$370 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SouthernCityGirl
New York, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Amazing City Escape

As someone who has been spoiled by the amenities of traveling in Southeast Asia, I can say that my Westin experience was absolutely comparable. I traveled with a good friend from the NYC area and we spent an entire week at the hotel. There are so many amenities and attractions in the area that we never felt the need to change our hotel or area during our week in Costa Rica. Here are my suggestions: RESTAURANTS (listed in order of preference) 1. Mediterra - I am from the Gulf coast so I am picky about food and especially seafood, and this was delicious; Mediterranean cuisine, by far my favorite. Don't miss the dessert figs with Cognac and homemade ice cream. 2. Italian restaurant - Very good salads and appetizers. I had salmon, which was delicious. Everyone around was raving about the cannellonis but they were out the night we went. 3. Las Candelas (Latin Restaurant) - Delicious fish, and my friend had a tasty chicken and rice dish. 4. French restaurant in the lobby - I found this restaurant to have an awkward setup and little atmosphere. It was a little dead since we had a 9 PM reservation but I found that this was the ONLY time in my whole stay where a staff member was rude and rushing us out. Plus, the marlin dish was mediocre. I also found the menu to be not typical of French food - no mussels, no pommes frites & steak, etc. 5. Asian fusion restaurant - My least favorite. The fish was actually very good but the Pad Thai was probably the worst I've ever had. The buzz around the resort was that the curry is the thing to get. OTHER EATS / DRINKS: - THE MAIN POOL BAR: great staff and generous bartenders, especially Danny. Just keep in mind that it closes at 6 pm and the poolside actually closes at bit earlier. - THE POOLSIDE RESTAURANT: tasty, try the dish labeled typical costa rican cuisine or something to that effect, it's chicken / rice / beans / cabbage salad = delicious. - ROOM SERVICE: prompt, and especially good for breakfast. Make sure you order condiments (including salt and pepper, hot sauce, etc) otherwise it is not delivered with your food. - DRINKS: request a Kir Royale if you like champagne at any restaurant; the Dirty Monkey was my favorite blended drink. - ASTREA BAR: Closed earlier than posted on the hotel's website based on the number of patrons. That was a disappointment. LOBBY The staff is very helpful, especially Kevin Moreno, as he speaks perfect English and was very accommodating in helping me change return travel plans due to Hurricane Sandy. ROOM Very clean. Spacious. Amazing maid service. Nice drink selection in the mini bar that gets refilled once daily. The only negative room comment that I have is that sometime (ie - breakfast hours) there was a lot of noise from the unit about ours because the furniture chairs and tables are extremely loud on the marble floors. I feel like this is a situation that the Westin staff can easily remedy by placing the round cushions on each of the chair legs. EXCURSIONS As two twenty-something females traveling alone, we felt extremely safe with our excusions booked both through the hotel (Catamaran sunset cruise) and through Erick Garcia on the beach in front of the hotel (Miraballes volcano tour + hiking + mud bath + hot springs, Ziplining, and Surfing in Tamarindo). Erick was not pushy at all and helped us to quickly organize our excursions. All reasonably priced ventures considering that transportation is included. AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION Be prepared to spend around $45 / person each way to / from Liberia airport if you book through the hotel or take a taxi. The drive is about an hour and after all of my internet research, I couldn't find a more reasonable way to do this that made sense (I opted out of the 3 hour + local bus trip). TIPPING Very much appreciated. I recommend bringing plenty of single bills. Overall, an amazing getaway and hotel experience. It's a beautiful country with amazing people and very safe. I wouldn't want my trip any other way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your dinner reservations before 4 pm each day! If for some reason you forget, you may be able to get a table by speaking directly with the restaurant manager of the restaurant where you would like to eat.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tommy hawk
Business
chicago
Jun 18, 2013

honeymoon

We had a awesome time at this resort. Plenty of things to do on site or off. They treated us like royalty here especially our butler Eric. The golf course was great just wish they gave me a sleeve of balls, for all the money they charged. Only negative was we needed to see a dr immediately and when we called for a ride it took 20 minutes for someone to bring us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jvcoello
Business
new jersey
Jun 10, 2013

excellent vacation

Me n my wife stayed at this resort the last week of may and it was truly amazing. Cant ask for better service. The restaurants were delicious and the staff was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

I would definitely try the Atv trip to the ziplining! It was So exciting!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latraveler78
Business
Los Angeles, ca
May 29, 2013

Great vacation

My first time traveling solo and the Westin didn't let me down. The rooms were clean, pool was huge and the staff all very friendly. My one slight disappointment was that the food could be better and the drinks stronger. Fantastic value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NaughtyPines
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 4, 2013

