$350 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
192 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.

3 Reasons To Stay:
Freshwater lagoon-style pool
Championship golf course and tennis courts
Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.

Things To Do
Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Jul 4, 2010

Great Resort

The staff at Paradisus Playa Conchal is GREAT! We found them to be very helpful and friendly. The restaurants were good. The pool is large and nice. The resort offers many activities, dining options, shopping, etc. There is a nightly show at the theater. Great place for families with young children, couples, or just about anyone. We didn't stay in Royal Service but have been told it was very nice. Overall we would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverwoods
Dec 22, 2008

relaxing in paradise

For our family the only obvious deficiency of the Paradisus Playa Conchal, an all-inclusive, is the overall dining quality. During our six night stay we ate at four different sit-down dinner restaurants. There was only one (Gabi Club) to which we made a point of visiting more than once, and we actually dined at Gabi three times. The 19th Hole was a good lunch choice. The rooms and service were generally great, although there were occasional slip-ups -- dinner reservations were wrong a few times, and towels were either supplied in over-abundance or were in short supply. Staff was consistently friendly, and their interest in providing great service always seemed genuine. Except that travel to and from the hotel from our home near Chicago was effectively a day-long investment on both ends, we'd say that the location was wonderful. The hotel property is beautiful, and with some effort the parks and countryside of Costa Rica are accessible. We'd definitely consider regular return visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We rented a car at the hotel for a day trip to Monteverde National Park. The park is spectacular, but the Costa Rican roads make the drive an adventure. The drive is close to four hours each way, and a significant portion of the trip is conducted at necessarily low speeds over boulder-strewn roads through the mountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simpsonville
Dec 7, 2008

Great Overall Resort

Ok, Loved the resort, loved the amenities, and I got my value of the all inclusive by dining and drinking. A lot. The resort is a little frayed around the edges, upkeep seems to to be a little haphazard. I had an exposed wire on a light in my room and no safe. The food was very good. The bartenders were great, especially at the pool bar. If you like more than a cup of coffee, I suggest you grab a pot, since refills were spotty at best at all of the buffets. Beautiful golf course, plenty of wildlife. In my personal opinion, the shows that were put on could be better, but you can't have it all. The guys serving breakfast may be your bartender at lunch, your server at night, then at the disco dressed as a carnivale character... They definitely need more females on the restaurant/ bar staffs. But that is my opnion as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Great Tropical Forest resort

This resort was great. We upgraded to the Royal Service which was well worth the extra money. The staff was super accomidating doing as much as possible to make our stay special. I would classify this resort as a tropical Forest resort vs. a beach resort. But either way it was amazing. The only thing not super was the food. Although it was good it wasnt Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book all your reservations for the week the day that you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 13, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal

We stayed at the Paradisus Playa Conchal from October 3 through October 9, 2009. This was during the rainy season which we knew and so afternoon/evening showers were expected. Despite the rain, the weather is still warm and activities are not really impaired. The resort was nearly vacant and I'm sure the time of year contributed to this. I would not be afraid to visit during the rainy season for these reasons. We upgraded to Royal Service and the Bali Romance Suite. Since the resort was rather uninhabited and other restaurants were under construction, the Royal Service restaurant was open to all guests. We did enjoy exclusive use of the Royal Service pool and lounge, though this was really unimportant given the few other guests on property. The upgrade to the Bali Suite did provide us with a very convenient room location near the ocean and major activities. Unfortunately, these rooms are not near the Royal Service amenities. Having a butler that knew your name and would check in with personal notes was nice. We had rose pedals and candles provided to us, together with flower arrangements and other customized services. My husband and I still can't agree on whether we would spend the additional money for the Bali Suite or Royal Service in the future. Based upon the time of year we went, it probably wasn't worth it. If it was high-season and there were children around, it probably would be worthwhile. We did not receive the hat/t-shirts/chocolates that are included with the room, despite having asked our butler twice. Butlers were hit or miss, with one being first-class and the other forgetting to bring the umbrella we requested twice. The food was high quality and unlike most all inclusives. Not all restaurants were open every night but we did manage to eat at all places while we were there. Dinner reservations were never an issue and there is no line to stand in like many all inclusives. The food was quite good, though portions small as is typical of finer dining. The evening entertainment was also much more enjoyable than a typical all inclusive. This group was very talented and provided much more than most in terms of a stage show. The in-room minibar consisted of very few airplane size bottles, providing just a few drinks per day. If you want variety or a good drink, you will have to go to one of several bars. The spa is small but the massage was first-class. I enjoyed the 80 minute aromatherapy massage and can say it was the best I ever had. We took a day trip into Nicaragua with Swiss Travel that has an office on premise. I would recommend the trip to others. It makes for a long day (5:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m.) but is worthwhile. The geography, history, culture, and exposure to how others live is worth the diversion from relaxing by the pool. We learned a lot about the two different countries and experienced the Masaya volcano as well. Even crossing the border and experiencing the public restroom at immigration in Nicaragua was something we won't soon forget. The casino at the resort is a nice outlet for something to do in the evening but is not for the hard-core gambler. We are gamblers and would typically spend a lot of time in the casino. Unfortunately, the casino here leaves much to be desired for the slot player, offering only quarter machines and few of them. There are no games with bonus rounds, though quarter keno is available in case my mom is reading this:) Many times, we were the only ones in the casino. At night, a few card games would get going but this just wasn't a spot many people took in. There is no bar in the casino, though you may bring drinks in from other bars. The night life is also better than most resorts, offering a dance club and a few other bars. Room service is available 24 hours a day which makes the evenings also more enjoyable, knowing you can eat dinner at any time of the day. Breakfast options are much more limited, with one restaurant available...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel provides a free sunset cruise. We got some great shots of the sunset and had an enjoyable evening on the water. You should absolutely check this out! Hint: Drinks are not served on the cruise but you are encouraged to bring cups/drinks from your in-room minibar on the shuttle and on board the boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cms531
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 7, 2010

