and you had to walk around to get to the pool, restaurants, spa and shops. My compound was close to the pool, spa and restaurant so it wasn't that long of a walk but they have shuttle service that will pick you up and drop you off anywhere you want if your building is further away. I was in buildling 29. The food was amazingly delicious much better than the Barcelo and Riu in Punta Cana. Extremely friendly staff, very clean and the rooms are Junior Suites so you walk into a living room area then go up a few steps to your bed. The room has a mini wet bar that they refill with drinks every day. You can upgrade to the Royal Beach Club for a bigger room and more amenities like a private concierge, pillow menu, private pool and a lounge area that is stocked with snacks and drinks all day, but my stay was really good without that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see Erik Garcia as soon as you walk onto the beach. His tours are cheaper than the hotel tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top