Couldn't Have Been More Disappointed with Food/Service

Rooms in the "Royal Beach Club" are older, and similarly equipped to Standard Room. Food is awful, everywhere. Food poisoning from the buffet, and met other couples with same issue on the same evening in the SAME restaurant. Management does NOT care. All they try to do is up-sell. Beach is nearly unswimmable due to riptide. Enjoy getting mobbed by vendors coming to/from the the beach entrance. Avoid like the plague. The Westin should be ashamed to put their name on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John NYC123
Business
New York
Dec 25, 2012

Romantic getaway

Location very far. Rooms are a bit old. No hot water for some reason. Staff very nice. Food very good. Overall good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations to restaurants.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BertzBird
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Dec 18, 2012

Great Family Time

The hotel staff couldn't be any better - polite, and willing to do anything they can to help you have a great stay. The "tram" drivers even begin to put the faces with the rooms and where you usually go, and if you need any special help. My Sister-In-Law needed to sit in the from of the tram with the driver and every time they picked us up, the driver immediately opened the cab door for her without even asking. The pool was fantastic, but the beach was a little lacking, not in service, but in amount of beach. Plus, rip-tides tend to hang out there and most people just used the beach for motor sports. The only time the pool was less than diserable was when some people with very young kids wanted everyone to "take part in their time" and invaded the adult part, instead of staying in the kids pool with the kids. The only other thing that was lacking was consistency with houskeeping in getting bathroom supplies. My wife also needed the doctor while we were there and she came at 10 pm to the room. She was very knowledgeable and concerned. She helped my wife considerably which allowed her to enjoy the last couple of days at the resort. Would come back again - better than Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Buffet is great for any meal, but the Italian restaurant Faisanella was excellant!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corgi Wrangler
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 11, 2012

Pretty good...

Nice grounds, great food, Costa Rica is awesome, really nice hotel, big pool Cons: Kids.... Booooo! Definite class system! Royal beach club members are treated much better No surfing right at hotel, but a short 20 min bus trip Definitely get "nickel and dimmed", lots of extras, and things are pricey (especially spa and golf!) About an hour from Liberia airport and transport was $90 each way for 2 people (book in advance!) Overall, it's a really nice hotel, probably best in that area. Other all-inclusives may be better resorts, but in not as nice countries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't forget your sunblock, hotel store is expensive!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cmuller
Business
Marietta Ga
Nov 29, 2012

So Relaxing!

This is the second time I've been to this resort and I love it! Some people complain about the beach but it's actually one of my favorites. I would describe it as a wild/natural beach rather than a caribbean style beach with sugary sand and the best part... its not covered in beach chairs and umbrellas! You are basically located in a large cove and flanked on either side by rocky outcrops. The beach is lined with tropical trees and vegetation so you really get the feelings (once you walk away from the resort) of being on a secluded jungle beach. If you are looking to surf this is not the beach for you. Since this beach is located in a cove the waves are too small, but a short drive away (about 19 km) is Playa Grande which is some of the best surfing in Costa Rica and much better than Tamarindo. A note about the food: The restaurants at the resort are pretty decent we specifically liked the italian and mediterranean restaurants. The Mitra buffet is only OK at best and i'd describe it as a typical resort/cruise buffet and the service is a bit spotty especially when it gets busier. The only complaint I have is the way they do restaurant reservations. You have to make a reservation for the restaurants between 8am and 4pm. If you go on any excursions making reservations for that day is impossible because you leave before 8am and are always back later than 4 so make sure you make your reservations days before. The other complaint I have is that we were told several times when trying to make reservations that all the restaurants were full and that nothing was available (we didn't have this problem the first time we visited). However when we walked by the restaurants there were about 4 tables that were occupied and 20 or so that were empty. When we asked why we were told there were no reservations left they said that they only make a certain number of reservations available per night. So even though it appears that there would be plenty of space for anyone that would want to make a reservation there isn't and you are apparently vying for some unknown number of tables. My advice would be to make your reservations the day you get there knowing that you might get stuck eating at the Mitra the first couple of days until something "opens up".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Playa Grande for the best surfing (skip Tamarindo)

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JohnMF
Business
California
Oct 24, 2012

Excellent stay

Took my girlfriend for a one week getaway and the Westin was great! All inclusive is the way to go! Food, 24x7 room service and drinks all included. Great restaurants, wasn't crowded (although it was off-season), nice pools and a great beach. All the activities like ziplining, riding ATVs, etc are reasonable priced. Costa Rica in general is beautiful and very green. lots of cool wild life to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top