$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Guanacaste, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
314 reviews
The online photos and description don't do this place justice.

I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our... See full review

  • Allen in Arkansas
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great honeymoon spot

The Westin was great! We went here for our honeymoon the first week of June and loved it! Costa... See full review

  • NTLW
  • Jun 11, 2014
Local attractions include Ricon de la Vieja National Park, Santa Rosa National Park, Las Baulas Nacional Marine Park, Guanacaste National Park, Bahia Junquillal National Wildlife Refuge.

Guest rooms are equipped with a spacious and private terrace or balcony, marble floors, deluxe bathrooms, a separate living area with comfortable seating, plasma TVs, air conditioning, cable TV, IPod docking station, daily stocked minibar and 24-hour room service. Adult guests can upgrade themselves to the exclusive Royal Beach Club featuring the discreet assistance of personal concierges, along with a tremendous variety of preferential services, access and reservations Additional facilities include ballroom, billiards, children facilities, lobby, reception, tennis courts and golf and spa service .

The following amenities are available at cost:
- Airport transfer.
- Baby sitting service.
- Dry cleaning.
- Gift shop.
- Golf course.

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JohnMF
California
Oct 24, 2012

Excellent stay

Took my girlfriend for a one week getaway and the Westin was great! All inclusive is the way to go! Food, 24x7 room service and drinks all included. Great restaurants, wasn't crowded (although it was off-season), nice pools and a great beach. All the activities like ziplining, riding ATVs, etc are reasonable priced. Costa Rica in general is beautiful and very green. lots of cool wild life to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mismissy
NY, NY
Oct 19, 2012

Great Staff

Staff always courteous and seemed that they really wanted to be helpful. Food was average but better than at typical al inclusive resorts. We upgraded to royal beach lb. Really worth the money as you have a private pool area with fantastic staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

"Let's Explore Costa Rica" fabulous tour guides!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Change in my pocket
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 16, 2012

Great value

The Westin Resort at Playa Conchal was a terrific place for my wife and me to spend our honeymoon. The trip from the airport was about a one hour cab ride to the resort, and cost $100 US. Although we exchanged some dollars for Colones, it was unnecessary, as everyone in Costa Rica takes American money. The staff at the resort was friendly and professional, the food was quite good, and the variety of six or seven restaurants helped ensure we did not get sick of the menu choices over our two week stay. The resort is located right next to the public beach, which was nice except for the incessant harassment you are subjected to from locals trying to sell you trinkets or day trips. We booked excursions both through the company located on the Westin grounds as well as through a local on the beach, and both were reasonably priced and well organized. The resort never felt crowded, although we were there in October, which is part of the low season. We did not upgrade to the premiere package, and we are glad we did not. It costs quite a bit more than the traditional all-inclusive package, and you don't get much for your money. The basic package included all you can eat and drink, including room service and mini bar. The booze was good, and the bar at the pool proved very convenient. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suzanne N.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Oct 5, 2012

Relaxation, Fun, and Adventure

The Westin Playal Conchal is the perfect resort for anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. My two girl friends and I just got back and we all would absolutely suggest traveling to Costa Rica during the tourtist off season. We were immediately upgraded to a larger room and dinner reservations were much easier to make, than if the hotel were busier. Another benefit of traveling during the slower season is that it feels like you have the resort basically to yourselves if you're looking for a truly relaxing experience. The food at the resort was very good. The spaghetti bolognese at Spirula was amazing, my friends and I went back everyday for lunch. The food at the Mediterranean, Italian, and Latin restaurants were all very delicious. Don't be afraid to order almost everything on the menu, like my friends and I did, you've gotta get your money's worth for an All Inclusive. Being a group of 3 girls, everyone back home was apprehensive about us booking adventure tours. We met Erik Garcia out on the beach and ended up booking several tours through him and again because it ws slow season, the tours were basically private tours and we felt as safe as can be. We went on the Congo Canopy tour. The ziplining experience was amazing and we got to play with monkeys when we were done. Later in the day, we took a trip to Tamarindo and I got to go surfing. Surfing in Costa Rica was near the top of my bucket list and I was ecstatic that I got to experience it. The following day we went on a waterfall and volcano tour with our guide, Rico Suave. The waterfall was absolutely majestic and the volcano tour included a hike, lunch, a walk around the crater, hot springs, mud baths, and a water slide through the forest. Honestly, one of the most amazing trips ever!!! I encourage anyone going through a tough time to take a chance and a trip to Costa Rica for some rest, relaxation, and rejuvenation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S d p
New jersey
Oct 3, 2012

