$290 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
191 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Eco-friendly resort tucked in lush forest
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
3 Reasons To Stay

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Things To Do

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

Hotel Map

10.4013 -85.8041
Area served
Playa Conchal.
Nearby airports
Liberia, Guanacaste 60 Km.
Area description
The hotel offers services and amenities that include 122 Royal Beach Club and two Royal Beach Suites each with separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, safe deposit box, IPod dock station, luxurious bathroom and private terrace or balcony. It also offers eight contemporary international dining options and five premium bars and lounges, nightly entertainment, spectacular lagoon-style pool with Jacuzzi and an exclusive Royal Beach Club pool, 18-hole par 71 Robert Trent Jones II Golf Course (charges apply), The Spa (charges apply), fitness center, Three lighted tennis courts, and flexible meeting space encompassing five meeting rooms.

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Sofa bed (in certain rooms), Furnished balcony, Pool view and/or Garden view, 474 Square feet or 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary>, Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Westin Heavenly Bath Rainfall showerhead, Wheelchair accessible, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($10.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Family Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 queen Westin Heavenly beds, Pillow menu, Down blanket, Down comforter, Sofa bed, Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), Phone, Clock radio, Minibar, Complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker, Shower only, Private bathroom (not in room), Westin Heavenly Bath, Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwtiger
Business
kansas city, mo
Jun 3, 2009

Amazing Experience

This hotel was just amazing. The grounds, the rooms, the pool and the beach. Lots of activities, including a free sunset cruise and snorkel tour. Everyone was so friendly, overall the food was good. I thought room service and the buffets might have been better than the al a carte restaurants, but they were nice with a great atmosphere. The beach was so quiet and secluded, the area looked like the tv show LOST. There are a ton of excursions you could take as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Jun 2, 2009

Perfect couples vacation!

Best vacation by far. Exceptional service, great food, beautiful location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont rent a car to drive from airport....very expensive after taxes, insurance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
May 31, 2009

Wonderful Costa Rican Vacation

My wife and I just returned from our anniversary trip to the Paradisus Playa Conchal. It was our first time to Costa Rica, and there was nothing about the county, the people or the hotel that disappointed.We flew into Liberia Airport, which is very small (if you are used to Cancun this will be an eye opener). The entire place is open air and not airconditioned, however it is very well run, clean and has a few shops and food vendors. My wife an I agreed that it was a very neat way to enter the country, and added to the feeling of adventure that you don't quite get entering some of the more developed destinations.The drive to the resort was around 1 hour. We arranged for a private shuttle through [...]. The service was prompt and the drivers were friendly and spoke english well enough. The round trip cost was $184 for a van that seats up to 4.The resort property is wonderful. Called the Reserva Conchal, it sits in a mountain valley that fronts one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever been to. The entire property is rolling green hills. Some condos dot the property and a golf course surrounds the Paradisus itself. The main lobby sits on a hill overlooking everything and has a nice cafe for breakfast and lunch.The rooms are arranged in 40 buildings of 8, all with balconys, none of them beachfront though. Ours faced the golf course and the surronding hills. I'd recommend a room on the perimter like ours, as some of the buildings simply face other buildings. Our room was a junior suite and was very nice and clean, had a new, flat screen tv, mini-bar, a/c, nice big bed and a separate seating area and kitchenette. Also, the water is considered potable (we didn't drink it) but just about everything I've read and heard indicates that you can safely drink the water. I would still stick to bottled. In any case it didn't have the chlorine smell that we experienced in Mexico and actually felt refreshing to shower.A short walk from our room was the pool/dining area. Biggest pool in central american supposedly, and I don't doubt it. Not only is it big, but beautifully landscaped so that most areas of the pool feel seperate from others leaving you feeling like you have your own personal area. There's a swim-up bar of course, areas for volleyball and basketball and a kid's area as well.The restuarants were very good. The buffet featured a nice variety of food that changed daily (breakfast was standard eggs, omelettes, meat and potatoes, cereal, etc.). There are also other specialty restaurants you can make reservations for (call early). We tried the asian and italian, and the food was great and service at these small specialty restaurants is top notch. Room service is also available 24-7 and this service was also great.The beach was my favorite part. While all beaches in CR are public, this one is so isolated that at the busiest time there were maybe 50 people on a 1 mile stretch of beach. Very private, even if it technically isn't. And it's a nice white beach made up of crushed shells and sand. Many of the beaches in CR are brown, this one isn't. It's surrounded by the mountains and makes for a great view. We parked our stuff under the trees that grow right up to the beach and could watch howler monkeys lounging in the trees just behind us. Pretty cool. There are some vendors where the beach meets the resort, but they aren't pushy at all, and simply ask you if it's your first time on the beach. Say no, and they'll leave you alone actually.There were only two aspects of our stay that we weren't totally pleased with. The first is the night entertainment at the resort. They put on a show every night, and they were all terrible, so bad in fact we didn't stay for a single one. During dinner they usually had a musician playing a guitar or saxophone, which was very nice.The other was shopping. We were there during the low season and the shops on the property were being renovated. And the nearest town with shopping is Tamarindo which is just a ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You'll need to take a taxi to Tamarindo or Brasilito as there isn't any shopping on the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2009