Nice resort, Costa Rica is wonderful!

We enjoyed our time here - just wish there was more of beach to the actual resort. Overall great experience though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit Volcano Miravells - amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"The Entertainment Director"
Business
Arizona
Jul 29, 2009

Terrific time by all

Wonderful lobby staff and competent wait staff in the Royal Service. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canopy/Zip line/ATV/Surfing with Hightide Co. and Eli(da man)is a must have experience. Would go back for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howler monkey
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jul 11, 2010

Cool Costa Rica

great place! clean, great food and service, and very nice staff. wouldn't hesitate going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJScott
Business
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2010

Great Resort, Friendly People

Amazing time - everyone there focuses on making sure you, the guest, have a great experience. This was clearly not America. No attitude. Nothing too much hassle. They just aim to please. Rooms were great - spacious and clean. Activities kept you busy if you wanted to keep busy. Otherwise, the pool and beach are there for your relaxation. Food and drink was great. Not a complaint. The Asian Fusion, Italian, and Mexican restaurants were great. Mitra, the buffet, was good as well with a lot of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Excusrions can be booked through the hotel or through vendors on the beach. Difference between resort sponsored excusrions and beach vendor excursions - the beach vendor excursions are about the same price but PRIVATE for your party of 2-12+. The resport sponsored excusrions are for groups of 20, 30 or more. Private is better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wake Forest
Dec 2, 2008

Worth a visit

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and the Paradisus Playal Conchal and overall we were very happy with our visit. The following is our list of the hotel's highs and lows: Highs 1. Room - very comfortable bed, cleaners did an outstanding job of keeping the room clean, good location between the pool and lobby. 2. Restaurants - our favourites were the Italian and the Asian, and in particular the banana dessert at the Asian. 3. Staff - very friendly and courteous, majority spoke very good English. 4. Excursions - the hotel provides some good excursions. We went to the Arenal volcano and a visit to some hot springs. Although we did not see the top of the volcano, we thought this trip was worth the money. Lows 1. Pool - this was the biggest disappointment for us. The hotel has 3 pools, one of which can be used by all hotel guests. This pool looks great, but a) gets crowded, b) has too many trees so you are continually moving to stay in (or out of) the sun and c) is difficult to find a sun lounger that is facing the pool (the hotel put in an elaborate system of small bushes in order to cram in as many sun loungers as possible). The other two pools are much nicer (one of which is adults only), but you have to upgrade to Royal Service in order to use them. In hindsight, if you are pool people (like we are), it is probably worth the upgrade for this feature alone. 2. Restaurants - there are basically 7 restaurants that you can dine at in the evenings, although 1 of these is for royal service only. Each day you have to reserve a table at the restaurant of your choice (except the buffet, which is walk in). The phone lines opened at 8am, and we called everyday before 8:30am, but it was virtually impossible to reserve a table between 7pm and 8:30pm. This appeared to be another perk of the royal service that they could reserve their choice of restaurant in advance of the rest of us. 3. Golf course - the hotel has a beautiful golf course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel has several attractions in the evening: 1. Outside bar by the pond (live music some nights). 2. Shows - different show each night of the week (not for us, but did have a bar...) 3. Disco 4. Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top