Awesome anniversary

Everything was just perfect. The people there were very friendly and the area is very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BML2012
Hartford, CT
Sep 13, 2012

Costa Rica Trip

Overall good but nothing exceptional. Regardless of where you stay there is plenty to do in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go ziplining.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Courtney W.
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2012

Good value, but not what I expected from a Westin Hotel

The rooms and the grounds of this hotel were absolutely beautiful, but the rest failed to meet my expectations. I thought the food was just average and staff was below average. I had to ask multiple times to get drinks at every meal and the waiters were not very attentive. Waiters would forget orders, bring the wrong food and had major problems describing the cuisine. My other major problem with the hotel was it seemed like it was not easy to get to other places in Costa Rica from there, unless you had a car. I think this would be a great place to stay for part of my trip to costa rica, but I would not spend my entire vacation there again. However, the Westin was a good value. It cost me $1800 for airfare and seven nights at the Westin (which includes meals, drinks, room service and non-motorized sports equipment). That said, you should still expect to spend money to do other activities in costa rica. You can book everything though the hotel, but I think it is cheeper to walk just off the hotel property onto the beach and book with one of the local companies. There is a guy named "Eric" who runs a company that will take you on any tour you could possibly want to go on (you can recognize Eric and his employees because they are wearing t-shirts with marlins on them). Final Tip: Bring lots of cash. If you plan to stay at the hotel you will just need cash for tips. If you plan to venture outside the hotel most vendors only accept cash, or if they accept credit card they usually offer a discount for paying in cash. Tours booked through the hotel can be billed to your room and paid for on credit card, but many credit cards have an international fee (it may not be much, but it is something to think about). American dollars are totally fine. I did not encounter one place that did not accept dollars, in fact, I think most places prefer dollars to the local currency, colones. Finally, there is a $28/person tax to leave the country. You can use a credit card to pay the tax, but it is billed as a cash advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring Lost of Cash. Most places only accept cash. if they accept credit card, they prefer cash. It is easier to get discounts and deals if you pay in cash.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownie810
United States
Jul 14, 2012

Great family trip

We went for eight nights in July and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the area is beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lisa&chris
az
Jul 9, 2012

wonderful resort and staff

people were very friendly and the food was wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

i would make sure you order several different items to make sure you get the portion you want and like at least one of the choices

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad and Leslie
Katy, TX
Jul 8, 2012

Great Place to Relax

We traveled 6/16-6/23 with 5 other family members. Everyone will agree that the Westin Playa Conchal is a great place to relax. The resort is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. We have stayed at plenty of all inclusive resorts and this one is more of a relaxed environment rather than a party one. It took some getting use to it getting daylight at like 5 A.M. Some of the animial around ther resort were really cool. The pool can get a little warm at times, but that just gave us a reason to go to the beautiful beach. Don't waste your money on a rental car. It cost almost $500 for the week for an economy car. It is about an hour drive from the airport. Once at the resort, anything excursion is at least a two hour drive, except for the small town that is about 15 minutes away to do some shopping. We went on a couple of excursions. We booked a white water rafting trip and it exceeded all of our expecttations. We booked the trips from Erik Garcia. He is on the beach and is not affilated with the resort and gives great deals!! The rest of the time we just relaxed. Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping at the closest town Tamirando is ok. They do not haggle with you at all and most have all the same stuff.

Back to menu Return to top