$562 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
192 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.

3 Reasons To Stay:
Freshwater lagoon-style pool
Championship golf course and tennis courts
Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.

Things To Do
Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning,Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite Golf view
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, 990 square feet / 92 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Villa
1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, 1163 square feet / 108 square meters, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning,Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, access to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool and to the Royal Beach Club Lounge with private check-in and check out area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 474 square feet / 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($15.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 2, 2011

All Inclusive paradise!

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was great. We had an amazing time and would highly recommend Costa Rica as a travel destination and this hotel in particular. The golf course was AMAZING with iguanas, Pizotes (they look like big racoons) and monkeys as part of the scenery. we did one excursion that included zip lining, horseback riding, mud bath and a swim at the hot springs and to end it all, a water slide that was 1/2 a mile long through the rain forest. I highly recommend the travel guys that hang out on the beach by the resort, they saved our group A LOT of money and our tour guide was fantasic. I would go back tomorrow if I could :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita KS
Mar 26, 2011

Almost Perfect!

I loved the grounds and over all "feel" of this resort, it is not yet too slick. The beach by the resort is public land and it was so very nice to be able to mingle with people from the community, and they sold their goods and services much cheeper than on the poperty. The food was quite good and there were many choices. Unlike most resorts in the Carribean there was no pool service, so you had to go and order your drinks from the bar, which was no big deal. The pool area was wonderful and there were lots of activities offered if you wanted to join in. The suite concept of the rooms was wonderful, with a large balcony to enjoy. The bathrooms were a little dated but totally functional. The t.v. offered many stations in english if you wanted to come in from the heat. We say many many forms of wildlife on the property, which was very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and eager to please Over all it was a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaSV
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Apr 18, 2011

Good Trip

Overall the place was good although it didn't seem to be at peak operating status. Not sure if it has anything to do with the Westin buying it. It won't be associated with the Paradisus/Sol Melia hotels soon. There were 3 restaurants that you need a reservation for at dinner time and are included in your stay - Mexican, Italian and Asian. All pretty good. We didn't eat at the Gabi restaurant (extra costs) but heard it was decent. The buffet breakfast and lunch offerings were rather limited. Good food but always the same thing so it got very BORING quickly. They snack bar was a good option. The pool was amazing - really warm and big but the hot tub was broken and empty. Not very inspiring. There were a lot of chairs at the pool but not at the beach. The pool bar was decent but they always closed earlier than supposed to. The beer is Imperial and easy to drink, but the liquor was definitely no where near top shelf. The shows at night were a little lame - not like the shows you'd see in the Dominican Republic or Jamaica. If you want to go out - go to Tamarindo for the night and go to a bar called the Crazy Monkey. It's only opened on Friday nights. Another good bar is called the Beach Club and it's right on the beach. The staff was very friendly too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke VA
Jun 7, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal Review

Adventure/Vacation w/my sons: Did Zip lines, snorkeled on the corral reef, visited the national park where we saw really cool animals including monkeys and crocs, kayaked on the ocean, and met some really cool people. Also had fun lounging around the resort where there are many additionl activities to keep you busy. Beatuful location, huge resort, really nice beach w/alot of room to roam. Food was great - definately 4 star qulity. Less than perfect catagory: only one beer available, had to reserve spot at resturants early and they quickly filled up, outdoor pool closed too early 6pm, can't see the beach from the resort, the service was just ok. I had an excellent overall experience and I'd definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Between the resort and the ocean is a small shopping area w/some of the coolest and inexpensive soveniers I have ever seen. Take extra cash and leave room in your suitcase to bring some stuff back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Koskers
Business
Midland, MI
Oct 15, 2009

BEAUTIFUL!

The hotel was amazing. We visited from September 28 - October 4th and we were basically the only people there. We decided to go with the royal service - which I would strongly suggest to couples traveling for their honeymoon or a get-away. We took a taxi from the airport and were dropped off at the main check in. Once we got out of the taxi we got into a cart that took us to the royal service check in where they had drinks waiting for us. We relaxed and got to know the grounds a bit (everything is spread out). We booked two travel excursions. One included zip lines, rock climbing, free fall, horse back ride, white water tubing, mud bath, and hot springs - all in one day! The other excursion was to the Arenal Volcano. We booked through High Tide with Cris in the royal service lounge and although the excursions were both a little pricey, it was well worth the money. The only bad things that we found were the transportation carts were not very responsive when we asked to be picked up and the restaurants were not very big. As I said before, we were basically the only people at the resort - so I would hate to see the transportation and restaurants when the resort is full. All in all, it was a picture perfect vacation and I think it was well worth the price we paid for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Arenal Volcano is a 4 hour car ride away, but SO worth it. The views are breath-taking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
connecticut, usa
Jan 9, 2011

excellent place if you like the style

this is great for people who like to drink and sit around the pool in perfect weather and a clean environment. the food is fine with lots of fresh seafood and ok fruit that is better if purchased off-campus. the staff is friendly and courteous and it is very clean. But you could just as well go to miami unless you leave the hotel to surf or do eco travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

walks on the beach and surfing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 11, 2010

Wonderful week in paradise

We had a wonderful time at the Paradisus. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. The food was good, although the Italian and Asian restaurants were the best. We recommend also traveling to Angelina's and the Golden Shrimp - there is car service through the hotel. We booked all our tours through Alex on the beach. They were great, although it might have been fun with a group. The rain didn't bother us at all, just a shower or two in the afternoon. It was a trip to remember, thanks to the Paradisus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy & Ray
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 30, 2010