Costa Rica - Paradisus

The food was pretty good at the buffet and really good at the specialty restaurants. We did not have any issues getting reservations. The pool was fantastic! Plenty of chairs. The drinks were ok, typical of an all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful taking a cab. We specified a bar and the driver pulled up to another place and tried to make us go there. We had him take us back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 26, 2009

Great Couples Getaway

The hotel and the grounds were beautiful. Our room overlooked the pool which had a mountain range as a backdrop. My girlfriend loved it. The staff was very helpful and so polite throughout the resort. We are not ones to visit the same resort twice but we would definitely recommend this as a honeymoon spot or for couples looking for a nice relaxing getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I would book all activities through Alex on the beach. I have to believe that he has some connections to the hotel but he is very personable and will give you great deals on anything that you are looking to do. Definitely the biggest bright spot of the trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungCouples
Business
Arlington, VA
May 19, 2009

Great Resort!

We had an incredible time at the resort and in Costa Rica! The resort is among one of the best we've ever stayed at. Pros: great food, open bar, pool, near beach (walking distance from major resort center), speedy trams (since resort is large), large and spacious rooms. Cons: only major animals you see are iguanas, racoons, puppies at the beach, and kittens sprawling around the resort - to see the real costa rica, you have to go out at least 1.5 hours away from the resort, but for the best part of costa rica be prepared to go out at least 3 hours away by taking one of the tours, rumor of room thefts (but that wasnt the case for us nor our friends!), two restaurants were closed (mexican and costa rica) due to renovations, open bar doesnt open til like after 10am, and reservations were required even though the restaurants may have been almost empty! Overall an excellent place if you are looking for open bar, good resort-quality food you'd find in an all inclusive, and lots of relaxation by the pool (versus beach since it was limited there), then this is the best you can find in the northwest pacific! Otherwise, stay at a place near the major attractions (e.g., montverde and arneal, etc). Thumbs up and we were lucky to be in the hit portion versus the miss portion on this trip! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make reservations well in advance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
May 11, 2009

Great Customer Service!

This was one of the very best all-inclusive vacations we've ever taken. We upgraded to the royal service and felt it was well worth it. Your private butler made your reservations, and was around to take care of anything else. We also received a free two tank scuba dive with the service. The staff was very hospitible and always took great care to honor special requests. One night we missed our dinner reservation and they took us an hour late anyway. Beautiful, clean, and outstanding food. A must for Costa Rica vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BETHLEHEM PA.
Apr 22, 2009

GREAT VACATION GETAWAY

A GREAT VACATION RETREAT AND TOOK ADVANTAGE OF POOL,GOLF COURSE AND OCEAN BEACH. TOOK SOME TRIPS SIGHTSEEING WHICH INCLUDED THE MONKEY PARK AND HIKING AROND THE RESORT AREA. WEATHER WAS GREAT AND WOULD GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

THE ONLY DRAWBACK ON DINING WAS YOU HAD TO MAKE DINER RESERVATIONS EARLY IN THE DAY OR YOU WOULD MISS OUT ON SOME OF THE BETTER RESTAURANTS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 22, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal

It was absolutely amazing! The place was beautiful and the people were the best!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverwoods
Dec 22, 2008

relaxing in paradise

For our family the only obvious deficiency of the Paradisus Playa Conchal, an all-inclusive, is the overall dining quality. During our six night stay we ate at four different sit-down dinner restaurants. There was only one (Gabi Club) to which we made a point of visiting more than once, and we actually dined at Gabi three times. The 19th Hole was a good lunch choice. The rooms and service were generally great, although there were occasional slip-ups -- dinner reservations were wrong a few times, and towels were either supplied in over-abundance or were in short supply. Staff was consistently friendly, and their interest in providing great service always seemed genuine. Except that travel to and from the hotel from our home near Chicago was effectively a day-long investment on both ends, we'd say that the location was wonderful. The hotel property is beautiful, and with some effort the parks and countryside of Costa Rica are accessible. We'd definitely consider regular return visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We rented a car at the hotel for a day trip to Monteverde National Park. The park is spectacular, but the Costa Rican roads make the drive an adventure. The drive is close to four hours each way, and a significant portion of the trip is conducted at necessarily low speeds over boulder-strewn roads through the mountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top