$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Courtney W.
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2012

Good value, but not what I expected from a Westin Hotel

The rooms and the grounds of this hotel were absolutely beautiful, but the rest failed to meet my expectations. I thought the food was just average and staff was below average. I had to ask multiple times to get drinks at every meal and the waiters were not very attentive. Waiters would forget orders, bring the wrong food and had major problems describing the cuisine. My other major problem with the hotel was it seemed like it was not easy to get to other places in Costa Rica from there, unless you had a car. I think this would be a great place to stay for part of my trip to costa rica, but I would not spend my entire vacation there again. However, the Westin was a good value. It cost me $1800 for airfare and seven nights at the Westin (which includes meals, drinks, room service and non-motorized sports equipment). That said, you should still expect to spend money to do other activities in costa rica. You can book everything though the hotel, but I think it is cheeper to walk just off the hotel property onto the beach and book with one of the local companies. There is a guy named "Eric" who runs a company that will take you on any tour you could possibly want to go on (you can recognize Eric and his employees because they are wearing t-shirts with marlins on them). Final Tip: Bring lots of cash. If you plan to stay at the hotel you will just need cash for tips. If you plan to venture outside the hotel most vendors only accept cash, or if they accept credit card they usually offer a discount for paying in cash. Tours booked through the hotel can be billed to your room and paid for on credit card, but many credit cards have an international fee (it may not be much, but it is something to think about). American dollars are totally fine. I did not encounter one place that did not accept dollars, in fact, I think most places prefer dollars to the local currency, colones. Finally, there is a $28/person tax to leave the country. You can use a credit card to pay the tax, but it is billed as a cash advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring Lost of Cash. Most places only accept cash. if they accept credit card, they prefer cash. It is easier to get discounts and deals if you pay in cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BML2012
Business
Hartford, CT
Sep 13, 2012

Costa Rica Trip

Overall good but nothing exceptional. Regardless of where you stay there is plenty to do in Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go ziplining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John NYC123
Business
New York
Dec 25, 2012

Romantic getaway

Location very far. Rooms are a bit old. No hot water for some reason. Staff very nice. Food very good. Overall good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations to restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
triple twin mom
Business
Family suite
Oct 12, 2013

the Westin

Very nice resort, however limited in food supplies and room request of cribs for my babies were not provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BMWMAN
Business
JACKSON, NJ
Apr 20, 2011

Relaxing getaway

The overall facility was nice, but a little disappointing because of the rave reviews we got from other people who were there. The lobby was very plain. We have been to other resorts where the lobby really set the mood for the exotic locale, and where we were given drinks during check in. The junior suite was excellent. The food was good to very good, but the restaurant style and decor did not reflect the type of food served, i.e. Italian, Mexican. The quality of the service was spotty, from poor to excellent. This may be because the resort is being sold to Best Western very shortly. There were not enough umbrellas for the beach, and they are needed to keep from burning. Because of this there were times we had to stay at the pool, instead of being on the beach where we really wanted to be. As you walk from the resort to the beach you have to pass through an area with local vendors, and I found that to be a negative, although the vendors and tour representatives are not pushy. In that same area the vendors are allowed to park their vehicles, and in the late afternoon you can hear them revving the engines, which takes away from the relaxing environment of the beach. We mainly stayed at the resort, except for one day when we walked to the town of Brasilito, which is very small, and only has a few vendors. The evening shows were very entertaining. All in all, it was a good, relaxing vacation, but I don't know if I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The massage on the beach was better than the much more expensive one in the spa, although the spa environment is much nicer and you can use the jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room. The pedicure was just okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye n' Wildcat Fan
Business
Ohio
Mar 28, 2011

Fabulous Weather. Great Meals

We just returned from Spring break at the Paradisus Playa Conchal. The weather was perfect. Every day was 90 degrees, bright clear sky and no rain (dry season). The night sky was also amazing clear - the blackest sky and brightest stars we ever saw. The meals at all 3 restaurants (Mexican, Italian and Asia) were really good. The buffet was average. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The beds were actually very comfortable. On the flip side, the rooms, bathrooms, and room furniture need to be updated. And, they need to make investment in improving the grounds (landscaping, walkways, pool area, etc.). For example, many landscape lights were broken off with live-wires exposed; Big, dirt ruts along walkways, etc. We enjoyed the huge pool, but the hot tub was out-of-order and filled with yucky green slime. They need more trash cans around the pool so that empty drinks cups don't pile up along the walls and tables. Oh, I almost forgot, the Casino is shut down (one of reasons we picked this spot was to do some gambling, and were disappointed that they didn't tell us they closed it). We selected the Paradisus over the Guanacaste Riu, but now sorry we didn't go to the Riu. We talked to some folks who were staying at the Riu and their description was superior to Paradisus. All in all, we enjoyed our time especially given the wonderful weather and good food. But, if we visit Guanacaste again, we will go to the Riu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't come here if you want to spend time at the beach. The entrance to the beach is trashy; the waves are too fierce to enjoy the water; and the sand is hard to walk in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 3, 2011

The good and the bad

We stayed the last week of April before it was taken over by the Westin. The hotel itself needed some upgrading, especially the rooms, needed to be a bit "cleaner". The pool was amazing! Nice, big and clean! The food was good - our favorite was the Italian restaurant! All the fruit was delicious! For being an "all-inclusive" there was no variety in liquor :( There was never a TOP shelf Vodka or any kind of drink for that matter .... they should specify that before you pay for "all-inclusive" service! Staff was nice and friendly - they work super hard for the tips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

As soon as you arrive make your dinner appts especially if you like to eat early -- there were nights that we didn't have dinner until 9pm!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jan 28, 2011

Could have been better

Very nice resort in terms of rooms and amenities. Services were in place and always offered, but you won't get too far with the staff if you need anything more complicated than a fresh towel or drink. Food is ok. Royal service gives you access to additional services and amenities, but it's not worth paying full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Binghamton, NY
Nov 9, 2009

Fair but not as nice as advertised...

We upgraded the the royal service which was well worth it at the time. At first the service was amazing but each day the service became worse. We reserved a honeymoon package months before we came, when we got to the hotel I asked the front desk about it and they seemed very annoyed. We were there for about a week and never got the package. We had one bottle of champagne delivered but nothing else we were promised. I was really disappointed about that. I also was disappointed with the grounds. Don't get me wrong, it was beautiful but certainly not 5 star quality. I've stayed at much nicer places with less of a rating. There is not much of a beach to relax on, no lounge furniture. It is very short and rocky. The place to relax is at the pool. Most of the staff was great and spoke great English but some didn't like to be bothered. The food was amazing!!!!! Be prepared to come home fat!!!! I can't say enough about how good that was!!! Overall, I did have a good time but I wouldn't come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to upgrade to royal service wait until you get to the resort it is much cheaper and definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Mar 20, 2011

40th wedding anniversary

Casino which was advertised was closed. Service (despite upgrading to royal service) was poor. Waited up to 10-15 minutes for drinks at the swim up bar until we complained. Food was good. Only two beer choices...imperial or light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Had excellent time ziplining at base of volcano. Highlight of the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top