6 days of total relaxation

Royal Service was included in our vacation package. This allowed us access to the Bali beds (which must be reserved) next to the adults-only pool. My husband and I spent most days relaxing there, leaving only to walk to the Gabi Club for lunch (usually a glass of champagne and one of their excellent ceviches). We managed not to eat at the buffet, Mitra, during our stay. Be sure to make reservations at the various a la carte restaurants when you arrive. The concierge will give you a reservation receipt that you need to present to the hostess. Otherwise, there can be a wait while she confirms it. We did take one day trip to Rincon de la Vieja for a nature hike (7am - 3pm). We opted not to go to Arenal or Monteverde due to the length of the trip - 4 hours one way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased round-trip shuttle service. It took about an hour to get to the resort. For our 7:50 am flight back home, we were scheduled for a 4 am pick-up at the resort. Although Liberia is an international airport, 5:30 am would have given us plenty of time before our flight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJSoccerPlayingMom13
Business
Flemington, NJ
Apr 12, 2011

Really Nice Hotel, Awesome Staff

I did a lot of research before I decided upon the Paradisus and my research paid off! First, I wanted an all inclusive where the food was good! I consider myself a foodie. I love good restaurants and good food. The food at the hotel wasn't gourmet but I enjoyed 90% of my meals. We ate all our lunches by the pool, the burgers are amazing! For dinner we ate at Gabi Club everything was delicious, Italian Restaurant everything was delicious and Spices, the soup and appetizers were terrible and I was worried about my dinner. My dinner turned out to be really good. One night we went to the Golden Shrimp which was down the road. Lots of reviews I've read, people walked to the restaurant. When I asked the hotel they recommended we don't walk and take the free shuttle the Golden Shrimp has. The food was very good and reasonably priced. I also read a lot about people who upgraded to Royal Service. When I booked my trip I originally did not upgrade but after a few more days of research after booking the trip I decided to upgrade and called the hotel to upgrade. It was worth the money. Royal Service is the adult only section of the resort. So the pool was very quiet and relaxing. The Butlers were great and we had breakfast everyday at Gabi Club. While at the resort we took advantage of a bunch of free activities. We took a cigar making and coffee tasting class. Both were a lot of fun. We also took some exercising classes - stretching and yoga. I really liked the stretching class and Orland and Kenny were great! We also took golf lessons. The gold club for the most part was a good experience. A lot of people complained about all the walking to get from one place to another. Yes, there is walking to get from your building to the stores, main pool, activities center, main lobby, gym, etc. but none of these walks were more than 5 - 10 minutes tops. The longest walk would be from the main lobby to the main pool. But there are carts always around the area driving people to different areas. The beach was public but it was pretty empty. The vendors weren't aggressive and the beach was nice. We didn't stay but just had to see since we were there. Had we not upgraded to Royal Service I'm sure we would have enjoyed our trip but I think the pool area would not have been as relaxing. People were playing basketball and volleyball and were pretty loud but they were having fun. If you don't mind the noise you should be fine. You'll miss out on the food at Gabi Club, which is for Royal Service guests but it looked like you could pay a small fee to dine there if you wanted. Would I go back, yes. However, as of May 1st it will be a Westin property and I'm not sure what changes they'll make to the resort in terms of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Most of the good attractions are a 2 hour car ride away. If you're going to do them don't do them back-to-back. We did the Rincon de La Vieja One Day Adventure on Saturday. And were in no shape to do our Whitewater Rafting adventure on Sunday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Being Married
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 15, 2010

25th Anniversary Getaway

The Paradisus was very clean and the hotel staff was extremely friendly. We thought maybe their "niceness" would wear off after a while, but the longer we were there the nicer they got! The hotel is also very clean and the grounds are very well kept. Lots of trees with some monkeys, and a lot of big iguanas lounging around. While I'm not particularly fond of lizards, they pretty much stayed in their own areas, like around the pond and on the golf course. We did our excursions thru John out on the beach, just outside the hotel. We rode horses one day and took ATV's to the zip line another day. We never paid any money until we showed up for the excursion. One morning when we were scheduled to go to the zipline it was raining. They didn't even hesitate to let us re-schedule for the next day. The restaurants were all quite good, but our favorites were the Italian and Spices. One thing we enjoyed (after eating at the buffet the 1st couple days) was ordering food from the bar and having it brought to us poolside. The menu was limited, but the cheeseburgers were amazing! We aren't sure if Royal Service was a necessary upgrade, but we did LOVE having the private pool and also the attention of the butler and other hotel staff. We stayed in the Imperial Romance Bali Suite, which was really nice, but thought that the rooms overlooking the Royal Service pool would have been just as nice due to their location...but either way, you can't go wrong! One negative thing was the a/c in our room didn't work well, but only at night. We think there may have been a pre-programmed temperature because it would stay at the temp we put it at during the day but would always rise to 22c at night. This was WAY TOO WARM and made for some sleepless nights. If this happens to you speak up about it right away. If you like the coffee (as we did) you can order it in the gift shop. Any order of 10 pkgs. of coffee or more gets mailed to your address free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We got the same excursions thru John on the beach as you can get thru the hotel, however the price was much lower. We read on other reviews about someone named Aaron...probably the same company, just a different representative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top